Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Robin Hood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

its really boring.

And a mess

if you know anything about the production (it was original going to be called nothingham and focus on the sheriff of nothingham) then you can understand why it's a mess, the plot dances all over the place constantly changing focus, numerous elements enter and leave the film with little or no explanation and its conclusion is laughably anti climatic.

The film also lacks any suspense any menace any emotion of life at all, its all very by the numbers with no attempt to make any of it exciting. We have a grand total of 3 *robin hood* moments (i.e bandits, ambush and bows) and only 1 of them actually involve robin hood, the other two involve the villians and some random kids (that are never really brought in the story narratively but somehow end up on the right side for no reason what so ever)

And for the Classical warfare Ridley Scott action play set that people enjoy (me included at times) they are the most bland battles he has done no where near the scale or impact of his prior films and worse of all the big finale is so unbelievable one sided in favour of the heroes that I fail to understand why it was being built up to be the climax.

So the film cuts rogueish fantasy hood story for one enriched in political drama, yet at the same time knows its audience consist of mainstream america, so naturally the political drama goes the way of the phantom menace which means its mostly irrelevent pompus bullsh*t about tax and liberty (the 2 things that seem to define politics to most people). Throw on top an insane over complication on Robin Hood's origin story that deliver's nothing despite throwing in stolen identities, rebellions and his father's murderer they outright fail to capatlize on any of these elements in any substantial form.

and thats just the plot.

moving on, the actors are for the most dull planks of wood, Russell Crowe being chief among them, he seemed to have forgotten that the word Rogue is very much associated with robin hood, here he plays Maximus with a cold, i.e he's the same moody sombre git but he has the sniffles so cant shout or growl so opts for grimacing and threatening frowns. Dont expect anything memorable to come from his mouth. In fact expect to be longing for kevin costner to come in and take over the role. Cate Blanchett takes Miriam as a role to be bitchy and sticks with it just swapping busy bitchy for smitten bitchy for angry bitchy and so on, their relationship seems to exist solely because thats what's expected. Chemistry nope nada none.

The supporting cast do the film a bit more justice, william hurt fits into the political side of things well as does a sombre danny huston as king richard. The merry men with as little time as they get in the film try to keep things light, but get shunted to the backrow far too much. The film's trio of villians (king of france, King john and sir godfry) are two dull sods and a gem. Godfry looks menacing but never capatilizes on it, in fact by the film's climax he looks incompetant then anything else and not the funny incompetant, King Phillip of France despite being the chief villian is absent.

But Oscar Issac has to be given credit, he plays a good king john and is probably the most entertaining character in the film, Credit is deserved, he takes a bit of Alan Rickman's sheriff to spice his scenes but keeps it mostly his own. So bravo.

So I mentioned Nothingham and the start, and thats important, because if the film focused on the sheriff of nottingham then the issues of dickish church behaviour, political drama and rebellion would all have firstly made sense from a character's perspective (robin hood traversing through these situations is very out of place most times) and secondly would have been interesting. Trying to juggle the noble image of Robin Hood with events that are predominantly grey on the map of morals does not work.

Throw in a few plotholes and wtf moments and you have a film with little or no merit.

Its not broken, its just bland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Sleazus

I was a little disappointed, to be honest. Some good ideas, but the film was just too much of a mess. I couldn't help feeling that it was a little bit pointless to make a movie about Robin Hood... not being Robin Hood, if you catch my drift. Half the stuff in the trailer - the iconic "Robin Hood" stuff - doesn't happen until after the climax, for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭Josey Wales

I'm just back from the film and I enjoyed it a lot. I like the way they interweave the original of Robin Hood into real historical events. The action scenes were pretty impressive too.

I did find it strange that there was an intermission during the film as it isn't that long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

I saw this last night and I hated it. I was really looking forward to it but I felt completely cheated and I almost completely agree with what Blitzkrieg said in his post.

To add a few of my own observations:

The story is all over the place and they are trying to do so much that they end up doing nothing well. Robin doesn't even get back to England for an hour so there is an hour of nonsense that adds nothing to the Robin Hood story. For some reason they added a ridiculous Trading Places/ Prince and the Pauper element to it which further complicates the story and takes time to agree. Then it becomes about a northern uprising only to switch to a French invasion storyline. In between there is Robin's backstory which is rubbish and convoluted. Way too much nonsense going on and you can really see that it was a script that was rewritten way too many times

Russell Crowe. I'm normally a fan. BUT he is terrible here. He plays Robin Hood as a sullen bore with no personality not the lovable rogue that he should be. The Merry Men try their best to be rogueish but they are largely ignored for the whole film. And he is the centre of bloody everything. The whole movie revolves around Robin being some sort of amazing hero when he is just dull and shows zero charisma. And his accent sounds like Mick McCarthy!

The Battle. Boy is this a mess. The only epic Ridley Scott bit is some horsriding on a beach which is grand but very short. The actual battle with Robin Hood and Godfrey is terribly shot. It is on the beach too and the camera is all over the place cutting every second or two to weird angles all the time with the result that I had no idea what was going on. Suddenly Robin finds himself between two boats and I had no idea how he got there. I really hate that fast camera cut, cut, cut style of shooting action as it is impossible to follow.

The Children in the Forest. WTF was going on with them?
    None of them ever speak a word and there is no motivation for them to do anything yet they turn up on donkeys at the end to fight the French. And why is one of the wearing Scarecrow's mask from Batman??

There is a reason why the Robin Hood legend has endured for centuries. It is a great story with great themes and elements that everyone can identify with. So why the hell would you mess around with it?

My last gripe is the ending. FFS what a mess. I felt genuinely ripped off.
    I got two minutes of Robin Hood being an outlaw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Have Empire finally lost the plot?

Grown-up but not too serious; action-packed but not juvenile… Not only is this the mullet-free Robin Hood movie we’ve been waiting decades for, it’s also Ridley Scott and Russell Crowe at their most entertaining since Gladiator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Lurching

I thought it was entertaining, even though the story is all over the place.
    It had some funny bits, but the lads on the ponys was just ridiculous.

Also, the fight scenes were very fake, the hits a lot of the guys were putting in with swords etc just didnt look realistic. They did it well enough in Braveheart, but they made an arse of it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

Have Empire finally lost the plot?

Yep. Although they probably lost it years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Thepones

Does anyone else find this weird. Spoiler
    They wanted to have Robin assume the identity of the Knight Loxley. However in at the end of the movie everyone knows him by his real name as Robin Longstride. Would it not have been easier to have the Knight named as Longstride and leave Robin as Loxley! That way at least there is consistency with the old tales.

Found that annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭FreeOSCAR

Just back from seeing it there, it was ok like, I was expecting worse reading the reviews.

The usage of the Orphans and Robin's backstory was ridiculous though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 snoop78

I'll give it a miss so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Dick Clerkin

Saw it last night - pretty average and dull

Some of the jokes are just ridiculous as well, right from the "Carry On" school of comedy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Lucifer-0

Apparently he sounds Irish in it....which Russell Crow isn't impressed with.

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/21/20100514/ten-crowe-angry-over-irish-accent-5f8abb3.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

I wonder will this be the same as Kingdom of Heaven with a sub-par theatrical release, and a great director's cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

the story was all over the place, i knew when it started that it was not going to be great though, just from the opening scenes

it was still okay imo and i sort of liked it but they just tried to do too much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

I'll go see it on Sunday, I like Maximus.
    Robin Hood - Maximus with a bow and arrow
    A Beautiful Mind - Maximus with an Abacus
    Master ans Commander - Maximus on a boat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

MJ23 wrote: »
    I'll go see it on Sunday, I like Maximus.
    Robin Hood - Maximus with a bow and arrow
    A Beautiful Mind - Maximus with an Abacus
    Master ans Commander - Maximus on a boat

Dont forget,
    Romper Stomper - Maximus with a swastika
    LA Confidential - Maximus playing at cops and robbers
    Cinderella Man - Maximus trys a spot of boxing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

When to see it tonight,despite what the critics say,i liked it. Slowed down a bit in the middle but good overall.

Rumours are that this will be part 1 of the robin hood story with more to follow if it makes enough money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Lamper.sffc

I have to say, I liked it. Thought the different take on the Robbin Hood story was interesting. I quite like the fact that it felt like the beginning of the story and I hope they get to continue it. It does have its problems and parts which are a little silly (kids on Donkeys and what not) but overall, I thought it was a pretty decent movie. I definitely wasnt sorry I went to see it and Id probably watch it again when its released on DVD.

Id give it a 3 out of 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

Saw this last night.

I have 3 issues with it.

1. Marian
    arriving at the end with the kids and screaming "This is for you Walther"... the cheese of it
    2. The could easily have had John
    sign the Magna Carta at the end of the movie,
    bringing about some closure but they got greedy and set it up for a sequel.
    3. Combat was a big step down from Gladiator, a 10 year old movie.

That said, it wasn't all bad and I did enjoy it overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Lamper.sffc

Saw this last night.

I have 3 issues with it.

1. Marian
    arriving at the end with the kids and screaming "This is for you Walther"... the cheese of it
    2. The could easily have had John
    sign the Magna Carta at the end of the movie,
    bringing about some closure but they got greedy and set it up for a sequel.
    3. Combat was a big step down from Gladiator, a 10 year old movie.

That said, it wasn't all bad and I did enjoy it overall.

I would agree with points 1 and 3. But the whole film in my opinion was setting it up for more. Having John
    as an obvious villain but not have him go directly up against Robin
    was telling us there will be more. The whole story was building it up to be the beginning of a possible Trilogy imo. Thats how it felt to me anyway. Unfortunately this is partly the reason the film was not quite as good as it could have been. Still decent though and worth a watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

I must echo what has been said already in this thread, Robin Hood was an overlong bore. Really there is very little this incarnation of robin hood has in common with the old story we're familiar with. The story suffers went in diverts away from the fable and sherwood forest and isnt helped by a poor script and hollow characters, chief among them Robin Hood himself. I think Russell Crowe is still dining out on Gladiator which was a terrififc movie and a great performance from him, and thats part of the problem with robin hood, there isnt that same emotional connection to be made with crowes character as was so easily done in Gladiator, instead we have a vacuous bow and arrow wielding robin hood who simply seems to be going through the motions... How could ridley scott and crowe justify bringing this nonsense to the big screen, i mean there is more drama in an average episode of fair city, i was also surprised at kate blanchette, normally a terrific actress who's script choices are in the main spot on, she was way off target with this venture. In fact I left before the end of the film, and i have done that several times this, year such has been the poor standard of films in 2010. Two films I did enjoy , Tilda swintons, I am Love, beautifully shot and acted, and The Disappearance of Alice Creed, sadly both were rare treats as far as my recent visits to the cinema have been concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Dr Nic wrote: »
    Worst film i've seen in a long time

dawt

Lucifer-0 wrote: »
    Apparently he sounds Irish in it....which Russell Crow isn't impressed with.

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/21/20100514/ten-crowe-angry-over-irish-accent-5f8abb3.html

Heres the audio :)

its not really any more different to the source material than any of the other robin hood films, they are all not very true to the old stories (the closest probably being the disney version as far as i can remember)

so to call it too different from whats been done before isnt exactly the most valid of criticisms but there is definitely a case to be made that it is overly complicated

i got the impression it was a film that didnt know what it wanted to be if that makes any sense

it does when you consider it was original not meant to be about robin hood at all but about the sheriff of nottingham

well as far as i know yes it went through lots of changes, first i heard what you say there then i heard crowe was supposed to be playing both characters (they must have been either supposed to be the same person or brothers, if the story is true at all)

first i heard what you say there then i heard crowe was supposed to be playing both characters

Nope initial script was focused on the sheriff (played by Crowe) and robin hood was while not the villian was to play a less virtous role (and was never casted)
    (they must have been either supposed to be the same person or brothers, if the story is true at all)

When it was changed that it was to be about robin hood, they originally had it he became the sheriff very early in the film (sort of like how he became
    locksley
    in the final film. Hence the confusion.

Either way, keeping on these plot elements and swapping out names is one of the film's major flaws.

yes but that means he was to play both roles in the film at some stage thats all i meant

either way its fairly clear that there was far too much messing with the script of this movie

yes but that means he was to play both roles in the film at some stage thats all i meant

sorry lack of sleep i thought you meant he was going to do an eddie murphy and play both roles in the same film :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Mr. K

Saw it last night, wasn't impressed. It had its moments (Mark Strong is always good), but I didn't feel engaged at all. The whole thing was forgettable, with Crowe's performance seeming completely phoned-in.