Katy French "will not get justice" - tabloid headline?!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

Poly wrote: »
    It's an ugly truth that Katy and her "pals" were feeding the criminality that got these young men Killed.

Michael McDowell - haven't heard from you in ages, what are you up to these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭mailforkev

mike65 wrote: »
    Exactly so, French was Irelands 21st century version of an "It" girl. Her whole persona was driven by the trashier end of the media and low rent "events" where, if female your worth is measured on the "glitterometer". All of which helps explain why I like so many was only vaguely aware she even existed until her death.

So true, the awful phenomenon of the "Irish model". Girls fractionally too big or rough to make it as actual models, yet that seem to be in the papers hawking crap every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

She got her justice.
    6 feet of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

The media is gas though, during a z-list celebrities life cycle:

Headline 1: [name] wins Big Brother!
    Headline 2: Shock revelations as [name] photographed doing drugs
    Headline 3: Why we are on [names] side! Read the truth inside...
    Headline 4: [name] tells us why they will never do drugs again.
    Headline 5: Fooled! [name] took us for a ride - now we reveal the truth!
    Headline 6: [name] dies of drug overdose
    Headline 7: [name] was the peoples princess. Read our tearful tribute inside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,024 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

I was in another country for all of 2007.

Consequentially I completely missed her whole career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Nick_oliveri

pwd wrote: »
    Seriously - I'd never seen such a turnaround in the popular opinion of someone.
    Jade Goody. Another "tragedy".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,533 ✭✭✭bladespin

She got her justice.
    6 feet of it.

That's a bit high horsed tbh, who are you to judge?

Ultimately it was an accident, something just went wrong, no-one was to blame so justice doesnn't need to be served.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭muffy

Jade Goody. Another "tragedy".

Was a lesson in not ignoring your smear test results anyway. But very sad she had young kids, that bit was tragic. Worse thing is it happens everyday to the non-famous, we just don't hear about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Thepones

Lets start the witch hunt for whoever supplied her the drugs. Think I know of a few places where drug pushers do their sins.

"Do you sell drugs"
    "YEA!"
    "Did you sell drugs to Katy French"
    "No"
    "Nevermind, sorry for disturbing you"

Or we can buzz Paul williams

I can't stand in when people go on like the drug dealers killed the person. No, they didn't. Katy French bought an illegal substance, took too much and died. Tough luck. Of course those who sold it to her should be jailed, but because they committed a crime, not because she happened to die. There really is no personal responsibility for anything anymore is there? 24 year old middle class woman takes too much coke and she's 'murdered'? Please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭LFC5Times

You do drugs, you pay the price.

I have to say I was sick of all the media attention over "poor Katie" for days on end and still it crops it's head up. She was a druggie, fed drug dealers,criminals - the knock on effect results in innocent people being killed etc.

It annoyed me the way the Gardai seemed to put an awful lot of effort into finding out who her dealer was, when there is people dropping dead every day from drugs and they don't go after their dealers.

Anyway good riddance, we can do without druggies and dealers in our society!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Of course the tabloids are spanners for obsessing with this story but I think people are going beyond all reason with the whole "b*tch deserved it" thing. She didn't deserve it, taking drugs is not a capital offence, nor should it be, for anyone ever. People are taking out their understandable anger at the piss-poor standard of journalism in this country on someone who dabbled in drugs like so many other young people and paid the ultimate price for it. Many of us have friends or family who have done some drugs in their time, including coke, whether they tell us about it or not.

It's just a shame tabloid newspapers can't OD on sensationalism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Thepones

It annoyed me the way the Gardai seemed to put an awful lot of effort into finding out who her dealer was, when there is people dropping dead every day from drugs and they don't go after them.

Big time! I see people dealing in town every day but everyone wanted to go after who brought drugs to some party where someone pretty died

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭muffy

[quote=[Deleted User];65968276]I can't stand in when people go on like the drug dealers killed the person. No, they didn't. Katy French bought an illegal substance, took too much and died. Tough luck. Of course those who sold it to her should be jailed, but because they committed a crime, not because she happened to die. There really is no personal responsibility for anything anymore is there? 24 year old middle class woman takes too much coke and she's 'murdered'? Please.[/QUOTE]

Exactamente

Like I said, if I get so drunk I die from alcohol poisoning, is Tesco to blame for me drinking the 14er bottle of vodka/paintstripper they sell?
    It is really super sad, be interesting if we could have a medium contact Ms French, see who she blames for her demise?
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Amalgam

If she had got her equivalent supply from a "Headshop" she would be alive today

An overdose is an overdose, plain and simple, it doesn't matter where the drug comes from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Kasabian wrote: »
    What way should I have interpreted this?

Ok, she didn't deserve to die, but if you take drugs irresponsibly you have to live and die with the consequences. Yes it's tragic to see someone this young waste their life for a buzz, but it was their life to waste and I only have sympathy for the family and friends who were hurt by her actions, not for her. Hopefully some of her friends learned from her mistakes and another young life will not be needlessly wasted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,267 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I feel sorry the guy who ran out and got the coke, it was probably put to him like "cmon i have a model here you'l be doing me a favour".....next thing peoole want him done for manslaughter...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

We need more responsible coke dealers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Who?

The real question is ...

... wouldya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,314 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Live by the gun die by the bullet...........or in this tramps case

Live by the drugs die by the snort.

Newspapers of Ireland i hate you, majority of people don't care about this druggie so go find some more interesting news the type that is interesting.

bladespin wrote: »
    That's a bit high horsed tbh, who are you to judge?

Ultimately it was an accident, something just went wrong, no-one was to blame so justice doesnn't need to be served.

She was funding DVD counterfeiters. I've seen the ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

She was funding DVD counterfeiters. I've seen the ads.
    And pirates! I've seen that add two, pirates, Johnny Depp and fish people from under the sea.. I thought the last Star Trek anti piracy add was way OTT, where do the film boards get all the money for all those special effects? Most of the 1 and a half hour add had nothing to do with piracy at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭SlabMurphy

She was just a skanger, big deal. It's a bit like the Veronica Guerin megahype. Some knob dies and it's a crime against humanity etc, etc :rolleyes:. Ordinary decent people are mudered or die through drug use and they barely get a mention. Only a few months ago a disabled man in his 50's whom I knew quite well Paddy Mooney was shot dead in his flat as their was another guy ( who fancied himself as a hard man ) in it having a chat with him. Paddy had absoulutely no invovlement in crime. Made the evening news and that's about that :mad:

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/city-news/prime-suspect-and-girlfriend-still-being-quizzed-over-killings-2013546.html

" Brendan Molyneaux and his friend, Paddy Mooney, who had no gangland connections, were chatting in Paddy's flat when two gunmen burst in through the front door at 6.45pm last Sunday. Paddy was shot twice in the head by the gunmen in Pearse House, off Pearse Street.
    Mr Molyneaux, his friend and the intended target, was shot once in the chest during the attack. Mr Molyneaux had been targeted because of underworld intelligence that he had agreed to kill the man believed responsible for the murder of criminal Paul 'Farmer' Martin at the Jolly Toper pub in Church Street, Finglas, last August. "

SlabMurphy wrote: »
    She was just a skanger, big deal. It's a bit like the Veronica Guerin megahype. Some knob dies and it's a crime against humanity etc, etc :rolleyes:. Ordinary decent people are mudered or die through drug use and they barely get a mention. Only a few months ago a disabled man in his 50's whom I knew quite well Paddy Mooney was shot dead in his flat as their was another guy ( who fancied himself as a hard man ) in it having a chat with him. Paddy had absoulutely no invovlement in crime. Made the evening news and that's about that :mad:

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/city-news/prime-suspect-and-girlfriend-still-being-quizzed-over-killings-2013546.html

" Brendan Molyneaux and his friend, Paddy Mooney, who had no gangland connections, were chatting in Paddy's flat when two gunmen burst in through the front door at 6.45pm last Sunday. Paddy was shot twice in the head by the gunmen in Pearse House, off Pearse Street.
    Mr Molyneaux, his friend and the intended target, was shot once in the chest during the attack. Mr Molyneaux had been targeted because of underworld intelligence that he had agreed to kill the man believed responsible for the murder of criminal Paul 'Farmer' Martin at the Jolly Toper pub in Church Street, Finglas, last August. "

Right so the man shot because he was in his flat with a friend of his (who was a hitman) had NO underworld CONNECTIONS?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

SlabMurphy wrote: »

In general I agree with you, but "Veronica Guerin megahype"? A journalist who was shot because of her investigations into drug dealing in Dublin and was perceived as a threat to some scumbag's drug empire? That was a big deal IMO. Wouldn't have considered her a knob in any case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Right so the man shot because he was in his flat with a friend of his (who was a hitman) had NO underworld CONNECTIONS?:confused:

A person I grew up with and respected, who saved my ass from a beating by scumbags he knew, was involved with a gang and subsequently shot someone. Weeks before the incident he was in my house and I had a chat with him. Myself or my family have absolutley no involvement with any crime. Just because one man is involved in crime doesn't mean his neighbour or friends are.

I work in IT, if I pop over to my plumber mates house does that all of a sudden mean he knows how to manage a small to medium sized network?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭celticbest

She took the Drugs nobody forced her to take them.

Justice - she had only denied taking coke a few weeks before in an interview with Hot Press's Jason O'Toole - her death was justice being served for her for lying...........

Nobody gives a sh!t about the average Joe on coke but a celeb is still in the news two and a half years after her death, what a load of crap. She had every advantage in life and threw it all away.

If you live by the sword you should die by the sword......

PS - I do feel real pity for her family though, they didn't raise her to be a coke head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Bulktohulk

krudler wrote: »
    But she was pretty, so it was a tragedy, some munter junkie from a poor area?well then they clearly deserved it.

What? She wasn't pretty at all. She looked like a pig.

NothingMan wrote: »
    I work in IT, if I pop over to my plumber mates house does that all of a sudden mean he knows how to manage a small to medium sized network?
    or conversely that you know how to clear a scantily clad neighbour's pipes?