Bus Driver throws pregnant woman and screaming child off bus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,212 ✭✭✭3DataModem

"I have no plans on having kids ever"

=

"I am too unappealing for anyone to screw me"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

3DataModem wrote: »
    Interesting thread.

I get plane regularly with my infants... visiting Dublin.

If you don't want to travel in a aircraft cabin with infants, get the fecking boat and a private cabin. Or upgrade to 1st class on plane. Or hire a private jet.

Why don't you take your own advice? After all, it's you inconveniencing the other passengers, not the other way around.
    The airlines allow kids, so I bring 'em. If you have a problem with my kid, talk to the stewardess... I'm sure she will move your seat.

IF there is another seat. In any case, planes and buses are compact and often crowded spaces. Your wailing offspring can still be heard at the other end of the vehicle, you know.
    Same in restaurants. I ALWAYS inform staff before booking a restaurant if there my kids are in tow... So if a fellow patron has a problem they can talk to the manager (or feck off - they're choice).

To the poster who wants nothing to do with kids... that's your hang-up, not the parents. So book adult-only holidays, adult-only busses, or whatever.

Adult-only buses? What planet do you come from?
    And to the person who recently objected to me changing my (silent) babies nappy in the disabled toilets (with baby changing table)... no that sh1t won't come out of your suede jacket.

So you vandalise other people's property? What a wonderful example you provide to your children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

"I have no plans on having kids ever"

=

"I am too unappealing for anyone to screw me"

Jesus christ, what age are you? I'm surprised you even have kids because you have the mentality of a 4 year old yourself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 616 ✭✭✭pearljamfan

Never, ever brought a child on a plane under the age of 12. I wouldn't do it to them or to my fellow passengers. It's utterly selfish of the parents.

i know this is AH, and im not really gonna join in with the rest of the thread cos my blood is boiling , but come on seriously, a 2 yr old can not be controlled sometimes! doesnt matter how amazing a parent u are, it could be the day u have a flat tyre and u know ure kid plays up on buses etc but u have to get on the bus to buy milk or whatever! also, its called PUBLIC transport so f+*k off and get a life. noone likes going on buses, get over it.

the quote above is just so crazy i want to shove the effin plane up your ass!
    utterly selfish of the parents!!!! hilarious! how old are you?? what kind of children do u have?? do you have 12 year old children who have never been on a plane??

unfortunately my family live overseas, and when my son was 6 weeks old i took him to see his grandparents and his uncle. this trip took me 5 hours, all of which he slept contentedly after being fed and changed. strike me down now!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

gsxr1 wrote: »
    Dont worry DarkJager. its in the post. hehehehe.

you should receive parent syndrome any year now. (if your lucky)

But seriously. People without kids have some sort of preconceived believe that kids can be controlled at the click of a finger.

Thats not how it works. They kick off with sparks and there anit nothing ya can do about it sometimes

If your in the area when it happens, be advised to stay away from a parent on the edge of explosion.

A good crack on the arse will quieten little johnny down

i know this is AH, and im not really gonna join in with the rest of the thread cos my blood is boiling , but come on seriously, a 2 yr old can not be controlled sometimes! doesnt matter how amazing a parent u are, it could be the day u have a flat tyre and u know ure kid plays up on buses etc but u have to get on the bus to buy milk or whatever! also, its called PUBLIC transport so f+*k off and get a life. noone likes going on buses, get over it.

Actually, some people love using buses. Except when others ruin it with their selfishness and feckless parenting.

Yes, that's the sort of temperate approach to parenting that will quickly resolve an upset child - NOT.
    utterly selfish of the parents!!!! hilarious! how old are you?? what kind of children do u have??

Well-reared, well-behaved, respectful ones.
    do you have 12 year old children who have never been on a plane??

I have children who weren't on a plane until after they were 12.
    unfortunately my family live overseas, and when my son was 6 weeks old i took him to see his grandparents and his uncle. this trip took me 5 hours, all of which he slept contentedly after being fed and changed. strike me down now!!

Why couldn't the grandparents visit you?

utterly selfish of the parents!!!! hilarious! how old are you?? what kind of children do u have?? do you have 12 year old children who have never been on a plane??

Why are you getting so defensive? Your example shows that you know how to parent your child! Most people would spend that flight letting the child scream, making stupid noises at him and throwing dirty looks at anyone who dared to throw them a glance.

DarkJager wrote: »
    A few people here don't want anything to do with them. Is there something wrong with that?

i didnt say 'a few people here obviously dont want kids'....no theres nothing wrong with that, but this thread isnt about not wanting kids is it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

I take my kid on a plane. He has adhd and can be a handful.

But why should he be deprived of travel because peeps forget to bring their Ipod.
    He loves it . Most kids do.
    He crawls around a bit, He approaches people and talks to them.

99% of people enjoy the interaction and some times you will get the ole git that hates kids.

Its seems they all gather around their computers and log on to boards on a Friday night.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Why are you getting so defensive? Your example shows that you know how to parent your child! Most people would spend that flight letting the child scream, making stupid noises at him and throwing dirty looks at anyone who dared to throw them a glance.

all young mums get defensive at some stage or another because people are quick to judge them.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I'll pay my own pension thanks. Spoilt little ****s have even more reason to be told to shut the **** up. Children with sickness who are prone to bouts of screaming shouldn't be taken on public transport. Just because you've had a child doesn't mean the world revolves around you and it certainly doeesn't give you a permit for you or your spawn to wreck everyone elses heads.

Charming.

The world doesn't revolve around you, either.

I would say fair play if it was some chavvy teenager causing trouble or making noise, but it's a 2 year old for Gods sake! Toddlers can be a nightmare at the best of times. To suggest you shouldn't let children use public transport is a joke. the clue is in the title, Sherlock - PUBLIC transport!

This driver should face disciplinary action for sure. It's his job to drive the paying public to their destination, unless they pose a risk to other passengers. This kid was fed up and I'm sure the mum wasn't best pleased, either.

Rest assured, the posters making comments about crying kids haven't had to deal with them personally. It's also a safe bet they threw the odd inconvienient tantrum themselves at that age, although it's a safe bet they'll say they were all little angels who were seen and never heard....

But why should he be deprived of travel because peeps forget to bring their Ipod.

Because he's being a nuisance to them, and unlike him, they paid full whack for their ticket.

99% of people enjoy the interaction and some times you will get the ole git that hates kids.

Actually, 99% of people are simply being polite, whereas 1% are ballsy enough to call you on your lax parenting.
    Its seems they all gather around their computers and log on to boards on a Friday night.

Whereas you... oh, wait.

orourkeda wrote: »
    A good crack on the arse will quieten little johnny down

Oh no it does not. Beating a kid out of rage is a crime dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,212 ✭✭✭3DataModem

I also hate stiing beside screaming smelly misbehaving kids. And I do blame the parents in many instances.

However we live in a society that supports parenting and childbearing.

I 100% appreciate (despite my jibes) that many people dislike kids and being around them.

Fine - but they have to accept that kids are a fact of life, and we need to coexist. Sometimes my 5 month old baby cries, despite being otherwise well behaved. If you don't want to be there when it happens, that's your lookout.

I will be respectful enough by ensuring that I only bring them where they are welcome (by the manager, owner, airlline, cinema manger etc). You have a part to play too - it can't all be your own way.

( And the poo/suede incident was his own fault. Burst through door (knowing I was in there) and managed to step on - and burst - a bagged dirty nappy). Tan suede + infant poo = problem. )

Because he's being a nuisance to them, and unlike him, they paid full whack for their ticket.

Actually, 99% of people are simply being polite, whereas 1% are ballsy enough to call you on your lax parenting.

Whereas you... oh, wait.

Jasus. whats with you and the whole multi quote thang. Did someone show it tonight?

If you cant stand society then move to longford

where do you think i am??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Im at home with my children in bed. dear god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

The naivety of some people. Do you think all people want children and some day when "they hit puberty" they'll suddenly have some urge to have kids? I never want them, ever. And thats never going to change. Some people seem to think they have some moral highground just because they have a kid.

I bet you don't like dogs either. :D:D

they did but my extended family and friends couldnt!
    poor me for having a baby in january in cold ****ty ireland and wanting to go home to be looked after by my parents in sunny lanzarote!!! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

By way of balance, I do have kids, and I'd be off the bus sorting the kid out rather than subject the public to a journey of caterwauling, yelling and screaming.
    Never, ever brought a child on a plane under the age of 12. I wouldn't do it to them or to my fellow passengers. It's utterly selfish of the parents.
    Any public displays of tantrums always resulted in the kid being frogmarched straight home. Didn't matter if it was a birthday party, or if other kids were yelling too.
    Parents need to cop on and recall that their children are THEIR responsibility, and not that of the state or the general public.
    People don't have to tolerate having their commutes or their flights ruined by some indulged brat screaming the place down.
    A well-raised child, even in a complete fit, will calm down pretty instantly if the parent has been doing their job properly from day one, and not rearing their kid on sugar, TV and the kid's own whims.
    That driver should be promoted.
    It's not always feasible to just remove the child/leave them at home. And when a child screams, it's not necessarily because they are over-indulged or not well raised. Children sometimes just scream and there's not much the parent(s) can do about it, try as they might. They hardly want this happening themselves - I really feel for parents put in this position. Not nice - seeing as you have the double whammy of the child's behaviour, and the disapproval from members of the public.
    My friend's seven-year-old has Asperger's Syndrome and he has massive fits in public which she has no control over and are very upsetting for her, and attitudes like those on this thread really hurt her. She is a great mother.
    Calling it selfishness by the parents is ridiculous IMO - and I don't understand how a parent whose child is screaming in public must therefore believe their child is not their responsibility but that of the general public/the state; or rear their kids on sugar, TV and the child's whims. It might be easier to put a stop to things if it's a four-year-old who's acting up, as they have an understanding of when they're being bold... but is it so straightforward with a baby or toddler, who isn't familiar with such a concept just yet?

That doesn't mean I don't think there are parents who do over-indulge their children and just let them have episodes in public without doing a thing to try and rein it in... but there is no way every single public tantrum is as a result of that.

( And the poo/suede incident was his own fault. Burst through door (knowing I was in there) and managed to step on - and burst - a bagged dirty nappy). Tan suede + infant poo = problem. )

Burst a bag on the ground and poo flew up and hit their jacket? What else did you put in the bag - semtex?
    I think you're backtracking. You implied you'd smeared crap on someone's coat because they tried to use a disabled toilet which you were occupying with your child.

I bet you don't like dogs either. :D:D

I love dogs (have 3 of them myself). It may sound mean, but I wouldn't swap any of them for a child in a million years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I highly highly doubt that. I doubt 99% of people on a plane tolerate kids let alone like them. They're just being polite since they're in public. If they were alone with the kid, I'm sure they'd tell it to f*ck off.

and unlike him, they paid full whack for their ticket.

once they are 2 its full price all the way.

Dudess wrote: »
    It's not always feasible to just remove the child/leave them at home. And when a child screams, it's not necessarily because they are over indulged or not well raised. Children sometimes just scream and there's not much the parent(s) can do about it, try as they might.

That's true of newborns. But there's always something that parents can do with older kids. They can remove their children from causing inconvenience to others.
    Calling it selfishness by the parents is ridiculous IMO
    Of course it's selfish. They can foresee that their child could cause inconvenience to everyone else in their vicinity, but take the selfish attitude of feck them, I'm doing what I want to do anyway. In short, they behave just like their own brats.
    It might be easier to put a stop to things if it's a four-year-old who's acting up, as they have an understanding of when they're being bold... but is it so straightforward with a toddler who isn't familiar with such a concept just yet?

Toddlers are familiar with being bold. Had you said infants I'd agree with you.
    That doesn't mean I don't think there are parents who do over-indulge their children and just let them have episodes in public without doing a thing to try and reign it in... but there is no way every single public tantrum is as a result of that.

Of course kids will have tantrums. In the OP's story, the mother did feck all about it and didn't try to reign it in.

I highly highly doubt that. I doubt 99% of people on a plane tolerate kids let alone like them. They're just being polite since they're in public. If they were alone with the kid, I'm sure they'd tell it to f*ck off.

Im quite sure anyone that told a child to fu8k off for approaching them and saying hello, would have a much more of a social problem than the parent of the kid ever had

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

As a non-parent I can say that parents as a rule use the 'well as a parent' argument quite a lot. Which is a pain in the arse as I'd like to be on that side of the debate one day :D

I don't care for all the troglodytish crap that is spouted about anyone that has a troublesome child. It happens to all classes of kids.. some are just little fcukers by nature, and it can have very little to do with the social standing of the parents. I've worked with kids as an SNA, and believe me, the ones that seem to come from more well-off families are just as quick to act 'Jack the lad' or throw a tantrum as the less fortunate kids.

I'm not talking about what happened on the bus, just the willing generalizations are enough to piss me off

Because you must know how inconsiderate old folks can be on planes. Mumbling/shouting, farting involuntarily, clogging up the aisles because they can't walk fast enough to suit me, giving out about twentysomethings who may be acting like they own the plane and drinking like the plane might go down any minute, calling the stewardesses constantly in their quavery, irritating old voices. Besides the smell of old people is just about as bad as that of a full nappy. The constant too-ing and fro-ing to the toilets because their bladders can't go longer than 5 minutes without needing to be emptied. So fecking annoying. Give me a 3 year old with a temper tantrum anyday!

theyre only in their 50's!!! but i get the sentiment.:D

I love dogs (have 3 of them myself). It may sound mean, but I wouldn't swap any of them for a child in a million years.

If I had my time again it would be dogs all the way but seeing as I can't change the fact that I have children, I intend to make you as miserable as me - hence my sticking pins in them on crowded public transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Im quite sure anyone that told a child to fu8k off for approaching them and saying hello, would have a much more of a social problem than the parent of the kid ever had

That's why I said that if the person was ALONE with the kid they'd probably tell it to f*ck off. I know I've felt like telling some annoying kids to f*ck off in the past and if I hadn't been surrounded by people I probably would have. Bitch? Perhaps... But I just don't like kids!