The physical signs of aging

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I am bricking at the thought of the damn Birthday Skeleton now :( :eek: :(

Hope I get an xbox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

WindSock wrote: »
    I am bricking at the thought of the damn Birthday Skeleton now :( :eek: :(

Hope I get an xbox

Happy Birthday or Happy Belated Birthday.

Think I missed it by a few minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Doop wrote: »
    Good aides or bad aids ?

The bad kind that gets you sitebanned.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I knew I was getting old, when every time I picked something up off the floor, I began to emitt a strange wail/whimper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

"youth being wasted on the young" and all that.

I'm 44yrs old and still a competitive fighter, I busted by ass for the last two months preparing for this weekend only to blow my ankle two weeks ago and ended up on crutches and out of training for at least six weeks.

Do I think it was down to my age?.. No, I think it was down to busting a gut which would give nightmares to lads twenty years my junior.

I can still shimy up a lamp post, or scale over walls and railings and still get 'the glad eye off de ladeez!.

Oh yea, and I could pole vault for Ireland in the olympics on my stiffy tomorrow morning :D

Are you that dude who won Celebrity Big Brother, then married Katie Price?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

The truth is age is but a number and good health is really what life is all about.

OutlawPete wrote: »
    The truth is age is but a number and good health is really what life is all about.

Old people are annoying enough, but healthy, active 81 year old snow & surfboarding old people are just f*cking showoffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Are any of you experiencing the atrocity that is getting older on a physical level? Which parts of you aren't what they used to be?

I'll be 27 in September and I'm gaining grey hairs at at alarming rate. Both sides of my head are about 35% grey at this stage.. it's frightening.. I look like a pale, pikey José Mourinho. My knee isn't the May West either, injured it years ago and didn't take any notice of the residual pain until recently.. it hurts when it rains.. that saddens me deeply, I remember my granny saying her hip used to be sore while it rained. I even bought a pair of those curved walking shoes to see if they help.. not long now 'til the peace of the grave

So are you feeling older?

i wouldn't worry about grey hairs as i was gone grey at 17 years old and am now 41 and my hair is white lol but that doesnt bother me as i am not going bald but there again i wonder maybe going bald would be better as it would get rid of the grey hair what a place to be in. you are ok my friend as i am covered in scars all over my face and body as well as i was in a car accident many years ago i was a passenger, plus my jaw still hurts from being broken in many places that was not set correctly and it hurts in the winter plus the loss of half my right hand as the tendents got severed and cannot be fixed so i'd say you are doing ok. at the end of the day if you are not happy with the little minor problems you see within yourself you should wake up and be more positive as there are people out there with real problems but they are only problems if you let them be. the problem i have noticed with the majority of people is that they judge a person if they are not "so called perfect" which is a sad thing for a person to think. peace. but i am not feeling older, i feel good it's all in the mind. don't forget age is just a number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

36 and not a grey hair in sight.*

*Maybe because of the baldness and bad eyesight.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Old people are annoying enough, but healthy, active 81 year old snow & surfboarding old people are just f*cking showoffs.

True, but which do you wanna be?

Stuck in a home having banana milkshakes blown up your ass or ..

Wait, maybe I've been hasty :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

OutlawPete wrote: »
    True, but which do you wanna be?

Stuck in a home having banana milkshakes blown up your ass or ..

Wait, maybe I've been hasty :p

Pm OutlawPete for access to CAFC..

/ohh wait..:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

Just turned 19 and am going grey and knees and feet aren't what thy used to be!

Nemanja91 wrote: »
    Just turned 19 and am going grey and knees and feet aren't what thy used to be!

What did your knees & feet used to be - your elbows & hand? :confused:

They used to be able to walk properly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yeah I used to get pissed a lot at 19 too...

The oldsters are younger than the youngsters on this thread btw...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

crosstownk wrote: »
    An indicator - or so I'm led to believe......

1. Pinch the skin on the back of your hand and hold for five seconds.

2. Release, and count how long it takes for the skin to flatten out.

How to score:

Time (seconds)

1-2 (under 30)

3-4 (30-44)

5-9 (45-50)

10-15 (60)

35-55 (70)

Some Google derived source.......http://thestir.cafemom.com/healthy_living/7565/How_Old_Is_Your_Skin

.4secs, what age am I supposed to be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭x in the city

ffs, cant believe i seen this thread

its my birthday (notice lack of text speak!) saturday. too old for this ****...

finished last assignment for a masters today and was on the lash but too old for this ****... way too old.:mad:

.4secs, what age am I supposed to be?

finished last assignment for a masters today and was on the lash but too old for this ****... way too old.:mad:
    Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

At 20 years old I felt a little old until I overheard conversations of prostate problems and getting it up.

Realising neiter applied to myself nor do I have any grey hairs I felt better.

To add satisfaction my beer belly is tiny, I can jog half a mile without an issue (not much but was a couch potato) I can manage a 12 day drinking binge and turn up for work perfect on the 13th day, I can still go out and score if i felt like it.

I feel old though :( Mostly cos I saw a girl today who looked about 16 driving a done up citroen saxo allegedly 4X4 yet no sign of a rear diff and was shocked at the young people music being played on buses. Gone are the days of winding up our record players and causing a hooley on streets :pac::pac:

Also to add some insult I see things kids do now and go tut tut only to realise i used to do that and worse in the same places!

congo_90 wrote: »
    I can still go out and score if i felt like it.
    Still? At 20? Well done old boy! :D

Dudess wrote: »
    Still? At 20? Well done old boy! :D

I know yea. thought by now women would realise to wait till the lights went on in night clubs haha :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Tbh, I've never felt old (just looking a little older). I'm fit as a fiddle and have done shag all yet, long may that continue.
    But the worse thing that ever happened me (slight exaggeration perhaps) was a couple of years back when I was only 25 and myself and a couple of mates went to Boo Radleys in Galway cos it's full of first years in college and the bouncers basically told us to f*** off, it's only full of young ones! We wanted to go in anyway but they made us feel like dicks!

One time LC results night used to be a great night out but now you just look like a perve.
    Similarly if you go knacker drinking looking to pull.
    And also if you try and get some young one to do bad things in a car park or behind a supermarket.

Thats what I miss

Now it's all boring small talk, nodding and smiling and the inevitable shag at the end. (I liked the wonder and the thrill, if you get back to a house it's a given now)

Tbh, I've never felt old

A couple of years back when I was only 25 and myself and a couple of mates went to Boo Radleys in Galway

When you think that things which happened over 15 years ago, were just "a couple of years ago", it's a sure sign that your memory ain't what it used to be & senile dementia is kicking in..
    The Boo Radleys were a British alternative rock band of the 1990s who were associated with the shoegazing and Britpop movements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

too old to read thread but last week i found a white chest hair

Tbh, I've never felt old (just looking a little older). I'm fit as a fiddle and have done shagged all yet,
    FYP :P

One time LC results night used to be a great night out but now you just look like a perve.
    Similarly if you go knacker drinking looking to pull.
    And also if you try and get some young one to do bad things in a car park or behind a supermarket.
    Ah the legacey lives on sir ;) Gone are the days of playing dj cammy for romance and Dj rankin for somethin other than ****'n ;)

I miss my under 18's discos when everyone drank in bushes with 4 druids or 6 dutch and then ya met a girl, and her mate then something more with the last outta the 3 only to dance and meet up with friends and brag later :) I wish clubs were more like this :)

Thread of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

when I was only 25

You know your old when you refer to your mid-twenties as "only" :p

26 and i still get asked for ID every now and then :) .

I have noticed quite a few hairs curling their way out of my nostrils though, little bastards hurt when ya pull them out too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Don't have any :) :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I'm 28, so I don't feel old.
    In fact I look and feel a little younger than I did when I was 21 (though not right now, I've bruised ribs, so every movement makes me feel like I'm 90). I'm lighter, fitter, stronger, have more co-ordination and confidence and more common sense than I did back then.

I've had grey hairs appearing on the side of my head since I was 18, and they only seem to come in at a rate of 2-3 per year. My mum was grey at 40 though, so that's what I'm expecting. I'm paranoid that I've a receding hairline yet every time I look I find no evidence of one - I just have a high hairline and always have. I cannot understand why my nose and ears insist on sprouting hair at the same rate that it grows on my head.

It's social things which make me feel old;

- Noticing a hot girl, finding out that she's 17/18 and realising that she was only 8 years old when you were 18. It's weird.
    - Not having a fncking clue who the current bands are or what songs are in the charts. In my teens, I used to know this stuff, even if I didn't like the music. Now I couldn't tell you who the most popular band today is. Thankfully my wife is the same, and she likes pop music.
    - Going to a pub and leaving again because the music is too loud and I can't have a chat
    - Being satisfied with rolling out of a pub at 1am and going home because I couldn't be arsed going to a club
    - Actually getting bored on a night out because there's nothing going on, even if I'm bladdered. There was a time when every night out could be enhanced by being drunk.
    - Daydreaming about things that you "could" do and then realising that you are in fact now too old or too experienced to do them - playing sports professionally for example. There was a time when you would think, "That would be cool" and you'd know you still had time to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I've been going grey since I was 13. I don't understand why some people obsess over going grey.