The Great Limerick Run, 2 May 2010

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 onthehorizon

I did the 10k and I really enjoyed the whole day. My Garmin said the course was 9.39 km, shame it wasn't the full 10k but had a blast just the same.

I agree that the water stations ran out too quickly and that the route needs a bit better planning. The stop to get over the congested bridge was just crazy and it was a bit precarious dodging cones, cars coming out of driveways (I even saw one women nearly driving over runners as she got too impatient to wait!! :eek:) and negotiating pavements. But the atmosphere and the crowds were amazing and considering it was the first year ever held and the logistical nightmare behind three races being held at once I reckon they did a fab job despite the teething problems.

Roll on next year I say, I hope to be up to half marathon by then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Just waking up after a badly needed siesta....a few aches and pains to report but feeling pretty good after yesterday and last night (it was game over around 10.30pm....a gin & tonic finally finished me off)

Had a tremendous day yesterday....up at 6.30am cooking porridge, spent around an hour faffing about the house checking & rechecking my gear bag and nibbling Jaffa cakes.

The start of the marathon was very relaxed & non-chaotic, plenty of room, zero jostling etc. Seemed like Willie O'Dea was on every corner too....think I saw him at least twice in the opening mile.

Decided to go with the 3:45 pacing group after the first mile or so....really wasn't sure how the run was going to go for me. Have done a lot of mileage this year but very few long runs (longest run was 27km) and it was 5 years since previous effort at the full.

The first half of the marathon was very pleasant indeed...flat course, lots of room, riverbank route, lots of local support and even a perfectly timed rain shower on the way back into town. The second half was grand too....I found being in the pacing group (which held at a steady 8-10 people until near the end) insulated me from the potential heartbreak of being passed out by loads of half-marathoners

Got a bad stitch around Mary I but it mercifully vanished by the time I got onto the quays. The route behind Arthurs Quay over to King John’s castle was an interesting diversion; not surprised to hear there were delays here later on though.

The outward bit on the Ennis road was tough going, as was the cheeky incline at Thomand Park. I fell away from the pacing group (now down to an elite group of 3 hardy souls) at this point. Felt a bit uneasy for a half km or so but got my head together again by the time I got to Ivan’s.

My main quibble with the entire event was the total lack of traffic management on the Ennis Road – had a couple of near misses and this is deffo something that needs to be addressed for next year.

Ran a fast last mile and even managed a Declan Moffit style sprint finish. As mentioned before, my chip time was 3:45:00...17 mins of PB from DCM in 2005. Was going to hang up my marathon shoes if yesterday went belly up, but have been bitten by the 26.2 mile bug again I think.

Great day for me personally and a great day for the city too I think. A few minor kinks need to be sorted out and no reason why this can’t become a cornerstone of the Irish running calendar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Rob!

Despite the occasional hiccups in organization along the race route, I found the day to be superb. And to the people of Limerick, a well done is in order - whether through cheering or just setting up extra water points outside their homes, they gave the city a very warm and welcoming feel.

First actual marathon time.....but unofficially a PB none the less! Wish i had met some of ye boards folk, but sure there's always next time.... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭GalwayGunner

I know it was the first year and I was prepared to ignore a few of the problems from yesterday but the fact that it turns out it wasn't even a 10km course is just ridiculous!!

Also there was a lot of stupid thing going on:

i) The congestion at the bridge going to the Potato Market
    ii) Only TWO people pouring water at the water station near Thomand (plus 2 others for handing out cups) for 4 thousand...ish people
    iii) No water left on the finish line
    iv) The fact that it was only 9.4km!!!

Not sure I'd go back next year after this....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭baza1976

I actually laughed out load reading your report ha ha! Well done yesterday! Would have been nice if you waved at us while we were shouting at you though :P lol

lol Thanks munstergal, I was told you were shouting for me. Thanks;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

I spoke to the race director this morning and he's holding his hands up on the route around teh potato market, teh steps and congestion. I hadn't heard about teh water but I'm sure they know about it and will address it.

I think he's on the same page as us generally. He's a runner and knows the routes *must* be accurate above all.

I've told him that I would attempt to corall feedback - good and bad - and send it on to him (although everyone should feel free to mail him directly as well of course). I think that we have a direct line in now and should attempt to use it to make as many positive changes as we can.

One thing I would ask though. The "fun run" comment was made in a semi private meeting and it's one thing having it on here but I wouldn't like it being used as a stick to beat the organisers with. There are plenty of concrete improvements that can be asked for and issues pointed out without repeating that.

What I would suggest is that we batter out stuff for another day or two and then I'll put up the text I propose sending here. If we get general agreement I'll send it on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Newtothe scene

Great day had by all my family yesterday!! Anyone know if there was individual or category prizes yesterday for the different events?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭bonaparte2

I ran the 10k yesterday and I was disappointed to find that the course was short. The water stations and signage , traffic management was also totally inadequate. Course itself was fine except for the comical bridge crossing.Registration was disorganised except for their efficiency at taking my entry fee. They grossed a couple of hundred grand. They could and should have done a whole lot better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭sean_84

I spoke to the race director this morning and he's holding his hands up on the route around teh potato market, teh steps and congestion. I hadn't heard about teh water but I'm sure they know about it and will address it.

I think he's on the same page as us generally. He's a runner and knows the routes *must* be accurate above all.

I've told him that I would attempt to corall feedback - good and bad - and send it on to him (although everyone should feel free to mail him directly as well of course). I think that we have a direct line in now and should attempt to use it to make as many positive changes as we can.

One thing I would ask though. The "fun run" comment was made in a semi private meeting and it's one thing having it on here but I wouldn't like it being used as a stick to beat the organisers with. There are plenty of concrete improvements that can be asked for and issues pointed out without repeating that.

What I would suggest is that we batter out stuff for another day or two and then I'll put up the text I propose sending here. If we get general agreement I'll send it on.

Having a "fun run" associated with the event mightn't be a bad idea, to attract people who are just beginning running, or just want to experience the atmosphere. But it should be advertised like that, not as a 10km race. There are races that can attract big numbers such as the Cork Women's "mini-marathon" that don't make any mention of the distance.

Other things to mention are the narrowness of a lot of the route. I only know about the 10km, but it was often necessary to go out around the cones (after checking no cars were coming) to overtake people. This isn't ideal.... More significant road closures are probably needed.

Maybe the structure of the three races should be looked at. They could be routed differently or the time between starts could be changed so that people doing ~6min/miles won't be passing people doing ~9min/miles. Maybe start all the races together?

The website could have been updated more often. There was far more information about the event here, than on the website. Even now, it's still highlighting that the registration date has been extended...

It might be good to give everyone two numbers, one for the front and one for the back. Then you can see who is the same race as you.

The pricing of the different races could be tweaked a little. 60euro was very expensive for a half-marathon. More people might have done it if it was maybe 40/45 (especially if the cheaper race isn't going to be an accurate 10k).

Maybe for the other races they had predicted-time markers at the start, but there wasn't any for the 10k. For large races I think these are ncessary to ensure a good start (even though they're often ignored ;) )

I might sound a bit negative, but overall I thought it was a great event, and very impressive that it went so well in the first year, and a good advertisement for Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭sideline warrior

Long time lurker but first time poster to this forum. Must say that it's a great forum and have gotten some great advice and info here. I've been running 2.5 years now and I gave seriously gotten the bug, despite being 40 years of age. I'm a Limerick native and want to give my thoughts on yesterday's Great Limerick Run.

Firstly I want to thank the 1.40 half marathon pacemakers, Andrew & David, for doing a superb job. I had planned on trying to do a 1.45 but decided to start with them and see how it went. They were great craic and kept talking to their group and were bang on their level splits the whole way round. Unfortunately, I fell off the group along Shelbourne Road and fell about 50 yards back. Rather than try and catch them I decided to keep them in my line of sight and managed to do that. They finished ahead of me but I still finished just under the 1.40 so was absolutely thrilled, so a big thanks to the 2 lads. Great work.

I know there have been some negative comments regarding the 10k especially but overall I feel that the response has been very positive with a real feel-good vibe from the majority of posters. Being the inaugural event I was always willing to give the organisers of the event the benefit of the doubt as there were always going to be glitches and teething problems. Most of the glitches have already been addressed in previous posts so am not going to re-hash them. I am confident that the organisers will take evertyhing on board and next year's event will be even better.

I would just to accentuate the positive aspects -

1. Pacemakers were a great idea and did a great job.
    2. Great atmosphere amongst the runners and spectators alike.
    3. Bands along the way were a nice touch.
    4. Limerick looked great and I trust the visitors got a good feel of what Limerick is really all about and not the negativity usually portrayed in the media.
    5. Starting beside the park was a great idea as there was loads of space for warms ups etc.
    6. Parking wasn't a problem on the day.
    7. Brave call to stage 3 events on the same day and same route. Despite the 'bridge problem' it more or less worked out.
    8. Weather was perfect for the run - lap of the Gods I know.
    9. Enjoyed it so much I'm going to do the full next year.
    10. It was a PB for me so I'm delighted.

Hopefully all points, good & bad, will be taken on board and next year's event will be even bigger and better. Roll on Great LImerick Run 2011.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

Hiya,

Anyone know where we get official times and pics from?

Tkx

Times were texted out yesterday and will be in the Irish Times tomorrow (Tues).

Photos will be on www.marathonfoto.com from Wed (?) if you use the 'select race' pull down menu for Great Limerick Run 2010.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭ergo

Ok, so here's my tuppence worth:

I signed up for the 10k at the last minute so I can't pretend I had been training with this in mind etc etc for ages - but I'm sure some people had

of the last three 10k runs I have done now 2 have been short of the actual distance :eek: ie. the Aware 10k (actually 8.9k) in Dublin before Christmas and now yesterday's

as someone mentioned above this does show a serious lack of respect for runners - I appreciate that there were a lot of fun runners etc but that is no excuse - I mean what is the fundamental thing to get right in a race? - the distance. This is seriously not good enough. I met a few people going for times in the 10k - some had trained for a long time for this. And on the other hand there are runners who believe now that they have PB'd spectacularly in a "10k" - some of these may never know that's not the case - and how difficult would it have been to have a had a single distance marker in the 10k, even just a half way marker...? I didn't see a single one

Not to be all negative - I had a great day - (just shrugged my shoulders when I crossed the line and saw my watch) - thought the course was really nice - along by the river and all - I was suprised how big a turn out there was given that it's the first year of it. It must have been a bit dis-heartening though for the marathon runners being overtaken by all the 10k people as they neared the end..

and it was great that it was on a Sunday and not the bank holiday Monday so we got to stay down in Limerick and go out properly after

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Effin Runner

Hi all.Great day yesterday.Finished the HM in 1.43 so delighted.Calves a bit sore this morning. Wont forget the drag up past the gaelic grounds in a hurry!Great buzz at the finish with the band. Thanks to all involved for making this event a success even though there was a few teething problems, such as very few mile markers. Thanks to all you guys as well for all the info provided over the last few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭PIORUN

Done the full in 3.30, was hoping for under 4.00 but just got ahead of 3.30 pacer on Dublin road and kept going. Very very happy with it.
    Found it good going, especially the first half (a small few ups and downs) until about the 21 mile mark then it really kicked in, the ennis road was torture, my legs were screaming at me to stop, the hill after Gaelic grounds especially. Agony the whole way from there, only relief was when I passed finishing line.

Overall I think it was run well, a couple of junctions could have policed a bit better, at times I felt like I was going to have to stop to leave cars come out or some just flew out in front of me but no major complaints.
    Packs given at expo were poor and the baggage reclaim area also badly managed but could be easily fixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭bazman

My initial thoughts on the Great Limerick Run are mixed. As a fun day out I would score the race quite highly, but as a race to be taken seriously I would have reservations. Thankfully I was only doing it as a blow out, but feedback I would have includes:
    - Mile/km markers required in the half marathon. If you pay 64 euro to enter a race, you expect a top quality race.
    - Not enough marshals, particularly by the river - the lead group in half marathon made a few silly mistakes here. There was also a couple of unmanned junctions - a car drove directly into my path on one occasion. Would consider changing this part of the route - really slows people down and there were a couple of congestion bottlenecks.
    - Online entry process on Friday was problematic. If you're extending the entry date then you need to be able to back it up with service. To top it all off I get the Irish Times today to see myself referred to as Runner 8424. I entered online, so I cannot understand how they cannot put my name to a number.
    - Marathon disqualifications. I'm not sure what happened here, but I heard that #1 & 2 in marathon were disqualified. Would like to know what happened, but if it's because they did not do correct route I would again blame the organisation.
    - Prizes & presentation for the races also poor. Well, to be more accurate the presentation was non-existant. I believe they were waiting to get results confirmed. There are no cash prizes which is bad for a race with ambition - I knew this going into race, but still don't think it's right when they charge up to 80euro for entry. Hope I'm not coming across as elitest, but races get more respect when top athletes run & there was very few reasons for top athletes to run this race.
    - This is the only race in my memory that weren't able to confirm top results with a couple of hours of the finish. Results still not available online from what I can see & I didn't get any text.
    - 10k race not being 10k is absolutely not on - it's disrespectful to athletics, but think this one is covered above :)

It seemed that everything went through the race director - my main feedback would be that delegation is the key to success. Each race needed it's only director - instead my perception was there was one person trying to organise 3 races on the same day and making a bit of a mess in the process.

Despite all the above, I really enjoyed the experience. This race series has great potential so I hope organisers take feedback on board to turn this into something special next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 JimWhoIs50

As I am an over-seas visitor, I didn't get a text result. I can't buy the Irish Times so where do I get my result? I think I did about 3:22 (forgot to stop my Garmin - Doh!)
    If anyone reading this has the Irish Times, can you look me up and post my result?
    Jim O'Donovan - Race number M1136
    Many thanks. See you all next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭bazman

Jim you did 3:21:59

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Jim if you want to pm me your address I'll pick up a copy of the paper to post to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭PIORUN

JimWhoIs50 wrote: »
    As I am an over-seas visitor, I didn't get a text result. I can't buy the Irish Times so where do I get my result? I think I did about 3:22 (forgot to stop my Garmin - Doh!)
    If anyone reading this has the Irish Times, can you look me up and post my result?
    Hey Jim,
    your time in the Irish times is 3.21.59

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Effin Runner

Well done Jim.3.21.59. It doesn't give your race position but it looks like you finished in around the top 80 men!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 JimWhoIs50

Wow! Thanks to all for the replies. Just shows what a great forum this is.
    My dear old Mum will send me a copy but many thanks HM for your kind offer.
    For the record, my main constructive criticism is "Communication". Pre, during and post.
    Pre: Keep the website up to date and add to the FAQ. Nobody should need to contact the RD with questions. Manage runners expectations (10k v. Fun Run).
    During: mile markers, signage, better pacer balloons (but boy, those pacers were bang on)
    Post: Results should be available within 24 hours on the (updated) website.

And to finish, I congratulate the organisers and the people of Limerick for a wonderful bank holiday weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭MarieC

MarieC wrote: »
    Didnt have to resort to the water cups - had the b.f on hand for that! He cycled the entire route to keep me (and anyone else looking dehydrated) stocked with water, gels and sweets).

MarieC,
    Think I finished about 2 mins behind you and I have to say a big THANK YOU to your b.f, everytime he stopped to give you water / jellies he gave me some too and was full of encouragement, it was brillant really gave me a boost to keep going. Meant to look for you afterwards but got caught up in the excitement and relief of finishing. Well done on your time & thanks again.

Hi Miss Piggy1! I totally got caught up afterwards but had hoped to see you at the finish line. I had you as a personal pacer for over half the marathon so thank you very much for that. Delighted that himself was able to help you out also. Hope the muscles aren't too sore! if you om me your email address himself got you in one or two pics along the way!

ULstudent wrote: »
    In a boards singlet? if so it was me who shouted the old boards at ya!! Had to be you - blondish girl in a boards singlet at that same time!

That was me in the singlet ya! Where were you?? Were you running or marshalling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

During: mile markers, signage, better pacer balloons (but boy, those pacers were bang on)
    Hi Jim, the problem with the balloons was mostly (entirely!) my fault, if you're referring to the two floppy black meager things I had to carry around. I didn't tie my proper helium filled balloons properly, so before the race started, they floated away in the distance. So in a last minute gasp effort to try to restore some of my lost dignity I grabbed a couple of the spin 103.8 girls balloons (that sounds very rude!), which, while better than nothing, were not filled with helium and so didn't float and had to be carried.

Glad you got a great time, and it was great running with you during the race. Pity we didn't get to stop into your mother's house for some tea and biscuits as we passed it this year, but there's always 2011!

Im sorry but this is going to be quite a long dear diary entry, consisting of my race report, and feedback for the race director.

Sunday was a day that I will always always remember. I have spent pretty much the last 11 years in Limerick so to get the opportunity to run a marathon here was fantastic.

Saturday evening was spent going through my plan for the race with the b.f, deciding where to meet him along the route, and what supplies to have where. It was eerie drving to my apt. saturday evening in castletroy, passing mile markers, realising I was going to be running by them the following morning. Anyway, Sunday morning I arose at 7, tasty breakfast of scrambled eggs and bread. Realised how nervous I was once the stomach started doing cartwheels as I tried to eat.

Headed then to meet the brother who was going to be running his first marathon. He got me into running years ago so was really hoping for a good run for him. Met Hunnymonster and DoNotHoponPop at the start line. I decided to position myself near the 3:30 balloons, and hope for the best. My main goal was to enjoy the race, and I knew that if that happened the time should work itself out also. The start was fantastic, I found it very surreal to be lining up for such an event in Limerick. Off we went anyway and I luckily found that I eased into my pace fairly fast.

The first half of the marathon was in the territory most familiar to me so it didnt feel like a half marathon, just running around UL and down by the river! no biggie! There was great support along the route. I ran a mile or two from 4-6 with Baza1976, it was lovely to meet the boardsies after all of the virtual conversations. I left Baza1976 off at the 6mile mark, where himself was waiting with water. First 10km in 52:06, not amazing but sure a marathon is all about pacing yourself.

The run down by the river was beautiful and it was fantastic to see that being incorportated in to the marathon. In fairness to them, every pole in the ground had red tape wrapped around it, every dodgy side of the path had yellow paint around it, and then when there was no fence between the path and the river, the search and rescue boat were there watching and waiting! The heavy rain shower I must say was very apt, it would have felt almost wrong to not run some part of it in the rain! At least we were cool and well hydrated for that part. Himself was waiting under the bridge for me with water and my first gel. Running through town then for that half way mark was cool cos there was loads of distraction and we were passing everyone that was warming up for the Half. Halfway mark in 1:48:32. I was happy with that as it put me in the sub 4hr category for the full.

Off we went out to west side of the city, the less familiar territory for me. I was feeling fine, just chugging away, had had one or two girls in my sights up to that point and caught them in town so I felt my pace was good and I wasn't slowing too much. I wasn't gone too far beyond the 15mile mark when the fastest half marthoners were trotting along doing their thing. It made it harder to know postion wise how you were doing but at least it kept things interesting. The route out along rossbrien was the hardest as the roads weren't amazing and there was little support as we were well out in the countryside. By mile 17 I was starting to feel it, and not in a good way, but I kept chugging along. Got another gel and water at the 18mile mark and luckily the cuz, and himself were wating for me only a mile later again so that was great as it broke up the hardest part of the route for me. I was pleasantly surprised to see 2:37 at the 30km mark so I knew I was doing respectably enough. By now I was dying to go to the toilet, and didnt get to a portaloo until mile 20. I think this is when HM made up her distance on me, and the 3:45 balloon passed me. Was glad actually to miss it passing me, otherwise Id probably have got disheartened.

I passed friends walking into town for the 10km and that spurred me on again, plus himself was there again at mile 21 for me (he sure did get around!). We were back in the city again so that was cool - familiar territory, great buzz and the sun was coming out. I loved the last 6 miles of it. It was like a victory lap, just soaking up the amazing atmosphere, knowing I was enjoying it, irrespective of time. Contrary to what some thought, I liked having the leading people passing me out at the other side of the ennis road, it was great to be able watch them running, it added to the atmosphere, and I knew in a mile or two I would have the same opportunity. Running passed friends and himself along the ennis road, and then the shelbourne road was fantastic, hard to put in to words really. I didnt mind the stretch, hills or turns on any of this part, partly cos I was on a high, and partly because of alot of runs up the golf links road in castletroy!

The run back in over the bridge was fabulous, and the turn then on to o'connell street was class. I saw my time, as the clock turned to 3:46:00 and I just started beaming. I enjoyed that run to the finish line so much, don't think there was anyone between me and the line so it was class. Was home in 3:46:19, 13th girl home, thrilled to say the least. Still re-living sunday morning and will be for a while I think.

I know that there is definitely room for improvement with my time, but saying that I dont know if I will have the opportunity to run another marathon where I had so much support on the route, and himself cycling the entire route to keep me hydrated and motivated!

As someone who ran the marathon, I have very few complaints about the day itself. I will try to list here the postives and negatives.

Postives:
    • Unbelievable atmosphere and start.
    • Excellent to have the pacers. Even though I didn't use them I could hear them chatting and supporting their crews along the way.
    • Mile markers were always very clear.
    • The route was very good, very varied and it showed limerick in a great light.
    • Brilliant support from the marshalls, especially in around King John's castle.
    • The finish line location. Turning the corner onto o'connell street, seeing the clock and finish line was brilliant. Lovely then to be able walk back along the route to cheer people home.

Negatives:
    • Webstite really was not good enough. But for this forum here I think we would have been alot more in the dark.
    • Surely the results should be up by now? We shouldn't have to go out to buy the paper to see where we finished.
    • Appalling that there was no map that could be easily printed off. The b.f. had to take photos of it on his phone, at the expo and work off that.
    • Race pack was probably the poorest I've ever got. I did the plassey 10km the week previous, for €15, with some proceeds going to TWO charities and this race pack was by far better. Plus the race pack was a plastic bag!! Id prefer to have just had the stuff handed to me.
    • Cups cups cups! I know it is a growing trend to have cups rather than bottles at water stations but I just cant see how you are meant to get as much water out of a cup as you do with the bottle.
    • Not really the fault of the race, but just some people, I couldnt get over impatient people trying to nudge their cars out through a stream of runners! Could have easily caused an accident.
    • They should have recruited volunteers earlier than the week of the event. You can never have too many.
    • Disappointed with the medals/t-shirts. No distinction between what you got whether you did the full, half or "fun-run".
    • Just after the Finish line was very congested, no-one moving people along trying to keep it clear. No-one told us race chips were disposable, so I walked around for ages trying to find someone to give it to.

For an event in its infant year it needs to be nurtured, cut a bit of slack, supported and promoted. I for one would recommend this event to anyone, probably for the longer distances though. If we support our local events it can only be a win-win situation for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

My 2c:

Overall I enjoyed the event and was delighted that it went off as well as it did for a first event. It was a big challange, lots of issues to be dealt with, lessons to be learned, etc but I was happy that they gave it a big effort and seemed to have the backing of the authorities and the goodwill of a lot of people who participated, helped out and supported it.

On the positive side:
    I really liked the route - a good mix of city, country, river , sights.
    The names on the numbers was a nice touch. It helped with crowd support when they called your name.
    Pacers - obviously ;). Really enjoyed running with the group as far as I could.
    Start - nice relaxed atmosphere and venue. Park was handy. Parking not a problem.
    Bank Holiday Sunday race - really appreciated being able to go out Sun eve to celebrate and have Monday as a relaxing recovery day.
    Buildup - just a local issue but the amount of 'extra' runners out around Limerick over the last 2 months was noticable. The signs on the roundabouts were good for raising its profile locally and generating a bit of a buzz in the community.
    Getting the riverbank gates fully opened ;). Fair play for having the clout to sort that.
    Music + crowd support over the last few miles.

Constructive criticism :)
    Water bottles - I'd have liked them rather than the cups.
    Finish line location - I'd have preferred a slightly longer run in to it so as to savour it more.
    Finish line congestion - maybe sheppard people further along after the line.
    Baggage location - it seemed a long way from the finish line after the marathon.
    Timing of starts - Maybe delay the HM/10K another 15min each to ensure the bulk of the marathoners get home first. Fair enough that the fast guys catch you but I felt I was going backwards when the main fields went by.
    Congestion - didn't really bother me but dropping the small bridge into the market is a no-brainer for next year. There's slack on the marathon route on the Vistakon leg (5M/6M) for any other tweeks.
    Signage - didn't bother me but have miles remaining signs for the second half might keep the HM/10K people happy as well e.g. 6M to go, 5M to go.
    Medals - would have liked to see something different for each race even if it was just the ribbons.
    Maps and Communications - Maybe it was because it was a first time event but there was a lot of questions with no sure answers apart from what we found out on here. The DCM website is basic as well but most people know the score there. The GLR website could do with a bit more info as a communication channel rather than being a race entry mechanism. The map was tricky to follow online but hopefully we've got it sorted in our heads now :rolleyes:.

Again, I was delighted with the day and glad that there is a big event such as this in Limerick now. I'm sure they'll pick up on the mistakes made and lessons learned and that next year will be better again.

Can't wait :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Hi Jim, the problem with the balloons was mostly (entirely!) my fault, if you're referring to the two floppy black meager things I had to carry around. I didn't tie my proper helium filled balloons properly, so before the race started, they floated away in the distance. So in a last minute gasp effort to try to restore some of my lost dignity I grabbed a couple of the spin 103.8 girls balloons (that sounds very rude!), which, while better than nothing, were not filled with helium and so didn't float and had to be carried.

Glad you got a great time, and it was great running with you during the race. Pity we didn't get to stop into your mother's house for some tea and biscuits as we passed it this year, but there's always 2011!

Ah Krusty, this happened before :-)
    One area that the Race Director delegated to someone else was the Pacers. Look at the great job done there.
    Well done the Pacers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

I've caught Baza's cold. Thanks mate :-(

The boards singlets are starting to get some recognition now and it was great to meet people en route and introduce ourselves although saying "hi, I'm hunnymonster" will always feel a bit strange! I'm going to take a leaf out of Donohoponpop's book and write my name on my singlet.

10th for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Ah Krusty, this happened before :-)
    One area that the Race Director delegated to someone else was the Pacers. Look at the great job done there.
    Well done the Pacers.
    Ah, but that was a completely different scenario (it wasn't me. :)). Seriously, the race organizers should at a minimum be providing an official balloon string knot tie-person. Until they do, I think we should all boycott all races. How they think they can delegate this most important of responsibilities to any ol' eejit, I just don't know. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Ah, but that was a completely different scenario (it wasn't me. :)). Seriously, the race organizers should at a minimum be providing an official balloon string knot tie-person. Until they do, I think we should all boycott all races. How they think they can delegate this most important of responsibilities to any ol' eejit, I just don't know. :D

Why do you think MrsA tied all of the half marathon balloons in place!?

I have to say that overall I thought the whole thing went really well. I would say 85% perfect, 5% acceptable and 10% where the ball was badly dropped. The fact that the 10% was on fundamentals (10k course measurement and water) is a pity because it will overshadow the brilliant experience that so many people had.

And on a personal level it was hugely satisfying to see the pacers do such a great job. We have had a load of good feedback here, on another site and in person and it makes the hassle of putting it together and the strain of teh running well worth it. Roll on Dublin now!