Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Inappropriate comments from shop keepers

• 21-06-2010 8:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭

Forgive me if this is a boring/pointless post..i just had to vent somewhere!!

Just back from the local corner shop in wicklow and the shopkeepers says "no sweets today eh? you usually buy out the shop with sweets!" :eek:

now i may be in a bit of a rut, going up for the evening sweet craving, but i by no means "buy out the shop" with them!!

im probably just embarrassed, it was quite an embarrassing thing to happen! however, i know i would never say anything like that to a customer if i worked there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Sample answer:

Somebody has to keep the stock away from your wife?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Burn down the shop, or maybe you are just being a tad sensitive..just burn down the shop or at least have some sexy time with his wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭lila44

i am just being overly-sensitive, but I just had to get my embarrassment / anger out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

lila44 wrote: »
    Forgive me if this is a boring/pointless post..i just had to vent somewhere!!

Just back from the local corner shop in wicklow and the shopkeepers says "no sweets today eh? you usually buy out the shop with sweets!" :eek:

now i may be in a bit of a rut, going up for the evening sweet craving, but i by no means "buy out the shop" with them!!

im probably just embarrassed, it was quite an embarrassing thing to happen! however, i know i would never say anything like that to a customer if i worked there!

Just a nice way of calling you a fat b*stard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭chickenchaser

Oh I know how you feel. Here's 2 samples I've encountered. And the responses I wish I'd given,

'Oh are you sure you want to spend that much on underwear??!'

What do I look to poor to afford to frequent your fine brassiere store??
    Sorry to bother you rich lady, I will go and fashion some undergarments from twine and potato sacks.

'Oh that Ben and Jerry's is €5! Expensive! Just letting you know'

Yeah I know I've fcuking bought it a ton of times before cos I like it. Seriously, earn my own money and deserve to choose how I spend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭mysons

The same thing happened to my Father a few years ago when he went into the local shop and without asking him what he would like they just put down the smokes and news paper on the counter as if it was their right because they knew him.
    He never went back as he felt that, as the saying goes Familiarity breeds contempt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Oh I know how you feel. Here's 2 samples I've encountered. And the responses I wish I'd given,

Sorry to bother you rich lady, I will go and fashion some undergarments from twine and potato sacks.

Yeah I know I've fcuking bought it a ton of times before cos I like it. Seriously, earn my own money and deserve to choose how I spend it.

is it cos you is rich ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

you usually buy out the shop with sweets!

Jokes on him.. selling his shop for sweets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

I once heard a shopkeeper tell a girl in a skimpy dress late at night in town to "Dhún the Gúna Una" :D

Classic! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

I was in my local chemists buying some rennies and some other type of heartburn stuff for my sick mother. It was a couple of days before Christmas, and the girl behing the counter says.........
    " ha ha, ye planing on having some heartburn over the christmas, wha, dont drink too much now, ha ha ha".
    I just paid her and told her it was for my sick mother, havent been in there since.
    Fúcking silly dizzy bítch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Are you a member of the travelling community by any chance?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

MJ23 wrote: »
    I was in my local chemists buying some rennies and some other type of heartburn stuff for my sick mother. It was a couple of days before Christmas, and the girl behing the counter says.........
    " ha ha, ye planing on having some heartburn over the christmas, wha, dont drink too much now, ha ha ha".
    I just paid her and told her it was for my sick mother, havent been in there since.
    How dare her try and be all friendly and shít!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

stovelid wrote: »
    Sample answer:

Somebody has to keep the stock away from your wife?
    Or;
    "Well Tom/Dick/Harry/whoever, every time I fcuk your missus I treat myself to a sweet!".

How dare her try and be all friendly and shít!

i somewhat agree..she was probably trying to genuinly be nice..

but there was a fine line between being nice and being inappropriate..if ya get me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Most of these just seem to be attempts at friendly conversation.

I'd rather these than some ignorant wagon/whatever the male version of wagon is grabbing my money and throwing my change at me.

maybe that's why in my job i stick to the usual "nice/sh!te weather", current affairs etc..

play it safe! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭littlehedgehog

A waiter rather than a shopkeeper - I was out at a nice romantic dinner and having a few drinks. I ask the waiter for another and he said, 'oh they're going down easy, aren't they!'
    Eh. screw you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Jean wrote: »
    A waiter rather than a shopkeeper - I was out at a nice romantic dinner and having a few drinks. I ask the waiter for another and he said, 'oh they're going down easy, aren't they!'
    Eh. screw you.

did you go down on him?

Eh. screw you.

omg, now THAT is inappropriate! what did you reply? waiters can sometimes come across as very cocky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,464 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

orourkeda wrote: »
    did you go down on him?
    waiters can sometimes come across as very cocky!
    Perfect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Blushingblue

mysons wrote: »
    The same thing happened to my Father a few years ago when he went into the local shop and without asking him what he would like they just put down the smokes and news paper on the counter as if it was their right because they knew him.
    He never went back as he felt that, as the saying goes Familiarity breeds contempt.

Ah well I'm a bit guilty of doing this with regular daily customers of the local shop I work in. Actually some customers are insulted that I don't remember what they always get after 4 years of being there!

My boss thinks I should be telling people the price of Ben and Jerry's as nearly everyone who had picked it up (and not bought it in the end) complains that I should tell people how expensive it is! Even though there is a price list right by the freezer with pictures!

So we have this one customer who likes to return food that he uses nearly of all off it and it's "damaged" (whether it's on purpose or accidental...) like broken eggs, milk only just bought and it's sour, bread with a hole in one slice so he returned all he had left! So now every time before he shops here, we check the item with him to show him it's in perfect condition and say something like "Ah look all 6 eggs are all perfect and are not broken!" and it bugged him so much that he doesn't shop here that often anymore. Now he tried to bring in Dunnes and Tesco items in for a refund even though we can see from the exact package he didn't buy them here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Xtravision girl:"tha film has subtitles in it!"

Me:"its ok i can read"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The Express

Was buying a packet of smokes in a country shop one day and the auld' fella behind the counter says to me:

"Them yokes are bad for ya! (laughing)

Me: Oh, I only smoke a couple a day; I find they help me mind my own business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Was on a bit of a roadtrip with a few of the lads and dropped into a shop for a couple of packs of skins.
    The sarky nobby looking dude behind the counter says 'Do you want some marijuana to go with those skins' and sneers
    Quick as a flash my mate says 'At these prices you can go f*ck yourself!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭browne_rob5

I think most customers would like a shop keeper doing that. I worked in a bar and the customers would like it when I remembered their round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I was in the local offy with my friend, and she was buying a bottle of wine on her credit card. The guy at the counter said, "Well, we're not meant to accept cards for transactions under a tenner, but shure you give us enough business so I suppose I'll let ya away with it!" She was mortified, refuses to go near the place now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Lorri_L

I know the embarrassment bit. Was 6 months pregnant last summer and was wearing a t shirt that was little miss naughty (I wouldn't normally wear it out but my wardrobe was very limited due to bump) and was paying for petrol when the guy says to me "ooh i like little naughty misses".

Now I know I was kinda askin for it wearing the t shirt but never expected anyone to say anything!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

"More potato wedges!

Jaziz! Yore gonna torn into a bleerin potado wedge ha!"

I never bought them again. Dumb ****, at least I wasn't working in a deli!

I can think of one that I gave
    Was working in this shop and it was teaming outside and this girl ran in from the rain to buy something. She was feckin' unbelievable hot and she had this little Marilyn Monroe vice, wasn't wearing a coat and had water running down her low cut top.

She came up to the counter and I said "Ha, you're all wet...." and I was sure in my head that I had something clever to follow but it didn't. That was it, she looked at me and I took her money and just said "Thanks now"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

pebbles21 wrote: »
    Xtravision girl:"tha film has subtitles in it!"

Me:"its ok i can read"

Good comeback but to fair she was probably instructed by management to say this.
    I guarantee that at least one customer would have returned it, wouldn't bother with a foreign language film and demand a refund while causing a scence.

Having worked in a cinema we often pointed out if a film was black & white, but we'll still have customers, mainly middle aged women (always the well to do middle aged women!) demanding refunds for this reason :rolleyes:

Where is that cries of retail thread gone, I've more stories to get off my chest

i have a feeling i've started something now...:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

You would not get gip like that in any of the Lilds Or Aldis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

You would not get gip like that in any of the Lilds Or Aldis.

True, but they fire your shopping at you with such speed you need fast reflexes to pack it all in time before it falls off the counter.
    And still get a dirty look for holding up the queue, sorry :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,731 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

it was quite an embarrassing thing to happen!

Getting caught with your cock in the mustard jar is embarrassing.

You just got a happy comment by a friendly shop keeper. Let it slide, go buy some sweets. ;)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Eh. screw you.

Does that not just mean they're very tasty?

That's what I picked up from it.

Or top call from the waiter: sleazing safely behind a wall of ambiguity. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭jiltloop

And this attitude is what confirms my belief that most customers are horrible c unts.
    How about lighten up, she was just making small talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

True, but they fire your shopping at you with such speed you need fast reflexes to pack it all in time before it falls off the counter.
    And still get a dirty look for holding up the queue, sorry :(

That's because youre meant to put the shopping into your trolley and pack over at the window. Why do some people not get this?

Sorry, carry on with the thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Up de Barrs

Shop assistants who ask customers "are you alright?" when they should say "can I help you"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Shop assistants who ask customers "are you alright?" when they should say "can I help you"

Customers who dont open their fcukin' mouth when they should say please and thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Worse; those who pounce on you when you've barely got one foot in the door. "Can I help you Sir?". I know they're only trying to be helpful, but give an old fella a bit of time, yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Jesus Christ. Some people get offended by the simplest things.

Offensive is the shopkeeper asking you to get your knickers off and bend over whilst he slips his cock in your arse, all the while laughing because your mother is dead and that she was the town bike when she was alive.

I can be a miserable bastard at times but some people in here need to lighten the fuck up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭CorsetIsTight

There was an Italian restaurant that my love and I had been to lots of times; I had never bothered with the garlic bread that they did as a starter (because I thought it was a bit unexciting), but then a friend told me I had to try it.

So one evening, went there after a lovely happy day out, and ordered the garlic bread, which turned out to be a disc of really thin pizza dough with garlic butter and lemon zest spread on top, all lovely and melty. I had just had the first bite, and was being enthusiastic in my praise for it, when the waiter (who was the son of the owner) was walking past our table. He stopped in his tracks, looked down at me, and very loudly and condescendingly said "It's only garlic bread madam".

We never went there again, and neither did the friend who had told me about the garlic bread. Silly man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Was in a sex shop in Amsterdam with the OH this sleezy assistant came over and asked "something for the lady?" and vibrator in hand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Sean Bateman

SeaFields wrote: »
    Customers who dont open their fcukin' mouth when they should say please and thank you.

Why should they?

People in the services sector need to know their place. They're paid to work. Many also expect to be tipped.

Don't expect to be thanked for doing your job. The customer is the reason you have a job. You should be thanking them.

And professionality is always preferable to familiarity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

Overheard in a jean shop in dublin, there was a hugh big guy looking for pair of jeans in a particular size, shop assistant says, 'ah god, to be honest, you'd probably be better running down to Des Kelly's and asking them to run you up a pair'
    Jesus felt so sorry for the guy.

but couldnt help cracking my ****e laughing at the same time, I know hell is a small place, i'll get mine too..

Lighten up, folks...

Why should they?

People in the services sector need to know their place. They're paid to work. Many also expect to be tipped.

Don't expect to be thanked for doing your job. The customer is the reason you have a job. You should be thanking them.

And professionality is always preferable to familiarity.

Manners cost nothing and are one of the most admirable qualities a person can have. Whatever you do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

God, I hate the general public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Shopkeeper: would you like a bag for those?

Me: I have two fucking hands I can use!

That'lll teach the cunt, it was just the way he said it*

*none of this is true, just highlights the rubbish "offensive" remarks in this thread!