Taxi drivers not carrying any/enough change.

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Always the bloody same, "hold on, I have it here somewhere" hoping I will let the cheeky buggers away with it! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I don't think this is the true or full story :confused:

Huh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭minister poxbottle

Degag wrote: »
    He caused a fuss over 10c? I'd personally never use his services again and tell all my friends too.

Quite tipsy, plastered more like. I earn more than you CHILDISH to say the least. That guy is out trying to earn a living dealing with allsorts of scumbags and stupid drunken cnuts :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

My journey is usually around 17e. What annoys me more is when I hand them a twenty and they spend ages routing around for change hoping I'm going to tell them to keep it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭minister poxbottle

Quite tipsy, plastered more like. I earn more than you CHILDISH to say the least. That guy is out trying to earn a living dealing with allsorts of scumbags and stupid drunken cnuts :mad:

sorry this is in reply to a post by mitchkoobski

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,819 ✭✭✭CR 7

Oh I tip almost all drivers. How much depends on how interesting they are to chat with, and if they take the scenic route or not.

I just don't like a taxi driver trying to take advantage of me by deliberately not bringing enough coins to give back change.

But they don't actually do this, they have the money, but they "don't have change".

People are letting them away with ridiculous stuff, letting them charge you while they drive to a shop to get change, etc. They take advantage of peoples' politeness.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

The worst one I had was when I was on holiday in Sweden, I got a taxi and asked how much approximately the fare would be. He told me, I had enough, so I got in. However it came to way more than he had said, so when we arrived I had to go upstairs to get some more money. I came down with the right amount about 1 minute later, only for him to say that it would be the equivalent of about 8 euros extra as he'd been waiting outside for a minute while I got the money. So I had to go upstairs to get even more and I knew he'd do the same thing again so I brought extra down. He overcharged me more money than I had in Swedish currency, so I had to offer the difference in Danish instead, and because he'd have to change it, he charged way more than the fare was. If I hadn't been drunk, exhausted and alone I would have refused but I was just so desperate to get to bed. The taxi ride only took one minute, there was no way it should have cost that much, the only reason I got the taxi is because I was lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I always tell taxi drivers to keep the change if it's a couple of euro. But if it's one of those Irish drivers that give out about having no money and foreigners taking out jobs I make a point of waiting for every cent of change back. They're also the ones that fumble around for ages expecting you to say "keep the change"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 pelacho

i used to be a taxi driver. sometimes, usually around payday, you can get two or three fares in a row giving you a fifty note. normally i would try to get to a garage to break the note up, but sometimes(murphys law) someone puts there hand out before you get there. my usual thing after finding out where someone is going and figuring out if i would have enough change for say a 10 or 20, would be to ask them if they were going to pay with a fifty. if that was the case i would explain to them the situation and pull into a garage, stop the clock, and get the change. it was my responsiblity to be able to give the customer change and if the case arouse that i couldn't provide that it was up to me to take the sacrifice.

as for the the fare being 17 euros and just asking for 15, yeah i put my hand up on that tactic. kinda like a bluff or something. it used to work sometimes and you'd end up with a 20 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

pelacho wrote: »
    as for the the fare being 17 euros and just asking for 15, yeah i put my hand up on that tactic. kinda like a bluff or something. it used to work sometimes and you'd end up with a 20 :D

And never because you genuinely felt that €15- was a decent enough price for the work done, or because you'd a bit of craic with the fare?..

Was it always just a bluff?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 pelacho

And never because you genuinely felt that €15- was a decent enough price for the work done, or because you'd a bit of craic with the fare?..

Was it always just a bluff?.

actually no it wasn't always a bluff. like you say sometimes i would have a bit of craic or an enjoyable conversationa and feel that the 15 was ok. i wasn't a hungry bastid, many times i dropped the fare a couple of miles over what they could pay. the case usually being if someone got in and declared they only had so much i'd tell them not to worry i'd get them home. if they said nothing until i got them home and it was say over 3 or 4 euros short id usually ask them to see if they could get it from inside. if not, for that ammount you just take it on the chin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

I would have asked for the rest of the change in sexual favours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I've had some taxi drivers turn off the meter because we got stuck in traffic. And one even gave me their umbrella because it was raining, and I needed to walk the last 100m or so. There are some really sound drivers out there, especially with D15 Taxis in Blanchardstown.

So don't get me wrong with my original post...I think most of them are really good people and provide a great (albeit expensive) service. But the ones who take the piss just get on my nerves.

I just remembered this time I had to have an overnight trip, I can't remember where it was exactly, somewhere like Birmingham or Doncaster, I had to get a taxi just a short journey back to my hotel that night. The taxi rank was really crowded and there was alot of traffic. I asked the taxi driver roughly how much the journey would be and he said something like £8. I got in, and waited and waited but the traffic was so bad that by the time the meter had run up to £10 the taxi still hadn't left the rank, and showed no sign of being able to do so any time soon. As it was already way over the fare he'd quoted, I decided to get out and walk. Even though we hadn't left the rank, he insisted that I pay the £10 that had already run up and I said no way. So he locked the doors so that I couldn't get out and started yelling at me to pay.There was no way I was going to pay for that so I started rattling the doors and banging on the windows and screaming "Let me out!" And calling to passersby for help. The driver got freaked out and finally unlocked the doors so I could get away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

...So he locked the doors so that I couldn't get out and started yelling at me to pay.There was no way I was going to pay for that so I started rattling the doors and banging on the windows and screaming "Let me out!" And calling to passersby for help. The driver got freaked out and finally unlocked the doors so I could get away.

That is crazy!! Did you report it? Was anything done? That has to be all kindsa illegal!

Heard of this being done one other time to a friend of mine.. but to be honest, he deserved it! (Puked in the car, refused to pay fine, was locked in the car and driven to the guards)

As for tipping taxi drivers, it depends where Im going, how much the fare is and whether the taxi driver is nice/clean car/puts on my radio station etc .. nice service things that i would tip for anywhere else.

But for the most part/day-to-day fares to work etc when I need to, I never tip. In fact, before I get into the car I usaully request a discount or flat-rate and go from there. Very few have a problem with this-they get the business and I get a cheap fare :) I usually get about 3-4 euro knocked off just for asking before I get into the car.

And also, I gotta add that taxi drivers are not all b*****s! The other week I was stranded in Artane and after waiting on a non-existent bus for 2+ hours, I hailed a taxi with only a tenner in my wallet. Explained the situation and said I didnt fancy hanging around for the bus (it was late and getting dark)but only had x-amount, and despite the fare to Swords usually costing 20+ the guy let me hop in and took me to my destination. I said just drop me at the shopping centre and Ill walk from there (bout 15mins) but he said 'ah sure Im this far now, might as well drop ya to your road'' and dropped me to the door. Explained that I didnt have any extra money in the gaf if thats what he was after (its been a slow few weeks in work!) and he insisted that the tenner was fine and that itd be some good karma! Very few around like this, so if youre reading mister taxi-man. fair play to you!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Trashbat

Azureus wrote: »

Heard of this being done one other time to a friend of mine.. but to be honest, he deserved it! (Puked in the car, refused to pay fine, was locked in the car and driven to the guards)

I know of a taxi Driver that did this and was told in no uncertain terms by the Guards that what he was doing was illegal and he was risking arrest. Resulted in him giving the person a free fare, them not paying the soiling charge and him loosing a nights work and having to pay to get vomit and urine clened from the back of his car.

I don't even know if the Fine/Soiling charge is a regulation. It certainly doesn't appear to be enforcable. Its really unfair on Taxi Drivers if this happens.

In regard to the OPs post, I agree, its rediculous to try to scam more money. Tipping for Taxi Drivers is excessive anyway, but when they dont even give you the choice and try to take anyway, thats practically criminal.

When a taxi driver say to me "Tip?" i Just say "Nah, Boy! Cork!"*

*where was that coat of mine?

Azureus wrote: »
    That is crazy!! Did you report it? Was anything done? That has to be all kindsa illegal!

No, I didn't think to at the time, and this was about 7 years ago, I can't even remember which city it happened in now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

i was going to the bus station early in the morning and the fare cost something like €9.50 but the driver was nice enough and let me off at €9. that said, he took a longer route on purpose, but he was chatty and nice enough. but i didn't bother tipping, cos i'm a stingy fecker :)

but honestly, not enough change is wrong. you wouldn't get this in a shop or any other service, why should taxis be any different? the city buses in galway always have change, even one time i handed in €50 for a €1.60 fare. seems a bit tight of them, think of all the money they make from not giving change - it all adds up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Starburst85

I'd expect the correct change aswell, as a good point was already made..the taxi driver wouldn't expect anything lesser then the fare price.

Does anyone else notice that when you get into a taxi after a night out, they ask you which way to go (like, they give you 2 sets of direction), what's the best way......I'd swear it's to test how intoxicated you are or sometimes they don't ask they just go the long way and hope you don't notice....Not impressed by taxi drivers at all...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I've only had the opposite happen tbh, the fare has been €17.20 or sometething and he'd no change so just let me pay €15. It's happened a couple of times.

Sucks to be you OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭duracell_bunny

Does anyone else notice that when you get into a taxi after a night out, they ask you which way to go (like, they give you 2 sets of direction), what's the best way......I'd swear it's to test how intoxicated you are or sometimes they don't ask they just go the long way and hope you don't notice....Not impressed by taxi drivers at all...:pac:

That's not always the reason why. I'm a female and if I'm going home from town and its after dark then they always ask me which way I want to go as the quickest way involves going through the Phoenix Park and most girls wouldn't be comfortable with that if they were on their own. If its dark and i'm on my own, I always choose the route that goes through main roads/built up areas for most of the journey rather than the cheapest route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,995 ✭✭✭take everything

Would have done, and have done, the exact same.

My fare last night was €7.20, but he was a nice guy to chat to so i handed him a €10 note and just said give me back €2. He got a bit of change and said thanks very much. No worries.

A few weeks ago the fare came to the same but all I had in my wallet was a €50 note and €7.10 in change frustratingly enough. I was quite tipsy at this point but managed to explain this to the taxi driver and offered the €50 note. He took it and then said he didn't have full change for it and could only give me back around €42 and asked was that okay?
    Obviously not.
    So I offered my change as payment and he said I must be having a laugh. So it was okay to ask me to let €8 go, but not okay for him to pass 10c. Had to root through my wallet and find another 10c lodged behind a Subway card. Got out of the taxi shouting something about making more in a day than he does so on and so forth.

10c?
    What a prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

I'm confused.
    Which one of us was childish?
    Are you complaining about my behaviour in this instance of vehicular transport after a night out or being reeeaaaally sarcastic?:pac:

I rarely use random taxis to get home, when I can I just call a friend who's a taxi driver. I'll pay him a full fare anyway becuase he's good at his job. He's willing to let a couple of cent go if people are short some change.....unlike some people......*shifty eyes*