"The most serious consequences" - What do you think Cowen means?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭messymess

I nearly died laughing when I heard Biffo come out with that quote.

The worst thing he could do to them is photocopy his arse and fax it to them. The way the Government are at the moment they probably couldn't even manage that. Well, either that or Harney would eat it before it reached the fax machine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

dan719 wrote: »
    I have no issue with Israel's actions. .

that speaks volumes about your character

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 cormac11

Get a few of the Rathkeale or Tuam crowd to infiltrate Israel, and have them start breeding with the jewish girls! NOW THAT WILL TEACH EM A LESSON in about 12 years time!!:):):):):):)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

"And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who would attempt to poison and destroy my brothers.
    And you will know my name is the Lord when I lay my....... big fat lips upon thee. "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

messymess wrote: »
    I nearly died laughing when I heard Biffo come out with that quote.

The worst thing he could do to them is photocopy his arse and fax it to them. The way the Government are at the moment they probably couldn't even manage that. Well, either that or Harney would eat it before it reached the fax machine.

I usually hate Mary Harney fat jokes(getting old) but jase I nearly pissed meself laughin at that!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Richard tea

This has to be the most important thing that Cowen has said since taking over. He might not be able to back it up with anything but it takes balls.

Its better than Obama voicing his "deep regret" blah blah blah bull****:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

Cowen couldn't beat an egg nevermind the Israelis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

aDeener wrote: »
    that speaks volumes about your character

Whatever happened to attack the post, and not the poster?
    It's usually a good sign you can't respond to the post anyway. What "terrible consequences" had you in mind?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭2ygb4cmqetsjhx

Hitler must be turning in his grave now that the jews have nuclear weapons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭law86

It was interesting to see Cowan get agitated about an issue, for once. All we usually see are the emotionless eyes of a man defending the indefensible (the disgraceful actions of his party, the banks etc over the past few years).

For once I can agree with the man.

To those who say that it's stupid for an Irish politican to say that Israeli actions will have serious consequences, perhaps it was not the best choice of words but it is imperative that every civilised nation registers their protest against the Israeli government.

Our military might(!) is irrelevant, as is the ratio of imports to exports between our two countries. To say that our voice in the matter is not worth registering is a cop-out, every voice adds to the groundswell of opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

The most serious consequences:

Cowen is gonna bankrupt them too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Duckjob

moonpurple wrote: »
    in reply to OP - he will put a review in place and have a report made, going forward:pac:

Don't forget the Task Force. Wouldn't be much use without a Task Force :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

We were one of the first countries to take a stand against apartheid, perhaps its asking to much, but we could be one of the first western countries to take that same stand against Israel. I think the country would back the goverment on this 100% Its not anti semetism, its Ireland, as a well respected country finally saying enough enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Richard tea

law86 wrote: »
    It was interesting to see Cowan get agitated about an issue, for once. All we usually see are the emotionless eyes of a man defending the indefensible (the disgraceful actions of his party, the banks etc over the past few years).

For once I can agree with the man.

To those who say that it's stupid for an Irish politican to say that Israeli actions will have serious consequences, perhaps it was not the best choice of words but it is imperative that every civilised nation registers their protest against the Israeli government.

Our military might(!) is irrelevant, as is the ratio of imports to exports between our two countries. To say that our voice in the matter is not worth registering is a cop-out, every voice adds to the groundswell of opinion.

Thats what I wanted to write in my post, but brain not work goooood.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Whatever happened to attack the post, and not the poster?
    It's usually a good sign you can't respond to the post anyway. What "terrible consequences" had you in mind?

that post was neither an attack on you nor the post. maybe you should try and defend your position rather than come out with that. although i concede that it will be extremely difficult for you to defend the indefensible.

i never had any terrible consequences in mind. the fact that you have no problem with: an illegal barricade of palestinians, the forging of irish passports to carry out killings, the...... want me to go on? theres 100s of illegal, immoral and downright evil actions the israelis have done and continue to do, yet you have no issues with these at all. you make a post like that you should expect to be taken up on it.

disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

The Israelis are the oddest bunch I've ever come across. Their country was essentially founded out of land being given to a certain group of oppressed people, in this case the Jews.......... learn't nothing from the whole WW2 episode and now oppress the people of Palestine while they're still occupying Palestinian land never given to them originally.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

10 PRINT #Mary Harney reference
    20 ROFL
    30 GOTO 10

$MOD52
    BYTEVAL EQU p2

LCDBus EQU P2 ; define processor - LCD bus connections
    RS EQU P3.5 ; define LCD control signal connections
    RW EQU P3.6
    EN EQU P3.7

KPADPORT EQU P0 ; col/row port & pin assignment
    COL0 EQU P0.0
    COL1 EQU P0.1
    COL2 EQU P0.2
    COL3 EQU P0.3
    ROW0 EQU P0.4
    ROW1 EQU P0.5
    ROW2 EQU P0.6
    ROW3 EQU P0.7

ORG 000H
    LJMP MAIN

ORG 300H
    MAIN:
    LCALL INIT_LCD
    LCALL CLR_LCD
    MOV SP, #2FH
    SETB C
    CLR_LED

MAINPROGLOOP:
    SETB C
    NOP
    LCALL keypadPoll
    NOP
    SJMP MAINPROGLOOP

ORG 1200H
    CLR_LCD: DB 01h,0FFh ; clear LCD display, place cursor on left of display
    INiT_LCD: DB 38h,0Eh,06h,0FFh ; set bus width (8 bits), display type (2 line, 5x7 d

keypadPoll:
    mov r0,#4
    mov a, #0F7h
    push acc

TRYNXTCOL:
    mov kpadport, a
    setb c
    rrc a
    push acc

CHKROW3: mov a, R0
    ADD A, #12H
    call waitKeyRelease

sjmp LOOKUPKEYTABLE

CHKROW2: mov a, R0
    ADD A, #8H
    call waitKeyRelease

sjmp LOOKUPKEYTABLE

CHKROW1: mov a, R0
    ADD A, #4H
    call waitKeyRelease

sjmp LOOKUPKEYTABLE

CHKROW0: mov a, R0

sjmp LOOKUPKEYTABLE

searchNxtCol:

sjmp keypadPoll

LOOKUPKEYTABLE:
    mov dptr, #convertTable
    movc a,@a+dptr

lcall WRITE_DATA_TO_LCD

WRITE_DATA_TO_LCD:

CLR A
    MOVC A, @A+DPTR

ContinueLCD:
    MOV LCDBus, A
    LCALL txfr2LCDAndChkLCDBusyFlg
    INC DPTR;
    MOV A,#00h
    MOVC A,@A+DPTR
    CJNE A, #0FFh, ContinueLCD
    ret

txfr2LCDAndChkLCDBusyFlg:
    call clrEN
    call setEN
    call setRW ; LCD read mode since reading LCD port for BUSY flag
    MOV LCDBus, #0FFh ; set all LCD port pins as inputs

chkLCDBusy: ; then wait until LCD busy flag is deasserted :
    MOV A, LCDBus ; read LCDBus data from LCD
    JB Acc.7, chkLCDBusy ; test busy flag bit and wait until clear (if set, loop since LCD is busy)
    NOP
    NOP
    NOP

call clrRW ;

RET

waitKeyRelease: ; polls port row inputs until all keys are released (all row bits='0')
    mov kpadport, #0F0h ; assert all column o/p bits ('0') and define row bits as inputs
    mov a, kpadport ; read keypad port for row data

jnb ROW0,waitKeyRelease ; keep checking until row bit 0 = '1'. Otherwise continue
    jnb ROW1,waitKeyRelease ; keep checking until row bit 0 = '1'. Otherwise continue
    jnb ROW2,waitKeyRelease ; keep checking until row bit 0 = '1'. Otherwise continue
    jnb ROW3,waitKeyRelease ; keep checking until row bit 0 = '1'. Otherwise continue

lcall CLR_LCD
    ret

convertTable:db'0123F456E789DA0BC'

ret

end

*dusts hands*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

$MOD52
    BYTEVAL EQU p2

LCDBus EQU P2 ; define processor - LCD bus connections
    RS EQU P3.5 ; define LCD control signal connections
    RW EQU P3.6
    EN EQU P3.7

KPADPORT EQU P0 ; col/row port & pin assignment
    COL0 EQU P0.0
    COL1 EQU P0.1
    COL2 EQU P0.2
    COL3 EQU P0.3
    ROW0 EQU P0.4
    ROW1 EQU P0.5
    ROW2 EQU P0.6
    ROW3 EQU P0.7

ORG 000H
    LJMP MAIN

ORG 300H
    MAIN:
    LCALL INIT_LCD
    LCALL CLR_LCD
    MOV SP, #2FH
    SETB C
    CLR_LED

MAINPROGLOOP:
    SETB C
    NOP
    LCALL keypadPoll
    NOP
    SJMP MAINPROGLOOP

ORG 1200H
    CLR_LCD: DB 01h,0FFh ; clear LCD display, place cursor on left of display
    INiT_LCD: DB 38h,0Eh,06h,0FFh ; set bus width (8 bits), display type (2 line, 5x7 d

keypadPoll:
    mov r0,#4
    mov a, #0F7h
    push acc

TRYNXTCOL:
    mov kpadport, a
    setb c
    rrc a
    push acc

CHKROW3: mov a, R0
    ADD A, #12H
    call waitKeyRelease

sjmp LOOKUPKEYTABLE

CHKROW2: mov a, R0
    ADD A, #8H
    call waitKeyRelease

sjmp LOOKUPKEYTABLE

CHKROW1: mov a, R0
    ADD A, #4H
    call waitKeyRelease

sjmp LOOKUPKEYTABLE

CHKROW0: mov a, R0

sjmp LOOKUPKEYTABLE

searchNxtCol:

sjmp keypadPoll

LOOKUPKEYTABLE:
    mov dptr, #convertTable
    movc a,@a+dptr

lcall WRITE_DATA_TO_LCD

WRITE_DATA_TO_LCD:

CLR A
    MOVC A, @A+DPTR

ContinueLCD:
    MOV LCDBus, A
    LCALL txfr2LCDAndChkLCDBusyFlg
    INC DPTR;
    MOV A,#00h
    MOVC A,@A+DPTR
    CJNE A, #0FFh, ContinueLCD
    ret

txfr2LCDAndChkLCDBusyFlg:
    call clrEN
    call setEN
    call setRW ; LCD read mode since reading LCD port for BUSY flag
    MOV LCDBus, #0FFh ; set all LCD port pins as inputs

chkLCDBusy: ; then wait until LCD busy flag is deasserted :
    MOV A, LCDBus ; read LCDBus data from LCD
    JB Acc.7, chkLCDBusy ; test busy flag bit and wait until clear (if set, loop since LCD is busy)
    NOP
    NOP
    NOP

call clrRW ;

RET

waitKeyRelease: ; polls port row inputs until all keys are released (all row bits='0')
    mov kpadport, #0F0h ; assert all column o/p bits ('0') and define row bits as inputs
    mov a, kpadport ; read keypad port for row data

jnb ROW0,waitKeyRelease ; keep checking until row bit 0 = '1'. Otherwise continue
    jnb ROW1,waitKeyRelease ; keep checking until row bit 0 = '1'. Otherwise continue
    jnb ROW2,waitKeyRelease ; keep checking until row bit 0 = '1'. Otherwise continue
    jnb ROW3,waitKeyRelease ; keep checking until row bit 0 = '1'. Otherwise continue

lcall CLR_LCD
    ret

convertTable:db'0123F456E789DA0BC'

ret

end

*dusts hands*

What a waste of a post?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Teclo

The Army Ranger Wing will parachute into a Kibbutz looking for some Israeli army gals to capture. Shortly after being smuggled through Baldonnel, the olive draped beauties will be forced to take part in a dehumanizing crisp advert.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Look, Cowen is a moron, that's a given, but I hope he expels the Israeli ambassador or something. As a poster about a page back said, its stronger words than America's "deep regret", which is meaningless. Now this statement from Biffo could turn out to be equally meaningless, but at least he's acknowledging the gravity of the situation, which the Bush, I mean whoops, sorry, Obama, administration has not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,340 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Well there's a problem with that in that at least 200,000 innocent civilians will be killed.

No! Their tactical nukes are very surgically precise. The US said so. There will be no collateral damage. Afterwards, the US will call on Israel to investigate matters fully. Which they will. And they will find out we are still eating their oranges, so it was all an unfortunate mistake. But they were justified in taking this (limited) action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭flanzer

Tough call...With the Americans in bed with Israel and Cowan looking for investment from the Yanks, I'd say he'll just shake his fist at them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

"The most serious consequences" - I know what it will be..... Ivor Callely will be made explain himself in front of the Israelis... he must be sh1ting himself....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,757 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

law86 wrote: »

i'm afraid it doesn't. The only countries the Israeli's will listen to are the USA and possibly Turkey. They don't give a damn what we think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Roro4Brit

He'll send in the army of course. We may not have the best trained group of lads....but we have plenty of ammo at least.....

spudgun.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

The worst Biffo can do is Fart at them.

Talk is cheap from Politicians, just hot air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,757 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I know that Fintan Lane is contesting his deportation order. TBH Israel can keep him, we have enough left wing numpties as it is.

are there any right-wing numpties in Ireland?

or is it just anyone whose political views happen to be opposite to yours that are numpties?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

We'll can do what we're so good at in international diplomacy..act the bollix.

Send a few ministers over to palestine on a regular basis and give the the table cloth wearing nutters a few PR coups. Grant asylum to the kind of people Israel don't want us to grant asylum to. Stick the boot in on them with the EU and UN when the opportunity presents itself. Standard cute hoorism like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭KevinVonSpiel

Exports to Israel are worth three hundred million per year. We import only eighty million worth of goods from them every year. Trade sanctions will hurt us more than it hurts them.

Compared to a billion dollar yearly trade with Turkey, for instance. Is it about money anyway? Where does that end?
    WTF did the Irish lads expect? A pat on the back for being part of an attempt to break through a military brigade? A big dinner and a flight home? A harp on your passport is not a get out of jail free card.

We know... but it is a get out of Dubai free card.