Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lads Mags

• 08-05-2010 5:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23

Was wondering what guys think of the whole lads mag thing? Is it only a certain type of man who buys these mags? As a female I have to say I find them a bit sad. Your views would be welcome?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SadieSue

My husband thinks they come in handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

The porn ones are class love

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

As opposed to celebrity magazines? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭lookingfor?

Google anything with porn is your free lads mag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭shampoosuicide

polliepp wrote: »

Was wondering what guys think of the whole lads mag thing? Is it only a certain type of man who buys these mags? As a female I have to say I find them a bit sad. Your views would be welcome?

na it's pretty normal. i used to buy them to vent my sexual frustration. then i got the internet. if you think lads mags are sad you should grab a lad's laptop and check their search history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

The editorials and book reviews are marvellous for keeping in touch with whats important in life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

How else are we suppose to knock one out when theres no internet nearby?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I like to have a read of Zoo or Nuts(yes, read) for entertainment and Modified Moters or Max Power for reading about cars and ogling women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Liber8or

My girlfriend buys Cosmopolitan every now and again, so one day I picked it up and flicked through it.
    Lo and behold, both lads mags and girls mags are the same, except for one small difference.
    Guys get pictures, women get stories.
    Some of the stuff you read in magazines such as Cosmopolitan have enough material to make a porn film.

Women just like to kid themselves into thinking they buy it for the 'fashion'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Male versions of Cosmo, OK, Hello, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

At least the writers for lads mags don't come on here and ask our opinions instead of doing proper research.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Haven't looked at one since I was about sixteen...internet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I puchase "Esquire, etc" as does the other half get "Scarlet, etc" - don't see them all as just sad!
    Some of us like well written magazines too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

What's sad about them OP?

what exactly do you think is weird about it anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

It's usually generic "lads" who buy them. Football, Cars, Boobs, Beer, Wayhay! Simple folk with low expectations out of life. They watch the match at the weekend, they attend Toys for Big Boys in the RDS, they likely drive a crap souped up car, they wear lame catchphrase t-shirts ("I'm not as think as you drunk I am", "Adihash", etc), the girls they hang out with wear short skirts & too much fake tan, etc, etc....

Douchebag mags for morons, TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I don't buy them myself, but I've read a couple over the years. One of my mates had a subscription to one, I can't remember the name but it use to be class. It was like cracked.com in magazine form, loads of interesting or funny articles, but with naked chicks in the middle pages. Whats not to like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I don't see how people buy Zoo &Nuts together, they're essentially the exact same magazines with the same interviews, jokes, adverts, gadgets, pub facts, footie news and obligertary "gangs in Rio" feature as each other in the same week.

Still, oogling at Gemma Atkinson is great...............until you get sticky pages!

*cough*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

I only buy these magazines for the pictures of girls in the nip

PK2008 wrote: »
    I only buy these magazines for the pictures of girls in the nip
    You buy japanese mags?
    Any one nip in particular you like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

Cant understand why they are bought tbh. Utter drivel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Biggins wrote: »
    You buy japanese mags?
    Any one nip in particular you like?

The big nip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭hitman79

I only buy FHM and have done for about 10 years. Its actually a pretty good read and with a few pics of hot women(not naked). Nuts and zoo are only for under the bed as far as i can see :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I certainly don't find them much sadder than most women's magazines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 polliepp

I never said they were weird as one poster suggested. Anyway thank you so much - consider my research done. Your replies were so original and enlightening bar one or two obvious intelligent guys. I was just checking an article that I read today (talking about Danny Dyer and the Zoo fiasco) which stated that they appealed to the lowest common denominator i.e. unintelligent, uneducated, misogynistic sun readers. Thank you for clarifying that.;)

That's pretty much what I said alright.

feel free to outline the distinction between weird and sad.

thats a poor effort pollie if you dont mind me saying

throwing in your previously held view after so few replies

you could have dragged the erse out of it for much much longer with a few probing questions:rolleyes:

So what sh*tty rag of a newspaper do you work for then?

If you don't like our replies then perhaps you should do some proper work in future and not just come on here getting us to provide you with filler for your article?

No I don't mind at all. Bored already and not shocked in the least - hope that doesn't disappoint you. Now don't you have a **** mag to get back to. Don't let me keep you guys.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I'm astonished as to how people come on here to look for yet another reason to look down on other people.

OP honestly who cares, you read what you like and be happy. I really believe that if everyone minded their own bloody business the world would be a much happier place

I was just checking an article that I read today (talking about Danny Dyer and the Zoo fiasco) which stated that they appealed to the lowest common denominator i.e. unintelligent, uneducated, misogynistic sun readers. Thank you for clarifying that.;)

Well you're obviously far too intelligent for us "unintelligent, uneducated, misogynistic sun readers", so I take it you'll not longer be troubling us with your pressence. Bye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Yes, it's hetrosexuals...
    What's sad about them OP?

She's not in them... too ugly, fat, old or all three.

You believe everything you read? Typical jealous fembot. GTFO.

No I don't mind at all. Bored already and not shocked in the least - hope that doesn't disappoint you. Now don't you have a **** mag to get back to. Don't let me keep you guys.:D

Is it hard to reach your keyboard all the way up on that pedestal of yours?

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    So what sh*tty rag of a newspaper do you work for then?

If you don't like our replies then perhaps you should do some proper work in future and not just come on here getting us to provide you with filler for your article?
    If she is doing an article on lads mags, it says a lot about where one would find such an article... in a lags mag perhaps OP? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Biggins wrote: »
    If she is doing an article on lads mags, it says a lot about where one would find such an article... in a lags mag perhaps OP? :rolleyes:

I would think it would suit better a girls mag, you know the fembot types that target men with their amazing research techniques, making claims like the OP.

Did you get burned op? Good... You probably deserved it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭perri winkles

I read FHM whenever my BF buys it, and yes I am a girl!

I find it quite good actually, funny articles and the likes. Usually more original they any girls magazine.

Granted its not really a 'hardcore' lads mag but still!

Obviously touched a raw nerve with some of you seeing how defensive you all are. If you are happy with your mags off you go - thats your business. But responding with comments about being fat, old and ugly is just pathetic and all you are doing is proving what I said in the first place!!

I would think it would suit better a girls mag, you know the fembot types that target men with their amazing research techniques, making claims like the OP.

Did you get burned op? Good... You probably deserved it :)

How did she get burned? Based on the replies so far, it appears to me that she was right about the types of people who read those magazines - further proven by certain posters calling her "ugly or fat" or a "jealous fembot". It seems that she got your number, so now you're just resorting to personal insults as if that's somehow "burning" her.... All it's doing is further proving her point...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

Obviously touched a raw nerve with some of you seeing how defensive you all are. If you are happy with your mags off you go - thats your business. But responding with comments about being fat, old and ugly is just pathetic and all you are doing is proving what I said in the first place!!

You come in here insulting us, presuming us all to fit the stereotype that you are 'researching'.
    What's sauce for the goose....
    And bad choice of forum for research, btw. You should have done more research into that.

Reap as ye sow, reap as ye sow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

As pathetic as calling people 'unintelligent, uneducated, misogynistic sun readers'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Rockn

Lads mags are for the poor fools who haven't discovered the internet. Bless 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

No more insults. If people have a problem with a post report it.

Risteard wrote: »
    As pathetic as calling people 'unintelligent, uneducated, misogynistic sun readers'?

Now... was she really calling us all Mail readers - or Male readers? :pac:

But responding with comments about being fat, old and ugly is just pathetic and all you are doing is proving what I said in the first place!!

About as pathetic as you calling people uneducated, unintelligent and misogynistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

Maxim used to be a great mag, It had a lot of good funny stuff in it then it almost turned into somthing similar to Loaded or Nuts..Don't get me wrong I love looking at a Sexy Bird in her kacks, But if I was sitting in an airport or travelling on a bus,The last thing I want people to see is the magazine I'm looking at with womens knockers hanging out on most pages...And then when I head to the jacks, people would think I'm away to Rub one out..

is this your first venture onto the internet?

you have got exactly what you desired and set out to get from your first post, lets not pretend otherwise, it demeans us all

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

they are pretty crass but are probably a million times better then the likes of OK! and Hello etc. which imo are counter productive to the evolution of the species

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I've read FHM and NUTS loads of times. There is actually interesting articules in them at times. I've also read Cosmo and the likes loads of times. As someone's pointed out, the amount of sex in Cosmo is just as much as in any lads mags. Cept there's a few less pictures.
    I don't buy any mags anymore,mainly cos i can't justify myself spending a fiver or whatever a month on them.
    I've no problem with anyone reading any of them mags if they want. I've better things to be doing with my time than worrying about things like that.