Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How safe is your house?

• 05-05-2010 12:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭

I've been wondering about mine. I'm sitting here and I can hear noises outside. I'm pretty sure there's someone walking around my house, there shouldn't be by the way, It's a detached cottage with a front yard. The only reason you'd be in it is if you were calling in, and it's a bit late for visitors now.

Not the first time I've heard unexplained noises either, no way am I going out to check them out!

The front and back doors are locked and all the windows are shut and tiny anyway. So, barring me leaving the house, I should be pretty safe right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I'm typing my reply from inside your wardrobe. Sorry if the noise disturbed you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Orangutani

I'd switch on a few lights, just in case. If there IS someone there, they'll know there's someone home and probably bug out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

I should be pretty safe right?

Famous last words :D

I like to think my house is pretty safe - thin windows - alarm -squeaky gate- katana on my wall, all the usual stuff but i do drop a load if i hear a noise when im on my own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

Turn on all the lights, put the radio on and have a fake (or real) phonecall in a really loud voice saying-"oh so you're on your way over RIGHT NOW-a bit late but sure I'm up anyways-ok cya in 2 mins"
    That's what I'd do anyways cos I'd be freaked out.
    Maybe ring the guards to have a check, but there may not be much they can do over noises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Orangutani

Unless it's zombies. In which case DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES SWITCH ON A LIGHT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

If you think somebody is outside, it could be because they're scoping the surrounding area of your house for hideouts.

So turn on a few lights and get the karaoke machine going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Daisy Steiner

I'm typing my reply from inside your wardrobe. Sorry if the noise disturbed you.

Boo urns
    Orangutani wrote: »
    I'd switch on a few lights, just in case. If there IS someone there, they'll know there's someone home and probably bug out.

I actually just switched the outside light off so it'll be pitch dark out there now :(

Might just head to bed, I know there's someone out there though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

just shoot the ****ers:rolleyes:

Turn on all the lights, put the radio on and have a fake (or real) phonecall in a really loud voice saying-"oh so you're on your way over RIGHT NOW-a bit late but sure I'm up anyways-ok cya in 2 mins"
    That's what I'd do anyways cos I'd be freaked out.
    Maybe ring the guards to have a check, but there may not be much they can do over noises.

The guards have a reaction time of about 3 hours around here. Barring robberies/accidents of course. It is pretty rural where I live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

The front and back doors are locked and all the windows are shut and tiny anyway. So, barring me leaving the house, I should be pretty safe right?

So long as:

a. you're not wandering around in nothing but your knickers and a tight t-shirt.

b. you don't answer the phone.

c. you don't make popcorn.

d. you're not watching a horror flick.

e. you're not a cheerleader.

Otherwise, you're grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Mine's as safe as houses.

Which I suppose is not really answering your question at all really, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

You sure its a person? Could be a stray dog or something?

Nah, I have a gravel driveway, deffo footsteps fo shizzle.

I keep a gun in my house. I onced used it to stop a cat burglar...

http://brotherpeacemaker.files.wordpress.com/2007/07/cat_burglar.jpg

The guards have a reaction time of about 3 hours around here. Barring robberies/accidents of course. It is pretty rural where I live.

Yeah pretty much the same where I live,and I'm in a town, but I know they have a lot of other people to see too.
    Try some of the other suggestions though, if it's pitch black there's a good chance they might think that the house is empty and could try to break in.
    Any friends nearby that could pop over, or that you could ring for a chat to calm yourself-definitely turn on some lights.

Just going to head to bed methinks, need to set up some kind of trap tomorrow, bells on a string or something!

Any better suggestions? Will check tomorrow for any replies.

Ugh probably going to lie there waiting for SOMETHING to happen* :(

*realise this could be misconstrued, tl:dr op thinks someone is doing something outside her house (THERE IS NO EMOTICON TO PORTRAY HOW SCARED I AM)

Night all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Nah, I have a gravel driveway, deffo footsteps fo shizzle.

Well... stray dogs have feet...

F*ck! Most dogs have paws.

A paw is a type of foot. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭nordisk celt83

It might be nothing; sometimes the mind plays tricks on us. I'd go along with earlier posts about turning on a light or two to let any would be burglars know someone's in.

Also, if you are a wee bit nervous give a friend/neighbour a text to let them know.

To answer your question... If you've got an alarm, sturdy double-glazed windows and a modern entrance doors(basically pvc type things) You're as safe as houses, no burglar would ever bother trying.

If you've no alarm, wooden-framed glass windows and old doors you're asking for it.

If you are going to bed (and are nervous) leave a light and tv on.

A paw is a type of foot. ;)

Damn you & your knowledge based facts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭baaaa

Eh,you need to ring someone lively.
    If you're rural and there's someone outside your gaff at this time they're not there to make friends.

If you are going to bed (and are nervous) leave a light and tv on.

Not always the best idea to leave the TV on..

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n70/scottypotty18/1-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Pot Noodle =

Put the Radio on call the cops

baaaa wrote: »
    Eh,you need to ring someone lively.
    If you're rural and there's someone outside your gaff at this time they're not there to make friends.

I'd go along with this. What are friends, family and neighbours for after all. Even if it's a false alarm they wouldn't care!

If you are sure you heard a person then call the cops,they shouldn't be busy.

Not always the best idea to leave the TV on..

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n70/scottypotty18/1-1.jpg

Damn you-now I'm freaked out!!:pac:

Seriously though, OP should do something to try and frighten off whoever may be outside. My house got robbed whilst I was asleep in bed, never heard a thing just woke to find downstairs a mess(drawers + presses pulled open etc) and all cash taken.
    Very frightening thing to wonder what might of happened if I had woken up and caught them in the act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

In before Manic Moran...

She's offline. Keep an eye on the headlines tomorrow.

That'll be the phone line getting snipped.

I just rang the Gardai to see if they could help out - they were most unhelpful.

Gardai, "Hello, Guards"

Me, "There's a girl called Daisy Steiner, who's alone in her house & thinks there's someone sneaking around outside, could you go & check it out?"

Gardai, "Where is the house?"

Me, "I don't know"

Gardai, "Well, how do you know she might be in trouble?"

Me, "She told me in After Hours"

Gardai, "And where's this After Hours place? Is it a nightclub?"

Me, "No, it's a place on the internet"

Gardai, "On the internet?"

Me, "Yes"

Then they hung up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

I just rang the Gardai to see if they could help out - they were most unhelpful.

Gardai, "Hello, Guards"

Me, "There's a girl called Daisy Steiner, who's alone in her house & thinks there's someone sneaking around outside, could you go & check it out?"

Gardai, "Where is the house?"

Me, "I don't know"

Gardai, "Well, how do you know she might be in trouble?"

Me, "She told me in After Hours"

Gardai, "And where's this After Hours place? Is it a nightclub?"

Me, "No, it's a place on the internet"

Gardai, "On the internet?"

Me, "Yes"

Then they hung up.

It would be funny to ring them up. Not so funny to be in court for wasting police time though probably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

post yer address and we'll get a posse around to sort this out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

OP are you still there?

im starting to get worried

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭miss5

OP I hope your ok.

I always call a neighbour in that situation, It's never a good idea to assume
    they will just leave especially if they think the house is idle.

Bob Z wrote: »
    OP are you still there?

im starting to get worried

I went off to bed, there was no point staying up worrying and I sure as hell wasn't going out there. Thanks for the thoughts though.
    miss5 wrote: »
    OP I hope your ok.

I always call a neighbour in that situation, It's never a good idea to assume
    they will just leave especially if they think the house is idle.

That's the thing, I have a car outside and my bedroom light was on, went out for a recce this morning hard to tell if there was anyone there. Am setting up boobie traps (not the wahey type, more the crash, bang, wallop type) Hopefully whoever it is will man up and leave the place the f**k alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Orangutani wrote: »
    Unless it's zombies. In which case DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES SWITCH ON A LIGHT.
    Einhard wrote: »
    So long as:

a. you're not wandering around in nothing but your knickers and a tight t-shirt.

b. you don't answer the phone.

c. you don't make popcorn.

d. you're not watching a horror flick.

e. you're not a cheerleader.

Otherwise, you're grand.

or go upstairs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

My house is safe, its me that isnt. The patio door was open for 2 days last weekend. And its not the first time i've done that either :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭questioner

boobie traps (not the wahey type, more the crash, bang, wallop type) Hopefully whoever it is will man up and leave the place the f**k alone.

took me a minute to get that... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Kent Brockman

Tonight make sure to go bra-less and wear a tight white vest. If there is any noises, be sure to check the cellar first (if you have one).
    Also if possible find a local of African-American decent (possibly named 'Token') and send him outside on his own to check the back of the garden.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

woke up this morning to find the husband had left the keys stuck IN THE FRONT DOOR. On the outside.

Great....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

galah wrote: »
    woke up this morning to find the husband had left the keys stuck IN THE FRONT DOOR. On the outside.

Great....

I do that the whole time.

By the way, i live in . . . .:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm always bursting to make a smart ass comment on these threads, but a little voice keeps nagging at me that it would just be the one time that it actually was a crazed serial killer outside....

Nothing on the newsheadlines or in the papers about this yet. Though, it could be a few days before the body of a person living alone is discovered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

Nothing on the newsheadlines or in the papers about this yet. Though, it could be a few days before the body of a person living alone is discovered.

She is fine,thats presuming it is a she.She/he replied a little after nine this morning.

drdeadlift wrote: »
    She is fine,thats presuming it is a she.She/he replied a little after nine this morning.

How can we be sure? She could have still been logged into Boards when the burglar broke in last night & he posted here this morning to make us think that all is well.

Meanwhile, he's just craked open a bottle of Chianti & a tin of faba beans...:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Erica<3

if you're out in the middle of nowhere it could be a fox or something. Keep your curtains closed but turn on some music and/or some lights and maybe have a peak from a window or something... keep a phone near by.
    When i'm on my own I carry the portable phone with me.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Kiera wrote: »
    Dont you have a thread to start about the SF somewhere?:rolleyes:
    Nope ;)

Take the off topic convo to PM please. This is not the place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Has she got cats? For the love of god there might not be much left of her by now.