Taxi drivers not carrying any/enough change.

• 13-06-2010 08:18PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭

Just got a taxi home and the fair was €6.45. I only had €10 & €50 notes on me.
    So I gave him the €10 note and he starts fishing around in pockets, the glove compartment and a bag, only to come up with €1.63c in coins. He tells me it's all he has and asks if I can 'get more coins' from my house (which I couldn't).

He then has the cheek to ask me if the €1.63c is enough! Feck that, I told him I wanted my €3.55c owed (purely because the guy is an idiot to be picking up fares with no ability to give any change).

So was I right to stand my ground and demand the other €1.92c, or was I being a tight b@stard?

(Note to AH...who's first with a 'fishing' pun/joke?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Absurdum

€6.45??? did you get in then get out again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

No you are dead right, if you were 3 euro short of the fare he wouldn't be too happy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Just make him drive you up and down your road until you get your €1.92 worth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

Definitely right to complain. He probably 'never' has any change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

So, what actually happened in the end??? Did he miraculously realise that he had change in his pocket???

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,910 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Should have told him to only charge you €5 since it was his fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Absurdum wrote: »
    €6.45??? did you get in then get out again?

It was raining. I had a light jacket on me. For some reason, I smell like a dog when I get wet.
    So, what actually happened in the end??? Did he miraculously realise that he had change in his pocket???
    I told him to drop back to my house if/when he gets change and I'll pay the fare.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

€6.45?!? He's probably trying to screw you for getting a taxi when you probably could have walked in 15 minutes.

*edit* I see someone else already made this point. Carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Yeh they're always at that, cringeworthy tbh, trying to get you to tip them

Robbing ba5tards, I laugh whenever I hear they are on strike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭shoelaceface

Ah id say he was a fishy bloke alright trying to cod ya. That lack of change and all the other lack of change would contribute to a nice net profit at the end of the year.

jaysus iv never heard the bait of it

its a wonder he took you straight to your plaice and not on a tour of the countryside.

:):D:):D:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Mr Cawley

it'd be the principal for me.
    no change, what kind of service is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭mariaf24

Ah id say he was a fishy bloke alright trying to cod ya. That lack of change and all the other lack of change would contribute to a nice net profit at the end of the year.

its a wonder he took you straight to your plaice and not on a tour of the countryside.

Very good,very good, you could also have brought 'sling your hook' in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,497 ✭✭✭Esse85

I would of told him to give me back a €5 note and he can take the €1.45 loss seen as he's the one who has no change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Did he manage to find the rest of the money for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

I think you're absolutely right, I've tipped on many occasions, but if he's going to be that unprofessional then you should have little consideration for his feelings or his time.

mariaf24 wrote: »
    Very good,very good, you could also have brought 'sling your hook' in there

:( i was trying to incorporate 'hook' into it! i blame the weather, i havnt an ounce of energy today.

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Would have done, and have done, the exact same.

My fare last night was €7.20, but he was a nice guy to chat to so i handed him a €10 note and just said give me back €2. He got a bit of change and said thanks very much. No worries.

A few weeks ago the fare came to the same but all I had in my wallet was a €50 note and €7.10 in change frustratingly enough. I was quite tipsy at this point but managed to explain this to the taxi driver and offered the €50 note. He took it and then said he didn't have full change for it and could only give me back around €42 and asked was that okay?
    Obviously not.
    So I offered my change as payment and he said I must be having a laugh. So it was okay to ask me to let €8 go, but not okay for him to pass 10c. Had to root through my wallet and find another 10c lodged behind a Subway card. Got out of the taxi shouting something about making more in a day than he does so on and so forth.

My fare last night was €7.20, but he was a nice guy to chat to so i handed him a €10 note and just said give me back €2. He got a bit of change and said thanks very much. No worries.

A few weeks ago the fare came to the same but all I had in my wallet was a €50 note and €7.10 in change frustratingly enough. I was quite tipsy at this point but managed to explain this to the taxi driver and offered the €50 note. He took it and then said he didn't have full change for it and could only give me back around €42 and asked was that okay?
    Obviously not.
    So I offered my change as payment and he said I must be having a laugh. So it was okay to ask me to let €8 go, but not okay for him to pass 10c. Had to root through my wallet and find another 10c lodged behind a Subway card. Got out of the taxi shouting something about making more in a day than he does so on and so forth.

omg!!! thats shocking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

omg!!! thats shocking!
    I know! I mean what sort of country do we live in now where this sort of thing goes on right under our noses...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,930 ✭✭✭✭Victor

There is no obligation on anyone to give change, its your responsibility to have the correct amount.

That said, it was unprofessional for him to be operating like that.

So it was okay to ask me to let €8 go, but not okay for him to pass 10c.

Don't you mean 80c v 10c?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

I told him to drop back to my house if/when he gets change and I'll pay the fare.

Fair play to ya. So you're basically saying you hopped out of the car without paying anything? Can't say he saw that coming after he'd thought he'd pulled a fast one. What was his reaction to your solution?

Victor wrote: »
    There is no obligation on anyone to give change, its your responsibility to have the correct amount.

That said, it was unprofessional for him to be operating like that.

Don't you mean 80c v 10c?

Since it is impossible to predict the total cost of the fare in advance, it's going to be very hard to ensure having exact fare in advance. I don't particularly like carrying around a bag of 5c, 10c, 20c, 50c & €1 coins!

bonerm wrote: »
    Fair play to ya. So you're basically saying you hopped out of the car without paying anything? Can't say he saw that coming after he'd thought he'd pulled a fast one. What was his reaction to your solution?

He agreed to it. After all, he knew where I lived!

He hasn't come back yet. I'll probably get a knock at the door at 2am or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭ronano

It was raining. I had a light jacket on me. For some reason, I smell like a dog when I get wet.

hhaha nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,892 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

I have to agree with you, seems odd that he hadn't small change, I have tons of it on most nights, the only time I have problems is when you get 2 or 3 small fares (less than a €10 say ) one after the other early in the night and they all offer €50 notes, I don't carry €100+ out with me to start a shift :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,162 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Obviously not.

He caused a fuss over 10c? I'd personally never use his services again and tell all my friends too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Pdfile

im cringing....

what a sinker.

OT: they do it so you have to drive to the shop to get change... knock the meter on...

anyone else noticed how much faster the meter runs... litterally ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Pdfile wrote: »
    OT: they do it so you have to drive to the shop to get change... knock the meter on...

anyone else noticed how much faster the meter runs... litterally ??

So when the meter is switched off and back on it run's faster?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Victor wrote: »

What a load of crap, sure why should shops have change then?
    Im not saying your wrong, im saying that a law (if it is law) like that is rediculous.

It has only happened me once, fare was $32 or something, and all i had was a 50. The taxi driver looked at me as if i was an idiot and said "i dont have change", i shrugged my shoulders and said, "well sorry mate but this is all ive got".
    So we just sat there looking at eachother, then all of a sudden after it got pretty awkward, he remembers that he has a pocket full of change. got my change and left.

Its a service, and if they exchange their service for money, they need to carry change, otherwise its just bad business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Pdfile

So when the meter is switched off and back on it run's faster?.

no in general. i mean, the exact same taxi over the space of a few weeks from town.

last knock up of price by the joe maxi bhoys: 11.05c.*

lately: 13-14ish quid.*

might not sound like alot but thats an extra tenner outta my pocket.

Cheeky buggers, half of them only do it part time and still complain about the pay.

* all numbers are averages and simple have a flexibility of 25c.