Brian Lenihan orders - find 3 billion in four weeks!

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

dlofnep wrote: »
    Nationwide can **** off for itself.

hey no need for that, michael ryan is a fantastic presenter and some of the stories they uncover are really interesting

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Is it ?

I'll certainly go find a cost of living survey to check, but since you're so confident I presume that you have one to hand - do share !

And I can't help but wonder what bank officials and politicians are on over there, too......

Just found one pointer for starters:

http://www.expatforum.com/articles/cost-of-living/cost-of-living-in-greece.html

:o

If everything else is a factor of that magnitude, you could well be way off the mark, Rojo

I'm sorry, but how are any of those figures 5 times less than they are here?? 60 euros a month on food per person? 500 euros a month rent? A small car that uses very little fuel?

Your head is in the clouds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

If only Germany won World War 2... they would've had Europe running much more efficiently with less bureaucracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Biggins, it's the same €3bn in cuts that was announced months ago, we knew this was coming for ages - the last budget was the minimum that we could get away with at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    We have some of the highest wages in the world, some of the highest unemployment benefits, and one of the highest paid PS's in the world. Someone on the dole here 'earns' almost as much as a teacher in Greece. Probably a lot more when you factor in other benefits.

And the problem is that some people can't get their heads around this fact.

If I could thank you twice I would. Brian, if you are reading this heres a tip to save a couple of hundred million euro. Stop paying rent allowance to private landlords and move all those tenants into the empty houses and apartments that the Government now own thru NAMA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭NewDirection

Does anyone else here see this as a positive thing?

While on the one hand we have people justifiably giving out about our absent Taoiseach, our Minister for Finance is kicking ass and taking names.

If anyone looks at the government finances, its clear they don't add up. Well done Brian on forcing these flabby government offices to cut expenditure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

Whatever happend to houses on the moon? We need a clean slate since we fúked this place up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

DonJose wrote: »
    If I could thank you twice I would. Brian, if you are reading this heres a tip to save a couple of hundred million euro. Stop paying rent allowance to private landlords and move all those tenants into the empty houses and apartments that the Government now own thru NAMA.

.....What houses? So far as I'm aware, we don't own any buildings through NAMA yet, and won't for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

^^ Jaysus yea, remember people were buying land on the moon lol. talk about pissing money away in the boom times haha. People are idiots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

Can't we just pretend that nothings wrong and go back to selling houses to each other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Some Patriot should Burn Anglo head office down.

22 Billion right there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Some Patriot should Burn Anglo head office down.

22 Billion right there

Go ahead. I'll be...... right behind you.