Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Hello lads, we're the Guards...", "Hello Guards, we're the lads..."

• 17-05-2010 3:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭

So with all this talk of rioting at the Dail and occupations at the banks, I was wondering, either in recent times or in the past, whether the fine citizens of After Hours have had any run-ins with the boys in blue?

My only run-in was when I was about 15, rebel as I was walking down the road in the blistering july heat in a leather trenchcoat - too cool for heat stroke at the time it seems :pac:. The scene looking a bit strange, an unmarked car pulled in a pulled down the window. Now, I've never had great hearing and the heat must have been messing with my mind because for some reason I got it into my head that whoever was there was asking for directions, so I walked over to the window of the car, looked in, expecting to be asked directions. Out these two plainclothes coppers jump, flashing the credentials and asking me why in the name of god I was wearing such a huge coat in the middle of July.

Then they asked if I had anything on me that I shouldn't have, which I didn't. They then asked to search me. I demanded to read the credentials, and I was given a swift slap over the head and was told to stop acting like a little bollix (to be fair, they were clearly policemen and I was just acting like a little bollix at the time). They went ahead with the search in the middle of the road, which of course turned up nothing but in the middle of it a taxi went by, and slowed down as it went past me with the taximan nearly falling out the window with a big thick head on him yelling "YOU'D THINK THEY WOULD HAVE BETTER THINGS TO DO!!"

Morto! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

They're not allowed search you unless there is real reason to believe you are carrying drugs. So they were violating your rights.
    They're not supposed to slap kids on the head either of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

you out foxed them didnt you?

God that was terrible.

lemme grab my oversized trench coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

Foxhound38 wrote: »

My only run-in was when I was about 15, rebel as I was walking down the road in the blistering july heat in a leather trenchcoat

I think you were collared by the fashion police, big crack down on Muffin Bellies next week, I hear.

• Moderators Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Great thread title. Made me "lol". :pac:

My oul' lad's a Garda so all the local ones knew me and never bothered me when I was out drinking as a child etc, Was very handy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

x PyRo wrote: »

My oul' lad's a Garda so all the local ones knew me and never bothered me when I was out drinking as a child etc, Was very handy!

UGH he's one of THEM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I don't think i've ever be pulled by the Guards in the street. Yet.

There was one time when a certain basketball arena got vandalised while being built and people wearing our school uniform were seen running from it, so the Guards came to the school and we all got a bollocking. But they couldn't prove anything :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

We'll its slightly obvious when the school is right be side the 'arena' ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

alwaysadub wrote: »
    I don't think i've ever be pulled by the Guards in the street. Yet.

There was one time when a certain basketball arena got vandalised while being built and people wearing our school uniform were seen running from it, so the Guards came to the school and we all got a bollocking. But they couldn't prove anything :p

hmmm ...... do they charge more or less than hookers ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

PCPhoto wrote: »
    hmmm ...... do they charge more or less than hookers ?

Depends on whether you want them to use their baton on you or not :pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

My only bad incident was when i was about 12, the gardai on a motorbike mounted the pavement and nearly ran me over, i gave him a piece of my mind!

The only other issue i had was before xmas, the GF was heading home for a few days on a sunday, she was up about 6 and off she went, about 45 mins later there's a knock at the door i stay in bed, knock again, look out the door and see the car, me runs down the stairs in my boxers (and thinking the OH had been mangled:D). I open the door, Gardai asks me "are you X" me "no", "does Y live here" me "no", "is this ABC" address me "no its CBA", ah sorry for waking you, i ask whats up, they said a person living at the other address had died in a car crash and they were going to break the news..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cojomo2

Morto!

What!|:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

in the days before mobiles, me and a friend were in swords and i was usin a callcard telephone type thingy...unmarked screeches up and jumps out...just says "Garda" and lifts our hands in the air and proceeds to rifle through our pockets and around the phone box...mumbling about complaints about local break ins etc...one of em searched the back pocket of my friend's jeans, with that my friend jumps and says "hehe that tickles..do it again..."

they left just after :P

Oddly enough they stopped and got back in their car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭DarrenMSP

pwd wrote: »
    They're not allowed search you unless there is real reason to believe you are carrying drugs. So they were violating your rights.

They are not allowed to do a lot of things they do.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

There is a lengendary story of a man where I am from. He used to work on the sea/ air rescue chopper and was renowned for fondness of the drink.

He once pulled 8 guys off a trawler off the south coast but he is more famous for the night he was driving home after being in the pub all evening and was flagged down at a checkpoint but proceeded to drive through it . The Garda car went in pursute and after arriving at this mans house the Guard approches the car and says "did you not see me signalling for you to stop ". "Yes" came the reply from the driver , " but I had no room for you."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Whoa there. Just maybe the trench coat in the middle of a heat wave gave them a reasonable suspicion, so they weren't violating anyone's rights.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

2 gaurds walked over to me and my mates when we were out knacker drinking before - "whats in the cans lads?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,830 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Kasabian wrote: »
    There is a lengendary story of a man where I am from. He used to work on the sea/ air rescue chopper and was renowned for fondness of the drink.

He once pulled 8 guys off a trawler off the south coast but he is more famous for the night he was driving home after being in the pub all evening and was flagged down at a checkpoint but proceeded to drive through it . The Garda car went in pursute and after arriving at this mans house the Guard approches the car and says "did you not see me signalling for you to stop ". "Yes" came the reply from the driver , " but I had no room for you."

Lol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

A) there's no such thing as probable cause in ireland

B) who watches the watchmen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Bazzy wrote: »
    UGH he's one of THEM

a piglet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

I've been stopped here and there routinely, but thankfully never got me collar felt...YET !!!! :eek:

I look like a nice innocent, respectable citizen hehehehhe :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

When I was 17 and my friend had moved out. A few of us were over one night and in the wee hours we decided to walk to the petrol station for food. As we were walking back my mate found a road sign, discarded and in a field, not in use. As we approach the house through a field, we see a Garda car. My mate drops the sign and we keep walking. They stop us and ask what we threw away, we tell them and he asks my mate to go get it. As he's retrieving it he asks me what's in my hand. "A litre of milk and a box of Frosties Guard." They just laughed at 3 large long haired guys walking through a field in Tallaght at 4am with such innocent items.

Also, for some shots of the Gardai handling some football fans check out my pix.ie link below.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

genericguy wrote: »

The watchmen watchers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Coastguard?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

And thats my biggest issue with them, one set of laws for their family and friends and another set for everyone else. hehe I told the gardai ombudsman a couple of years ago that the next time a gardai committed a crime against me or my children I would do murder. Strangely they havent bothered me since then! Cops, cops kids, scumbags that are allowed to break the law without penalties. Why should I or any other member of Irish society obey the law when others like cops kids don’t have to?
    x PyRo do you thing for a second that you should be above the law because of your parents profession?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

FruitLover wrote: »
    The watchmen watchers.
    Coastguard?

Durty Pervs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

prinz wrote: »
    Whoa there. Just maybe the trench coat in the middle of a heat wave gave them a reasonable suspicion

No it doesn't.

In your opinion. Not in mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

prinz wrote: »
    In your opinion. Not in mine.
    Good thing you aren't a guard so.

Wagon wrote: »

Who says I'm not :eek: Oh wait, I did, you're right I'm not.

However that has no relevance to the implementation of the powers of search under the Misuse of Drugs Act of '77. Now if someone would like to show some evidence etc of how wearing a trench coat in the middle of a hot July day is not deemed to create a reasonable cause then please go ahead. Anything else is just personal opinion. It is these personal opinions to usually lead to incidents with the gardaí in the first place when little bollixes think they know the law better than anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

A) there's no such thing as probable cause in ireland

Yes there is.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Great thread title! Also, I think you need a reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Anna Molly

I'm an angel me, but paddy's day just gone I was in town and of course there was drinking going on. At this stage I wasn't drinking, or even under the influence but my friends were. So the good ol gardai who have nothing better to be doing with their time, decided to search my bag. Which I'm pretty sure isn't legal being that; A. He was a dude, I'm a female. B. He actually put his hand in my bag, aren't I supposed to open up my bag so he can see? C. also, they took my UNOPENED bottle of vodka.

Luckily my friend is a law student, start throwing out acts and legislations at the gaurd and I got my vodka back. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Years ago when I was but a wee 18 year old, myself and too pals were going to the pub but decided to visit the off license on the way to buy some bottles to drink down an alley beforehand. We purchased some bottles of Delirium Tremens (i believe) and went down an alley which would be in a less than desirable part of Cork.
    We cracked open the bottles and took a swig and there was a bit of movement out of the corners of our eye down the alley. Two bums (male and female) were down there lying on a rug surrounded by boxes who we hadn't noticed before. They got up and started shambling towards us in their raggedy ass clothes and I was not in the mood for any hassle from bums at this point. Alas before I could say a word they reached in to their pockets and pulled out their wallets and wouldja believe, but they were Gardai! I was so shocked that when they asked my name I couldn't even think of John Mendeville, The Square, Mitchelstown. Nothing ever came of it, they just took our booze, told us to move on and I suppose then they went back to being hobos or whatever they were doing.

When I was in the US for a J1 I drank a bit too much over at a girls house who I was trying to impress. She asked me to stay, not because she wanted to jump my bones but because she worried for me. Heck I worried for me too, I didn't want to puke/piss myself in her house so I left despite her protestations, sure I only had 2 blocks to walk. This was however a bit too far for me in my state because I woke up with a Sheriff kicking at me to wake me up, he bundled me in to the back of his car and drove me the 50m to my front garden and just pushed me out on to the grass. At least he didn't bring me to the drunk tank.
    Oh and I did get my leg over the week after so success!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Never been in trouble just stopped a couple of times.

First time a load of us went down to see The prodigy in Mill Street,I used to wear a Liam gallagher-esque jacket and all the lads used to slag me saying i looked like a dealer,anyways walking past some cops and one of my mates shouted "search this lad look at the state of him!" Dragged into a room by two plain clothes I was and strip searched,thankfully had nothing on me.

Another time we were drinking in a local park,sittin on the swings etc messin about,the police came over and moved us on.Walking home one of the lads started messing jumping on my back and all,I threw him off and 2 more coppers came running over grabbed me saying I was fighting.My mate was on the ground in stitches laughing so he wasnt able to catch his breath to tell them we were mates! Anyway continued on,bursting for a piss,so stupidly decided to relieve myself on a bush in someones garden,cue the first 2 coppers collaring me with the line "Did the owner of this house piss in your garden,no? Then why the fcuk are you pissing in his!?"

I was lucky any other night and any oher guard,coulda been a different story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

My only run-in was when I was about 15, rebel as I was walking down the road in the blistering july heat in a leather trenchcoat - too cool for heat stroke at the time it seems :pac:. The scene looking a bit strange, an unmarked car pulled in a pulled down the window. Now, I've never had great hearing and the heat must have been messing with my mind because for some reason I got it into my head that whoever was there was asking for directions, so I walked over to the window of the car, looked in, expecting to be asked directions. Out these two plainclothes coppers jump, flashing the credentials and asking me why in the name of god I was wearing such a huge coat in the middle of July.

Having been through several (post -9/11)Security/Anti-Terrorism conference, I have to say that you are a text book case of what they are supposed to be looking for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Oh ho ho ho ho, I'd be loike morto too loike!

I was stopped in various airports. In Liverpool airport, one of the policemen asked me what my role in the Department of Justice was (it was on my Garda age ID) :p.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Stratige

When I was in secondary school a couple of mates of mine' houses were raided by the drug squad because our principal told the local drug unit they were dealing in the school.

This was not true. They were messers, that's all.

They didn't deserve to be made a show of like that to their whole neighbourhood.

6 or 7 Garda and 2 sniffer dogs come bursting into the house and into their rooms in the morning while they're asleep, all because they gave their principle a bit of cheek?

To this day i'am honestly baffled as to how a school principal can get away with something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Wagon wrote: »

Ah in fairness it must've cut a strange picture for them to look at. As for the slap, maybe a bit out of order on their part but looking back not altogether unjustified - they have a difficult enough job to do without cheeky little bollixes in trenchcoats giving them lip! :D
    Ruu wrote:
    Oh ho ho ho ho, I'd be loike morto too loike!

Is that not what all the cool kids say these days? Must be falling down on my lingo :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭KevinVonSpiel

Circa '91, I was moving from Northside to Southside, two suitcases via the bus service, late one night. Arrive in Ranelagh, called in on a friend & asked if he'd help me cart these two up the road (to, you guessed it, the Palmerston Road area). Despite the late hour (I think I caught the last bus), he says; sure.

As we wander up his street toward Palmerston Road, a Garda van stops, asks us what's going on; I give a quick explanation &... &... then... ask if he'd give us a lift.

He kind of sighs, iirc, then says; yeah, get in the back of the van.. (I hadn't seen Withnail & I yet).

Halfways up Palmerston Road, unaware as my friend was that the Garda in the back of the van was staring me out, looking massively pissed off, I then stated, matter of factly; yeah, the turn to the left, just coming up...

We were dropped off just outside my new house, I said thanks... then my friend tells me about my completely ignoring 'psycho staring cop' in the back of the van.

Anyway, that's one story... moral; it pays to ignore the cop that wants to kill you & concentrate instead of giving the one that's driving clear instructions as to where he is to taxi you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭SYLT

NothingMan wrote: »
    Also, for some shots of the Gardai handling some football hooligans check out my pix.ie link below.

Link please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

SYLT wrote: »
    Link please?

It's on my Pix.ie, it's in my signature right down there VVVV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Apart from being fined for speeding (politely and without any kind of bollocking or patronising smart-arsery), I've never had any seriously negative experiences with the Guards.

There was one incident, a few years ago... It was early on a Saturday morning and I was waiting for a bus, when a fat, red-faced Guard pulled over, rolled the window down and (in an incomprehensibly thick accent) said: "So, what are ye up to then?" I gestured towards the bus stop and said: "I'm waiting for a bus." He then said: "Ah fúckit, it's not you I'm looking for, so" and drove off.

I doubt that he found whoever he was looking for. Ever, in his entire career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

D-Generate wrote: »
    Years ago when I was but a wee 18 year old, myself and too pals were going to the pub but decided to visit the off license on the way to buy some bottles to drink down an alley beforehand. We purchased some bottles of Delirium Tremens (i believe) and went down an alley which would be in a less than desirable part of Cork.
    We cracked open the bottles and took a swig and there was a bit of movement out of the corners of our eye down the alley. Two bums (male and female) were down there lying on a rug surrounded by boxes who we hadn't noticed before. They got up and started shambling towards us in their raggedy ass clothes and I was not in the mood for any hassle from bums at this point. Alas before I could say a word they reached in to their pockets and pulled out their wallets and wouldja believe, but they were Gardai! I was so shocked that when they asked my name I couldn't even think of John Mendeville, The Square, Mitchelstown. Nothing ever came of it, they just took our booze, told us to move on and I suppose then they went back to being hobos or whatever they were doing.

I'd say they were genuine wino's with fake garda badges, who successfully managed to fleece your drink off ye!!

Unlucky Laad!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Stratige

RayM wrote: »
    "So, what are ye up to then?" I gestured towards the bus stop and said: "I'm waiting for a bus." He then said: "Ah fúckit, it's not you I'm looking for, so" and drove off.
    So he's looking for someone who stands at a bustop not waiting for a bus then?

Offy wrote: »
    And thats my biggest issue with them, one set of laws for their family and friends and another set for everyone else. hehe I told the gardai ombudsman a couple of years ago that the next time a gardai committed a crime against me or my children I would do murder. Strangely they havent bothered me since then! Cops, cops kids, scumbags that are allowed to break the law without penalties. Why should I or any other member of Irish society obey the law when others like cops kids don’t have to?
    x PyRo do you thing for a second that you should be above the law because of your parents profession?

No where the hell did I say I was "above the law" ?. I never said I was "above the law". Nor am I a scumbag because my Father's a member of the Gardai. :rolleyes:

I never done anything to warrant getting arrested by them, I was stopped knacker drinking once, The took the drink, I went on my merry way.

In my original post I was referring to when I'd be 16 or 17 drinking in the pubs etc, Never got bothered by them, Never done anything to warrant getting done by them. If I done something to justify being arrested I would be, Simple as that.

Get down from your high horse, You've obviously had lots of run ins with the Gardai if you're threatening to murder people, Then you go on to call people you don't know "scumbags". :rolleyes: You're something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Stratige wrote: »
    So he's looking for someone who stands at a bustop not waiting for a bus then?

I got the impression that he was looking for somebody dressed like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

My only run-in was when I was about 15, rebel as I was walking down the road in the blistering july heat in a leather trenchcoat - too cool for heat stroke at the time it seems :pac:. Out these two plainclothes coppers jump, flashing the credentials and asking me why in the name of god I was wearing such a huge coat in the middle of July.

They probably thought you were a flasher :D

I demanded to read the credentials, and I was given a swift slap over the head and was told to stop acting like a little bollix.

A swift slap over the head and being told to stop acting like a little bollix is Garda code for "Yes we are the gardai"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

In my original post I was referring to when I'd be 16 or 17 drinking in the pubs etc, Never got bothered by them, Never done anything to warrant getting done by them. If I done something to justify being arrested I would be, Simple as that.

I was referring to when I'd be 16 or 17 drinking in the pubs etc, Never got bothered by them
    Do you think the gardai allow 16 or 17 year olds to drink in pubs? So why were you allowed? Work it out. The gardai are meant to uphold and enforce the law. Period. Underage drinking is illegial. Period. No wait a minute seemly its ok if your a cops kid. Members of AGS that refuse to enforce the law are scumbags. They get paid to enforce the law for everyone living in Ireland not just those that they dont know.

Offy wrote: »
    I was referring to when I'd be 16 or 17 drinking in the pubs etc, Never got bothered by them
    Do you think the gardai allow 16 or 17 year olds to drink in pubs? So why were you allowed? Work it out. The gardai are meant to uphold and enforce the law. Period. Underage drinking is illegial. Period. No wait a minute seemly its ok if your a cops kid. Members of AGS that refuse to enforce the law are scumbags. They get paid to enforce the law for everyone living in Ireland not just thoose that they dont know.

You're completely avoiding the point, It's not like they came in, Checked did I have I'd, Seen I was underage, Then let me continue drinking. Only time I'd of been talking to them would be outside the chipper where they'd be parked up or outside it. They didn't exactly catch me in the act.

The one time I was caught underage drinking it was taken off me. What more can they do? Nothing. I was smart enough not to get caught again.

I agree that the majority of Gardai do show favoritism to people they know, There's no doubting that. I don't agree with it but that's how it goes, Live with it. Until they get caught out showing favoritism to "friends" or whoever then there's nothing that can be done.

Anna Molly wrote: »
    So the good ol gardai who have nothing better to be doing with their time, decided to search my bag. Which I'm pretty sure isn't legal being that; A. He was a dude, I'm a female.

Irrelevant. It's perfectly legal. He only search your bag. You can only request a same-sex officer if you are being subjected to a 'heavy' search of your person.
    B. He actually put his hand in my bag, aren't I supposed to open up my bag so he can see?

He can put his hand in.
    C. also, they took my UNOPENED bottle of vodka.

Whether or not it was open or unopened is irrelevant if you are under 18 or they believed you were under 18 and believed you intended to drink it.
    Luckily my friend is a law student, start throwing out acts and legislations at the gaurd and I got my vodka back. :)

Your friend needs to do some more studying and less drinking.