Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Katy French "will not get justice" - tabloid headline?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Whoever was with her did wait an awful long time to get her to hospital, not sure if that would have helped her though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

If she had got her equivalent supply from a "Headshop" she would be alive today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

I agree with the OP - what a load of clap trap. She took too many drugs, she died - that's pretty much it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Justice my hole. Bloody cokehead, you play with fire, you get burned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

FFS, amazing to see that when some privileged person dies of an OD they deserve 'justice'.

Pretty sure if this was a 24 year old girl from Coolock or Finglas that left school at 16 and worked the checkouts in Tesco, we wouldn't still be hearing about it :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

But she was pretty, so it was a tragedy, some munter junkie from a poor area?well then they clearly deserved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

Fact. I can't stand the way the papers do this. No one gives a **** when it's one of us normal folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

She bough lots of coke, funding a drug dealers career, took way too much and died..... Sound like justice to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

So should people who sell drugs not be punished? I am a bit confused by what you are all saying, the drugs weren't forced on her but the dealer is still reponsible for supplying dangerous, illegal drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

As a person that dabbled in drugs down through the years I find it harsh that people can imply that she got what she deserved. She didn't she was unlucky and stupid as I am lucky enough to have found out personally that drugs are for idiots. There is still a question over the fact it took along time for her to receive medical attention.

To say that anyone that takes drugs deseves to die is just wrong on so many levels.

Saying all that I hate the way the media have ran and ran with this story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Kimia wrote: »
    Fact. I can't stand the way the papers do this. No one gives a **** when it's one of us normal folk.

Dead cokehead airhead supermodel? Who cares? I dont. Are we supposed to give a **** about her or the necrophile journos using her for column inches long after her collagen has rotted away?

Natural selection thats what it is. I wanna see Kerry Katona run over by a parked car next.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Posts deleted folks. Lets not indulge in feeding the rumour mill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Kasabian wrote: »
    As a person that dabbled in drugs down through the years I find it harsh that people can imply that she got what she deserved. She didn't she was unlucky , there is still a question over the fact it took along time for her to receive medical attention.

To say that anyone that takes drugs deseves to die is just wrong on so many levels.

Saying all that I hate the way the media have ran and ran with this story.

Noone said she deserved to die. However it's different that she should be treated as a victim because she was a celebrity.

Lux23 wrote: »
    Whoever was with her did wait an awful long time to get her to hospital, not sure if that would have helped her though.

Remember, this is a supermodel we're talking about, so brain death isn't as much of a factor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

So should people who sell drugs not be punished? I am a bit confused by what you are all saying, the drugs weren't forced on her but the dealer is still reponsible for supplying dangerous, illegal drugs.

It's not the issue of punishment for the dealer that causes the sentiment - it's this notion that someone who died from sticking banned substances up their own nose, of their own volition deserves 'justice'.

If I were to light a fire in my living room and then willingly stick my hand in it and sue the coal supplier, should I have a right to be aggreived if they are not found liable?

I think not.

NothingMan wrote: »
    She bough lots of coke, funding a drug dealers career, took way too much and died..... Sound like justice to me.
    Noone said she deserved to die. However it's different that she should be treated as a victim because she was a celebrity.

What way should I have interpreted this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Katy French, the corpse that just keeps giving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I still have no idea who she's supposed to be.
    She didn't she was unlucky and stupid as I am lucky enough to have found out personally that drugs are for idiots.
    People who think that are idiots.

If there is sufficient evidence that he was supplying cocaine he should be charged for supplying cocaine. Katy French's death doesn't come in to it.
    As a person that dabbled in drugs down through the years I find it harsh that people can imply that she got what she deserved. She didn't she was unlucky and stupid as I am lucky enough to have found out personally that drugs are for idiots. There is still a question over the fact it took along time for her to receive medical attention.

As someone who dabbles in drugs I wouldn't say she "deserved" to die, but she has no one to blame but herself, especially if she overindulged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

After watching Scarface I know that taking very large quantities of cocaine would provide me with the ability to withstand numerous bullet wounds to my upper body.

ScumLord wrote: »
    I still have no idea who she's supposed to be.

People who think that are idiots.

Are you missing a word from this sentence?

It looks fairly complete to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Let it be known from this post henceforth that when I die from an overdose and leave a behind my beautiful corpse, I will haunt anyone from beyond the grave who demands 'justice' from my death. And the mungers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

r3nu4l wrote: »
    FFS, amazing to see that when some privileged person dies of an OD they deserve 'justice'.

Pretty sure if this was a 24 year old girl from Coolock or Finglas that left school at 16 and worked the checkouts in Tesco, we wouldn't still be hearing about it :mad:

I agree that the headlines are a bit much. But it's not fair to say that only the "privileged" persons case is the only one being followed up.
    A Waterford man who introduced “damp cocaine” at a 21st birthday party which led to the death of two young men was sentenced in Waterford Circuit Court last week to nine years imprisonment, with the last three suspended.

Anthony Connolly (26), single and unemployed, with an address at 43 Priory Lawn, Ballybeg, pleaded guilty to possession of cocaine for sale or supply to another at Ballybeg Square on November 24, 2007.

http://www.munster-express.ie/local-news/drug-deaths-recalled-as-dealer-gets-nine-years/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

What about young Anthony Campbell and Shane Geoghegan?
    I'd be more concerned about their families getting justice.

It's an ugly truth that Katy and her "pals" were feeding the criminality that got these young men Killed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Now now. We all know when a responsible adult purchases drugs for themselves their obligations of copping the fúck on and knowing better goes out the window and if bad shít happens it's not their fault but the irresponsible adult's who sold them the drugs in the 1st place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

A little perspective might help.

A "cokehead" who dies of an overdose certainly doesn't rerquire "justice", and it's galling that celebrities are deigned to be more worthy of comment than the Hoi Polloi but nor do they particularly warrant Joe Duffyesque "they got theirs" gloating about an overdose.

She was a drug user - there are plenty worse people out there.

And statistically speaking, speeding, burgers, smokes or pints are more likely to kill you so there are a lot of people culpable for their own deaths out there.

mike65 wrote: »
    Katy French, the corpse that just keeps giving.

You, Sir, have just made me LOL. :D:D:D:D Good one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Hang on.
    I thought she got her justice?
    She died from her illegal activity supporting gang warfare across international boundaries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

Justice: Something only people who can afford it ever get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

r3nu4l wrote: »

exactly, anthony cambell was from a working class area, was working on a house and sadly was in the wrong place at the wrong time and was murdered by gangland scum.
    where is the justice he and his family deserve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

exactly, anthony cambell was from a working class area, was working on a house and sadly was in the wrong place at the wrong time and was murdered by gangland scum.

Lads do you really think that this is at a more advanced stage than Anthony Campbells case directly because she was a model? Come on now.. wakey wakey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

The guy that got off the sentence is not a drug dealer. He took money, went to a drug dealer, got the drugs, and gave them to whomever gave him the money.

He was merely a transporter. And it was apparently only €200 worth, jaysus.

The fact is, Katy & her buddies were party animals, they liked getting off their faces, she took too much of something one night, end of.

I always find it funny that it states 'in the post-mortem, traces of cocaine were found in her system'

Traces??? Typical scaremongering, traces of coke were found = coke killed her.

Somehow, I doubt it.

How about, traces of cocaine, probably some other amphetamines, bucket loads of gargle and god knows what else killed her.

But that headline would be too long. So, coke killed her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

We need a middle ground here. Folks saying she got what she deserved is just wrong and nasty; at the same time she was a junkie and as a junkie these are the risks that are taken. It's terrible that she lost her life at such a young age, but guess what, so do many, and I don't hear a word about it

Came there a couple of weeks ago. The guy who ordered the murder of the lad Campbell was working for got murdered himself in Cabra. The lad who murdered Campbell got murdered himself by the latter as far as I'm aware. Street justice; but justice nonetheless.

As I said in another thread; rightly or wrongly street justice seems to be far more expediant and efficent than what we currently have in place. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Im sure even Katy herself wouldnt want half this tabloid crap knocking about after her death, people need to look at the bigger picture if it sells papers they are going to print it. Im also shocked at some of the "she deserved it" crap that has been put on this thread, she took some drugs and paid the price. She was a young girl and made a mistake. It is a tradgedy no matter who she is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

Katy French is the personifcation of everything that went wrong with this country over the past 2 decades.

Idiotic excess off the back of shallow success and then.... kaput.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

I never heard of her until she died.

*shrug*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Although she didn't deserve to die, she is personally responsible for her own dead, did yer man Duchie not have criminal proceedings brought against him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

I never heard of her until she died.

*shrug*

She was a blond D4 the papers used to tear the p!ss out of.

Seriously - I'd never seen such a turnaround in the popular opinion of someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Christ almighty.

We have thousand post threads with people defending Headshops and the crap they sell and how people should have the freedom to take what they want as alcohol kills so many .. blah blah fcuking blah.

Then a girl takes cocaine and dies and it's: 'Fcuk her, she deserved it' - yeah, real sense of a belief in a person's freedom to recreational substances now.

You can't blame Katy French because the media sensationalize stories to sell newspapers, she's dead - she has paid the price.

Save your criticism for the editors of these rags and those that buy them.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

As a person that dabbled in drugs down through the years I find it harsh that people can imply that she got what she deserved

I wouldn't say she got what she deserved but I don't see where they're going with the whole "getting justice for Katie" thing. I agree she was just very unfortunate but nobody held her down and put it up her nose or in her drink or whatever way she ingested it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

If she had got her equivalent supply from a "Headshop" she would be alive today

What ****ing age are you, a 19 year old student on a crusade? Ive taken everything under the sun bar heroin, meth and crack, and by far my worst nioght of my life was a night on the thankfully now banned BZP. Get over your fcuking soapbox and realise some things are too filthy not too be illegal (with the plus side that filth like BZP would never be sold illegally anyway)
    We have thousand post threads with people defending Headshops and the crap they sell and how people should have the freedom to take what they want as alcohol kills so many .. blah blah fcuking blah.

Then a girl takes cocaine and dies and it's: 'Fcuk her, she deserved it' - yeah, real sense of a belief in a person's freedom to recreational substances now.

The vast majority of these idiots are aged 18- 20 and probably naive students. Maybe in a few years and after a few bad trips they will recognise

a- Most of the stuff head shops sold was rubbish and should be banned, as the likes of Spice Gold do nothing but fleece the buyer

b- Some of the sh1t they sold was positively dangerous, more so than the older illegal drugs. No drug baron in his right mind would organise a large scale import of horrific sh1t like BZP, but head shops were selling it as the legal, probably safer, alternative to ecstasy.

Seriously, even when I was that age I wasnt that thick. If headshops were selling a product that for 4 hours produced an ecstasy like high and for the following 8 produced a comedown which left users in a psychotic state where they wanted to attack anyone around them and harm themselves, would you want it banned? Really, half the head shop posts on the other thread are borderline retarded sh1t by D4 "Im a rebel" types.

And bringing the alcohol comparison into it is the mark of the wanker being honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

xzanti wrote: »
    I wouldn't say she got what she deserved but I don't see where they're going with the whole "getting justice for Katie" thing. I agree she was just very unfortunate but nobody held her down and put it up her nose or in her drink or whatever way she ingested it..

Hey, not trying to be pedantic here, but who knows what happened on the night? Katie is dead and cannot explain what happened, so to me, anything is possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Waaaay lets all talk about it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

walshb wrote: »
    Hey, not trying to be pedantic here, but who knows what happened on the night? Katie is dead and cannot explain what happened, so to me, anything is possible.

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

2.5 years suspended sentence for setting up the "deal"? Sweet fcuk, people have gone to jail for less time for rape, murder and child molestation. (Yes I know it's suspended, but still).

I have an idea if Irish people stop buying the tabloid newspapers they will go out of business and we wont have to be subjected to their rubbish.

Reminds me of something my sister said to me the other day , I asked her did she watch the news , she said no , I asked why , and her reply was that it's on the same time as the Simpsons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

I wouldn't wipe my arse with the Indo/Sindo or Herald, so hadn't heard of her until she croaked it either.

By all accounts (allegedly) she was fond of hanging around with some unsavoury characters and liked a bit of drugs and it all caught up with her in the end. Tough luck for her family, no-one else.