"Hello lads, we're the Guards...", "Hello Guards, we're the lads..."

• 17-05-2010 04:01PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭

So with all this talk of rioting at the Dail and occupations at the banks, I was wondering, either in recent times or in the past, whether the fine citizens of After Hours have had any run-ins with the boys in blue?

My only run-in was when I was about 15, rebel as I was walking down the road in the blistering july heat in a leather trenchcoat - too cool for heat stroke at the time it seems :pac:. The scene looking a bit strange, an unmarked car pulled in a pulled down the window. Now, I've never had great hearing and the heat must have been messing with my mind because for some reason I got it into my head that whoever was there was asking for directions, so I walked over to the window of the car, looked in, expecting to be asked directions. Out these two plainclothes coppers jump, flashing the credentials and asking me why in the name of god I was wearing such a huge coat in the middle of July.

Then they asked if I had anything on me that I shouldn't have, which I didn't. They then asked to search me. I demanded to read the credentials, and I was given a swift slap over the head and was told to stop acting like a little bollix (to be fair, they were clearly policemen and I was just acting like a little bollix at the time). They went ahead with the search in the middle of the road, which of course turned up nothing but in the middle of it a taxi went by, and slowed down as it went past me with the taximan nearly falling out the window with a big thick head on him yelling "YOU'D THINK THEY WOULD HAVE BETTER THINGS TO DO!!"

Morto! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

They're not allowed search you unless there is real reason to believe you are carrying drugs. So they were violating your rights.
    They're not supposed to slap kids on the head either of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

you out foxed them didnt you?

God that was terrible.

lemme grab my oversized trench coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭Poly

Foxhound38 wrote: »

My only run-in was when I was about 15, rebel as I was walking down the road in the blistering july heat in a leather trenchcoat

I think you were collared by the fashion police, big crack down on Muffin Bellies next week, I hear.

• Moderators Posts: 8,948 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Great thread title. Made me "lol". :pac:

My oul' lad's a Garda so all the local ones knew me and never bothered me when I was out drinking as a child etc, Was very handy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Bazzy

x PyRo wrote: »

My oul' lad's a Garda so all the local ones knew me and never bothered me when I was out drinking as a child etc, Was very handy!

UGH he's one of THEM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I don't think i've ever be pulled by the Guards in the street. Yet.

There was one time when a certain basketball arena got vandalised while being built and people wearing our school uniform were seen running from it, so the Guards came to the school and we all got a bollocking. But they couldn't prove anything :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,675 ✭✭✭✭listermint

We'll its slightly obvious when the school is right be side the 'arena' ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

alwaysadub wrote: »
    I don't think i've ever be pulled by the Guards in the street. Yet.

There was one time when a certain basketball arena got vandalised while being built and people wearing our school uniform were seen running from it, so the Guards came to the school and we all got a bollocking. But they couldn't prove anything :p

hmmm ...... do they charge more or less than hookers ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

PCPhoto wrote: »
    hmmm ...... do they charge more or less than hookers ?

Depends on whether you want them to use their baton on you or not :pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

My only bad incident was when i was about 12, the gardai on a motorbike mounted the pavement and nearly ran me over, i gave him a piece of my mind!

The only other issue i had was before xmas, the GF was heading home for a few days on a sunday, she was up about 6 and off she went, about 45 mins later there's a knock at the door i stay in bed, knock again, look out the door and see the car, me runs down the stairs in my boxers (and thinking the OH had been mangled:D). I open the door, Gardai asks me "are you X" me "no", "does Y live here" me "no", "is this ABC" address me "no its CBA", ah sorry for waking you, i ask whats up, they said a person living at the other address had died in a car crash and they were going to break the news..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭cojomo2

Foxhound38 wrote: »

Morto!

What!|:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

in the days before mobiles, me and a friend were in swords and i was usin a callcard telephone type thingy...unmarked screeches up and jumps out...just says "Garda" and lifts our hands in the air and proceeds to rifle through our pockets and around the phone box...mumbling about complaints about local break ins etc...one of em searched the back pocket of my friend's jeans, with that my friend jumps and says "hehe that tickles..do it again..."

they left just after :P

Oddly enough they stopped and got back in their car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭DarrenMSP

pwd wrote: »
    They're not allowed search you unless there is real reason to believe you are carrying drugs. So they were violating your rights.

They are not allowed to do a lot of things they do.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

There is a lengendary story of a man where I am from. He used to work on the sea/ air rescue chopper and was renowned for fondness of the drink.

He once pulled 8 guys off a trawler off the south coast but he is more famous for the night he was driving home after being in the pub all evening and was flagged down at a checkpoint but proceeded to drive through it . The Garda car went in pursute and after arriving at this mans house the Guard approches the car and says "did you not see me signalling for you to stop ". "Yes" came the reply from the driver , " but I had no room for you."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Whoa there. Just maybe the trench coat in the middle of a heat wave gave them a reasonable suspicion, so they weren't violating anyone's rights.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

2 gaurds walked over to me and my mates when we were out knacker drinking before - "whats in the cans lads?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,865 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Kasabian wrote: »
    There is a lengendary story of a man where I am from. He used to work on the sea/ air rescue chopper and was renowned for fondness of the drink.

He once pulled 8 guys off a trawler off the south coast but he is more famous for the night he was driving home after being in the pub all evening and was flagged down at a checkpoint but proceeded to drive through it . The Garda car went in pursute and after arriving at this mans house the Guard approches the car and says "did you not see me signalling for you to stop ". "Yes" came the reply from the driver , " but I had no room for you."

Lol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

A) there's no such thing as probable cause in ireland

B) who watches the watchmen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Bazzy wrote: »
    UGH he's one of THEM

a piglet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

I've been stopped here and there routinely, but thankfully never got me collar felt...YET !!!! :eek:

I look like a nice innocent, respectable citizen hehehehhe :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

When I was 17 and my friend had moved out. A few of us were over one night and in the wee hours we decided to walk to the petrol station for food. As we were walking back my mate found a road sign, discarded and in a field, not in use. As we approach the house through a field, we see a Garda car. My mate drops the sign and we keep walking. They stop us and ask what we threw away, we tell them and he asks my mate to go get it. As he's retrieving it he asks me what's in my hand. "A litre of milk and a box of Frosties Guard." They just laughed at 3 large long haired guys walking through a field in Tallaght at 4am with such innocent items.

Also, for some shots of the Gardai handling some football fans check out my pix.ie link below.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

genericguy wrote: »

The watchmen watchers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Coastguard?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

x PyRo wrote: »

And thats my biggest issue with them, one set of laws for their family and friends and another set for everyone else. hehe I told the gardai ombudsman a couple of years ago that the next time a gardai committed a crime against me or my children I would do murder. Strangely they havent bothered me since then! Cops, cops kids, scumbags that are allowed to break the law without penalties. Why should I or any other member of Irish society obey the law when others like cops kids don’t have to?
    x PyRo do you thing for a second that you should be above the law because of your parents profession?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

FruitLover wrote: »
    The watchmen watchers.
    Coastguard?

Durty Pervs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

prinz wrote: »
    Whoa there. Just maybe the trench coat in the middle of a heat wave gave them a reasonable suspicion

No it doesn't.

In your opinion. Not in mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

prinz wrote: »
    In your opinion. Not in mine.
    Good thing you aren't a guard so.

Wagon wrote: »
    Good thing you aren't a guard so.

Who says I'm not :eek: Oh wait, I did, you're right I'm not.

However that has no relevance to the implementation of the powers of search under the Misuse of Drugs Act of '77. Now if someone would like to show some evidence etc of how wearing a trench coat in the middle of a hot July day is not deemed to create a reasonable cause then please go ahead. Anything else is just personal opinion. It is these personal opinions to usually lead to incidents with the gardaí in the first place when little bollixes think they know the law better than anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

A) there's no such thing as probable cause in ireland

Yes there is.