Do you think life is much different for ridiculously good looking people?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

Calibos wrote: »
    Did you ever come across someone in your life and say to yourself., "Oh FFS, thats just not fair!!"

I knew this fella to say hello to as he was a friend of a friend. 6ft, Athletic, sporty captain of the rugby team in school. Even as a straight guy you had to admit the fecker was extremely good looking. Wealthy parents too so he was never short of cash but he wasn't spoilt by them. He was down to earth and knew the value of money. He also seemed like a really nice guy.

The one consolation about his luck with the genetics lottery was that I assumed he wasn't too intelligent. I had always assumed he was in the pass classes in school because those were the classes the friend was in and I assumed thats how these two lads knew each other.

About 8 years after school I am in St Vincents for an operation. Who walks into the ward but this fella, still handsome as fcuk, still 6ft and athletic........and giving a consult to a patient. He was a fcuking Doctor!!

Turns out he was a straight A student on top of everything else. Jammy jammy barsteward!!

I know what you mean, I think, as children, we are all taught that everyone is created equal, that everyone is good at something that somebody else isn't good at and that ultimately it all balances out. Why are we told this? It is patently false. I was very religious up until my early teens, and my reassessing the world when I shed those beliefs was difficult and occasionally traumatic, but it was nothing compared to the purging of those other childhood notions such as this. There are plenty of people who are better than me at everything, we aren't all born equal, and we get further and further apart as life goes on. And come to think of it I wouldn't have it any other way.

So yeah, good looking people suck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭GirlOfGlass

I really don't think good looking people get treated any better than anyone else.
    I think it's just the less fortunate looking people being jealous and thinking that everything would be much easier if they had good looks.
    Silly really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

Thanks, but no thanks regarding the good looks - I want to be ugly like this guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Only last night i was in work (i work in a supermarket) and there was this ridiculously hot girl walking around in the tiniest shorts.

My female co-workers were calling her tramp fairly quickly although they insisted they were'nt jealous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

My female co-workers were calling her tramp fairly quickly although they insisted they were'nt jealous.

Are the female co-workers ugly? Often hog-people will attack a good looking person's character in a rage of jealousy.

Lots of women hate cheryl cole because she's incredibly hot & i would say a high percentage of them are howlers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

That girl is hot but the dude is not.
    lol I'm going to assume you're the female equivalent of this guy.
    http://i260.photobucket.com/albums/ii16/snipeuh/48945_knees_122_713lo.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

In all seriousness I'd imagine it's probably quite different for them. But the stares from the opposite sex I'd say you'd get used to fairly quickly. The jealousy and potential abuse from the same sex would probably be quite difficult to get past though. And, as someone else said here, I'd say it'd be fairly hard to find people that want to get to know you as a person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

kjl wrote: »
    No, not at all. At least you guys know you are ugly.
    Nobody here said they were ugly before your post.
    Do you have any idea how much thought has to go into being good looking. You become incredibly self conscience that you are not looking you best, and that people will see you for how you see yourself. Sure you know you are attractive but it really is not as amazing as you think. It can be very hard to relax and if you embarrass yourself you feel it 20 times worse. Although obviously it has its benefits, but you do get treated so badly by a lot of people. You constantly have to prove that you are not just your looks.
    Yeah I'm sure it's a living hell...
    I really don't think good looking people get treated any better than anyone else.
    I think it's just the less fortunate looking people being jealous and thinking that everything would be much easier if they had good looks.
    Silly really.
    It's naive and delusional to think that good-looking people don't get better treated than anyone else in any situation - of course they do: positive attention obviously reaps rewards. And I'm not saying that in a critical sense - it's just the way things go though.
    That said, being really stunning, while it's hardly a terrible hardship, does cause jealousy all right I've no doubt. A friend of mine is in the Cheryl Cole type looks category and a lot of girls are absolutely horrible to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Dudess wrote: »
    A friend of mine is in the Cheryl Cole type looks category and a lot of girls are absolutely horrible to her.

She should just enact the toilet-attendant process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 noura

try to make yourself ugly if you want easer life :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,541 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Are the female co-workers ugly? Often hog-people will attack a good looking person's character in a rage of jealousy.

Lots of women hate cheryl cole because she's incredibly hot & i would say a high percentage of them are howlers.

i suspect lots of women hate cheryl cole because she is a pikey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

noura wrote: »
    try to make yourself ugly if you want easer life :D
    Yeah that's true - if being really good-looking is such a curse, I'm sure you'll find a bare-knuckle boxing club to remedy this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

Whatever about the good-looking people, I hate people who ignore you if you're not hot. One guy in particular popping into my head here absolutely idolises my Cheryl Cole-esque friend (she's jaw-droppingly hot) but will ignore any of the rest of us that are with her, to the point of rudeness. And on my last flight,I was looking a little rough as I'd had a really late night and early morning, no make up, hair tied back, etc. I was seated beside two D4-stereotype lads, who completely brushed me off when I tried to make conversation with them, they were so snobby to me, made me feel like I wasn't worthy of their conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

pretty.gif

ugly.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Jake LeMotta

SugarHigh wrote: »
    I think they get treated better by some but probably put up with a lot of **** from jealous people.

YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And for guys it's more confidence than looks.
    Edit: Actually, this is true for chicks also, very much so.

Chicks want attention and get bitchy when they don't get it.

Actually, guys want attention aswell.
    Some guys can be very bitch.

That's why my mates are all very single minded. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

The Cool wrote: »
    Whatever about the good-looking people, I hate people who ignore you if you're not hot. One guy in particular popping into my head here absolutely idolises my Cheryl Cole-esque friend (she's jaw-droppingly hot) but will ignore any of the rest of us that are with her, to the point of rudeness. And on my last flight,I was looking a little rough as I'd had a really late night and early morning, no make up, hair tied back, etc. I was seated beside two D4-stereotype lads, who completely brushed me off when I tried to make conversation with them, they were so snobby to me, made me feel like I wasn't worthy of their conversation.
    nothing to do with them being D4 stereo type lads no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭RocketFalls

I used to be fairly insecure about my sub-par looks. But even at that time, I was always sort of marvelling at the pickles that my better-endowed friends got into. Cheating, unrequited love, stalking, the works. Pretty much a car-crash existence a lot of the time.

It'd still rock to be attractive, though.

And I think some people make some pretty basic mistakes when it comes to how they view attraction.

1) If you have no confidence it probably means you have a sh1t life and are a bit of a waster who fails to challenge him/herself regularly, submerge him/herself in challenging situations - this is nothing to do with looks - it's more of a character flaw.

2) If you appear shabby - that is, have no focus on grooming, wearing nice clothes, presenting yourself well - this shows that you have no taste.
    This again, is a character flaw.

3) If your not in shape and are over weight/stupid/lacking intelligence or whatever - again, it's a reflection of your goals, your focus, your lifestyle - and, you guessed it, these are character flaws, and make for unattractive people.

So it's not like some folk are just born to be more attractive or whatever - we all have a fairly reasonable degree of control over it.

That's why I hate jealous mofo's.
    Just get off your arse and do something as oppose to trying to undermine me to make yourself feel better.

If you don't have motivation, throw yourself into a situation where you have no choice but to work to develop your character/confidence whatever, instead of making excuses and bitching at people that do go ahead and take that plunge, in a futile attempt to make yourself feel better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Funkytown

It doesnt matter, people are people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,260 ✭✭✭Elessar

If you don't have motivation, throw yourself into a situation where you have no choice but to work to develop your character/confidence whatever.

Can you elaborate? (confidence building!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Funkytown

Elessar wrote: »
    Can you elaborate?

You need to buy his dvd to find out more

Elessar wrote: »
    Can you elaborate? (confidence building!)

Well, a guy said to me one time -he was this really rich bloke, and I was asking him how he gained the wisdom and strength of character to put himself in the position he was in - he said; life is all about exposing yourself (que the wise cracks).
    What he meant to say was, exposing yourself to situations/submerging yourself in challenging situations.

That situation that your terrified of, you just throw yourself into it and work with what you got.
    It's a huge challenge.
    And it's surmounting this challenge that gives us belief in ourselves (confidence), because we've done something that we were afraid of and we used our strength and determination to get through it.

It's not knowing you could do something, but actually doing it, that matters.

Find something to challenge yourself and then just throw yourself into that situation.

For me; I was such a quiet and basically non-confident, if that's the word, guy at 17.
    I left home then and realized I was in the big bad world and had to make a life for myself.
    So I realized the above, that I had to do something to challenge myself and give myself a good sense of self worth if I was going to have a good life.

My first step was actually just that - leaving home.
    Being alone, away from my family and friends, that was a situation I just had to throw myself into, as does everyone really at some point - and learning how to cope with that, that made me a stronger person.

I guess that loneliness, in a sense, is a great motivator.
    Pain is a great motivator.

One of the ways I coped with it was by developing good qualities as a human.
    I was never athletic - but I knew it was a great quality to have, so one evening I went down to a local boxing gym.
    I was so intimidated going in the door, but I just got stuck in and got to work and stayed focused and I really owe everything in my life to that.

It's brought me around the world and every time I step in the ring it's a new challenge, one that I learn from and gain strength from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

That situation that your terrified of, you just throw yourself into it and work with what you got.

Tell that to Monkey-Woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Well, a guy said to me one time -he was this really rich bloke, and I was asking him how he gained the wisdom and strength of character to put himself in the position he was in - he said; life is all about exposing yourself (que the wise cracks).
    What he meant to say was, exposing yourself to situations/submerging yourself in challenging situations.

It's a huge challenge.
    And it's surmounting this challenge that gives us belief in ourselves (confidence), because we've done something that we were afraid of and we used our strength and determination to get through it.

It's not knowing you could do something, but actually doing it, that matters.

Find something to challenge yourself and then just throw yourself into that situation.

For me; I was such a quiet and basically non-confident, if that's the word, guy at 17.
    I left home then and realized I was in the big bad world and had to make a life for myself.
    So I realized the above, that I had to do something to challenge myself and give myself a good sense of self worth if I was going to have a good life.

My first step was actually just that - leaving home.
    Being alone, away from my family and friends, that was a situation I just had to throw myself into, as does everyone really at some point - and learning how to cope with that, that made me a stronger person.

I guess that loneliness, in a sense, is a great motivator.
    Pain is a great motivator.

One of the ways I coped with it was by developing good qualities as a human.
    I was never athletic - but I knew it was a great quality to have, so one evening I went down to a local boxing gym.
    I was so intimidated going in the door, but I just got stuck in and got to work and stayed focused and I really owe everything in my life to that.

It's brought me around the world and every time I step in the ring it's a new challenge, one that I learn from and gain strength from.

All this will be for naught if you continue to kill yourself the way you eat and stay a fat fuck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

I'd consider myself resonable good looking. Don't find life much easier tho about from getting a girl here or there.

But I prefer to do my own thing and head out with the lads etc and If I get a girl great, if not doesn't bother me. But maybe thats because I know I can get one if I try:/ Might be just a condifence thing

/shrug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭BarnhallBull

What's life like for all you mingers so I can compare?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Fakearms 123 banned until he can produce a pic of himself holding a recent newspaper with a non-shopped note saying "I am fakearms123 and I am beautiful".
    Possibly a youtube clip of a Christina Aguilera song. Not sure yet.
    Anyway, lets carry on and ignore that silly distraction for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

Fakearms 123 banned until he can produce a pic of himself holding a recent newspaper with a non-shopped note saying "I am fakearms123 and I am beautiful".
    Possibly a youtube clip of a Christina Aguilera song. Not sure yet.
    Anyway, lets carry on and ignore that silly distraction for now.

Who was the photo(it's been removed) he posted off?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

That girl is hot but the dude is not.

I'd f*ck him