The Great Limerick Run, 2 May 2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

just realised I have no idea where I'm going in the morning. Where is my best bet for parking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭MarieC

Hi hunny monster. You get my text earlier? I have your race number. where do you want to meet? best recommendation that I can make for parking is clancy strand, its just on the far side of the river, opposite side from sin bin or clohessys. we will actually be running by there so you can find it on the route map.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Have fun everyone tomorrow, pacers keep it steady and between the ditches.

Oh Dear, now I really feel guilty for asking MarieC to collect my number.

was there at around half one today and thought It was grand. thought it a little silly tho the size of the room for the expo, in comparison for the tiny space for collecting numbers/packs/t-shirts.

everything good to go now for the morning, just a matter of keeping the mind calm. i live out in castletroy so was passing the green line and the mile marks this evening - tis getting close now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

hi M, yes got your text. If you could leave it in hotel that's probably best so that I don't mess up your own preparations? Does that suit you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

Best of Luck Everyone.

Hope all goes well and everyone reaches their goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Munster_Gal

ULstudent wrote: »
    Best of luck to everyone tomorrow - im helping out so il keep an eye out for boards singlets.

Looking forward to the reports monday. Really wish i could be doing this.

Awe are ya not doing it then? :(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Back in my hotel now, pacing went well we finished in 1:59 so I expect most of our group would have got in in under two hours - we had a good steady group throughout. Everything seemed to go according to plan and it was well run for a first time event. Route could do with a little less jumping up and down off kerbs and stuff but otherwise it was a good route, the half was anyway.

Hope everyone enjoyed their day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

Back in my hotel now, pacing went well we finished in 1:59 so I expect most of our group would have got in in under two hours - we had a good steady group throughout. Everything seemed to go according to plan and it was well run for a first time event. Route could do with a little less jumping up and down off kerbs and stuff but otherwise it was a good route, the half was anyway.

Hope everyone enjoyed their day.

+1, a good days racing :)

RQ I was following you in for the last mile. God bless your enthusiasm for getting the crowd going.

Lost my 3:45 pace group around 19M and walked/ran the last 7M with cramps, dissyspells, nausea, chronic fatigue and the awful feeling that I was going to end up on the wrong side of 4:00:(. .........but I didn't:) 3:56 and as happy as a pig in.....(you get the picture). Well done everyone. Great to see the pacers bringing in all the stragglers. Happy days :D.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

We're going to The Bank in town for a few drinks by the way, I think some may be there now if any one else on here wants to join us. I'm going to head in now in a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

I finished the 10k today in 37'33, delighted with the run and the PB. Weather was pretty good for fast times. Excellent event overall. My one gripe was the lack of space for 10k runners as we passed marathon walkers and we often had to run around the bollards to find racing space but cant complain overall. Great atmosphere around the finish area and at a lot of areas around the course, the bands were a great idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭seanynova

Just back from the half, went ok, happy with my time, 84:2xish?

missed the 2nd water station, had to run on the ditch at the 1st due to congestion but there was plenty of other water stations about....almost at every mile towards the end! happy days...

all in all, had a good day, weather was really good bar the little breeze...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Drinks relocated to teh White House on account of The Bank being closed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭gaf1983

1.44ish for me in the half, really enjoyed the run, plenty of water stations, roll on next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,355 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

3:45 for me for the full - pretty over the moon I have to say....17 mins of my previous PB from 5 years ago:D

Will write a more in-depth report at a later date but a big thanks to the pacer and congrats to the organisers on a great day for the city of Limerick.

BTW - does anyone know what the story is with the timing chips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭CorkRunning

Cartman78 wrote: »
    3:45 for me for the full - pretty over the moon I have to say....17 mins of my previous PB from 5 years ago:D

Will write a more in-depth report at a later date but a big thanks to the pacer and congrats to the organisers on a great day for the city of Limerick.

Timing chips are disposable....same type used as in the Ballycotton '10'

CorkRunning (3:45 pacer ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Anzu

Cartman78 wrote: »

I would like to know this too and also, how do we find out what position we finished in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 JimWhoIs50

Krusty, what were you doing running off on me at mile 18? Okay okay, so I blew up a bit. Great pacing though to bring your troup in at 3:14. I ended up doing 3:22 with nothing left in the tank. The crowd were great at the end when they saw me get cramp in my left calf. I nearly had to stop and stretch it 30 metres from the line but they almost carried me over the finish.
    Many thanks to all on this forum for keeping everyone fully informed on what to expect. Hopefully next year we will be able to go to the GLR website for this info.
    Well done to all.
    Jim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 PaudieMac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,355 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Timing chips are disposable....same type used as in the Ballycotton '10'

CorkRunning (3:45 pacer ;))

Cheers CorkRunning -- I deffo owe you a few pints tonight if i see somewhere (mightn't recognise you without the red balloons though:)). The 3:45 group fell apart a bit in the last few miles....I dropped off the back in between Thomand Park and Ivan’s.

Just got the timing chip text.....3:45:00 bang on the banana!!!!

What a spectacular day! I will write in more detail tomorrow but for now I am delighted to report a time of 3:46:19, taking 7minutes off my pb (and beating my boyfriend's pb by 5minutes :p ).

I loved it! It went way too fast though. Organisation was very good on the day. Didnt have to resort to the water cups - had the b.f on hand for that! He cycled the entire route to keep me (and anyone else looking dehydrated) stocked with water, gels and sweets).

Hunnymonster, Baza1976, DoNotHopOnPop, Krusty, RedB it was great to see, meet and race with ye. Might see ye tonight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

Well done everyone. Sounds like it was a good race and plenty of PB's.

Enjoy the craic and don't forget the race reports!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭sean_84

I finished the 10k today in 37'33, delighted with the run and the PB. Weather was pretty good for fast times. Excellent event overall. My one gripe was the lack of space for 10k runners as we passed marathon walkers and we often had to run around the bollards to find racing space but cant complain overall. Great atmosphere around the finish area and at a lot of areas around the course, the bands were a great idea.

I finished the 10k not far behind you today. I'd have similar complaints about passing out people from the other races, and it probably didn't help them to have someone flying past either. But the atmosphere was great around the city centre, and showed Limerick in a good light.

One thing I'd like to know is if the 10k course was accurately measured like the marathon course? My Garmin thinks it might have been a bit short :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Congrats to ye all - flicking through a few of the photos here now. Am jealous. Hope it went well for everyone, looking forward to the race reporst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

sean_84 wrote: »

One thing I'd like to know is if the 10k course was accurately measured like the marathon course? My Garmin thinks it might have been a bit short :eek:

The Marathon (and Half M) course were accurately measured by Jones Counter, and certified. The 10k was not, and disappointingly was described as a "fun run" by those in charge. Fine for fun runners, but no-one else had any idea of this, so it shouldn't have been advertised as a 10k. Course was 9.6k 9.4k, so sorry to all those who thought they had pb's, not good enough from the organizers.

*Edit* Sean_84 is correct, I was told it was .4mile short, mixed up miles and k's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Blueskye

The Marathon (and Half M) course were accurately measured by Jones Counter, and certified. The 10k was not, and disappointingly was described as a "fun run" by those in charge. Fine for fun runners, but no-one else had any idea of this, so it shouldn't have been advertised as a 10k. Course was 9.6k, so sorry to all those who thought they had pb's, not good enough from the organizers.

That is crazy. Why not get the 10k accurately measured too? Ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

MarieC wrote: »
    What a spectacular day! I will write in more detail tomorrow but for now I am delighted to report a time of 3:46:19, taking 7minutes off my pb (and beating my boyfriend's pb by 5minutes :p ).

I loved it! It went way too fast though. Organisation was very good on the day. Didnt have to resort to the water cups - had the b.f on hand for that! He cycled the entire route to keep me (and anyone else looking dehydrated) stocked with water, gels and sweets).

Hunnymonster, Baza1976, DoNotHopOnPop, Krusty, RedB it was great to see, meet and race with ye. Might see ye tonight!

In a boards singlet? if so it was me who shouted the old boards at ya!! Had to be you - blondish girl in a boards singlet at that same time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭sean_84

The Marathon (and Half M) course were accurately measured by Jones Counter, and certified. The 10k was not, and disappointingly was described as a "fun run" by those in charge. Fine for fun runners, but no-one else had any idea of this, so it shouldn't have been advertised as a 10k. Course was 9.6k, so sorry to all those who thought they had pb's, not good enough from the organizers.

That's a bit disappointing that they'd treat it like that. At the start they were asking the sub 35min runners to move to the front. I was thinking there won't be many of those at this, but probably there was more than I thought :)

I think the course was about 9.4k: http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/?r=3693317

The organisers should have tried to have an extra loop somewhere near the start, there's lots of small streets in that area that could have been used to make up an extra 600m. Or else it should just have been called a fun run (or mini-marathon :p) with no mention of distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

The Marathon (and Half M) course were accurately measured by Jones Counter, and certified. The 10k was not, and disappointingly was described as a "fun run" by those in charge. Fine for fun runners, but no-one else had any idea of this, so it shouldn't have been advertised as a 10k. Course was 9.6k 9.4k, so sorry to all those who thought they had pb's, not good enough from the organizers.

*Edit* Sean_84 is correct, I was told it was .4mile short, mixed up miles and k's

Now I'm glad I almost killed myself in Wexford instead. I would have done that "10k" otherwise, and that would REALLY have pissed me off.

I was not aware that the 10k was only a "fun run". That's really poor and shows a lack of respect for the runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

sean_84 wrote: »
    I finished the 10k not far behind you today. I'd have similar complaints about passing out people from the other races, and it probably didn't help them to have someone flying past either. But the atmosphere was great around the city centre, and showed Limerick in a good light.

I had a feeling afterwards that the 10k course was short but i didn't want to believe it, I mean i ran 5 mins faster than my target. Now that i know it's 9.43km or whatever it my finishing time makes more sense. It's still a PB but not quite as good as first thought.