"The most serious consequences" - What do you think Cowen means?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

What a modest poster? I was trying to add some reasoning to your earlier infantile analysis and silly conclusion.

Hot on the heels of your silly, infantile comment on somebody's use of language, you again added nothing of any worth. Expelling diplomats or cutting off diplomatic ties with a country is a fairly standard and accepted method of registering an official protest against their actions. Just what exactly is wrong with the idea of expelling Zion Evrony? Why is that a silly conclusion? Why was my "earlier analysis" infantile? Can you come up with a reasonable defence of Israel's actions?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Originally Posted by Sonnenblumen viewpost.gif
    What a modest poster? I was trying to add some reasoning to your earlier infantile analysis and silly conclusion.
    RayM wrote: »
    Hot on the heels of your silly, infantile comment on somebody's use of language, you again added nothing of any worth. Expelling diplomats or cutting off diplomatic ties with a country is a fairly standard and accepted method of registering an official protest against their actions. Just what exactly is wrong with the idea of expelling Zion Evrony? Why is that a silly conclusion? Why was my "earlier analysis" infantile? Can you come up with a reasonable defence of Israel's actions?

Jeasus lads, ya need to get oout for a pinta two! Be gorra...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

he will rewite ulyssess and make leopold bloom a hindu...:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

I remember reading on some post a while back that Israel has nuclear weapons targeted on European cities including Dublin. Just a thought.

IRISH AIR CORP

-VS-

ISRAEI AIR FORCE

Food for thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,340 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Cowen's going to send that Air Corps officer over to Israel and he's going to call them pricks. The IDF will then collapse completely and go belly up.

Game over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Occam

Clearly a touchy subject right now but...

Is he seriously contemplating a revenge attack on the Israelis?!

I think this is what he is threatening :

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,340 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I remember reading on some post a while back that Israel has nuclear weapons targeted on European cities including Dublin. Just a thought.

Are they trained on the Dáil? Well, let's do something to provoke them. We could boycott their oranges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

Would Cowen ever STFU. Exports to Israel are worth three hundred million per year. We import only eighty million worth of goods from them every year. Trade sanctions will hurt us more than it hurts them.

And lol @ "serious consequences". Best one I've heard since the plan to invade the North years ago. Cowen is an idiot to threaten a nuclear nation which also happens to be besties with the US, even if it is political grandstanding. God I hate Fianna Fail with a passion sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Cowen is spoofing as always. The idea that Ireland has "serious consequences" in store Israeli ridiculous.

Sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

dan719 wrote: »
    Would Cowen ever STFU. Exports to Israel are worth three hundred million per year. We import only eighty million worth of goods from them every year. Trade sanctions will hurt us more than it hurts them.

And lol @ "serious consequences". Best one I've heard since the plan to invade the North years ago. Cowen is an idiot to threaten a nuclear nation which also happens to be besties with the US, even if it is political grandstanding. God I hate Fianna Fail with a passion sometimes.
    Yeah, our taoiseach should just stand back and let a foreign power trample over our sovereignty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Yeah, our taoiseach should just stand back and let a foreign power trample over our sovereignty.

Good man, now ya got it.

And what exactly are we going to do about it if they do? We didn't do anything after the forged passports, we won't do anything after this, whether Israel immediately releases those people or not. And do you know why? Because we are militarily impotent. And economic sanctions would be a case of cutting of our nose to spite our face. You want to go toe to toe with the IDF? Grand, I hear they are recruiting for the next PR stunt, best of luck with that. I have no issue with Israel's actions. WTF did the Irish lads expect? A pat on the back for being part of an attempt to break through a military brigade? A big dinner and a flight home? A harp on your passport is not a get out of jail free card.

As an aside, the people who have provided documents and signed the deportation orders have all been sent home. I know that Fintan Lane is contesting his deportation order. TBH Israel can keep him, we have enough left wing numpties as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Fart wrote: »
    Good man, now ya got it.
    Your username is fart. Your point is irrelevant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Brian Cowen has threatened the Isralies that if they don't cop on, he's gonna go over there & sing to them....

Very serious indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

Your username is fart. Your point is irrelevant.

He's just blowing hot air. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭vodafoneproblem

No points for Israel in the Eurovision next year, probably. That'll learn 'em!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

OK here is a plan - allbeit it will only work once.

Since the Rangers are currently scratching their asses I have a plan that would work but only once.

Basically fly an elite group out to the ship "Corrie" on two helicopters in the Med unbeknownst to anyone since it is in international waters where they will hide and await the incompetent Israeli Commandos. When they come on acting all hard that is when the Rangers get up and strike the blow. This will likely occur in international waters and with piracy it is a right to defend a ship with force. That will be Ireland's defence. Fcuk all Israel can do then. No justification to retaliate from a legal point of view. Just a thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

in reply to OP - he will put a review in place and have a report made, going forward:pac:

darkman2 wrote: »

Since the Rangers are currently scratching their asses I have a plan that would work but only once.

Basically fly an elite group out to the ship "Corrie" on two helicopters in the Med unbeknownst to anyone since it is in international waters where they will hide and await the incompetent Israeli Commandos. When they come on acting all hard that is when the Rangers get up and strike the blow. This will likely occur in international waters and with piracy it is a right to defend a ship with force. That will be Ireland's defence. Fcuk all Israel can do then. No justification to retaliate from a legal point of view. Just a thought.

And as an added bonus, we'll get to find out what being bombed to oblivion feels like! I'll say one thing though, this post is worthy of a Darwin award.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

RayM wrote: »
    The widespread outrage towards Israel's latest crime cannot seriously be dismissed as merely "hitching onto the anti-Israeli/liberal leftist bandwagon". From what I've read, only those on the very far-right of the political spectrum are even attempting (quite badly) to defend Israel on this one - The type of propagandists whose gut instinct - upon learning that the IDF has committed an act of murder - is to pin the blame (or - better still - divert attention) elsewhere.

At the very least, the Israeli Ambassador should be told to fuck off home.

He should have been told that after the passport incident tbh.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Are they trained on the Dáil? Well, let's do something to provoke them. We could boycott their oranges.

Well there's a problem with that in that at least 200,000 innocent civilians will be killed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I feel very uncomfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

I feel very uncomfortable.

Take two aspirin and have a lie down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

10 PRINT #Mary Harney reference
    20 ROFL
    30 GOTO 10

Feck you and the other speedy shite....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

darkman2 wrote: »

...with hurleys. There'll be no shooting up the ship after a few clatters of the ash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Abrasax wrote: »
    Take two aspirin and have a lie down.

I dunno if you've ever bothered to look at the Isreal army but
    here

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Israel_Defense_Forces#Military_technology

fvck sake man are fighter planes have props, bvar the saaab jets we have.

I can't speak about the irish army and I dont intend to as, I dont know enough about it tho to be honest and wiki doesnt give that much info. But personally Id feel intimadtaed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

IRISH AIR CORP

-VS-

Israeli Airforce

Food for thought.

Yeah - if you are 8 years old.

elaborate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

elaborate.