Do you have a totally irrational side?

• 23-06-2010 03:55PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭

Got myself in an awful mood yesterday over a stupid comment a friend made. I knew i was being stupid but for whatever reason i didnt find it funny and was p!ssed off for ages afterwards. I knew i was being stupid, really stupid but the " looper" side of me wouldnt let it go. Took 2 hrs to stop mullin it over.

Am bridesmaid for a friends wedding in a few weeks and im nervous...yep nervous. Why? Havent a bloody clue, but i am. Think its the "everyone staring at me" thing. Nuts..totally! :confused: I just have to stand there in a dress and do nothing.

Stood on a chair yesterday that i knew had a dodgy leg, to change a light bulb. Yep,ye can guess what happened...chairs banjaxed and i whacked my arm off the wall.

The thing is the "rational side" knows what im at but it doesnt make a blind bit of difference. What irrational things have ye done or thought about and know its completely ridiculous but couldnt help it?

*yep im a Gemini/Taurus mix so might explain some of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Yep, the missus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

crazyer then a coconut:pac:i have a irational side havent seen it in a while :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

anniehoo wrote: »

The fact that you believe in this kind of hocus-pocus lends credence to your argument of irrationality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'd say it has more to do with your ovaries to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,137 ✭✭✭✭28064212

The thing is the "rational side" knows what im at but it doesnt make a blind bit of difference. What irrational things have ye done or thought about and know its completely ridiculous but couldnt help it?

Sort of, but not for the reasons you think

EDIT: Dammit FruitLover, I forgot to hit submit

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Do I have a totally irrational side? ...implying I have a rational side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Course i do,i'm a girl! I blame hormones. Even when it isn't,i still blame them or i'd end up blaming other people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I dont have a rational side tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭LeahK

I have a totally irrational side too,

Like for example my BF or friend might say or do something that slightly annoys me while I'm in bad mood. So I huff for awhile, then I overthink it. "I bet he thinking this...or going to do this etc etc" Within the space of an hour, I have brought this imaginary issue to a head (in my head) and have already argued with him, all IN MY HEAD. I come up with bizarre situations and conversations that he could say. By the time I have come around to talking to him for real, I'm so wound up it causes a fight!

So irrational, defo one of my weak points, but can't really help it! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,353 ✭✭✭✭Stark

No, I'm a man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

OP, I want my money back from those meditation lessons you gave me last month - you said you were a bloody Zen Master!!!!! :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Unique User Name

LeahK wrote: »

Like for example my BF or friend might say or do something that slightly annoys me while I'm in bad mood. So I huff for awhile, then I overthink it. "I bet he thinking this...or going to do this etc etc" Within the space of an hour, I have brought this imaginary issue to a head (in my head) and have already argued with him, all IN MY HEAD. I come up with bizarre situations and conversations that he could say. By the time I have come around to talking to him for real, I'm so wound up it causes a fight!

Holy Sh*t your poor bf!!!!!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

Do I have a totally irrational side? ...implying I have a rational side?

"It has been said that man is a rational animal. All my life I have been searching for evidence which could support this."

Bertrand Russell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭LeahK

Holy Sh*t your poor bf!!!!!!!!

Twas him who noticed it! Brought it to my attention, so knows how to handle it and me :)

I cop on there and then...:rolleyes:
    No, I'm a man (I can never admit to being irrational)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,838 ✭✭✭phill106

What irrational things have ye done or thought about and know its completely ridiculous but couldnt help it?

None. I am a man.

Crap start beat me to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

i used to work for my parents..

when it came to holidays and pay it was in my head a battle... i used to psyche myself up for weeks imagining every excuse battle sentence phrase that they could use to put me off looking for a week off or a pay rise...

i'd then be in such a black-knot of anxiousness that when i'd ask i'd be nearly crying and they'd usually just say 'yeah that's grand....'
    i'd feel so feckin let down that i didn't get the arguement i was looking for i'd be saying 'but but but....' and they'd just give me this pitying look and pat my head...

i have conversations in my head all the time... but they never go to plan..

my husband says this is cos he can think for himself....hah yeah..:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

What's all this dialectical sidesjibber-jabber?

You can't pan off the things that you pretend are "not you" on your "irrational side".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

oh yes i can.... and i will.... and i do

i can blame anyone for anything in my head

it is never my fault

never

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

The natural thing to do when you have a problem is bury it deep inside your head so only the crazy voices can battle it out.

Then the next time you have a few drinks it will come sewing out in a sea of tears, snot & high pitched ramblings that no one understands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,475 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Looks down and checks. My pen!s is still attached. So no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

You believe in horroscopes, explains everything tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Aids By Google

LeahK wrote: »

Good News! You are a normal healthy woman.