Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxi drivers not carrying any/enough change.

• 13-06-2010 7:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭

Just got a taxi home and the fair was €6.45. I only had €10 & €50 notes on me.
    So I gave him the €10 note and he starts fishing around in pockets, the glove compartment and a bag, only to come up with €1.63c in coins. He tells me it's all he has and asks if I can 'get more coins' from my house (which I couldn't).

He then has the cheek to ask me if the €1.63c is enough! Feck that, I told him I wanted my €3.55c owed (purely because the guy is an idiot to be picking up fares with no ability to give any change).

So was I right to stand my ground and demand the other €1.92c, or was I being a tight b@stard?

(Note to AH...who's first with a 'fishing' pun/joke?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

€6.45??? did you get in then get out again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

No you are dead right, if you were 3 euro short of the fare he wouldn't be too happy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Just make him drive you up and down your road until you get your €1.92 worth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

Definitely right to complain. He probably 'never' has any change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

So, what actually happened in the end??? Did he miraculously realise that he had change in his pocket???

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Should have told him to only charge you €5 since it was his fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Absurdum wrote: »
    €6.45??? did you get in then get out again?

It was raining. I had a light jacket on me. For some reason, I smell like a dog when I get wet.
    So, what actually happened in the end??? Did he miraculously realise that he had change in his pocket???
    I told him to drop back to my house if/when he gets change and I'll pay the fare.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

€6.45?!? He's probably trying to screw you for getting a taxi when you probably could have walked in 15 minutes.

*edit* I see someone else already made this point. Carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Yeh they're always at that, cringeworthy tbh, trying to get you to tip them

Robbing ba5tards, I laugh whenever I hear they are on strike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭shoelaceface

Ah id say he was a fishy bloke alright trying to cod ya. That lack of change and all the other lack of change would contribute to a nice net profit at the end of the year.

jaysus iv never heard the bait of it

its a wonder he took you straight to your plaice and not on a tour of the countryside.

:):D:):D:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Mr Cawley

it'd be the principal for me.
    no change, what kind of service is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭mariaf24

Ah id say he was a fishy bloke alright trying to cod ya. That lack of change and all the other lack of change would contribute to a nice net profit at the end of the year.

its a wonder he took you straight to your plaice and not on a tour of the countryside.

Very good,very good, you could also have brought 'sling your hook' in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Esse85

I would of told him to give me back a €5 note and he can take the €1.45 loss seen as he's the one who has no change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Did he manage to find the rest of the money for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

I think you're absolutely right, I've tipped on many occasions, but if he's going to be that unprofessional then you should have little consideration for his feelings or his time.

mariaf24 wrote: »
    Very good,very good, you could also have brought 'sling your hook' in there

:( i was trying to incorporate 'hook' into it! i blame the weather, i havnt an ounce of energy today.

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Would have done, and have done, the exact same.

My fare last night was €7.20, but he was a nice guy to chat to so i handed him a €10 note and just said give me back €2. He got a bit of change and said thanks very much. No worries.

A few weeks ago the fare came to the same but all I had in my wallet was a €50 note and €7.10 in change frustratingly enough. I was quite tipsy at this point but managed to explain this to the taxi driver and offered the €50 note. He took it and then said he didn't have full change for it and could only give me back around €42 and asked was that okay?
    Obviously not.
    So I offered my change as payment and he said I must be having a laugh. So it was okay to ask me to let €8 go, but not okay for him to pass 10c. Had to root through my wallet and find another 10c lodged behind a Subway card. Got out of the taxi shouting something about making more in a day than he does so on and so forth.

My fare last night was €7.20, but he was a nice guy to chat to so i handed him a €10 note and just said give me back €2. He got a bit of change and said thanks very much. No worries.

A few weeks ago the fare came to the same but all I had in my wallet was a €50 note and €7.10 in change frustratingly enough. I was quite tipsy at this point but managed to explain this to the taxi driver and offered the €50 note. He took it and then said he didn't have full change for it and could only give me back around €42 and asked was that okay?
    Obviously not.
    So I offered my change as payment and he said I must be having a laugh. So it was okay to ask me to let €8 go, but not okay for him to pass 10c. Had to root through my wallet and find another 10c lodged behind a Subway card. Got out of the taxi shouting something about making more in a day than he does so on and so forth.

omg!!! thats shocking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

omg!!! thats shocking!
    I know! I mean what sort of country do we live in now where this sort of thing goes on right under our noses...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

There is no obligation on anyone to give change, its your responsibility to have the correct amount.

That said, it was unprofessional for him to be operating like that.

So it was okay to ask me to let €8 go, but not okay for him to pass 10c.

Don't you mean 80c v 10c?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I told him to drop back to my house if/when he gets change and I'll pay the fare.

Fair play to ya. So you're basically saying you hopped out of the car without paying anything? Can't say he saw that coming after he'd thought he'd pulled a fast one. What was his reaction to your solution?

Victor wrote: »
    There is no obligation on anyone to give change, its your responsibility to have the correct amount.

That said, it was unprofessional for him to be operating like that.

Don't you mean 80c v 10c?

Since it is impossible to predict the total cost of the fare in advance, it's going to be very hard to ensure having exact fare in advance. I don't particularly like carrying around a bag of 5c, 10c, 20c, 50c & €1 coins!

bonerm wrote: »
    Fair play to ya. So you're basically saying you hopped out of the car without paying anything? Can't say he saw that coming after he'd thought he'd pulled a fast one. What was his reaction to your solution?

He agreed to it. After all, he knew where I lived!

He hasn't come back yet. I'll probably get a knock at the door at 2am or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ronano

It was raining. I had a light jacket on me. For some reason, I smell like a dog when I get wet.

hhaha nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

I have to agree with you, seems odd that he hadn't small change, I have tons of it on most nights, the only time I have problems is when you get 2 or 3 small fares (less than a €10 say ) one after the other early in the night and they all offer €50 notes, I don't carry €100+ out with me to start a shift :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Obviously not.

He caused a fuss over 10c? I'd personally never use his services again and tell all my friends too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

im cringing....

what a sinker.

OT: they do it so you have to drive to the shop to get change... knock the meter on...

anyone else noticed how much faster the meter runs... litterally ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Pdfile wrote: »
    OT: they do it so you have to drive to the shop to get change... knock the meter on...

anyone else noticed how much faster the meter runs... litterally ??

So when the meter is switched off and back on it run's faster?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Victor wrote: »

What a load of crap, sure why should shops have change then?
    Im not saying your wrong, im saying that a law (if it is law) like that is rediculous.

It has only happened me once, fare was $32 or something, and all i had was a 50. The taxi driver looked at me as if i was an idiot and said "i dont have change", i shrugged my shoulders and said, "well sorry mate but this is all ive got".
    So we just sat there looking at eachother, then all of a sudden after it got pretty awkward, he remembers that he has a pocket full of change. got my change and left.

Its a service, and if they exchange their service for money, they need to carry change, otherwise its just bad business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

So when the meter is switched off and back on it run's faster?.

no in general. i mean, the exact same taxi over the space of a few weeks from town.

last knock up of price by the joe maxi bhoys: 11.05c.*

lately: 13-14ish quid.*

might not sound like alot but thats an extra tenner outta my pocket.

Cheeky buggers, half of them only do it part time and still complain about the pay.

* all numbers are averages and simple have a flexibility of 25c.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Pdfile wrote: »
    no in general. i mean, the exact same taxi over the space of a few weeks from town.

last knock up of price by the joe maxi bhoys: 11.05c.*

lately: 13-14ish quid.*

might not sound like alot but thats an extra tenner outta my pocket.

Cheeky buggers, half of them only do it part time and still complain about the pay.

* all numbers are averages and simple have a flexibility of 25c.

Doesn't make sense.

Have you gotten receipts and reported these incidents to the regulator?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Mackerel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

A taxi driver should have a float. all the taxi drivers on the rank near me have these little change holders like Dublin bus did before exact fare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

I would go into a shop with the guy and give him 2 hours of my life before being tricked in this way..

its a hussle

get him to pause the meter and go to a 24 hours business for change

....teacher buddy of mine drives a taxi in airport during school hols

stand outside the cafe at the holding area in dublin airport and listen to a hard core give each other emotional support for the last and next blatant ambush of air passengers especially the ones who are foolish enough to reveal that it is their first time in eire.....or the ones who took a drink on the plane.... many great taxi drivers..small number of thugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

I think its safe to say that all taxi drivers are scum and not nice to kittens.

I'm never getting a taxi on reading this post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

And when I (if ever) next go on holiday, I'm asking the bollix at the rank if he only works part time as a teacher :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Wtf? Am I the only one who doesn't mind leaving a taxi driver a €3+ tip? I must be grossly over-tipping, or all of you are getting your knickers in a twist over some loose change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I'd actually love to know where the culture of tipping taxi drivers came into being. Is it something we saw in American tv shows back in the day and just decided to copy? :confused:

I can understand tipping for maybe someone working in a low paying job or service job but what we're essentially doing here is saying "yeah Mr. Taxi Driver you are in the decent financial position to go into business for yourself, buy/finance a large car and the plate to go with it... so here have some extra money on top of the excessive amount you already charged me for my trip."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

First of all I never tip a taxi driver. They are not the same as a lounge boy/girl or delivery driver who earn minimum wage or less and are subsidised by tips. They work for themselves and charge more than a premium rate for their services, just because there is too much competition does not mean a journey is worth €3 more. If one is particularly pleasant then I won't wait for the 30c change but normally I just hand them the amount required or the nearest note and wait for my change.

Saying that, on more than one occassion for eg Saturday night, I had a fare of €6.75 and the driver gave me €3.50 change without saying anything about having the exact amount, so they're not all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

bonerm wrote: »
    I'd actually love to know where the culture of tipping taxi drivers came into being. Is it something we some in American tv shows back in the day? :confused: I can understand it for maybe someone working as a waiter/waitress but what we're essentially doing here is saying "yeah you were in the decent financial position to buy/finance a large car and the plate to go with it... so here have some extra money on top of the excessive amount you already charged me for my trip."

Tbh I tip a lot and I guess it's a habit I picked up from my folks. The fact is the more generous you are, the more you're looked after. I get free journeys courtesy of my local cab company all the time. I tip €1 every second time I go to the bar in my local and I get free pints, double measures and all sorts of concessions. I tip the waiting staff in my favourite Italian usually over 15% and everytime I go in there I'm treated like royalty. I tip the delivery guys from Dominos a couple of euro each time and I'm always getting free stuff thrown in with my order.

It's sad that you don't get that kind of service for customer loyalty without doing it, sure, but honestly you do get what you pay for.

Maybe I'm insensitive to the OP's situation because I would just have thrown the tenner at the taxi driver, wished him a good night and legged it to the pub to enjoy the more important things. I wouldn't waste my time or energy arguing over the €1.25 or whatever it was. As for taxis being excessively expensive, you don't like it, get the bus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

It used to be that I would tip every taxi driver, but in the last few years I feel like the service I receive has suffered and I no longer do it willy nilly. If it's a good taxi driver who knows his routes, keeps his car well and is good company on the journey, he'll always be told to "keep the change". If it's anything less then I'll pay the standard fare.

If a driver didn't have enough change to break a €20 I'd consider it foolish and I wouldn't have much patience for it. I certainly wouldn't consider the awkwardness that the conversation will create to be particularly pleasant and I'd therefore be inclined not to tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

JaxxYChicK wrote: »
    Tbh I tip a lot and I guess it's a habit I picked up from my folks. The fact is the more generous you are, the more you're looked after. I get free journeys courtesy of my local cab company all the time. I tip €1 every second time I go to the bar in my local and I get free pints, double measures and all sorts of concessions. I tip the waiting staff in my favourite Italian usually over 15% and everytime I go in there I'm treated like royalty. I tip the delivery guys from Dominos a couple of euro each time and I'm always getting free stuff thrown in with my order.
    From all this I can only come to the conclusion that they all just like your rack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Half litre of sour piss on the back seat is your man in these situations.

Got a taxi home from town driven by an angry bsterd who complained the whle journey.

Didn't have change and kept droning on about the high cost of living.

The fooker owed me €3.50, so i just loosened the belt and drained around a half litre of sour piss on his back seat and told him to forget about it.

Drastic I know, but get organised buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭jessiejam

Is there something that I am missing here?
    Someone has their nickers in a knot because he hadn't got 80cent back in change?
    I just don't get that, I would find that scabby to be honest. If a fare was over €8 I would always give a tenner.
    As for waiting for 80cent or telling the driver to just give me back €2 and keep 80cent as a tip. Sound.
    That one made me laugh... if I was the driver I would throw it back at you.
    Either leave a decent tip or not at all..... IMHO...:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

jessiejam wrote: »
    Someone has their nickers in a knot because he hadn't got 80cent back in change?
    I just don't get that, I would find that scabby to be honest. If a fare was over €8 I would always give a tenner.
    As for waiting for 80cent or telling the driver to just give me back €2 and keep 80cent as a tip. Sound.

Tell me why you should leave a 'decent tip' or any tip for that matter.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Ticktactoe

jessiejam wrote: »

I couldn't afford to be leaving tips like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭jessiejam

Thats my point.

Either tip and don't moan about it or don't tip at all.
    If you think the service provider deserves one.

I have been in cabs in the past and would have paid him to just let me out because of the state of the car or the smell etc...:eek:.
    But if I am happy with the service i'll tip. If I'm not I won't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

I'd never get a taxi without ensuring that I have the estimated fare in either coins, small notes or a mixture of both. Just a matter of being organised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭mar-z

NothingMan wrote: »
    Saying that, on more than one occassion for eg Saturday night, I had a fare of €6.75 and the driver gave me €3.50 change without saying anything about having the exact amount, so they're not all the same.

Was just about to say similar for the sake of balance. I've had a number a drivers say lets make it an even €15 (when meter was between 15-17) (usually they make the extra money from me as part of the tip, so maybe its stategy)

Most recently, I had a taxi driver who saw me trying to sort my money (wasn't at my most sober) and he said lets make it whatever knocking €3-4 off the fare. On the other side of things you get guys who give all taxi drivers a bad name.

On the tipping of taxi drivers thing, sometimes I do, sometimes I don't. I will do so if I thought the service was good but I don't think it should be an automatic thing which some people do. If the car was filthy or he took some ridiculous route, I assume thinkinging I'm too drunk to notice if I've had a few, I wont. When I do I leave a good tip rather than the 10c change I would get back or what have you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

Half litre of sour piss on the back seat is your man in these situations.

Got a taxi home from town driven by an angry bsterd who complained the whle journey.

Didn't have change and kept droning on about the high cost of living.

The fooker owed me €3.50, so i just loosened the belt and drained around a half litre of sour piss on his back seat and told him to forget about it.

Drastic I know, but get organised buddy.

in what circumstances did you ascertain that your piss has a flavour of sourness flutterinbantem??