Gerry's Funeral on 2FM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

To philomenadeise
    here here and well said.
    I too am disappointed at the level of insolence portrayed by some members of our forum, but in Gerrys words 'sure they're only feckin eedjits'

I too will be replaying his podcasts for a long time to come!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

DamoDLK wrote: »
    To philomenadeise
    here here and well said.
    I too am disappointed at the level of insolence portrayed by some members of our forum, but in Gerrys words 'sure they're only feckin eedjits'

I too will be replaying his podcasts for a long time to come!

To some people he was just "that annoying guy on the radio", you can't expect everyone to feel the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I signed up to this website to pay my respects to my hero and longtime companion Gerry Ryan. I never met the man but I was still a close friend that invited him into my home every morning for a chat and a laugh, as many in the country did the same. I listened to Gerrys funeral on 2fm and the tears were streaming down my face. I am trembling and find it hard to talk without bursting into tears again. For many long years this man shared my life, my disappointments, upsets and joys and was always available for a kind consoling word between 9 and 12 on 2fm. I neve missed a show on those long years, apart from once when I had to go to hospital, and my sister was kind enough to tape it for me to listen to when i got out. I have hunderds of shows on tape and I will listen to them for the rest of my life. Gerry transformed the airwaves and helped Ireland get where it is today. In some ways, he was the confidence of a nation and rightly belongs alongside Pearse, Connoly, and our other national heroes in the pantheon of legends. Gerry Ryan helped make modern Ireland. he opened our eyes to to the future, and hopefully beyond. Ireland before Gerry was stuffy, backwards and self conscious. Gerry showed us the strentgh we have inside ourselves and what we can do if we truly believe, and have a kind spirit. My own father died young so ina a lot of repsects Gerry was for me the only real father I had for most of my life. He was a wonderful, kind man whose stories would make you laugh and even cry. When i needed him, he was there. Gerry was our collective father. He was our brother, daughter, son and confidant. He was a larger than life bon viveur and raconteur. His voice could light up a romm, and his footstep fell heavy wherever he went. I am shocked at the cruelty of people who sign up just to trash the man's name and memory. I feel sorry for you, that you never bothered to appreciate Gerry when he was alive, and all that he did for you. Think of his kids, his gorgeous wife and girlfirend, and the thousands of ordinary men and women Gerry's death leaves helpless. I pray that Gerry's family finds the strength that they need to get on with their lives, which must certainly now be empty, unliveable, angry at the God that would cut a life so rich so quickly. I know Gerry is in heaven now, looking down on all of as and probably having a laugh. He is with all the greats, john lennon, frank sinatra, james dean, jfk, churchill, gengis khan, etc.. I wonder what they make of his tall tales. To know i will never hear his voice again, apart from the old tapes, makes me utterly devastated. God rest your soul, you were Ireland's prince. Gerry, rest in peace and may your spirit enrich us all philomena

thats just taking the piss entirely now.
    I means seriously wtf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

He is with all the greats, john lennon, frank sinatra, james dean, jfk, churchill, gengis khan, etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,320 ✭✭✭weiland79

To some people he was just "that annoying guy on the radio", you can't expect everyone to feel the same way.

Your right ,of course everbody cannot be expected to feel the same way about Gerry,but maybe those people could feck off and start another thread instead of trying to upset the people that do want to show some respect and decorum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

fabfemale wrote: »
    I don't claim to have been a fan of Gerry Ryan's, I didn't listen to the radio show very often and I didn't think he was great on tv. He was a bit full of himself and he didn't hesitate to express an opinion, even if it was cringeworthy. But so what? Nobody's perfect and there are far worse out there. He was married for 26 years - that speaks volumes about him as a husband. He has five beautiful children who adored him, and who spoke so well today that it was heart-wrenching. His colleagues at work loved him and are grief-stricken. Honestly, I think that some posters are just sitting around waiting to say something horrible, and I think that's inappropriate today of all days. Whatever anyone thought of G Ryan, he worked hard and was a family man and he is entitled to a bit of respect on the day he's laid to rest. Save the venom for afterwards. Sincere condolences to his family - they did a first rate job today.

I agree with you, but some of the gushing praise here for the man is way over the top. I'm sure he was a loving husband and great father and friend to those who knew him, but to call him "the voice of the nation" and a "hero" is laughably misguided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭mojesius

I for one have been genuinely upset by this, my mother is devastated. I'm really grateful that 2fm broadcasted the funeral and more importantly, grateful to Gerry for the years of entertainment. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I signed up to this website to pay my respects to my hero and longtime companion Gerry Ryan. I never met the man but I was still a close friend that invited him into my home every morning for a chat and a laugh, as many in the country did the same. I listened to Gerrys funeral on 2fm and the tears were streaming down my face. I am trembling and find it hard to talk without bursting into tears again. For many long years this man shared my life, my disappointments, upsets and joys and was always available for a kind consoling word between 9 and 12 on 2fm. I neve missed a show on those long years, apart from once when I had to go to hospital, and my sister was kind enough to tape it for me to listen to when i got out. I have hunderds of shows on tape and I will listen to them for the rest of my life. Gerry transformed the airwaves and helped Ireland get where it is today. In some ways, he was the confidence of a nation and rightly belongs alongside Pearse, Connoly, and our other national heroes in the pantheon of legends. Gerry Ryan helped make modern Ireland. he opened our eyes to to the future, and hopefully beyond. Ireland before Gerry was stuffy, backwards and self conscious. Gerry showed us the strentgh we have inside ourselves and what we can do if we truly believe, and have a kind spirit. My own father died young so ina a lot of repsects Gerry was for me the only real father I had for most of my life. He was a wonderful, kind man whose stories would make you laugh and even cry. When i needed him, he was there. Gerry was our collective father. He was our brother, daughter, son and confidant. He was a larger than life bon viveur and raconteur. His voice could light up a romm, and his footstep fell heavy wherever he went. I am shocked at the cruelty of people who sign up just to trash the man's name and memory. I feel sorry for you, that you never bothered to appreciate Gerry when he was alive, and all that he did for you. Think of his kids, his gorgeous wife and girlfirend, and the thousands of ordinary men and women Gerry's death leaves helpless. I pray that Gerry's family finds the strength that they need to get on with their lives, which must certainly now be empty, unliveable, angry at the God that would cut a life so rich so quickly. I know Gerry is in heaven now, looking down on all of as and probably having a laugh. He is with all the greats, john lennon, frank sinatra, james dean, jfk, churchill, gengis khan, etc.. I wonder what they make of his tall tales. To know i will never hear his voice again, apart from the old tapes, makes me utterly devastated. God rest your soul, you were Ireland's prince. Gerry, rest in peace and may your spirit enrich us all philomena

Thanks for the laugh.
    his footstep fell heavy wherever he went
    He is with all the greats, john lennon, frank sinatra, james dean, jfk, churchill, gengis khan, etc..

To all that thanked this........... for shame.
    Asmodean, DamoDLK, Frank Spencer, K-9, Run_to_da_hills, SilverSparkle, weiland79, youcancallme>al
    Half of ye don't even know what ye are thanking.

Fair enough - point noted and accepted.

but - this thread is entitled 'Gerry's Funeral on 2Fm', the Key word is Funeral. Show a bit of respect at least.

If you want to start a bashing thread go right ahead, but for god sake leave this one alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Trolls usually don't write such long posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

Gerry lived so much of his life on air, and so many people felt they helped them. In broadcasting it, which was done in a very respectful way, it helped people say goodbye in their own way. Plus it is something I think Gerry would have approved of. Each funeral is individual to the family and friends and if this is what they wanted and felt Gerry would want, then why not, who is anyone here to argue with them. If you don't agree with it, don't listen, no-one is forced to.
    I felt sympathy and empathy for the family and his friends. I will miss his presence on my radio everyday and I wish his soul rest and peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

One of the most ellaborate trolls I have ever seen. Hide the madness with the lack of paragraphs and bingo.

mikom wrote: »
    Thanks for the laugh.

Asmodean, DamoDLK, Frank Spencer, K-9, Run_to_da_hills, SilverSparkle, weiland79, youcancallme>al

Do you know what mikom - I can read.

philomenadeise, has went to the trouble of typing a lengthy text, granted I do not agree (nor do I have to) with everything that is written - but nonetheless I THANK for their worthy & above all positive contribution to this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Chocoholic84

OK, I think this is a tad over the top...I loved listening to his show, but I wouldn't call him a father. In fact sometimes he talked utter TOSH - but his show was still compelling listening!

And what about all the other great people in Heaven? ;) In fact a lot of people would argue that those people you listed aren't THAT great....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Thanks for the laugh.

Brilliant, the noobie signing gave it away, way too OTT, but very clever, unlike the other sh*te here.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Did you ever think that maybe they are 'thanking' the post, not as an endorsement of all opinions expressed, but more as a way of saying that they appreciate the sentiment.

DamoDLK wrote: »
    Do you know what mikom - I can read.

philomenadeise, has went to the trouble of typing a lengthy text, granted I do not agree (nor do I have to) with everything that is written - but nonetheless I THANK for their worthy & above all positive contribution to this thread.
    OutlawPete wrote: »
    Did you ever think that maybe they are 'thanking' the post, not as an endorsement of all opinions expressed, but more as a way of saying that they appreciate the sentiment.

Well If ye like being codded...... fair enough.
    As long as it is positive...like.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I signed up to this website to pay my respects to my hero and longtime companion Gerry Ryan. I never met the man but I was still a close friend that invited him into my home every morning for a chat and a laugh, as many in the country did the same. I listened to Gerrys funeral on 2fm and the tears were streaming down my face. I am trembling and find it hard to talk without bursting into tears again. For many long years this man shared my life, my disappointments, upsets and joys and was always available for a kind consoling word between 9 and 12 on 2fm. I neve missed a show on those long years, apart from once when I had to go to hospital, and my sister was kind enough to tape it for me to listen to when i got out. I have hunderds of shows on tape and I will listen to them for the rest of my life. Gerry transformed the airwaves and helped Ireland get where it is today. In some ways, he was the confidence of a nation and rightly belongs alongside Pearse, Connoly, and our other national heroes in the pantheon of legends. Gerry Ryan helped make modern Ireland. he opened our eyes to to the future, and hopefully beyond. Ireland before Gerry was stuffy, backwards and self conscious. Gerry showed us the strentgh we have inside ourselves and what we can do if we truly believe, and have a kind spirit. My own father died young so ina a lot of repsects Gerry was for me the only real father I had for most of my life. He was a wonderful, kind man whose stories would make you laugh and even cry. When i needed him, he was there. Gerry was our collective father. He was our brother, daughter, son and confidant. He was a larger than life bon viveur and raconteur. His voice could light up a romm, and his footstep fell heavy wherever he went. I am shocked at the cruelty of people who sign up just to trash the man's name and memory. I feel sorry for you, that you never bothered to appreciate Gerry when he was alive, and all that he did for you. Think of his kids, his gorgeous wife and girlfirend, and the thousands of ordinary men and women Gerry's death leaves helpless. I pray that Gerry's family finds the strength that they need to get on with their lives, which must certainly now be empty, unliveable, so rich angry at the God that would cut a life so quickly. I know Gerry is in heaven now, looking down on all of as and probably having a laugh. frank He is with all the greats, john lennon, sinatra, james dean, jfk, churchill, gengis khan, etc.. I wonder what they make of his tall tales. To know i will never hear his voice again, apart from the old tapes, makes me utterly devastated. God rest your soul, you were Ireland's prince. Gerry, rest in peace and may your spirit enrich us all philomena

Stop with the PMs folks..that WASNT me having a laugh okay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Well If ye like being codded...... fair enough.
    As long as it is positive...like.

Point being, people who thanked it - thanked the 'perceived' sentiment.

Well that was my sole point anyway.

So a "kneejerk"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Sad day.

Slán leat Gerry.

Wonder how long it'll be before that little version of "With or Without You" will be released for charity?

Once it's a charity that Gerry would have chosen and not Bono I'm alright with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Funerals should be private affairs imo, watching one online is just creepy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

JCDUB wrote: »
    Sad day.

Slán leat Gerry.

Wonder how long it'll be before that little version of "With or Without You" will be released for charity?

Once it's a charity that Gerry would have chosen and not Bono I'm alright with that.

I didn't get why they sang that particular song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭Zwillinge

I felt a tad intrusive listening to a funeral.

Either way, I thought his family (brothers, ex wife and children) all came across very well. Not sure I'd have been able to hold it together as they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭krpc

phasers wrote: »

I could not agree more. It's just morbid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,668 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

phasers wrote: »

I find the whole idea of a running commentary of a funeral pretty grotesque, to be honest.

Celebrity or not, he was, first and formost, a father and a lover and a friend.
    Listening to him for 3 hours 5 days a week doesn't really measure up to living with him, being brought up by him and sharing decades of memories with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Despite criticisms I'd have of him, I thought Gerry Ryan was a talented radio broadcaster - could be sharp and quick-witted and came across as intelligent and informed. Showing appreciation of the man, cool, but I'd say he'd find the more schmaltzy stuff hilarious.

Yeah, "our collective father" indeed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Thanks for the laugh.

Maybe you can tell the rest of us what the poster really meant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Well it was pretty clear that the poster was taking zee piss?