"Hello lads, we're the Guards...", "Hello Guards, we're the lads..."

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

x PyRo wrote: »
    Lol, I think we'll end this discussion here! It has been off topic for long enough, All the best.

Agreeded and you too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

And another classic from the policia local. I'll set the scene, me in a Tesco uniform, Tesco logo on me sleve and front of me fleece. But wait, in a Tesco car park. The policia local, 'Do you work?' , me thinking that was funny! The same policia local, 'Where do you work?' again thinking this couldn't get any better. 'Oh right, Which Tesco do you work in?'. I say that lad is great crack to go out with on the weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

A friend of mine got stopped at a check point on the way home from a club. He was pissed drunk and got out of the car to talk to the Garda. He managed to bull**** his way through it and the Garda didnt give him the breathalizer. He got back into his car and went to turn the key in the ignition and realised he was sitting in the back seat behind the drivers seat with the Guard smiling in at him.

The words "blow into this please" shortly followed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

was staying over with a mate one Saturday night when I was 18 and we decided to head to this 24 hour shop at about 3am. I bought a carton of milk and we were walking home, just chatting, when this car screeches in in front of us and two lads jump out demanding to see ID. Neither of us had any, and the lads were asking where we were from, where we were going, blah blah -very aggressively. I asked what the problem was, and one of them told me that for weeks they'd been getting complaints that people had been getting the milk stolen off their doorsteps "and I think we've just put a stop to that". I told your man that he could go to the shop and ask the assistant what I bought, and pointed out that it was saturday night, so there were no deliveries anyway. Your man says "Saturday night? Ah ****e! I was supposed to be off on Saturday night!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

pwd wrote: »
    Again, why would I want to go to court? You say yourself you won't get anywhere bringing a case against a guard, yet you are the only one suggesting this course of action.

ffs obviously you have trouble following a basic argument.(a) you said lad could challenge grounds of reasonable suspicion.... (b) I said that is almost impossible to challenge. Therefore you have two courses of action, allow the search or object and escalate matters.
    There is no indication that there was anything else up, apart from the coat..

From one side remember. Again that is no grounds to tell people the gardaí have no right to stop and search them.
    I never suggested that they should try escalating things, or going to court - you suggested that ****ing lunacy yourself. I suggested stating, reasonably, that they don't want to be searched, and asking, reasonably, why they want to search him.

...and when the gardaí say they have reasonable suspicion under the Misuse of Drugs Act to perform a search? Do you let them? Again see back to your first response... the gardaí had no right to search the OP. The gardaí have every right to stop and search someone with reasonable suspicion. By the by the gardaí on the ground do not have to explain on the spot what the grounds for that reasonable suspicion is. You can say you don't want to be searched all you want but at the end of the day you saying that will have no effect whatsoever.

Telling people to 'assert' themselves and refuse to be searched etc is just going to cause a lot more hassle for all concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

Kasabian wrote: »
    He once pulled 8 guys off....
    *childish snicker* The crazyzee sailors!
    Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Then they asked if I had anything on me that I shouldn't have, which I didn't. They then asked to search me. I demanded to read the credentials, and I was given a swift slap over the head and was told to stop acting like a little bollix (to be fair, they were clearly policemen and I was just acting like a little bollix at the time).

TBH this is the type of thing that should be done...there are far too many crusties and moral parasites out there complaining about Gardai doing their job (in this case searching some-one who is suspicious looking). They are equally as quick to condemn the GS for not doing their job.

I would much rather 100 completely innocent people be stopped, questioned and searched than someone that could potentially be carrying a weapon or something else that is equally as naughty be caught.

As a chung fella, I was stopped many a time and if had anything I shouldn't (cans / fire works) was found it was taken. As a result we were always on our toes and had a healthy fear of being caught by the Garda doing something bold. Looking back now they were 100% right and I dont feel hard done by that I was stopped!

I mean its hardly a KGB interrogation *adopts culchie garda accent* "howiya biys, whats in the bag lads?".

When it reaches a stage where kids have no fear of being stopped / caught by the GS, we see the the little scumbags develop to the level they are at today. These crusading crusties are in fact adding to the social decay by protesting about "police states and corruption".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

prinz wrote: »
    Now if someone would like to show some evidence etc of how wearing a trench coat in the middle of a hot July day is not deemed to create a reasonable cause then please go ahead.

It's Ireland, we don't get hot days in July.

Because it's just a guy wearing a trenchcoat. If everyone wearing a trenchcoat looks like a drug dealer to a guard then how all the fraggle rockers outside Temple Bar in the during the 90's weren't being constantly searched?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Because it's just a guy wearing a trenchcoat. If everyone wearing a trenchcoat looks like a drug dealer to a guard then how all the fraggle rockers outside Temple Bar in the during the 90's weren't being constantly searched?

Ah the good oul days. I was one of the "rockers" there in the late 90's. Went in on some glorious summer afternoons to meet friends. I would usually have a pair of baggy jeans and a black hoodie, but in nice weather a pair of shorts & Tshirt would be fine. Most of the idiots still came in wearing big leather trenches and hoodies. I secretly hoped they passed out from heat stroke.

It's really irrelevant what he was wearing. If the garda says he has a reasonable suspicion it's 99.9% impossible to counter that in law. As such he is within his rights to perform a search, so anyone coming here telling people that x,y or z does not give rise to reasonable suspicion is nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

BigDuffman wrote: »
    As a chung fella, I was stopped many a time and if had anything I shouldn't (cans / fire works) was found it was taken. As a result we were always on our toes and had a healthy fear of being caught by the Garda doing something bold. Looking back now they were 100% right and I dont feel hard done by that I was stopped!

Same here, I was fairly annoyed at the time but looking backn I don't feel hard done by really. Fair enough, I didn't have anything on me at the time but had I just stfu and let them get on with it they would have been finished and on their way in seconds. Instead as the stereotypical 15 year old of the 90's I couldn't resist acting the cheeky bollix with them, so I got a slap in the head (just a slap, not a hiding or anything) for my trouble - looking back it was proper order really, they have a tough enough job to do without that kind of guff, and let me tell ya I kept manners on me in future!
    fraggle rockers outside Temple Bar

That was the situation, and that was the reason behind the trench coat. Ha, it's fairly embarrassing looking back at what I must have looked like, the head on me! Think my childhood died the day that godforsaken thing went in the bin! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

It's really irrelevant what he was wearing.

Wait, your whole "reasonable suspicion" was based on him wearing a trenchcoat. now you're saying it doesn't matter he was wearing a trenchcoat?
    If the garda says he has a reasonable suspicion it's 99.9% impossible to counter that in law

stop making things up. a good solicitor could make harassment claims stick if it it was as clear cut as "he was wearing a trenchcoat".

Wait, your whole "reasonable suspicion" was based on him wearing a trenchcoat. now you're saying it doesn't matter he was wearing a trenchcoat?

Reasonable suspicion can be based on pretty much everything. It would be nigh on impossible to prove that the garda used only the trenchcoat.
    stop making things up. a good solicitor could make harassment claims stick if it it was as clear cut as "he was wearing a trenchcoat".

Except it's never that clear cut. Should I again link the relevant posts by legal practitioners over in the Legal Discussions forum? I should think they'd have a good idea of how easy it is to object to reasonable suspicion.

Oh look here we go http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=64953341&postcount=7 relevant section....
    gabhain7 wrote: »
    The requirement under s. 23 is that the garda "with reasonable cause suspects " possession of a controlled drug.
    It's nearly impossible to rebut this in court as all the garda needs to do is say due to intelligence and his experience of the area, he suspected the defendant had drugs on him. That grounds the lawfullness of the search no matter what is found. Theoretically you could sue a garda for battery for an unlawful search. It would be nearly impossible to show the garda did not have a resonable suspicion however

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

ffs obviously you have trouble following a basic argument.(a) you said lad could challenge grounds of reasonable suspicion.... (b) I said that is almost impossible to challenge. Therefore you have two courses of action, allow the search or object and escalate matters.

From one side remember. Again that is no grounds to tell people the gardaí have no right to stop and search them.

...and when the gardaí say they have reasonable suspicion under the Misuse of Drugs Act to perform a search? Do you let them? Again see back to your first response... the gardaí had no right to search the OP. The gardaí have every right to stop and search someone with reasonable suspicion. By the by the gardaí on the ground do not have to explain on the spot what the grounds for that reasonable suspicion is. You can say you don't want to be searched all you want but at the end of the day you saying that will have no effect whatsoever.

Telling people to 'assert' themselves and refuse to be searched etc is just going to cause a lot more hassle for all concerned.
    Your arguments are based on the assumption that the guards were acting in an appropriate manner.
    My perception is that they weren't, and it seems to me that they were bullying. This is validated by the fact they slapped him on the head.
    If that is correct, the odds are they would have pulled in their horns once they saw they were being picked up on it. Bullies choose compliant victims usually. At very least they would be less likely to repeat such behaviour.
    If I was incorrect [I wasn't] then yes the search would have probably gone on ahead anyway etc. The only difference I think would be that the guy being searched would have at least felt he stood up for himself. What's the harm in creating a tiny amount of hassle for people who are humiliating you in public?
    Your insistence in relating everything to the courtroom has no relevance tbh. Nothing I suggest would result in anyone being brought to court, unless there was already grounds for that to happen. There's no reason either party would want to bring things to court in such a context.
    You have two basic assumptions, which conflict in a troubling manner:
    1. The guards are in the right
    2. Don't dare challenge them, or it will result in trouble for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Bazzy

Offy wrote: »
    As it happens I have issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

tbh wrote: »
    was staying over with a mate one Saturday night when I was 18 and we decided to head to this 24 hour shop at about 3am. I bought a carton of milk and we were walking home, just chatting, when this car screeches in in front of us and two lads jump out demanding to see ID. Neither of us had any, and the lads were asking where we were from, where we were going, blah blah -very aggressively. I asked what the problem was, and one of them told me that for weeks they'd been getting complaints that people had been getting the milk stolen off their doorsteps "and I think we've just put a stop to that". I told your man that he could go to the shop and ask the assistant what I bought, and pointed out that it was saturday night, so there were no deliveries anyway. Your man says "Saturday night? Ah ****e! I was supposed to be off on Saturday night!".

Did you tell them you lived in No 10, Ireland Road, Ireland? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Jazzy wrote: »
    2 gaurds walked over to me and my mates when we were out knacker drinking before - "whats in the cans lads?"

Reminds of this from Arctic Monkeys

Riot Van

So up rolls a riot van
    And sparks excitement in the boys
    But the policemen look annoyed
    Perhaps these are ones they should avoid

Got a chase last night
    From men with truncheons dressed in hats
    We didn't do that much wrong
    Still ran away though for the laugh
    Just for the laugh
    And please just stop talking
    Cause they won't find us if you do
    Oh those silly boys in blue
    Well they won't catch me and you

Have you been drinking, son
    You don't look old enough to me
    I'm sorry, officer
    Is there a certain age you're supposed to be
    Cause nobody told me

And up rolls the riot van
    And these lads just wind the coppers up
    They ask why they don't catch proper crooks
    They get their address and their names took
    But they couldn't care less

Got thrown in a riot van,
    and all the coppers kicked him in,
    and there was no way he could win,
    just had to take it on the chin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

Bazzy wrote: »

No comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

I got pulled by the grumpy aul sergeant in my town when I was a teenager for speeding.........on my bicycle! I found it hard not to smirk while he read me the riot act which made him worse :D.

Myself and the brother outsmarted him another night though when he gave chase because we'd no lights on the bikes, or helmets either!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭itsonlywords

Kenzi wrote: »
    Was parked up one night with the friend parked up beside me in a relatively dark car park.Anyway,we decided to move on and just my luck,the second I turned on my lights,the unmarked passed by and tore up thru the car park to us.3 gaurds hopped out,one stayed in the unmarked car.they come over anyway and start asking questions.then out of nowhere,they gaurd talking to me,went straight for my pocket.I just jumped out of shock and just shouted 'jesus christ man,what are you at?'.He replied,'just checking'.Didnt say anything apart from that to him anyway,he came around to the passenger side of my car,I then saw a pirate dvd and thought to myself oh s@~t,he's guna do me over piracy( :D :P )..anyway,he picked it up and said....'that any good?',couldnt believe it,haha.i was in shock so just said no tis shockin bad u can have it,he just laughed and they went off :D
    Complain him to the Garda Ombudsman for touching your privates when he forced his hand in your pocket. Let him defend himself. Nice one on his record for touching guys. Should help his career no end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭MadPatrick

I had just bought a half ounce from a known dealer and I was in my friends car driving away and were pulled. Should have known something was up when I saw the car drive upand drive away outside the house. It's my friends car so he says put it behind the glove box, but thought it would fall at my feet so put it behind some tapes.

They spent a good 20 mins searching us, even looked through the glove box quickly shuffling the tapes and amazingly closed it. I kept saying I had met this character out and said he'd given me a lend of some videos. They even went through my phone and grilled me on a friend with an unusual name (Akinyemi). One of them found a pebble under the driver's seat and they were lighting and smelling it to prove what it was, it wasn't. They were very disappointed going away. I needed a smoke after that I tells ya.

When I was about 13 was with a few lads, 2 of whom had a flagon of cider each. They got brought home but when I came home for lunch during the week I was greeted by 2 gaurds explaining to my parents that there was plenty to go around. Idiots!!

Apart from a few loud parties and general "Go home lads before you get in trouble" no other problems. But when me and a friend were pissing in a lane they came coz they thought there was a deal or maybe even some gay loving.

Oh, and I was trespassing in an abandoned building at night and got chased through sand dunes and when he caught me I screamed "Please don't rape me" to avoid the why did you run problem. I did nothing wrong but I got pestered for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Tilt Gone

House got raided a few years ago and the feckers tore the place to bits. I'm talking serious damage here. They cut all the mattresses, pulled all my cd's out of their cases, Emptied every press in the kitchen, ripped up floor boards etc tec. There was a quiet shy sort of guy living with us at the time and in his ignorance asked the guards who was going to clean up this mess. The reply of which was "Well we don't exactly keep a hoover in the back of the squad car John". Sure all we could do was laugh.

Another time the Guards were searching us and one particular frisky guard stood behind me and started to reach into my pockets. I suggested " sure why don't you pull me trousers down you could penetrate me deeper if ya do ya queer" This did not go down too well and I ended up on the wrong side of the guards fist. Was worth it though to see the look an my friends faces when i said it.

Oh and a freind of mine was asked the famous line " have you got anything on you you shouldn't have??" his reply was Yes guard, a dirty underpants. Hilarity ensued

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Was talking to a friend of mine about this subject the other day. He was saying that a few years ago when they were about 18-19 a few of his mates were walking home pissed from a pub. They passed by a petrol station which had a few brickettes of coal outside of it. Thinking it was hilarious, they decided to grab a brickette and take it home with them. About 20 minutes later a squad car caught up with them on the road. Two shades got out of the car and gave them the "Howiya lads.. where ye going to?" and explained that they got a complaint about a missing brickette. They dismissed them as eejits and said they'd leave them off this time but they are taking the brickette with them. Now one of the lads there, we'll call him Jack Walsh isn't the sharpest tool in the shed when he's had a few drinks. When the Guard asked what their names and addresses, which most of them did. Jack on the other hand decided he'd get some comedy out of this tomorrow and when his turn came he blirted out the name and address of a friend of theirs that wasn't out on the night, but he couldn't stop smirking as he did it.

Guard: "You sure that's your real details?"
    Jack: "Of course Guard!"
    Guard: "Have you any ID on you?"
    Jack: "No, unfortunately I don't Guard..."
    Guard: "Then you won't mind if I check your wallet then".

Garda Age Card right there in the front of the wallet for all to see.

Guard: "Well Mr. Walsh, you won't mind joining us for a chat in the station!"

According to my mate, they held him overnight for his effort and it took the lads exactly 20 seconds after he got into the squad car to send him a text message telling him how delighted they were for him! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

Had a teacher called Mary Melody (and I sh!t you not, she was a music teacher!!). She must have had great craic when giving her name!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Jamiekelly

I only had 2 incidents with the boys in blue meself that makes me wary of them

1. About 2 years ago I was heading back to school for me Junior Cert English paper 1 after lunch. I had about 10 minutes to get back and the walk was only 5 at the most. So I walked out of my gaf and was walking up the road when a garda car pulls up casually and out pops a tall dublin garda asking me "well what are ya at anyway?" like a casual hello to a friend. I just told him I was heading back for me English paper. Which I was met with "alright so, do you have anything on ya that ya shouldnt have?" i said no and he went ahead with the search which I didn't mind. But the one thing that pissed me off was after finding nothing he took the liberty to ask me my name, address, if i had any other run ins with the gaurds, if i had been doing things i shouldn't have been doing lately and a few other questions that they wouldnt have asked someone who was caught with ****ing drugs. Eventually I got pissed off when i looked at my watch and seen i was now 5 minutes late and asked if i could go to do me junior cert in a sarcastic tone. Suddenly the hand cuffs come out and then a dirty harry speech about coming down to the station if i dont calm down and co-operate. Then god like timing happened and my father comes walking down the road and see's the gaurd questioning me with the cuffs out. Suddenly the gaurd turned from dirty harry to jessica fletcher and sweet talked me father about how he was trying to crack down on drug crime. Me father told me to walk on to school and I walked away with me father giving the gaurd some bollicking. The funny thing is i had no previous run in with the gaurds before hand and i never even got a log sheet in school, thats how quiet i am.

2. During market day about 2 months back or that i was walking to a friends how through the town and it was f**king scorching out. I then seen 2 gaurds walking up towards the market but then stopped me asking if i had purchased cigarrettes from the market. i said no and they actually searched me for black market fags.....i was in a t-shirt and light tracksuit bottoms. Not to mention people were watching and tipped off the lads selling the fags. Is the IQ to join the gaurds a maximum of 40? Because these lads really took the ****ing biscuit with that one.