Inappropriate comments from shop keepers

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Why are the condoms usually placed at the counter in pharmacies?? It usually leads to sniggery looks and the odd Whey-hay comment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,652 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Stinicker wrote: »
    Why are the condoms usually placed at the counter in pharmacies?? It usually leads to sniggery looks and the odd Whey-hay comment!
    Don't buy them when you're with your 12-year-old mates then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Why should they?

People in the services sector need to know their place. They're paid to work. Many also expect to be tipped.

Don't expect to be thanked for doing your job. The customer is the reason you have a job. You should be thanking them.

And professionality is always preferable to familiarity.
    Friendly, I see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 b69

The doors locked?
    The lights off?
    The shutter 1/2 way down?
    WHY OF COURSE WE'RE STILL OPEN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭iguana

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Jesus Christ. Some people get offended by the simplest things.

Offensive is the shopkeeper asking you to get your knickers off and bend over whilst he slips his cock in your arse, all the while laughing because your mother is dead and that she was the town bike when she was alive.

I can be a miserable bastard at times but some people in here need to lighten the fuck up.

How about this one. Back in the days when the only sex shops were dark backstreet affairs my v. attractive friend decided to buy her first vibrator. After she paid for it the guy behind the desk started chuckling Beavis and Butthead style and said ''H-h-heh, h-h-heh, planning a, h-h-heh night in tonight. H-h-heh, h-h-heh - heh, you're planning to enjoy this aren't you, h-h-heh, heh!" And gave her a creepy wink and leer while keeping on chuckling.

I worked in a few customer service places years back. One was a car park where we took the keys off customers, I was 20 at the time I think and this savage MILF (there was a few of them actually) used to come in fairly regularly, one day I was chatting to her as she was sitting in the car, she was an awful pr1ck tease in fairness to her. She had on a green top and a purple bra that was visible enough to me, I told her the purple suited her just as she was putting the car in 1st, she was a tad taken aback :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

i remember once, me dano,anto,simo,vino,deco,tomo,burner,smithser,
    joneser,o'briener,doyler,mcganner,dobbsy,byrnesy,hughesy,lynchy,duffy and walshy were drinkin dutch gold, asking people for smokes and kicking footballs in front of tesco and the prick of a manager asked us if we could "please move away from the shop", cheeky bastard.

so we made loads of noise, asked everyone what they were looking at and took ourselves elsewere(superquinn).

i wouldnt mind but we barely robbed anything that day,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

wonton wrote: »
    i remember once, me dano,anto,simo,vino,deco,tomo,burner,smithser,
    joneser,o'briener,doyler,mcganner,dobbsy,byrnesy,hughesy,lynchy,duffy and walshy were drinkin dutch gold, asking people for smokes and kicking footballs in front of tesco and the prick of a manager asked us if we could "please move away from the shop", cheeky bastard.

so we made loads of noise, asked everyone what they were looking at and took ourselves elsewere(superquinn).

i wouldnt mind but we barely robbed anything that day,
    Ye should have battered him like a battered sausage. :mad:

You've got rights y'know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭lila44

b69 wrote: »
    The doors locked?
    The lights off?
    The shutter 1/2 way down?
    WHY OF COURSE WE'RE STILL OPEN

so true...

once worked in a 2euro type shop, kind of place that sold everything..

woman came in at ten past 6, saying she really needed something, that it couldn't wait..would only be 2 minutes..

proceeded to take 15 minutes to walk around the shop, and left with some "totally urgent" tumble dryer sheets....

some people eh? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Not a shop keeper... but a tesco express in D8.

Me: Can I have a deal or no deal scratch card please.
    Sales Assistant: We don't have any.
    Me: Ok what do you have?
    Sales Assistant: Cross word, Bingo, all cash and winning streak.
    Me: Sure throw us out one of those Bingo ones
    Sales Assistant: Bingo..... Its hard to understand... hard to play like.. are you sure.
    Me: Yeah its grand, I'll read the back of it.
    Sales Assistant: *Silence*.......
    Me: *Silence*..........
    Sales Assistant: *Silence*...........
    Me: I'll have a winning streak so.... I suppose.
    Sales Assistant: Thats grand, that'll be....

I dunno. I must look thick of something. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭derra_121

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Jesus Christ. Some people get offended by the simplest things.

Offensive is the shopkeeper asking you to get your knickers off and bend over whilst he slips his cock in your arse, all the while laughing because your mother is dead and that she was the town bike when she was alive.

I can be a miserable bastard at times but some people in here need to lighten the fuck up.

I 100% agree f**kin lighten up people some people that work in retail are just looking for some chit chat what has ireland turned into complaining that a shopkeeper is making conversation... dry ****s Ireland is know for its friendly banter keep it up an dont give into the corporations where the majority of the staff are Zombies

Were Irish lighten the Fuk up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

Why should they?

People in the services sector need to know their place. They're paid to work. Many also expect to be tipped.

Don't expect to be thanked for doing your job. The customer is the reason you have a job. You should be thanking them.

You really need to get off your high horse, common courtesy and manners go a long way, something you obviously lack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

''Do you want the fcucking coolpop or not?''

I was eight..I left the shop crying..:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

Why should they?

When was the last time anyone who worked in a shop expected a tip from you? Just be nice and not an unsocial pr*ck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,506 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Bajingo wrote: »
    ''Do you want the fcucking coolpop or not?''

I was eight..I left the shop crying..:(

Reminds me of you:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

Why should they?

What a disgusting attitude. You can take your 'custom' (which you funnily enough seem to think is invaluable) and go somewhere else then. We LOVE getting rid of customers such as yourself.

If I threw your change on the counter at you and blatantly ignored your request for assistance while chatting to my colleagues you are well within your rights to withhold your 'please' and 'thank you'. If I look you in the eye, listen to your request, and do my best to help you with a friendly manner the very least you can do is say 'thank you'.

You are in a small minority and you are sorely mistaken if you think your custom is worth more than my dignity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 390 ✭✭ananas

Why should they?

My favourite customer-the one who can't be bothered to say please and thank you! Lovely attitude to have :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Why should they?

Ah, sure you're so angry, you might as well make up your own words :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

costemers complain when your sarcastic with them unless its with a chick... and they can at times giggle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Dunnes Stores offie, Eyre Square Galway about 12 years ago:

I had a rotten cold and fancied a hot whiskey and popped in there for a naggin so I could make one when I got home, counter assistant comments "Life's not that bad is it?" while nodding at the bottle.

I wasn't expecting a fcuking social worker!

:mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Gary4279

In response to all those saying that customers don't have to say please and thank you.

If you are nice to a sales assistant they will help you. people who come into where i work and are rude in asking me for a size or whatever i usually respond 'sorry we are out of stock' and if they are fat 'sorry we don't do them that big'.

however if you are nice in asking me a question i will have no problem in hiking three stories to the stock room (huge shop), ringing other stores and checking upcoming orders for you.

Contrary to popular belief manners get you places and what you want.

Oh one other thing, people who verbally abuse sales assistants are cnuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

I have a very strong dislike for people that wont even give a simple thank you to a shop assistant. Some people are incredibly rude to them.

I'd imagine if you're one of those people that treat shop assistants like a piece of sh*t, and your friends/relatives saw you in action - they'd be ashamed of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I said "Ha, you're all wet...." and I was sure in my head that I had something clever to follow

"Giggidy"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

People in the services sector need to know their place.

Wow. That's horrible. How elitist. I've seen customers who look like they think they're better than their measly shop and restaurant servants. I didn't think they really believed that, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭soups05

certain posters on this thread really need to cop themselves on, staff in a shop are not your personal employees. they should be treated with a bit of common decenacy.

I wish the r+rforum was not private so i could direct you to the cries of retail thread so you can see what we go through on a daily basis.

i have said it before,everyone in this country should be forced to work in a retail job for six months to teach them how to behave when dealing with others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,043 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

pm dr bollocko and you can get access to R&R

I hate overly personal remarks from strangers, I have dropped what I was buying and walked out of shops and taken my custom else where, even when it's a trolley full of shopping being rung up due to the remarks of the till jockey.

Hard to day which is worse the pimple faced puss trying to be funny or the nosey aul wans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

i actually have to agree with some posters here. there's no excuse not to be pleasant and use a please and thank you when dealing with someone who's essentially serving you - but i dont want it said that it's up to the customers to be all 'yes mam no mam'. i mean seriously, f'uck that. if i'm in a rush going to collect the kids, stop for petrol and peg it in and drop my twenty on the counter and forget to say thanks - i dont want some jumped up dickhead saying to himself 'oh how rude, if i see him again i'll treat him the same way'.

it is your job to deal with customers on behalf of the shop - you're not some judge of social etiquette so just do the job your paid for and dont expect everyone that comes in to fawn all over ya.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Had I given any more thought to a hair loss product. :(

In fairness though, I'd been chatting to the lady behind the counter about some snake oil product. Said I'd google it. Her husband was starting with it, so must see does he turn into cousin it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

Me behind the bar...11.25pm
    Ask all customers would you like one last drink before I close the bar..Some say 'yes' thank you others say 'no' thank you...

One customer says yes Brandy and Ginger Thank you..(This Story involves him)

12.10 am Customer: "We'll have one more for the road!"

Me: "I'm Sorry but I've closed the bar"

Customer: "Just the one!"

Me: "Its 10 past 12 and you should have been off the premises 10 minutes ago"

Customer: "I've never been refused a drink in this town ever before!"

Me: "Yeah,But you didn't come in their door at 11.15, I've been here since three and from five till seven I was on my own (I was majorly pi$$ed off) I don't like myself that much to want to spend two hours on my own AND now you want me to spend another while standing here listening to you?"

Customer: "Thats not the right way to go about things"

ME: "OK when the guards walk through that door,Who is responsable for people sitting here with drink in front of them?"

Customer: "The Guards won't be in"

ME: "How do you know that? The Bar is closed, The till is done.Come back Tomorrow"

I would have chanced the one more drink,Had He been in for a decent length of time, But to come in the door 15mins before close and expect me to stand there for another while, is not fair either..And Plus that I was on a promise from the wife!