Lads Mags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I'm astonished as to how people come on here to look for yet another reason to look down on other people.

OP honestly who cares, you read what you like and be happy. I really believe that if everyone minded their own bloody business the world would be a much happier place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

polliepp wrote: »
    I was just checking an article that I read today (talking about Danny Dyer and the Zoo fiasco) which stated that they appealed to the lowest common denominator i.e. unintelligent, uneducated, misogynistic sun readers. Thank you for clarifying that.;)

Well you're obviously far too intelligent for us "unintelligent, uneducated, misogynistic sun readers", so I take it you'll not longer be troubling us with your pressence. Bye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Was wondering what guys think of the whole lads mag thing? Is it only a certain type of man who buys these mags? As a female I have to say I find them a bit sad. Your views would be welcome?

Yes, it's hetrosexuals...
    What's sad about them OP?

She's not in them... too ugly, fat, old or all three.
    I never said they were weird as one poster suggested. Anyway thank you so much - consider my research done. Your replies were so original and enlightening bar one or two obvious intelligent guys. I was just checking an article that I read today (talking about Danny Dyer and the Zoo fiasco) which stated that they appealed to the lowest common denominator i.e. unintelligent, uneducated, misogynistic sun readers. Thank you for clarifying that.;)

You believe everything you read? Typical jealous fembot. GTFO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

No I don't mind at all. Bored already and not shocked in the least - hope that doesn't disappoint you. Now don't you have a **** mag to get back to. Don't let me keep you guys.:D

Is it hard to reach your keyboard all the way up on that pedestal of yours?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    So what sh*tty rag of a newspaper do you work for then?

If you don't like our replies then perhaps you should do some proper work in future and not just come on here getting us to provide you with filler for your article?
    If she is doing an article on lads mags, it says a lot about where one would find such an article... in a lags mag perhaps OP? :rolleyes:

Biggins wrote: »
    If she is doing an article on lads mags, it says a lot about where one would find such an article... in a lags mag perhaps OP? :rolleyes:

I would think it would suit better a girls mag, you know the fembot types that target men with their amazing research techniques, making claims like the OP.

Did you get burned op? Good... You probably deserved it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭perri winkles

I read FHM whenever my BF buys it, and yes I am a girl!

I find it quite good actually, funny articles and the likes. Usually more original they any girls magazine.

Granted its not really a 'hardcore' lads mag but still!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 polliepp

Obviously touched a raw nerve with some of you seeing how defensive you all are. If you are happy with your mags off you go - thats your business. But responding with comments about being fat, old and ugly is just pathetic and all you are doing is proving what I said in the first place!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

I would think it would suit better a girls mag, you know the fembot types that target men with their amazing research techniques, making claims like the OP.

Did you get burned op? Good... You probably deserved it :)

How did she get burned? Based on the replies so far, it appears to me that she was right about the types of people who read those magazines - further proven by certain posters calling her "ugly or fat" or a "jealous fembot". It seems that she got your number, so now you're just resorting to personal insults as if that's somehow "burning" her.... All it's doing is further proving her point...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

Obviously touched a raw nerve with some of you seeing how defensive you all are. If you are happy with your mags off you go - thats your business. But responding with comments about being fat, old and ugly is just pathetic and all you are doing is proving what I said in the first place!!

You come in here insulting us, presuming us all to fit the stereotype that you are 'researching'.
    What's sauce for the goose....
    And bad choice of forum for research, btw. You should have done more research into that.

Reap as ye sow, reap as ye sow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

As pathetic as calling people 'unintelligent, uneducated, misogynistic sun readers'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Rockn

Lads mags are for the poor fools who haven't discovered the internet. Bless 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

No more insults. If people have a problem with a post report it.

Risteard wrote: »
    As pathetic as calling people 'unintelligent, uneducated, misogynistic sun readers'?

Now... was she really calling us all Mail readers - or Male readers? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

But responding with comments about being fat, old and ugly is just pathetic and all you are doing is proving what I said in the first place!!

About as pathetic as you calling people uneducated, unintelligent and misogynistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

Maxim used to be a great mag, It had a lot of good funny stuff in it then it almost turned into somthing similar to Loaded or Nuts..Don't get me wrong I love looking at a Sexy Bird in her kacks, But if I was sitting in an airport or travelling on a bus,The last thing I want people to see is the magazine I'm looking at with womens knockers hanging out on most pages...And then when I head to the jacks, people would think I'm away to Rub one out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

is this your first venture onto the internet?

you have got exactly what you desired and set out to get from your first post, lets not pretend otherwise, it demeans us all

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

they are pretty crass but are probably a million times better then the likes of OK! and Hello etc. which imo are counter productive to the evolution of the species

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I've read FHM and NUTS loads of times. There is actually interesting articules in them at times. I've also read Cosmo and the likes loads of times. As someone's pointed out, the amount of sex in Cosmo is just as much as in any lads mags. Cept there's a few less pictures.
    I don't buy any mags anymore,mainly cos i can't justify myself spending a fiver or whatever a month on them.
    I've no problem with anyone reading any of them mags if they want. I've better things to be doing with my time than worrying about things like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

The girls are nice to look at but the reading is subhuman so yes would agree -a bit sad is the best description.

How did she get burned? Based on the replies so far, it appears to me that she was right about the types of people who read those magazines - further proven by certain posters calling her "ugly or fat" or a "jealous fembot". It seems that she got your number, so now you're just resorting to personal insults as if that's somehow "burning" her.... All it's doing is further proving her point...

Is it your troll account? Why so concerned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Frank Spencer

I know girls that would rather read a lads mag than a girls mag that they reckon is just full of fluff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

That's assuming Iamxavier reads lads mags, no?
    Plenty of generalisation and presumption in this thread, then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

(talking about Danny Dyer and the Zoo fiasco) which stated that they appealed to the lowest common denominator i.e. unintelligent, uneducated, misogynistic sun readers. Thank you for clarifying that.;)
    So who reads equivalent "lass mags" unintelligent, uneducated, misandrist sun fashion pullout readers?

That Danny Dyer thing was a storm in a teacup, I expect some womens mag has said jokes about cutting cheating boyfriends balls off in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Nuts ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

alwaysadub wrote: »
    There is actually interesting articules in them at times.

I was kinda disappointed when playboy was legalised and I saw a copy.

The articles werent anything as good as I had been lead to believe.

FHM is the best of the lot, nuts and loaded are good sources of short term entertainment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    The articles werent anything as good as I had been lead to believe.

Men always tended to overstress the good article angle to colleagues and spouses to mitigate the fact that they were buying the magazine for muff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Smeggy

Readers Digest has got something for all the family....