How can you protect your neighbourhood ?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Rockrugby

ahhhh....I know what its like ....one time some scumbag sat on my wall , and the old chased him down the road with a golf stick.....lets just say...he did not have the balls to sit there again hahaha good old dad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 jon dory

i know this place very well that the OP is on about its a private estate so going to the likes of the council housing dept might not work.
    then you have the individuals involved who like playing a certain R card so you have to dot the i and cross your t while dealing with them:mad:
    It's a estate mixed of private, affordable and council houses. I would contact the Council and HSE re the neighbours causing the offence and get them kicked out all together. I'm sure they will use the R card again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭donkey balls

jon dory wrote: »
    It's a estate mixed of private, affordable and council houses. I would contact the Council and HSE re the neighbours causing the offence and get them kicked out all together. I'm sure they will use the R card again

council houses are you sure about that ? as for affordable housing there in every estate through out ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭questioner

i have a feeling someone posting on this thread is a re-reg of a known troll account..

council houses are you sure about that ? as for affordable housing there in every estate through out ireland.
    Well there are houses in the estate that were specifically bought by the council to house refugees etc. The council own them out right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭JimiTime

It's neither but the guards are well aware of it and were expecting it to happen at some stage. Not blaming the Gardai at all - as I said they can't be expected to be in one place all the time.

Why? This confuses me. If you are in danger and act, you might end up with a screwdriver in your head. If you act by using the screwdriver, you may bring retribution, or at the very least be locked up for a very long time. So the Gardaí ARE responsible, as is the justice system that has allowed this situation to come about in neighbourhoods. If Gardaí feel frustrated by the fact that if they arrest these guys, they'll just be back out etc, then we should hear them in constant protest as the ground soldiers in the war against local injustice. Instead we seem to get a more, 'Our hands our tied' approach. Arrest them! And if they get let out, Arrest them again! If they get out again, Arrest them again. All the while shouting from the mountain top how the justice system needs to act to stop this situation!

What we get is a self serving, 'Its just so demoralising' excuse of an attitude. The justice system needs to say 'No' to all this type of crime. Instead, we have scumbags who know that the force is emasculated, and become more daring. They get 'chases' of the Gardaí for fun, like as kids we may have teased the older kids to get chased. The difference is, when the older kids caught you, they made sure you thought twice before you teased them again.

Law an order is an illusion! I really hope that shower of scum p!ss off OP. As it seems that there is not an awful lot one can do when scumbags decide you're a target.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭donkey balls

jon dory wrote: »
    Well there are houses in the estate that were specifically bought by the council to house refugees etc. The council own them out right

are you sure about that? most houses in that estate are privately owned and are probely leased to the HSE,never heard of the council owning houses in private estates

I'm 100% positive, it's not a fully private estate. I think its the first of it's kind in Ireland and was sort of a "social intergaration housing project"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭ricman

IF you are a drug dealer,and the council takes you off the housing list, you can longer get paid rent allowance,= landlord loses his rent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,104 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

JimiTime wrote: »
    Why? This confuses me. If you are in danger and act, you might end up with a screwdriver in your head. If you act by using the screwdriver, you may bring retribution, or at the very least be locked up for a very long time. So the Gardaí ARE responsible, as is the justice system that has allowed this situation to come about in neighbourhoods. If Gardaí feel frustrated by the fact that if they arrest these guys, they'll just be back out etc, then we should hear them in constant protest as the ground soldiers in the war against local injustice. Instead we seem to get a more, 'Our hands our tied' approach. Arrest them! And if they get let out, Arrest them again! If they get out again, Arrest them again. All the while shouting from the mountain top how the justice system needs to act to stop this situation!

What we get is a self serving, 'Its just so demoralising' excuse of an attitude. The justice system needs to say 'No' to all this type of crime. Instead, we have scumbags who know that the force is emasculated, and become more daring. They get 'chases' of the Gardaí for fun, like as kids we may have teased the older kids to get chased. The difference is, when the older kids caught you, they made sure you thought twice before you teased them again.

Law an order is an illusion! I really hope that shower of scum p!ss off OP. As it seems that there is not an awful lot one can do when scumbags decide you're a target.

I don't blame the Gardai because quite simply they don't have the spare resources to put a squad car outside the house of every house that could be viewed as being in danger of this kind of attack. The fact they don't have the resources and what can be done about it is a different days debate. For the immediate moment / time they are not in a position to camp outside this house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,104 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

AFAIK he is kind of correct in that some of the affordable housing units were not taken up within the council waiting lists and were subsequently leased to the HSE. It has happened before and since in other areas / developments and wasn't a specific social integration experiment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

Rockrugby wrote: »
    ahhhh....I know what its like ....one time some scumbag sat on my wall , and the old chased him down the road with a golf stick.....lets just say...he did not have the balls to sit there again hahaha good old dad

Your dad was going to beat the crap out of someone for sitting on a wall??
    What's your definition of "scumbag" exactly?

Anyone see this other guys other posts?
    I have a sneaking suspicion he lives under a bridge..
    Ha..troll..eh geddit?
    I'll just be leaving now...:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Elenxor

My advice is to forget the 'men' of this neighbourhood, the women should organize themselves, believe me ,there is nothing scarier than a gang of angry shreiking women...protecting what is theirs.!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

pageant, has anyone approached the leader of the African community in the estates - can't remember his name now but he's well known and ask him can the parents come together and keep the friends of Toyosi indoors and under supervision until this whole sorry situation dies down.

I agree it's ridiculously unfair on that poor woman who owns the house facing having to sell up at an enormous loss and move thanks to the actions of a small group of bored teenagers on Good Friday.

storm2811 wrote: »
    Your dad was going to beat the crap out of someone for sitting on a wall??
    What's your definition of "scumbag" exactly?

Anyone see this other guys other posts?
    I have a sneaking suspicion he lives under a bridge..
    Ha..troll..eh geddit?
    I'll just be leaving now...:pac:

Probably someone from Leitrim, you lot cannot even talk right..its a joke TBH

Why are you calling me a troll( dont even know what it means)
    So I live under a bridge:rolleyes: , hahah I would crush your house with my wallet pal get a life and stop trying to live mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭force majeure

As old forcy likes to say on 'De noms' form, with the help off an 18 gauge and 2 proper dogs we all be safe and sound. :D
    Protection is better that cure....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭koHd

So I live under a bridge:rolleyes: , hahah I would crush your house with my wallet pal get a life and stop trying to live mine

You sound genuinely confused, so;
    In Internet slang, a troll is someone who posts inflammatory, extraneous, or off-topic messages in an online community, such as an online discussion forum, chat room or blog, with the primary intent of provoking other users into a desired emotional response[1] or of otherwise disrupting normal on-topic discussion.[

From wikipedia.

But seriously, your wallet must be impractical to carry around by the sounds of it. Making it defunct as a wallet, I would think?

koHd wrote: »
    You sound genuinely confused, so;

From wikipedia.

But seriously, your wallet must be impractical to carry around by the sounds of it. Making it defunct as a wallet, I would think?

Thanks I'm only new to boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,935 ✭✭✭Calibos

MojoMaker wrote: »
    pageant, has anyone approached the leader of the African community in the estates - can't remember his name now but he's well known and ask him can the parents come together and keep the friends of Toyosi indoors and under supervision until this whole sorry situation dies down.

I agree it's ridiculously unfair on that poor woman who owns the house facing having to sell up at an enormous loss and move thanks to the actions of a small group of bored teenagers on Good Friday.

Eh, although I had a feeling at the beginning of the thread that this particular case might have been the start of all this...

A. the OP asked for it not to be mentioned if anyone knew the case being talked about.
    B. Upon further reading I got the feeling that this thread was not about that case at all. Either that or the media did not report the background of the confrontation properly. I was under the impression that the gang weren't scumbags but got involved in a verbal with a known racist scummer. Or were they infact a gang of scumbags who happened to pick on a racist scummer just looking for an excuse to do damage to another immigrant like the last time with deadly consequences this time. Its just the OP seems to have sympathies with the previous occupiers of the house and it was the gang that started it. Would the OP have sympathy for a murdering racist?? Thats why I am not sure that particular case is the one being talked about by the OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

One thing not to do is bother the Gardaí. New Year's Eve we called three times and at least one other person on the street did over a load of lads drinking under a bridge. After the first time we called someone turned up with a Machete. We called twice after that and there was no sign of the Gardaí bothering their arses for at least the following hour before I went to bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Chewbacca.

Ah its the Troll D.R cowboy with a new account after he was banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

Yes,trolls,the fairytale,under the bridge..although when us "lot" were hearing childrens stories,you were probably in your "prestigious school" learning how to pay your way through life.

Ah yes all my life I wanted to be a douche with an awful accent!

Oh trolls,what an interesting life they must lead..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

haha, yeah sure