The Next After Hours Beers - Date Selection

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

DUBLIN!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭danh789

liah wrote: »
    Can it not be somewhere a little more central? Just once?

Like, come on. It's been in Dublin for the last.. oh god, I don't even know how many. There's other parts of Ireland, too, and plenty of people from the rest of the country!

Why not have a beers in the middle of the country so everyone can travel a relatively equal distance and therefore probably gain more members, instead of everyone just catering to the Dublin egocentrism and leaving out a hell of a lot of people?

But I suppose that'd be too radical an idea..

Athlone is in the very center of the country, motorway from either Galway or Dublin, some great bars such as Sean's (the oldest pub in Ireland!), Richard Grace's, JD's and the Prince aswell as Karma and Q nightclubs

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Fago! wrote: »
    DUBLIN!!!!!!!!!

TIMMEH!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

danh789 wrote: »
    Athlone is in the very center of the country, motorway from either Galway or Dublin, some great bars such as Sean's (the oldest pub in Ireland!), Richard Grace's, JD's and the Prince aswell as Karma and Q nightclubs

Again, if enough people vote for Athlone then we shall have the AH beers there. It's very very simple guys, I don't what all the fuss is about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

+ 1 ATHLONE

TIMMEH!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭LFC5Times

Is this really a secret swingers convention? A pseudonym as such ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Athlone is the spot for this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Hows about a night at greyhound racing?
    Doesn't really matter where it is then because a greyhound track is a greyhound track, they are massive craic, there's something to do for non-drinkers and they all do private parties and good food.

Pluse you could win MILLIONS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

+1 for Athlone.
    Pluse you could win MILLIONS

Let's all play the Lotto!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

No it's not a radical idea, but, do you think there would be much of a turn out if we located in the middle of the Island? Thing is, most people are living in Dublin, hence most votes will be for that region. If you move the location against the voters will, you won't end up with much of an attendance.

Instead of having everyone traveling, why not just the minority travel? Some of us don't have far to go, so we are lucky that way. But I cannot see the majority change to suit the minority. You know?

I doubt most people are living in Dublin. A lot are, sure, but I wouldn't say it's a majority. Of course, if you're talking about the usual beers attendees, of course the majority are from Dublin-- all the fecking beers have been in their back yard for the last however long!

And the "minority" have ALWAYS had to travel. Seriously, someone count how many Dublin beers there's been. Maybe, just once, it would be nice if the Dubs possibly, you know, traveled themselves (shock, horror!)? And saved the "minority" a trip? Sure, it might be nice to get out of the city for once, don't you think?

What about all the people from the south who've not had a chance to go? As far as I can see there's plenty of people from Cork etc. here in AH. Why not repay the favour to the out-of-towners who have actually made the extra effort to go to the beers in Dublin before? Why does everything have to revolve around Dublin?

I'm not keen on Athlone but imo it's the best suggestion so far.

I'm just saying.. it's not all about Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

+1 for Athlone.

I doubt most people are living in Dublin. A lot are, sure, but I wouldn't say it's a majority. Of course, if you're talking about the usual beers attendees, of course the majority are from Dublin-- all the fecking beers have been in their back yard for the last however long!

And the "minority" have ALWAYS had to travel. Seriously, someone count how many Dublin beers there's been. Maybe, just once, it would be nice if the Dubs possibly, you know, traveled themselves (shock, horror!)? And saved the "minority" a trip? Sure, it might be nice to get out of the city for once, don't you think?

What about all the people from the south who've not had a chance to go? As far as I can see there's plenty of people from Cork etc. here in AH. Why not repay the favour to the out-of-towners who have actually made the extra effort to go to the beers in Dublin before? Why does everything have to revolve around Dublin?

I'm not keen on Athlone but imo it's the best suggestion so far.

I'm just saying.. it's not all about Dublin.

We get the point already.

You seem to forget it's the voting that counts, people vote for athlone then it'll be there, people vote for kerry and it'll be there. Jesus i'll vote for Athlone if it keeps the thread on topic amd people from whinging anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Pyr0 wrote: »
    We get the point already.

You seem to forget it's the voting that counts, people vote for athlone then it'll be there, people vote for kerry and it'll be there. Jesus i'll vote for Athlone if it keeps the thread on topic amd people from whinging anymore.

Galway would be more fun, possibly. I vote for Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Yes, I understand that. That's not the point I'm trying to make, but whatever.

Can the vote be multi-choice so people can pick a variety of locations that would work for them instead of just the one?

For instance, say someone could do like.. Dublin, Athlone, Galway, and another person could do Cork, Kerry, Limerick etc. So they can choose the different locations they'd be willing to travel to.

I think it'd make it interesting to take Dublin out altogether just to try and change it up a little and maybe make some people experience some new places and venues, there's been enough there already. Nothin' wrong with something new. Ireland has an awful lot to discover outside of the Pale.

(by the way, I 99.9% won't be attending a beers no matter where it is, in case anyone thinks that's why I'm arguing against Dublin.)

Yes, I understand that. That's not the point I'm trying to make, but whatever.

Can the vote be multi-choice so people can pick a variety of locations that would work for them instead of just the one?

For instance, say someone could do like.. Dublin, Athlone, Galway, and another person could do Cork, Kerry, Limerick etc. So they can choose the different locations they'd be willing to travel to.

I think it'd make it interesting to take Dublin out altogether just to try and change it up a little and maybe make some people experience some new places and venues, there's been enough there already. Nothin' wrong with something new. Ireland has an awful lot to discover outside of the Pale.

(by the way, I 99.9% won't be attending a beers no matter where it is, in case anyone thinks that's why I'm arguing against Dublin.)

Don't get me wrong, I know what you're getting at alright. It's just a bit off topic, vote and it shall be decided at the end of the day. I wouldn't mind heading to where ever If I can afford it myself. As far as I know some of the previous beers were automatically hosted in Dublin but i think that was for convienence to the majority of posters and to test the waters for following beers. Now that everyone knows what the story is with them, yeah I'm all for it moving to other places but it's just handier for me, living in dublin, to have it hosted in Dublin but I'm easy when it comes to push and shove !

I didn't mean to sound harsh and if thats the way it came across then I apologise

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Guys, nobody has to justify their choice of location.

This thread is simply to gain a list of locations and dates that can go into a later poll.

So far I think we have suggestions of;

Arran Islands
    Athlone
    Cork
    Dublin
    Galway
    Kilkenny
    Limerick

Keep adding to this list if you have any other location suggestions

Date suggestions seem a bit thin on the ground :(

I think we're best to avoid the bank holiday weekend in June but all other dates are open so suggest away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

The only real problem with it being held outside of dublin is that that is alot of hotel rooms/hostels to book and pay for....if people knew each other well enough they could share....but who here would share with another boardsie? (I know there will be a few, me included who would share with certain people)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I suggest:
    June 19th.
    June 26th.
    July 3rd
    July 10th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

For location, I'm going to suggest either the Capitol or DTwo.

Dates wise, I'm an easy enough hussy in that respect, any weekend in June should be grand.

PS: I'm only interested in Dublin AH beers.

11, 12, 18, 19, 26, 27....they are my lotto numbers....of June

2, 3 of july.

Those are the most feasible dates.

I advice the 18th or 19th because it's close enough that we aren't waiting forever, but far enoguh that arrangements can be made!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

The only real problem with it being held outside of dublin is that that is alot of hotel rooms/hostels to book and pay for....if people knew each other well enough they could share....but who here would share with another boardsie? (I know there will be a few, me included who would share with certain people)

I have stayed in hostels in almost every country in Europe and shared with complete strangers. Sharing with the virtually known boardsie would bother me not at all.

Any Saturday in June except the 19th suits me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

If it's in Dublin ... I'd suggest 11th, 12th, 18th or 19th of June.

I wasn't at the last beers in Ron Blacks, but it's a fun spot ... would go anywhere in Dublin, really (I like the idea of having it somewhere else, but unfortunately I just wouldn't be able to afford the accommodation!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I can probably do the weekend of the 18th of June or the following weekend. That's if something else doesnt come up in the meantime.

NothingMan wrote: »
    I have stayed in hostels in almost every country in Europe and shared with complete strangers. Sharing with the virtually known boardsie would bother me not at all.

Any Saturday in June except the 19th suits me.

I'm much the same...but there are a few I wouldn't stay with! :D being sexual deviants and all...

Actually...Snyper is from Athlone? I'm crashing in his gaff! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭mstan

I'm only interested in Dublin AH beers.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055911467

Problem Solved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

mstan wrote: »

That's Dublin Forum beers, not AH beers.

11, 12, 18, 19, 26, 27....they are my lotto numbers....of June

2, 3 of july.

Those are the most feasible dates.

I advice the 18th or 19th because it's close enough that we aren't waiting forever, but far enoguh that arrangements can be made!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

The Palace or Coppers according to some of the shenanigans in this thread...