How safe is your house?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭baaaa

That'll be the phone line getting snipped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I just rang the Gardai to see if they could help out - they were most unhelpful.

Gardai, "Hello, Guards"

Me, "There's a girl called Daisy Steiner, who's alone in her house & thinks there's someone sneaking around outside, could you go & check it out?"

Gardai, "Where is the house?"

Me, "I don't know"

Gardai, "Well, how do you know she might be in trouble?"

Me, "She told me in After Hours"

Gardai, "And where's this After Hours place? Is it a nightclub?"

Me, "No, it's a place on the internet"

Gardai, "On the internet?"

Me, "Yes"

Then they hung up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,158 ✭✭✭✭Degag

I just rang the Gardai to see if they could help out - they were most unhelpful.

Gardai, "Hello, Guards"

Me, "There's a girl called Daisy Steiner, who's alone in her house & thinks there's someone sneaking around outside, could you go & check it out?"

Gardai, "Where is the house?"

Me, "I don't know"

Gardai, "Well, how do you know she might be in trouble?"

Me, "She told me in After Hours"

Gardai, "And where's this After Hours place? Is it a nightclub?"

Me, "No, it's a place on the internet"

Gardai, "On the internet?"

Me, "Yes"

Then they hung up.

It would be funny to ring them up. Not so funny to be in court for wasting police time though probably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Absurdum

post yer address and we'll get a posse around to sort this out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

OP are you still there?

im starting to get worried

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭miss5

OP I hope your ok.

I always call a neighbour in that situation, It's never a good idea to assume
    they will just leave especially if they think the house is idle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Daisy Steiner

Bob Z wrote: »
    OP are you still there?

im starting to get worried

I went off to bed, there was no point staying up worrying and I sure as hell wasn't going out there. Thanks for the thoughts though.
    miss5 wrote: »
    OP I hope your ok.

I always call a neighbour in that situation, It's never a good idea to assume
    they will just leave especially if they think the house is idle.

That's the thing, I have a car outside and my bedroom light was on, went out for a recce this morning hard to tell if there was anyone there. Am setting up boobie traps (not the wahey type, more the crash, bang, wallop type) Hopefully whoever it is will man up and leave the place the f**k alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Orangutani wrote: »
    Unless it's zombies. In which case DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES SWITCH ON A LIGHT.
    Einhard wrote: »
    So long as:

a. you're not wandering around in nothing but your knickers and a tight t-shirt.

b. you don't answer the phone.

c. you don't make popcorn.

d. you're not watching a horror flick.

e. you're not a cheerleader.

Otherwise, you're grand.

or go upstairs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

My house is safe, its me that isnt. The patio door was open for 2 days last weekend. And its not the first time i've done that either :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭questioner

boobie traps (not the wahey type, more the crash, bang, wallop type) Hopefully whoever it is will man up and leave the place the f**k alone.

took me a minute to get that... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Kent Brockman

Tonight make sure to go bra-less and wear a tight white vest. If there is any noises, be sure to check the cellar first (if you have one).
    Also if possible find a local of African-American decent (possibly named 'Token') and send him outside on his own to check the back of the garden.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

woke up this morning to find the husband had left the keys stuck IN THE FRONT DOOR. On the outside.

Great....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

galah wrote: »
    woke up this morning to find the husband had left the keys stuck IN THE FRONT DOOR. On the outside.

Great....

I do that the whole time.

By the way, i live in . . . .:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm always bursting to make a smart ass comment on these threads, but a little voice keeps nagging at me that it would just be the one time that it actually was a crazed serial killer outside....

Nothing on the newsheadlines or in the papers about this yet. Though, it could be a few days before the body of a person living alone is discovered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

Nothing on the newsheadlines or in the papers about this yet. Though, it could be a few days before the body of a person living alone is discovered.

She is fine,thats presuming it is a she.She/he replied a little after nine this morning.

drdeadlift wrote: »
    She is fine,thats presuming it is a she.She/he replied a little after nine this morning.

How can we be sure? She could have still been logged into Boards when the burglar broke in last night & he posted here this morning to make us think that all is well.

Meanwhile, he's just craked open a bottle of Chianti & a tin of faba beans...:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Erica<3

if you're out in the middle of nowhere it could be a fox or something. Keep your curtains closed but turn on some music and/or some lights and maybe have a peak from a window or something... keep a phone near by.
    When i'm on my own I carry the portable phone with me.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Kiera wrote: »
    Dont you have a thread to start about the SF somewhere?:rolleyes:
    Nope ;)

Take the off topic convo to PM please. This is not the place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Has she got cats? For the love of god there might not be much left of her by now.

No cats. All quiet tonight, so far.

Think there may have been someone in the shed adjacent to the gaff though. God only knows why, it's just full of junk, none of which is very exciting.

Is that really you Daisy? Or the psycho that has you locked up in the shed? How can we know for sure?

Am yes . . . it's . . . . Daisy (so that's what the D stands for)

Daisy is fine Just fine . . .

Am yes . . . it's . . . . Daisy (so that's what the D stands for)

Daisy is fine Just fine . . .

I think you would do well to release the girl, otherwise the wrath of AH will come down on you - I bet you have no idea what it feels like to be called a "scumbag" by 300 keyboard warriors in tandem - do you? I said DO YOU?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

We are always told we should look after and keep an eye on our old neighbours.

Why the fúck should we? My 87 year old neighbour is such a lazy bitch, she hasn't even taken her newspapers in for two weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭baaaa

Yeah eh,perhaps they were waiting for you to go to bed or looking for a suitable tool to break in?
    Most likely though they were just looking for a bit of excitement,in the shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Onesimus

I've been wondering about mine. I'm sitting here and I can hear noises outside. I'm pretty sure there's someone walking around my house, there shouldn't be by the way, It's a detached cottage with a front yard. The only reason you'd be in it is if you were calling in, and it's a bit late for visitors now.

Not the first time I've heard unexplained noises either, no way am I going out to check them out!

The front and back doors are locked and all the windows are shut and tiny anyway. So, barring me leaving the house, I should be pretty safe right?

Well there is no end to Brian Cowens political agenda, He is obviously a night owl. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭YouTalkinToMe

aha didnt hear me on the gravel tonite did ya..i used the clothes line ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Onesimus

aha didnt hear me on the gravel tonite did ya..i used the clothes line ;)

You now offficialy have been given the name ''Skidmark'' by boards.ie :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Nuggles

My dad lives here.

He'd beat them to death with the sweeping brush.

Then go back to bed.