Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Miseducation of Jimbo Slice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Hanley wrote: »

Had to drop my 'rents to the airport for 4am so roped one of the girls into coming for a run at 5am with me.

Duuuuuude

*hai five*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Duuuuuude

*hai five*

Hahaha, sorry dude, it's not a euphemism.

I'm much more impressed that you found a girl to go running with you at 5am tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

I most certainly am not!! Swan's are f*cking bullies. And anyone who went to school with me knows if there's one thing I hate, it's bullies. I got in so much trouble sticking up for smaller, weaker kids!!

Here's the attack as it took place;

28651_428193815114_567805114_6041251_1111499_n.jpg

Ah, I just had an image of a grumpy fucker screaming and chalking up to throw a barbell at a bird.

You're right though, saw one of them attacking a Terrier in Herbert park. Following this, it tried to eat a bunch of ducklings. Considering going back and throwing a few slaps as soon as the old people leave. I'd feel sorry for mother duck if she wasn't so delicious when roasted.

<<We don't need no water>>

Squats - Smolov Base-ish, Week 2, Day 1:
    *high bar and beltless
    60kg 2x3
    100kg x3
    130kg x1
    150kg 2x9

Skull Crushers s/s Barbell Curls:
    45kg/50kg 3x10

Pushdowns s/s Hammer Curls:
    plate 37/20kg 'bells 3x12

Close grip push up on med ball/Concentration Curls:
    bodyweight x28/12.5kg 'bells x25

Happy out. See post 2549 for a summation of the day leading up to that training session.

Squats were cool... I'll get 155 2x9 next week.

Skulls and curls up 5kg each, 5kg next week may be a bit of a push. Think I'l take 2.5kg, more reps and then 2.5kg the following week. Curls are getting much better. All strict. 60kg for 10 soon maybe?

Pushodwns were on a different machine, so no comparison. The hammer curls hit really nice for once.

Med ball push ups = pure evil, in a good way. Concentration curls were a nice finisher.

Had a nice 90 minute nap earlier, woke up feeling a lot better. Gonna have some protein and peanut butter and just sleep in tomorrow. I've something on in the afternoon so will train in the evening.

<<I'm innocent, I protest it>>

YTWLs:
    3kg 'bells - 3 reps x3

Bench s/s Pendlay Rows:
    60kg x5
    80kg x5/80kg x5
    105kg 2x8/115kg 2x8
    105kg x10/115kg x10

Dumbbell Bench/Kneeling Pulldowns:
    37.5kg 'bells x15,13,11/plate 67.5 3x12

Push ups on smith machine/inverted rows:
    x20/x22

DC Pec Stretch:
    17.5kg 'bells x60 seconds

Kneeling Pulldown Abs:
    stack 3x15

Had a ton of stuff to do today so didn't get into the gym as rested or fed as I'd like.

Benching was grand... 110kg next week should be alright.

Didn't check weight on hte Pendlays, definitely jumped too high. Each rep was a complete ball buster. I'll go back to 107kg next week I think.

Dumbbell Bench as incline benches were in use. Felt grand, tris were a bit fatigued cos i trained them yesterday tho.

Kneeling pulldonws were good, really like the movement a lot.

Push ups were done with my feet elevated to the same level as the smith bar, weird feeling, inverted rows were the same.

KNeeling pulldown abs = sh!t movement. Weight stack's way too light for it. Had to do them cos where I normally do my pulldown abs was in use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

KNeeling pulldown abs = sh!t movement. Weight stack's way too light for it. Had to do them cos where I normally do my pulldown abs was in use.

i find the kneeling ones a complete waste of time....

I could feel em like... but sure what the fcuk does that mean?

<<Tied to the testing of wills...>>

Military Press:
    42 x15
    47 x12
    52 x10
    57 x8
    62 x6
    67 x4 - and fcuk you cardio :p

Seated Dumbbell Press:
    27.5kg 'bells 3x10

HS Shoulder Press:
    60kg x5
    70kg x5
    80kg x5
    90kg x5
    100kg x5.5 - uuuuuuugh

YTWLs:
    5kg 'bells - 4 reps per letter x3

Face Pulls:
    plate 45 2x15

Crosstrainer:
    20 minutes - 346kcals

Good start to the day. Had some crumpets with raspberry jam and butter instead of special k today. Not really sure why I'm bothering to record that, but they were soooooooooooooo tasty I feel like I have to.

Pressing was better today. Totally mis-calc'd my starting weights but decided to run with it anyway. I'll go +2.5kg next week.

Seated pressin was good too. Tough enough on the last set, but I'll go to 30kg 'bells next week.

HS pressing annoyed me immensly. I was tired coming into it cos I did a lot more than the week previously but I just could not force thru the 6th rep w/ 100kg. I wasn't a happy camper after that.

YTWLs and Face Pulls were grand...

Bitta extra cardio in this morning since I wasn't supersetting anything.

Back to the gym later for squats 160kg 2x7 and 7 rounds of Kalsu. Fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

you wanker, was so close to being stronger than you at something, for a short short period of time...

pfft, i have both of ye.

Put your shoulder strength to use so...

Do Freddy's Revenge tonight.

5 rounds of;
    5 push presses w/ 82.5kg
    10 burpees
    for time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

pfft, i have both of ye.

And I sir, have you.

<<Swing to hit the target>>

Squats - Smolov Base-ish, Week 2, Day 2:
    *beltelss and high bar
    60kg 2x3
    100kg 2x2
    140kg x1
    160kg 2x7

Freddy's Revenge:
    5 rounds for time of;
    5 push presses w/ 82.5kg
    10 burpees
    TIME: 6 minutes 40 seconds (previous best 7minutes 55 seconds)

Squats were good... powered thru well. Real sound of Kev M to tell me I'd at least 10+ on hte last set after I thought I'd forced myself thru the 7. Guess that's cool tho. Might add 5kg next week and 5 the week after, extend the cycle by a week.

Freddy's Revenge was class. Dunno how I got thru it so much quicker. Very happy with it considering I trained shoulders first thing this morning too.

kevpants wrote: »
    And I sir, have you.

I was fatigued today :P

Deffo good for 10 :cool:;)

Lads, there's a reason the press is not longer a competitve movement.

<<Highway to the dangerzone..>>

Training with the lads from The Edge: Clontarf today.

Backwards sled drags w/ thick handle:
    circa 80 meters - 70kg

Sled Rows w/ thick handle:
    20 reps - 70kg

Sled Extenstions w/ thick handle:
    20 reps - 70kg

Sled Sprints:
    60ish meters - 70kg - 3 rounds

Keg Sprints:
    20ish meters - 50ish kg keg, 3/4 filled, sloshing about - 5 rounds
    40ish meters (ie up, turn, back) - same as above - 3 rounds

Keg Press:
    Keg as above - 2x10

Keg Slams (snatch + throw down as hard as possible)
    Keg as above - 3x5

Absolutely killer workout. Totally different to what I normally do but absolutely great craic all the same. It was really nice training with Dave and James who run The Edge and Dave's bro, Ciaran (one of my best mates). The intensity was a lot higher than I could manage on my own and I'm sure the lads were pushing a bit harder too. Everyone wins :)

The backward drag was nasty. My VMOs were absolutely crying at me after it.

The rows weren't so bad, but the extenstions were agony. My shoulder was in absolute sh!t all the way thru, close to my pain threshold but I obviously had to keep pushing in front of the guys.

The sprints were the worst thing ever. We seemed to cycle thru quite quickly. First round was ok, second my glutes were starting to burn and by the end of the 3rd I was really hoping there was no more to be done.

I love playing with kegs... The weight was light for me and the distance short so I could cycle thru quite quickly and try to put a bit of hurt on the lads for what they did to me earlier. At the end of the last one the keg was gonna be at the wrong end of the grassy stretch we were using so I just turned around and came back. Of course, Dave wasn't being out done so we did 3 (I think?) rounds of that too. Killer.

Straight into keg presses then and this is where the wheels fell off for me. First set, couldn't balance the weight at all, ended up cheat pressing it. Second round, just went for it any way I could. Used my head to balance a couple of reps, and then managed to drop the keg squarely onto the bridge of my nose. There was an audible crack, I went to my knee and the first thing I heard was "that's a broken nose". Dave and James checked it out, no blood, no displacement so I just finished the set. I could blame my injured shoulder on my poor performance here, but tbh I was just served by the lads.

The keg slams were great fun, really nice way to finish off a tough workout.

The gym's really nice, the lads are very sound and really knowledgeable and it was seriously slick getting to train outdoors in the sun on a day like today. I'll certainly be bugging them for another invite back!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Lads, there's a reason the press is not longer a competitve movement.

Did you read those two Bill Starr articles that came out recently?

d'Oracle wrote: »
    Did you read those two Bill Starr articles that came out recently?

Nope. Link?

Also, my nose is actually broken. Pain in the face. Literally.

ok is it seriously broken ? or your usual over hyped broken? :P

There was a crack like a branch of a tree being snapped, it moves from side to side, and I can feel a break in it. And a nurse said that it was broken.

It's broken!!

na im still not buying it.....

Just because I finished the set, kept training and trained again today instead of b!tching out like you'd do...

In fairness, it's not a bad break at alll like. It wasn't displaced to the side or anytihng, it's not even the bridge that's broken, so it coulda been worse. I'm claiming a moral victory over the keg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Nope. Link?

Also, my nose is actually broken. Pain in the face. Literally.

http://startingstrength.com/articles/olympic_press_starr.pdf

http://startingstrength.com/articles/stronger_press_starr.pdf

Interesting reads the both.
    I thought anyway.

Hard luck over the nose.

<<I'm one step closer to the edge, and I'm about to break>>

Squat - Smolov Base-ish, Week 2, Day 3:
    *high bar and beltless
    60kg 2x3
    100kg 2x2
    140kg x1
    170kg 2x5

Close Grip Incline Smith Bench s/s Bent Over Curls:
    60kg x15/25kg x15
    70kg x12/30kg x12
    80kg x10/35kg x10
    90kg x8/40kg x8
    100kg x6/45kg x6
    110kg x4/50kg x4

Lying Dumbbell Extenstions s/s Machine Preacher Curls:
    17.5kg 'bells 3x12/plate 60 3x12

V-Bar Pushdowns (upstairs)/Machine EZ Preacher Curls (upstairs):
    plate 30 x25/plate 30 x20

Happy out... my sunburn's stinging and my nose is fcuking sore, but other than that I'm feeling good.

Squats were alright. Tough, but I got thru. Considering it's pretty much the same weight I used coming thru the initial cycle back in December I'll take it at 6/7kg lighter in bodyweight and beltless w/ a high bar position.

CG Inc Smith improvements there too... was feeling good so I stuck with the 10kg jumps even tho I onlly planned 7.5 coming into the last 2 sets. I'll 5kg to all sets next time. Or try to at least. Bent over curls were grand, +5kg there next time.

Extenstions were solid, went to 12 reps instead of last weeks 10. Will go to 20kg 'bells 3x10 next week and go up another plate on the curls.

The pushdown/curl set at the end was just a bit of a burnout to get some blood in. Nothing spectacular.

Booking my trip to Zakynthos tomorrow for the 5th of July - cannot wait. Back to hardcore dieting and cardio from tomorrow :p

d'Oracle wrote: »

Cheers, I'll have a look in a while.

Re: the nose - ah it won't worry me. I was never the most handsome of bast@rds anyway. It's a small price to pay for Elite Fitness :pac::pac:

<<It's funny how your...>>

YTWLs:
    5kg 'bells, 4 reps - 3 sets

Incline Bench s/s DC Rows:
    60kg x5
    65kg x5/plate 25 x10
    75kg x5/plate 30 x10
    80kg x5/plate 30 x10
    90kg x5/plate 35 x10
    95kg x5/plate 35 x10

HS Bench s/s HS Pulldown:
    70kg x15/65kg x15
    80kg x12/70kg x12
    90kg x10/75kg x10
    100kg x8/80kg x8
    110kg x6/85kg x6
    120kg x4/90kg x4

Dumbbell Bench s/s Kroc Row:
    37.5kg 'bells x15/40kg 'bell x26

DC Chest Stretch:
    17.5kg 'bells - 60 second hold

Swiss Ball sit ups ala GHR:
    3x12

CrossTrainer:
    30 minutes - 535kcals

Good workout, was on my way out the door to the gym at 10am when something came up so I only ended up making it in at fcuking 4pm. Not impressed but all's well that ends well!!

Had to modify things a bit cos of it, so gonna get out and do some hills during the half time break of the England game I reckon. Not an ideal situation, but c'est la vie.

Incline bench up, happy out. I'll try 5kg again next week, will probably be a bit of a push. The rows were cool, up a plate on them next week again.

HS bench is flying along, all sets easy, all sets up 10kg next week. Same story with the pulldowns. It's sorta a pulldown/row movement so a nice all over feeling. Up 5kg there next time.

Dumbbell bench was up 2 reps from last week, rows were up 4. Next dumbbell for bench is gonna have to be 42.5kg cos there's only one 40. I'll go to it and try to hit double figures and build from there. Up to 45kg for the rows next week, and try to maintain 25 reps.

Cardio was bleurgh. Wanted to do a 10 minute Cindy and 15 mniutes on the crosstrainer but my body just wouldnt' have been up to it after supersetting chest and back, forgot how much it can take outta me.

My body's not loving the training volume and reduced kcals at the moment either. It's starting to feel fatigued. Anyone care to guess what I'm going to do next....?

<<Three Lions on the shirt (no goals on the scoresheet)>>

Hills (tree hill - the usual):
    500m out
    3 x5 up and downs on the hill;
    1 - 1 minute 36 seconds
    2 - 1 minute 40 seconds
    3 - 1 minute 34 seconds
    500m back

Second sesh of the day again - Body definitely hates me right now. That was tougher than it should have been. Suppose today has been relatively low carbs and high volume.

The rest time on the hills was the previous runs time, so 1:1 work to recovery ratio.

CFI Mobility workshop tomorrow. Should be fun.

Shocking performance by England tonight. Different team came out in the second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Pavel66

My body's not loving the training volume and reduced kcals at the moment either. It's starting to feel fatigued. Anyone care to guess what I'm going to do next....?

Even more volume and even less calories...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

Hehe...how's about this :D

The Joker and the Thief:
    2k row
    100 bodyweight bench presses
    Every time you rack the weight = 15 air squats
    2k row