Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think life is much different for ridiculously good looking people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

i think its fairly different alright, on a night out theyd get more attention...and little things like that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Damnit Sugarhigh, I'm a coal miner, not a professional film or television actor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Life is bound to be easier for good-looking people. I get treated completely differently when I'm all scrubbed up than when I would without make-up and with my hair tied back. If I went out with make-up on, I'd be far more likely to get chatted up than I would without it. I make sure my make-up is subtle and natural-looking, but it still makes a huge difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

In fairness they probably do get treated bad!

I used to work in a city centre store in Galway, it would have been half girls and lads working there, all early 20's, all horny and all bitcy (in that fun way you do it in your early 20's)

A flash fella would come in, the girls would swoon, and the lads would purposely be dicks with them to piss the girls off

Then the hotties would come in (we used to hang around out back looking at the cameras to see who came in) and we'd fight our way out the door to 'serve' these beautiful females. Girls would be rolling there eyes so hard at us that the hotties would be looking between us wondering wtf the story was

In retrospect, anyone who was good looking thought we were a crowd of freaks but when you're working retail, you get so much shít that you just have a lil bit of craic whenever you can

OH! rambling now, but when one of the lads would be serving a hot girl at the counter we always had a computer in front of us, and he'd be processing her purchase through the computer and being all official like, and you'd walk up being all official like and write on his moniter "Her tits are fanbloodytastic, look at them, imagine what you'd do with them and and ask her how's she's foxed ffs". Your poor comrade would then piss himself laughing for no apparent reason that the customer was aware of, ah such craic.
    Always said I'd never go back to retail but I never laughed as hard as I did in that job :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

Dudess wrote: »
    Life is bound to be easier for good-looking people. I get treated completely differently when I'm all scrubbed up than when I would without make-up and with my hair tied back. If I went out with make-up on, I'd be far more likely to get chatted up than I would without it. I make sure my make-up is subtle and natural-looking, but it still makes a huge difference.
    Yea that's an obvious difference I suppose but the choice of doing themselves up with cosmetics is there for all women so it's not really much of an edge, I can't see it affecting your life that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

I don't think so. I've learnt that there's more to life than just being really, really, really good looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

No, not at all. At least you guys know you are ugly. Do you have any idea how much thought has to go into being good looking. You become incredibly self conscience that you are not looking you best, and that people will see you for how you see yourself. Sure you know you are attractive but it really is not as amazing as you think. It can be very hard to relax and if you embarrass yourself you feel it 20 times worse. Although obviously it has its benefits, but you do get treated so badly by a lot of people. You constantly have to prove that you are not just your looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

but when you're working retail, you get so much shít that you just have a lil bit of craic whenever you can

. . .
    Then the hotties would come in (we used to hang around out back looking at the cameras to see who came in) and we'd fight our way out the door to 'serve' these beautiful females.

you'd walk up being all official like and write on his moniter "Her tits are fanbloodytastic, look at them, imagine what you'd do with them and and ask her how's she's foxed ffs". Your poor comrade would then piss himself laughing for no apparent reason that the customer was aware of, ah such craic.

Sounds like a tough old station alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

To be honest I haven't noticed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Cinful

Look the look wins. Doesn't last. So play hard when young!

Cinful wrote: »
    Look the look wins. Doesn't last. So play hard when young!
    What:confused:
    play hard when young
    probably why the looks don't last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Good looking girls seem to get an awful time from both lads and girls.

Lads trying to get with them and girls being bitches to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

SugarHigh wrote: »
    I think they get treated better by some but probably put up with a lot of **** from jealous people.

http://images.bite.lt/banga/files/club/200706/4681046753b16.jpg
    http://i252.photobucket.com/albums/hh3/ChatBot_aBe/IcelandicGirl.jpg

That girl is hot but the dude is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭sharkbite1983

My life isn't that much different :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

I think they get treated better by some but probably put up with a lot of **** from jealous people.

http://images.bite.lt/banga/files/club/200706/4681046753b16.jpg
    http://i252.photobucket.com/albums/hh3/ChatBot_aBe/IcelandicGirl.jpg

We call them normies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

You're not allowed to be smart when you're ridiculously good looking.
    The normies need the illusion of an upper-hand. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

actually we have the same problems as anyone else
    just the right sort of problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I'm sure it's got its pros and cons.

You'd get more attention, but people would also notice more when you didn't make an effort.
    The opposite sex perving all over you and the same sex jealous of you, hating you or trying to be your friend (the lookers are always popular).

I'm happy looking like a donkey

I'd say the biggest difference is that you're much more likely to end up in a porno..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

kjl wrote: »
    Do you have any idea how much thought has to go into being good looking.

If uou have to put thought in to being really good lookin then im afraid your not ridculously goodlookin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Did you ever come across someone in your life and say to yourself., "Oh FFS, thats just not fair!!"

I knew this fella to say hello to as he was a friend of a friend. 6ft, Athletic, sporty captain of the rugby team in school. Even as a straight guy you had to admit the fecker was extremely good looking. Wealthy parents too so he was never short of cash but he wasn't spoilt by them. He was down to earth and knew the value of money. He also seemed like a really nice guy.

The one consolation about his luck with the genetics lottery was that I assumed he wasn't too intelligent. I had always assumed he was in the pass classes in school because those were the classes the friend was in and I assumed thats how these two lads knew each other.

About 8 years after school I am in St Vincents for an operation. Who walks into the ward but this fella, still handsome as fcuk, still 6ft and athletic........and giving a consult to a patient. He was a fcuking Doctor!!

Turns out he was a straight A student on top of everything else. Jammy jammy barsteward!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

Experiments have shown a good-looking person will be found innocent more often than an ugly person by jurors faced with the same evidence.

http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/news/article-23389857-ugly-defendants-more-likely-to-be-found-guilty-than-attractive-ones.do

I'm sure there are other implications for the results of these experiments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

i have been to sweden and norway and an average girl there would be considered a stunner here or in the uk and no they seem to lead normal enough lives like we do here, there are just so many amazing looking, blonde thin girls over there that its an everyday thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭mkahnisbent

I am good looking. There are pros and cons.

Pros:

I get jobs easier
    I get promoted easier
    I get hotter women than the average guy

Cons:

Staring
    People assuming I'm not smart

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

When your in school they fricken everything, they are friends with the whole school, the teachers pick them for everything and they get everything they want!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Dohnny Jepp

There is only one man who can truely tell us what it's like to be a heart throb. Jake LeMotta!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I wonder why many assume that good looking people aren't intelligent?

It's not as if we already look at ugly people and think "wow that guy must be really smart!"

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

bonerm wrote: »

It's not as if we already look at ugly people and think "wow that guy must be really smart!"

"We" eh...

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

bonerm wrote: »

I think it is more than they want them not to be intelligent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I spent a lot of time on my physical appearance and consider myself a good looking man but i think i have the problem that some people think im full of myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

Calibos wrote: »
    Did you ever come across someone in your life and say to yourself., "Oh FFS, thats just not fair!!"

I knew this fella to say hello to as he was a friend of a friend. 6ft, Athletic, sporty captain of the rugby team in school. Even as a straight guy you had to admit the fecker was extremely good looking. Wealthy parents too so he was never short of cash but he wasn't spoilt by them. He was down to earth and knew the value of money. He also seemed like a really nice guy.

The one consolation about his luck with the genetics lottery was that I assumed he wasn't too intelligent. I had always assumed he was in the pass classes in school because those were the classes the friend was in and I assumed thats how these two lads knew each other.

About 8 years after school I am in St Vincents for an operation. Who walks into the ward but this fella, still handsome as fcuk, still 6ft and athletic........and giving a consult to a patient. He was a fcuking Doctor!!

Turns out he was a straight A student on top of everything else. Jammy jammy barsteward!!

I know what you mean, I think, as children, we are all taught that everyone is created equal, that everyone is good at something that somebody else isn't good at and that ultimately it all balances out. Why are we told this? It is patently false. I was very religious up until my early teens, and my reassessing the world when I shed those beliefs was difficult and occasionally traumatic, but it was nothing compared to the purging of those other childhood notions such as this. There are plenty of people who are better than me at everything, we aren't all born equal, and we get further and further apart as life goes on. And come to think of it I wouldn't have it any other way.

So yeah, good looking people suck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭GirlOfGlass

I really don't think good looking people get treated any better than anyone else.
    I think it's just the less fortunate looking people being jealous and thinking that everything would be much easier if they had good looks.
    Silly really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

Thanks, but no thanks regarding the good looks - I want to be ugly like this guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Only last night i was in work (i work in a supermarket) and there was this ridiculously hot girl walking around in the tiniest shorts.

My female co-workers were calling her tramp fairly quickly although they insisted they were'nt jealous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

My female co-workers were calling her tramp fairly quickly although they insisted they were'nt jealous.

Are the female co-workers ugly? Often hog-people will attack a good looking person's character in a rage of jealousy.

Lots of women hate cheryl cole because she's incredibly hot & i would say a high percentage of them are howlers.

That girl is hot but the dude is not.
    lol I'm going to assume you're the female equivalent of this guy.
    http://i260.photobucket.com/albums/ii16/snipeuh/48945_knees_122_713lo.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

In all seriousness I'd imagine it's probably quite different for them. But the stares from the opposite sex I'd say you'd get used to fairly quickly. The jealousy and potential abuse from the same sex would probably be quite difficult to get past though. And, as someone else said here, I'd say it'd be fairly hard to find people that want to get to know you as a person.

kjl wrote: »
    No, not at all. At least you guys know you are ugly.
    Nobody here said they were ugly before your post.
    Do you have any idea how much thought has to go into being good looking. You become incredibly self conscience that you are not looking you best, and that people will see you for how you see yourself. Sure you know you are attractive but it really is not as amazing as you think. It can be very hard to relax and if you embarrass yourself you feel it 20 times worse. Although obviously it has its benefits, but you do get treated so badly by a lot of people. You constantly have to prove that you are not just your looks.
    Yeah I'm sure it's a living hell...
    I really don't think good looking people get treated any better than anyone else.
    I think it's just the less fortunate looking people being jealous and thinking that everything would be much easier if they had good looks.
    Silly really.
    It's naive and delusional to think that good-looking people don't get better treated than anyone else in any situation - of course they do: positive attention obviously reaps rewards. And I'm not saying that in a critical sense - it's just the way things go though.
    That said, being really stunning, while it's hardly a terrible hardship, does cause jealousy all right I've no doubt. A friend of mine is in the Cheryl Cole type looks category and a lot of girls are absolutely horrible to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Dudess wrote: »
    A friend of mine is in the Cheryl Cole type looks category and a lot of girls are absolutely horrible to her.

She should just enact the toilet-attendant process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 noura

try to make yourself ugly if you want easer life :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Are the female co-workers ugly? Often hog-people will attack a good looking person's character in a rage of jealousy.

Lots of women hate cheryl cole because she's incredibly hot & i would say a high percentage of them are howlers.

i suspect lots of women hate cheryl cole because she is a pikey

noura wrote: »
    try to make yourself ugly if you want easer life :D
    Yeah that's true - if being really good-looking is such a curse, I'm sure you'll find a bare-knuckle boxing club to remedy this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

Whatever about the good-looking people, I hate people who ignore you if you're not hot. One guy in particular popping into my head here absolutely idolises my Cheryl Cole-esque friend (she's jaw-droppingly hot) but will ignore any of the rest of us that are with her, to the point of rudeness. And on my last flight,I was looking a little rough as I'd had a really late night and early morning, no make up, hair tied back, etc. I was seated beside two D4-stereotype lads, who completely brushed me off when I tried to make conversation with them, they were so snobby to me, made me feel like I wasn't worthy of their conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

pretty.gif

ugly.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Jake LeMotta

YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And for guys it's more confidence than looks.
    Edit: Actually, this is true for chicks also, very much so.

Chicks want attention and get bitchy when they don't get it.

Actually, guys want attention aswell.
    Some guys can be very bitch.

That's why my mates are all very single minded. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

The Cool wrote: »
    Whatever about the good-looking people, I hate people who ignore you if you're not hot. One guy in particular popping into my head here absolutely idolises my Cheryl Cole-esque friend (she's jaw-droppingly hot) but will ignore any of the rest of us that are with her, to the point of rudeness. And on my last flight,I was looking a little rough as I'd had a really late night and early morning, no make up, hair tied back, etc. I was seated beside two D4-stereotype lads, who completely brushed me off when I tried to make conversation with them, they were so snobby to me, made me feel like I wasn't worthy of their conversation.
    nothing to do with them being D4 stereo type lads no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭RocketFalls

I used to be fairly insecure about my sub-par looks. But even at that time, I was always sort of marvelling at the pickles that my better-endowed friends got into. Cheating, unrequited love, stalking, the works. Pretty much a car-crash existence a lot of the time.

It'd still rock to be attractive, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Jake LeMotta

And I think some people make some pretty basic mistakes when it comes to how they view attraction.

1) If you have no confidence it probably means you have a sh1t life and are a bit of a waster who fails to challenge him/herself regularly, submerge him/herself in challenging situations - this is nothing to do with looks - it's more of a character flaw.

2) If you appear shabby - that is, have no focus on grooming, wearing nice clothes, presenting yourself well - this shows that you have no taste.
    This again, is a character flaw.

3) If your not in shape and are over weight/stupid/lacking intelligence or whatever - again, it's a reflection of your goals, your focus, your lifestyle - and, you guessed it, these are character flaws, and make for unattractive people.

So it's not like some folk are just born to be more attractive or whatever - we all have a fairly reasonable degree of control over it.

That's why I hate jealous mofo's.
    Just get off your arse and do something as oppose to trying to undermine me to make yourself feel better.

If you don't have motivation, throw yourself into a situation where you have no choice but to work to develop your character/confidence whatever, instead of making excuses and bitching at people that do go ahead and take that plunge, in a futile attempt to make yourself feel better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Funkytown

It doesnt matter, people are people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

If you don't have motivation, throw yourself into a situation where you have no choice but to work to develop your character/confidence whatever.

Can you elaborate? (confidence building!)