Conjoined twins flown home by the Air corps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Bazzy

From watching the report on rte news a few things struck me. Each child was carried off the plane by each parent, not nurses or doctors and not on any life support or anything. What are the criteria for such expenditure ? Does it not have to be an emergency or patients transported to be incapable of commercial flight?
    Another thing that struck me was the people interviewed from Cork were raving that a cork surgeon had done the job for these little corkonians , bla bla bla and then i heard minister michael martin was waiting to meet them at the airport. This is the same minister who faces losing his seat at the next election unless he can be seen to be doing special things for his constituency .
    Personally i have no prob flying these kids home saving the hassle of flying commercially etc even if they dont meet the strict criteria but i do feel the cork minister was using this cork family for his own political ends.

Politicans will be politicans

And as for the cork thing... i think we all know how that works !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭murf313

Stinicker wrote: »
    It is frivolous wasteful spending like this that is the reason Ireland is in economic depression. People need to man up and learn to take responsibility for their own lives and destiny, everybody expects to get something from the Government.

If I had a private air ambulance service I'd be pretty mad to see the Government competing with me by giving patients free rides home. It is a disgrace and this socialist "entitlement" culture so prevelent in Ireland and Europe is what has crushed our economies and has seen the Euro currency collapsed and on life support by the German government.

Proper government use of Jets is as a Ministerial transport and and any other such planes should be got rid of and let the private citizens choose their own air ambulances. The market will soon adapt and with medical insurance it will allow another industry to develop where state intervention has held it back.
    you sir, are an idiot...

The air corps carry out air ambulance missions on a regular enough basis. I worked in the air corps until not so long ago. Believe me, this isnt some sort of free air travel that patients are getting.... its because they are in need of critical care. These aircraft can be fitted out with advanced medical equipment and carry a medical team on them. Infact one of the government jets can also be converted to the air ambulance role.

If you think that the price of a few air ambulance missions would pay for 10 fighter jets you are living in dream world....

Also the defence forces has a long tradition of providing humanatarian aid to those who need it at home and abroad and i can tell you now, the lads would have done it for free if they could have.

Ireland has become a sad place with the likes of you around......

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Stinicker wrote:
    Proper government use of Jets is as a Ministerial transport and and any other such planes should be got rid of and let the private citizens choose their own air ambulances. The market will soon adapt and with medical insurance it will allow another industry to develop where state intervention has held it back.

we do NOT need ministerial jets, we have two airlines with direct daily flights from Dublin to most of the places they would need to fly to. And since many of the meetings are scheduled in advance they could probably get the seats cheap. That would save in the order of €30m

As for market economies a while back we passed the US in having the most expensive healthcare in the world. The market adapted to the euro change over too quickly with most prices rounded up, even though there is a recession on prices or doctors and dentists haven't fallen anywhere close to what wages have fallen by.

Actually private enterprise already operates air sea rescue.

Call the flight a training exercise, and don't forget we'll be saving on the foreign hospital bills. It's worth it for the feel good factor alone, cheaper than running ads on telly or posting pamphlets. If the twins grow up to lead normal lives then by the time they retire they themselves will probably have paid enough tax to cover the costs so it's really only a loan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

murf313 wrote: »
    you sir, are an idiot...

The air corps carry out air ambulance missions on a regular enough basis. I worked in the air corps until not so long ago. Believe me, this isnt some sort of free air travel that patients are getting.... its because they are in need of critical care. These aircraft can be fitted out with advanced medical equipment and carry a medical team on them. Infact one of the government jets can also be converted to the air ambulance role.

If you think that the price of a few air ambulance missions would pay for 10 fighter jets you are living in dream world....

Also the defence forces has a long tradition of providing humanatarian aid to those who need it at home and abroad and i can tell you now, the lads would have done it for free if they could have.

Ireland has become a sad place with the likes of you around......

Attack the post not the poster. Don't post in this thread again please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,300 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Cork twins, Hassan and Hussein Benhaffaf, who were separated by surgeons in London’s Great Ormond Street Hospital, have arrived home to Cork today, just one month after the operation.

The twins arrived at Cork airport this afternoon in an Air Corp Casa aircraft which transported them, their parents Angie and Azzedine and sisters Malika and Iman.

Article Link

So the benhaffaf twins today returned to Ireland after their surgery to have them separated. However what genius decided it was a good idea for the Irish Air Corps to fly them home? I am not a big aviation person but this sounds like pure insanity. To fly that aircraft back and forth to the UK must have cost the Irish taxpayer many tens of thousands of Euro in fuel, wages and landing fees.

Thousands of Irish people get sick every year abroad and I have never seen the Air Corps go on a rescue mission for them or even attempt to bring stranded people home during the Volcanic disruption. The Benhaffaf family should have either flown home on a commercial flight or else got an air ambulance.

While I wish the twins and their family all the best I have very serious reservations about using state money on such wasteful missions.

Opinions?

OK just to pick a few volcano-sized holes in your theory:

Casa burns 800lbs or 444 litres of Kerosene per hour.

Fuel is about €0.65 a litre, lets be generous and allow 2,000 litres for the return journey. = €1,300

Factor in wages - figure out maybe 4 crew, 2 medical staff @ €50,000 a year each (again being generous) and work out what 3 hours of their pay is. = €57.00 each or round it up to €500.

Last but not least, no landing fees in Ireland as it's a military flight operating out of a military base. In the UK, landing fees for that aircraft are between £80 and £600 depending on the airport and time of day. = €600

Total actual cost = €2,400

Hardly record-breaking money really.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

sdonn wrote: »

Fuel is about €0.65 a litre, lets be generous and allow 2,000 litres for the return journey. = €1,300

Factor in wages - figure out maybe 4 crew, 2 medical staff @ €50,000 a year each (again being generous) and work out what 3 hours of their pay is. = €57.00 each or round it up to €500.

Last but not least, no landing fees in Ireland as it's a military flight operating out of a military base. In the UK, landing fees for that aircraft are between £80 and £600 depending on the airport and time of day. = €600

Flying is the cheap bit of aircraft ownership. The next maintenance stand-down has just gotten a few hours closer, so don't forget to factor in the parts for routine time-based changes, and the wages of the mechanics and ground crew. But then, the wages would be paid anyway, so it's irrelevant.

The expensive bit is the fact that when the Casa's doing a jaunt like this, it's leaving the primary role of maritime surveillance unfilled. The country doesn't have enough maritime assets as it is.

NTM

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

This Just in, Country Looks after its citizens

Also, Water wet. and Biffo is a big ignorent fucker from offally

More at 11....

Well, I reckon the combined taxes of those people who posted their support on this thread, let alone those who agree with the decision and only read it, would cover all of the cost involved.

So, OP, just think of it as your money going somewhere else. I wouldn't worry about it.

(*apologies & edit out if inappropriate* thought banning the Air Corps poster was a bit much? Decent point about playing the ball not the man, but telling him to stay away completely?)

OP, I note you're opposed to social healthcare. I think that explains it. I personally think that the greatest threat to the survival of the human race is the denial of healthcare for commercial reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

super-rush wrote: »

Attack the poster not the post. Don't post in this thread again please.

pssst.... don't you mean attack the post, not the poster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

i'd much rather the government spent money flying those two babies home after life threateniing surgery than spent it flying ministers from one city to another for junkets/self-promoting missions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Rabies wrote: »
    pssst.... don't you mean attack the post, not the poster

Too late. he's said it now....ye bollix ye..(I'm allowed he said so)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

If you are insinuating that I have some sort of a grudge against the Irish Air Corps then you are very mistaken. Our Air Corps do sterling work and are a great asset to the nation.

However I beleive their time and resources could be better spent than using their planes are Air Ambulances. I think that the money wasted running this service which the private sector could do far more efficiently
    The private sector also knows how to make a profit.

And your Tens of Thousands of euros is surely off. Do you have links, evidence, that would suggest this round-trip flight cost the country tens of thousands?
    sdonn wrote: »

Even less when you figure they probably dont have to pay tax on fuel ;)

should be spent on equipping Ireland with some decent air defences and say 10 or 15 either F-16 or Eurofighters.
    Are you a strategist? Tactician? I can tell you from a quick googley moogley that the Eurofighter as a typical speed of between 1-2 times the speed of sound. In the event of an attack, the RAF could be within Irish Airspace to defend it inside of 20 minutes (less time when you presume an air patrol is already off the ground). In the Grand Scheme of things, British Air Forces are not any farther away than their american counterparts from their respective patrol areas, just take a look at poor Oregon:

http://www.airforce.com/baseloc/index.html

And who is going to air-raid Ireland anyway?

you would rather they spend the money on a dozen F-16s that will never encounter a combat situation versus an air wing that gets regularly put to good use for the good of civilians.

Ireland is not in a position to require it.
    If a Ryanair or Aer Lingus plane was tomorrow morning hijacked by some terrorists who threatened to crash it somewhere in Dublin, Ireland does not have the capability to shoot it down. And before people suggest the RAF would come to the rescue, say it was a Lufthansa or Air France jet, do you think the RAF or British military would risk provoking an incident with another country to help their Irish neighbours? Smaller poorer countries than us have air forces many times bigger and better equipped.
    You're jumping to the wild conclusion that the European Security Council hasn't already devised emergency plans for a 9/11 scenario.
    So unconcerned are our government with National Security that on the recent Motorway's built across Ireland there was not one single airstrip incorporated into the design build of the motorways when for practically no extra cost the Irish government could have built between 5 or 10 emergency highway strips that could be converted into Airfields in a time of war or national emergency. But I guess transporting some sick people is higher up the agenda of this government.
    5 to 10 strips? Youre talking about getting 10 F-16s. why do you need, on top of all of irelands existing runways, a bunch of highway converted for the task?

In the event of a scenario where you need to land and cant: look - Britain! And the americans, who have bases all over europe. Have access to VTOL fighters.

Look, you're clutching at straws, and having a good whinge that the government is making the air corps do something useful rather than fulfill the paranoia of few.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Degsy wrote: »
    Now they're seperated,the parents are gonna have to pay for two kids on flights instead of one..they may come to rue that operation one day.
    Twice the clothes bills too.

Must remember "attack the post, not the poster" must remember.

What an ignorant POST. A post with content like that in this situation.

You are a bad ignorant POST.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Bans for everyone.

:o

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

I have to say I'm a little surprised they sent over the CN235. I've been up in one of those (for 6 long tax payer funded hours) on a maritime patrol and they're quite noisy since it's a turboprop.

The twins would have been quite upset on board. Would have been better to send over the Gulfstream IV or the Learjet.

Then again it's only a short hop over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

If Ireland had the facilities and expertise to carry out the surgery, then the problem wouldn't have arisen, so it was only fair that the government did its bit.

Whoever is to blame for the facilities and expertise not being available, should cough up for the cost of the trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,926 ✭✭✭✭Victor

ejmaztec wrote: »
    If Ireland had the facilities and expertise to carry out the surgery, then the problem wouldn't have arisen, so it was only fair that the government did its bit.

Whoever is to blame for the facilities and expertise not being available, should cough up for the cost of the trip.

There are only a few centres in the world doing this.

Would you prefer experienced staff or inexperienced staff?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

5uspect wrote: »
    I have to say I'm a little surprised they sent over the CN235. I've been up in one of those (for 6 long tax payer funded hours) on a maritime patrol and they're quite noisy since it's a turboprop.

The twins would have been quite upset on board. Would have been better to send over the Gulfstream IV or the Learjet.

You know, it's a valid point, but maybe the GIV was being used to transport a minister or something, whilst the Lear was in a standdown period.

NTM

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Oh happy this happened, hope they make a good recovery.

Lol at the lad probably wearing a I shot JR tshirt, shotgun and miniature plane in hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

While I wish the twins and their family all the best I have very serious reservations about using state money on such wasteful missions. Opinions?

I'm surprised the 'media' did not buy them their own private jet. I take your point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭bonzos

The most important thing is that these kids are alive and well! I dont really care if the air corps flew them home.....think about all the money being wasted driving bertie around every day for the rest of his life,now that is a disgrace!So what if the tax payers money was used once off to bring these kids home i would rather my taxes spent on that than on sending John o donoghue to horse racing in paris with his wife or Mary harney and her Husband to NZ:mad:The air corps flew Harney to Leitrim not so long ago to open an off licence,how ironic!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

But this is not a rare case, while the banhaffaf twins were conjoined they were rare medical case in Ireland. However citizens being transported by the state on Air Corps planes is not rare as Victor has pointed out, this is not about party politics or who is in government it is about the fact that a line must be drawn in the sand as to what the state does for a person.

The HSE as it stands is the difference between a budget deficit and breaking even and a surplus. It guzzles money and gives little in return and all it has done is breed a generation of useless chavtastic people in this country who think the Government owes them something. I myself as a beleiver in the Laissez Faire way of doing things want nothing from the Government only for them to stop interfering and taxing our lives.

Flying these twins home is a prime example of the sort of molycoddling the state does to its citizens which is destroying both the state and preventing people from having any aspirations in life or wanting to better themselves when they have cradle to the grave to fall back on. Irish people are not living in the real world and if transported back two hundred years ago most would be dead in a week as they are like pet dogs depending on the state for every single thing.

What? This is the most pathetic attempt at trolling I have ever seen. Get back under your bridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Victor wrote: »
    There are only a few centres in the world doing this.

Would you prefer experienced staff or inexperienced staff?

Inexperienced staff would hardly have the expertise, would they?

This country's got a history of people having to travel long distances within Ireland's borders, even for the simplest of surgical procedures, which is shameful in itself.

Why shouldn't Ireland become a centre for medical excellence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭paraletic

whats the big deal?

we have an air corp and we aren't involved in any war or peace keeping missions.
    should we pay the lads to sit around talking about flying, or, send them out to do good work?

we don't have a dedicated HEMS or air ambulance service on this island, so imo, use the aircorp. and use them for search and rescue too (even though the chc lads do a great job there) and flying the garda chopper and retrieval flights for sick babies etc.

hopefully the aercorp budget goes towards humanitarian causes before, buying fighter jets coz, we don't really need fighter jets in an irish air corp, unless we go to war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

I've no problems with this. I have plenty of problems with wasteful spending by the Government/Civil Service but this isn't one of them.
    Oh, and thread fail. They're not conjoined anymore anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Nevore wrote: »
    I've no problems with this. I have plenty of problems with wasteful spending by the Government/Civil Service but this isn't one of them.
    Oh, and thread fail. They're not conjoined anymore anyway.

And we didnt need a bull to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

paraletic wrote: »

we have an air corps and we aren't involved in any war or peace keeping missions.

Hello? We are just finished in Chad, and Air Corps Personnel have served overseas pretty much since we started doing Overseas Missions.
    should we pay the lads to sit around talking about flying, or, send them out to do good work?

The "lads" dont sit around, the AW139's/EC135's/CASA's etc are constantly training with the Army and Navy/Special Forces and the PC9M's are always up training as are other units doing other jobs.
    we don't have a dedicated HEMS or air ambulance service on this island, so imo, use the aircorps. and use them for search and rescue too (even though the chc lads do a great job there) and flying the garda chopper and retrieval flights for sick babies etc.

No we dont have a HEMS here but the IRCG do a very good job 24/7 with the S61N's. The IAC will never get Search and Rescue back as its being provided for by CHC.

Also we dont have just 1 Garda chopper as your above post seems to think but you can not go doing mercy flights in a Gardai EC135 as its crammed with Surveillance equipment so its better to send the IAC AW139's as are seen quite regularily at Irish Hospitals up and down the Nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭paraletic

Steyr wrote: »
    Hello? We are just finished in Chad, and Air Corps Personnel have served overseas pretty much since we started doing Overseas Missions.

we aren't oversees now

The "lads" dont sit around, the AW139's/EC135's/CASA's etc are constantly training with the Army and Navy/Special Forces and the PC9M's are always up training as are other units doing other jobs.

i wasn't having a go at them - are you in the army or something are you just a nut? do you know what a rhetorical question is?

No we dont have a HEMS here but the IRCG do a very good job 24/7 with the S61N's. The IAC will never get Search and Rescue back as its being provided for by CHC.

i already said chc were grand lads, but i think you may be just typing random letters and numbers to make it look like you know what your talking about!!;)

Also we dont have just 1 Garda chopper as your above post seems to think (my post never even implied this and i don't care if we have 50 of them) but you can not go doing mercy flights in a Gardai EC135 as its crammed with Surveillance equipment so its better to send the IAC AW139's as are seen quite regularily (regularly? really?) at Irish Hospitals up and down the Nation.

chill out, i was sticking up for the air corpS. (and chc).

i think you must have read my post while you were in a bad mood or something.
    maybe you are just showing off your little bit of knowlege on the air corpS - (a good indication of an under achiever;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Fair play to the Air Corps. I wouldn't expect anything else other than to get these folks home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

If there was ever a proper use of state funds then this is it.