Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How can you protect your neighbourhood ?

• 04-05-2010 12:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭

I shall preempt this by saying I cannot and will not say exactly where this is happening and would ask that nobody speculate on the specific location either as the thread will end up closed if this happens ! :)

There was a couple of incidents in our neighbourhood recently which started outside a particular house in the area. When the dust settled as such the house was left unoccupied as the remaining occupants feared for their safety. On Sunday night a group of youths came down and smashed the windows and doors of the downstairs of the house presumably as a retalliation for the previous set of incidents. The house was boarded up downstairs and last night the same happened again with more windows smashed and an attempt to set fire to the house made.

This is a terraced house with young families living beside the place who are now living in fear of their houses going on fire along with this one. How can you protect your house from this. You can't expect the Gardai to sit outside an empty house protecting it, you don't want a vigillante style presence either so what do you do ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Knock on your neighbours doors and exchange phone numbers. When someone sees the gang of youthdz, all call each other and rendez-vous then head down to them and exchange words that their behaviour won't be tolerated in your community. Then all head back to someones gaf for a nice cup of tea and a sit down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Just set it on fire yourself. That way they cant do anymore damage and wont bother with it anymore :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Neighbourhood watch? Monitored fire & intruder alarms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Vigilante justice is the only way forward IMO. Yes you said its not the answer but lets be honest, it really is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Depends on the circumstances.

Personally, I wouldn't get involved unless it involves you directly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Not trying to be sexist but get all the men in the terrace to to form two groups and stay in two houses at either side...IF trouble happens them call em and they come out,the two groups looks more intimidating than one.Oh and mkae sher they all have hurleys :D.

Call the guards as well though just incase...and if you recignise anyof the young fellas call try and call there mothers :p.

I hate when I ehar storys like this though,bloody scumbags :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

orourkeda wrote: »
    Depends on the circumstances.

Personally, I wouldn't get involved unless it involves you directly.

And thats why scum can get away with doing what ever they want.

Unfortunately thought for the OP, people think the same why as u have suggested.

There isn't alot you can do about it unless uve a few people who will stand up with you, because you could end up standing up alone and being targeted also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Millie

I'm having issues with my "neighbours" also...they are drug dealers.
    The front window in their house was broken on Friday morning (second time round) and the house has been raided a few times.

This house is HSE funded and we have spoken with the (retarded money grabbing owners) but they refuse to do anything about it.

This is the second time round with this house, we had to send a solicitors letter to the owners with regard to their previous tenants.

Sorry OP I really don't know what to do as people like this cause fear for others and really don't have regard for anyone...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭gino85

about 4 paintball guns and a **** load of paintballs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Get a nice big dog..

We've had dogs over the years, never had any problems with break-ins etc. Our current dog goes nuts, even if someone touches our front gate.

But he's really just a big harmless dope

Thats not our one in the picture though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

And thats why scum can get away with doing what ever they want.

Unfortunately thought for the OP, people think the same why as u have suggested.

There isn't alot you can do about it unless uve a few people who will stand up with you, because you could end up standing up alone and being targeted also.

You have to look after number one in this life.

It's difficult enough when trouble lands on your doorstep without meddling in a problem that doesn't involve you. I would only get involved if I was dragged into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

gino85 wrote: »
    If he did that it would technically be assault with a deadly weapon, Paintball guns are over a certain power and classed as firearms because of it.

Rally the Neighbours, until ye act as one those youths will walk all over ye. Make no mistake, once that house has had it they'll move onto another one of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

ScumLord wrote: »
    If he did that it would technically be assault with a deadly weapon, Paintball guns are over a certain power and classed as firearms because of it.

Rally the Neighbours, until ye act as one those youths will walk all over ye. Make no mistake, once that house has had it they'll move onto another one of you.

I'd be hoping that this particular activity is only present because of the previous incident. However that previous incident was started by the same gang of scumbags so there's every chance of a repeat :mad:

Thankfully I'm not living directly beside this but when I hear of the neighbours in direct contact with this talking about taking themselves and their baby out of their own house because they are afraid of it being caught up in a fire it just sickens me :mad::(:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

This sounds like a feud of the traveller or gangster variety. Write to the local station to let them know what is happening and whenever you see an incident about to flare up call the Gardaí.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Bear Patrol. That'll sort out them bears and the immigants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

k_mac wrote: »
    This sounds like a feud of the traveller or gangster variety. Write to the local station to let them know what is happening and whenever you see an incident about to flare up call the Gardaí.

It's neither but the guards are well aware of it and were expecting it to happen at some stage. Not blaming the Gardai at all - as I said they can't be expected to be in one place all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

It's neither but the guards are well aware of it and were expecting it to happen at some stage. Not blaming the Gardai at all - as I said they can't be expected to be in one place all the time.

get the corpo / council to board it with the steel shutters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭Amerika

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

well... since you've asked on AH...

what we need is a vigilante strikeforce akin to these fine fellows...

http://thomaspainescorner.files.wordpress.com/2010/03/keyboard-warrior.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

IYou can't expect the Gardai to sit outside an empty house protecting it, you don't want a vigillante style presence either so what do you do ?
    Its funny because thats pretty much what your laws say: You have Few to No Rights to Defend Yourself or your Property. The Gardai as I understand it are charged with your protection, However, its the same story as the US: You can't sue the Gardai for failing to protect you.

So unlike America you both Cant Defend Yourself AND you cant expect the Police to Defend You. Where does that leave you? Completely f*cked.

For your sakes I hope someone can prove me wrong about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

If this is a vigilante reaction to the previous occupants of the house can a sign not be put up at the property that those previous occupants are gone but the groups actions have innocent neighbours either side in fear of their lives. There might be a member of the group with some concience that can persuade the rest to stop after reading the notice.

Calibos wrote: »
    If this is a vigilante reaction to the previous occupants of the house can a sign not be put up at the property that those previous occupants are gone but the groups actions have innocent neighbours either side in fear of their lives. There might be a member of the group with some concience that can persuade the rest to stop after reading the notice.

It's a bit more complicated than that tbh. The group are targeting the house where the partner of a person they have an issue with lives / lived. The issue started when the same group had a fight with the above person and another family member. They severely beat them and the fighting continued elsewhere afterwards where the group involved did not come out of it well. It's the same group that are now extracting a warped sense of vengence for an incident they actually started in the first place.

Maybe you're right though and one of them might realise they are putting other lives in danger now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I protect my neighbourhood by staying indoors :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭MardiB

I shall preempt this by saying I cannot and will not say exactly where this is happening and would ask that nobody speculate on the specific location either as the thread will end up closed if this happens ! :)

There was a couple of incidents in our neighbourhood recently which started outside a particular house in the area. When the dust settled as such the house was left unoccupied as the remaining occupants feared for their safety. On Sunday night a group of youths came down and smashed the windows and doors of the downstairs of the house presumably as a retalliation for the previous set of incidents. The house was boarded up downstairs and last night the same happened again with more windows smashed and an attempt to set fire to the house made.

This is a terraced house with young families living beside the place who are now living in fear of their houses going on fire along with this one. How can you protect your house from this. You can't expect the Gardai to sit outside an empty house protecting it, you don't want a vigillante style presence either so what do you do ?

As well as contacting the guards, if they are youths contact the local secondary school to see if they can help in anyway. I know it's not on school time, but you never know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭The Citizen

I could give you a tip or two.

:mad:

Well off you go ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

HE HAS RETURNED!!!!!!!!!!!

Hooray

except that this isn't a piss take thread and there are real people involved.

Then again this is after hours .... hmmmm :confused::):pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Princess Zelda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭The Citizen

Improve your skillsets (stealth, combat and the art of disguise).
    Familiarise yourself with the moves of the scum and their favourite haunts.
    Plan your strike, ensuring failure is not an option.
    When the battle rages, stand tall in the face of the scum.

This city is falling apart piece by piece, complements of the scum.

It is time.... to let the fists fly and watch the scum perish by the hands of justice.
    It is time.... that the city is, once again, a safe place for everyone.
    It is time.... for the Citizen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

It is time.... to let the fists fly and watch the scum perish by the hands of justice.

He's back.

The streets are safe once more everyone. Hello daylight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

You need to purchase one of these

The idea of someone running around dressed in rubber and itching to kick the shìt out of scum should adequetly scare them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭ricman

TO millie,IF you go to the hse ,health centre after 11 oclock there s a rent clinic, explain the situation ,re my neighbours are dealing drugs, they,ll probably move them out, and go and see your local td. The welfare officer is usually there on monday, wednesday friday after 11o,clock.
    OR ring up the health centre,after 10am, ask to speak to the welfare officer for your area.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_fmyjzE2IFw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭ricman

I THINK the council will take some1 from the housing list if they are found to be dealing drugs, hence they will lose their rent allowance payments too.You could ring up the council hoiusing dept too .
    They have a strict policy against drug dealing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

ricman wrote: »
    I THINK the council will take some1 from the housing list if they are found to be dealing drugs, hence they will lose their rent allowance payments too.You could ring up the council hoiusing dept too .
    They have a strict policy against drug dealing.

i know this place very well that the OP is on about its a private estate so going to the likes of the council housing dept might not work.
    then you have the individuals involved who like playing a certain R card so you have to dot the i and cross your t while dealing with them:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

gino85 wrote: »
    ...will currently get you a minimum mandatory 10 year prison sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Rockrugby

I'm glad I live in donnybrook....the city is really gone bad !!!!.....I'm going to do my shopping in dundrum instead of o connell st from now on , its to dangerous

...will currently get you a minimum mandatory 10 year prison sentence.
    And Drunk Rugby Players can drive their cars, kill children, and walk away with a slap.

You guys have got to get your priorities straight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Rockrugby

Overheal wrote: »
    And Drunk Rugby Players can drive their cars, kill children, and walk away with a slap.

You guys have got to get your priorities straight.

I agree....its a pity the drunk rugby players don't drive over the scumbags and only get a slap....

We need to come together, like what happens in my community when scumbags come up from the dart to rob us we stand our ground , and they usually dis burst if they don't want a good kicking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Exactly where is this happening?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭miss5

I would definetly inform the guards, you shouldn't have to put up with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Here is a plan I came up with for it. I know a Russian who can give you a good deal on the Machine Guns and landmines. But he only sells in batches of 20.

Pfft. Amateur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Millie

ricman wrote: »
    TO millie,IF you go to the hse ,health centre after 11 oclock there s a rent clinic, explain the situation ,re my neighbours are dealing drugs, they,ll probably move them out, and go and see your local td. The welfare officer is usually there on monday, wednesday friday after 11o,clock.
    OR ring up the health centre,after 10am, ask to speak to the welfare officer for your area.

Thanks ricman however we went down the road with the HSE with the first tenants and it really was only a PR exercise.
    I spoke to the biggest gombeen I have ever dealt with and he basically told me there was nothing they could do and he couldn't even confirm if these tenants were under his jurisdiction due to the Data protection act.
    This was despite a colleague of his confirming they were.

This was despite my house being broken into and my car being stolen...
    His exact words were...."I wish you well in your endeavour"....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭Btwndeyes

tape explosives to a sledgehammer then run at the youths and hit the ground beside them itll scare the S**t ouuta them :)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wIF63jhRQcw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Simple, there was a lot of trouble in an estate a friend of mine lives in until a certain family left, never any trouble since. Solution, remove the problems.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun