Things you said you shouldn't have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Lentil

Was working in a restauraunt one night. Quite low lighting to add to the general ambience (and to camoflage the dinge). Walked up to a table of 2 people, and said "Right gents, what can I get for you". It was in fact a guy and his girlfriend, who had short hair.

Hid out the back until they left. For shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Started a new job & one of the female supervisors looked pregnant so I asked her when she was due.

I don't trust my eyes anymore :(

She hates me but to be honest I doubt we would have had much in common anyway...she's a ginger person & looks like she ate a small island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

A few years ago, two friends of mine - a couple - were going through bad times and were nearing a break-up. We could all see it coming, even them, but they were desperately clinging on. So they were sitting in a couple of chairs one day with a chair between them. They were turned in towards each other and chatting. A friend with a penchant for cringe humour completely forgot their relationship difficulties and sat smack down in between them on the middle chair and demanded-attempting comedy- "Oh, I'm sorry, am I getting in the way of your FAILING RELATIONSHIP!?!?!?"

Took him 15 minutes to realise what he'd done.... How we laughed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Started a new job & one of the female supervisors looked pregnant so I asked her when she was due.

I don't trust my eyes anymore :(

She hates me but to be honest I doubt we would have had much in common anyway...she's a ginger person & looks like she ate a small island.

You don't like ginger people?

scareydoll wrote: »
    You don't like ginger people?

Does anyone???:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Does anyone???:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Osu wrote: »
    Told the missuses father to fu*k off about two years ago after we had an argument over a birthday present.

He's still a wa*ker but I shouldn't of said that.

Still doesn't sit down very well

Did you kick him in arse too?:eek:

scareydoll wrote: »

Another thing I shouldn't have said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Darksaga87 wrote: »
    Im forever making inappropriate jokes around people who not really "friends" But we would have a laugh, and im the one who always says something that just kills the mood for them.

My proper friends on the other hand would know that im joking and laugh about it. But when im not being monitored..... im lucky im not in jail.

I'm that guy in my group, even my friend find it cringey, but by now I just don't care and just hate myself after I leave their presence! ha

Was mocking a friends mam, had done it previously, this night he decided to tell me that his mother had been dead for 7 years! :( Cringe!!

A friend of mine was chatting up an American girl who had a bit of girth about her, perfect for him really, and she was telling him she is an Au Pair for an autistic boy, my friend says to her "So you are basically a labrador?" in a jokey way...she didn't get the joke! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Got into an argument with a women who had taken a disabled space and she started screaming at me to mind my own business and that she wasn't going to spend all day looking for a normal space.

I said something along the lines of my apologies, you actually do appear handicapped so work away.

Not my most PC moment. :o

stovelid wrote: »
    Got into an argument with a women who had taken a wheelchair space and she started screaming at me to mind my own business and that she wasn't going to spend all day looking for a normal space.

I said something along the lines of my apologies, you actually do appear handicapped so work away.

Report the bItch in future.
    My blood boils when I see that **** happening.

Nice bitchy comment though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

stovelid wrote: »
    Got into an argument with a women who had taken a disabled space and she started screaming at me to mind my own business and that she wasn't going to spend all day looking for a normal space.

Ha! Rookie mistake on her part

If you park in the handicapped zone you should at least drag your leg when you walk to the shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

PK2008 wrote: »
    Ha! Rookie mistake on her part

If you park in the hanicapped zone you should at least drag your leg when you walk to the shop

Or do a Larry David and put on a stammer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Raiser

Archeron wrote: »
    Once ordering lunch in a deli I asked the very attractive Spanish girl serving whether or not she had brown baps. Everyone else in the queue laughed, but she didnt get it.
    Archeron wrote: »
    Was in a deli with a coworker a wee while ago, and queuing at the counter, noticed this really gorgeous Spanish looking girl serving. Yer man in front was next, and she smiled at him and asked if wanted a sambo or a roll, and his reply to her was "Do you have brown baps?" Neither of them noticed the slip of the tongue, but 3 or 4 people behind broke out laughing.

You ever say innocently throw a funny double entendre out in your daily conversation?

Remembered this from November 2007 (For some odd, odd reason)

- The thing you 'shouldn't have said' was that it was you that had said it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

whenever i open my mouth i say things i shouldn't have :(...so much said so little after hours..

i suppose calling x-factor viewers braindead morons has offended the most people in my life...:o

i fell into that hole too. got a horsewhipping for giving out about it one evening by the mother sister girlfriend all in the room at the time

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭El_Dangeroso

Raiser wrote: »

That is a ridiculously good memory you have there, who remembers a thread from 2007? I sometimes go to thank old posts only to realise I was the one who wrote them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Your honour, the prosecution rests!!

Nicely done sir!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,584 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

I was talking to guys in the class below me in college in a lab about how hard a subject was. I was saying that I had put loads of time into it and got C and one my friends says "Dont lie, you didnt nothing for that subject" to which i replied without even thinking "Shut the fck up, i worked like a black for that subject", no noticing the two guys in the class below me originally from Nigeria were behind me. Felt really bad about it :(

Must be an Athlone thing, Marry O'Rourke said something similar about her campaign workers after her last election, we all must be racist in the midlands :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

Friends of mine from college were sharing a room for the first time. She was 22 and he was 18. On hearing this I said - so do you get the double bed and a cot in the corner for the boyfriend. Thank fcuk they took it in good humour - it was a bit sharp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 annie87

I worked in a pub when i was 18, and once there was a couple (female) in there who flirted with me and asked me out as i was cleaing their table. I was quite disturbed because they were in their forties, not good looking, and one looked extremely manly,( and I was shallow...and straight) so I declined their offer.

Cut to abot a week later when I was out in with the people I worked with after a meal. We sat at the bar and started telling stories about work, each out doing each other with our 'hilarious' anecdotes. So, I tell everybody about my encounter with the lesbians, totally exagerating, making them out to be way uglier/hairier/butcher/fatter/ more boggerish than they were. Who do you think decided to stand behind me and order a pint at that moment?:eek:

I was wondering why everybody had gone rather quiet. It was incredibly unfortunate timing, and there's no way they couldn't have heard me as the bar was quiet. I was mortified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Doing a patient hospital admission in London a couple of years ago, I made the mistake of assuming the two ladies present were mother and daughter.
    WRONG! - they were sisters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

Jeez do you go through everybodys post like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

Made a joke to a friend ne day about multiple sclerosis.

Just my luck........................He never heard of multiple sclerosis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Doing a patient hospital admission in London a couple of years ago, I made the mistake of assuming the two ladies present were mother and daughter.
    WRONG! - they were sisters.

Well at least you complimented one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

longshanks wrote: »
    brightest tool in the box?? sharpest son, sharpest. c'mon, its not rocket surgery.....

If the box had a heap of flash lamps within in it then it would be the brightest would it not?:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

was heading abroad a few years ago with my gf at the time (now wife)and were just about to hit the hay, when I jokingly sent her a txt saying "nice G-String"...

I giggled, and waited for her phone to beep...and waited...then I waited some more..the beep never came...

Seemed she had swapped phones with her mam for the week because hers didn't have roaming in the States or something.

Unknowingly, I just complimented my mother in Laws underwear...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

You need to step back from the keyboard :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭thirtythirty

In school there was a lad in our year whose sister was a few years ahead of us. Her hair was in the style of a 60's housewife, you know like a lego person's, and i came up to him for a laugh one day and went "Hey! I like your sister's hair style!"

Turns out she had cancer and it was a wig.

I still occasionally remember it randomly every so often and get an awful feeling in my stomach! Afaik though she's fine now, but still the worst thing i've ever said to someone. I wasn't even mates with the guy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

My ex was notorious for blabbing out stuff without thinking. We were at his office Christmas Do and were all standing around chatting when someone said 'did yis here <female accountant’s name> is getting married'. My ex, who couldn’t stand her, turned to the fella beside him and said ‘oh god the poor fucker, who’d marry that wench. Your man responds ‘me’.... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭happyfriday

In school there was a lad in our year whose sister was a few years ahead of us. Her hair was in the style of a 60's housewife, you know like a lego person's, and i came up to him for a laugh one day and went "Hey! I like your sister's hair style!"

Turns out she had cancer and it was a wig.

I still occasionally remember it randomly every so often and get an awful feeling in my stomach! Afaik though she's fine now, but still the worst thing i've ever said to someone. I wasn't even mates with the guy!

Oh dear, that was a hard one to read!!! One of those situations where you wish the ground would just open up and swollow you!! :o