How to Tell Your Housemate You're Not Living Together Next Year

• 30-04-2010 12:17AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭

I'm sitting here after a chat with friends on our ideas to tell our housemate we don't want share a house next year. He's a nightmare to live with and we just can't stand it anymore. The thing is he's implying he wants to live with us next year so it's hard to think of ways to tell him or give him a hint.

Any creative ideas will be appreciated! Might as well have fun while we're at it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

change the locks on the doors and throw his stuff out the window? It sends a clear message

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Housemate Sounds like that Oscar guy from The Odd Couple .

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Simple, honesty hurts, but is incredibly effective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

You're evicted. We don't like you. We think you're a right cant.

Now fack off.

See ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

shite on his chest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Just tell him, he's impossible to live with and you are better off not living together. I cannot live with some of my mates and some of them cannot stand living with me, but we all know this and it's grand. We live seperately after years of living together and we get on great. If we were still living together I think we wouldn't be friends now. Best to be honest OP, but be nice ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

Hang on a sec, was he in the house before any of you lot? Just because you have a good thing going with your other housemates doesn't mean that he should be treated like a piece of dirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I'm sitting here after a chat with friends on our ideas to tell our housemate we don't want share a house next year. He's a nightmare to live with and we just can't stand it anymore. The thing is he's implying he wants to live with us next year so it's hard to think of ways to tell him or give him a hint.

Any creative ideas will be appreciated! Might as well have fun while we're at it!

Does he live with you now?
    Are you moving,or you just want him to move out?

If you're already living together, start acting the bollox, root around in his room while he's out, eat his food etc. Pretty soon,he'll decide to leave by himself!
    Or write a note telling him you want him out and stick it under his bedroom door.

EDIT: Oh sorry,i see you are living with him already

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

shite on his chest

That would probably encourage him.

oh, is he into ski-ba-bop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,950 ✭✭✭nkay1985

shite on his chest

I was going to say take a shite in his bed every time he leaves the house. Either or, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭mojesius

A few of my friends who lived together have just been through this actually (well, some are no longer friends). The previous posters are right - you're just going to have to be as honest as possible - Keep in mind that it may cost your friendship (If it matters to you).

Or you could all start a blanket protest...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

Sorry, forgot to mention; We're in a house at the moment which lease is running out at the end of this month. We're only living together for the college year. We're going to be searching for houses for september over the summer.

He hasn't done anything blatantly prickish to us, he's just a general annoyance. Always complaining, a complete buzz killington, know it all, etc. - you know the type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

Tell him you've just been to the doctor and have been diagnosed with some highly contagious, painful, and all round extremely nasty tropical condition, the effects of which may include, but are not limited to:

i. Moulting.
    ii Excessive shedding of skin.
    iii. Erectile dysfunction.
    iv. Development of man boobs.

Then start coughing violently (if you could generate some foam at your lips all the better), and tell him that you're glad you have such a good friend who you know will stick with you through it all, no matter the consequences for himself, and his dreams of ever having children.

If that doesn't work, and he fancies himself as something of a latter day Florence Nightingale, start leaving clumps of hair behing you in the shower (might help to befriend a barber temporarily), and leave little droplets of red food colouring on the toilet rim/bathroom mirror/sink/his conrflakes.

If he's still hanging around, then he's a saint and you're a ba*tard for ever wanting to be rid of him in the first place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Freyja

If he is a half decent guy that you would get on with and enjoy his company if ya didn't live together, then you have to find a tactful way to do it.

If he is a complete prick that you can't stand, then the answer is simple. Get the fluke out.

Maybe your posting here cause he is a friend ya would like to keep.

If you are all in 3rd level together and gonna spend a summer apart, then its simple really.

Just lose a bit of contact, and then you and the people you do wanna live with organise something early, or if there is an option to renew place your in at the minute, then you dont renew it. Let him commit to property first.

Then you find somewhere else, you need to make a decision for yourself, and not for the group of people you are talking to. Sometimes when you are torn between someone thats nice but hard to live with and your friends opinion, you need to decide yourself.

Maybe if you wanna keep all friends you should just go solo, and get some brand new housemates. Ya never know where it will take ya.

Best of luck with what you decide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭mojesius

Sorry, forgot to mention; We're in a house at the moment which lease is running out at the end of this month. We're only living together for the college year. We're going to be searching for houses for september over the summer.

He hasn't done anything blatantly prickish to us, he's just a general annoyance. Always complaining, a complete buzz killington, know it all, etc. - you know the type.

Oh, well than scrap what I said, just pretend you're going your separate ways and try avoiding him forever.

orourkeda wrote: »
    Rape him.

blast him with piss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭whiteboy

maybe it's you who's the problem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

Originally Posted by admiralofthefleet viewpost.gif
    shite on his chest
    nkay1985 wrote: »
    I was going to say take a shite in his bed every time he leaves the house. Either or, really.

Best of both worlds. ****e on his chest while he's in bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Demeyes

If you're moving just get a place with less rooms and leave them out, if you plan on keeping that place then you'll have to tell them and they will not like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭whiteboy

just post all his personal information here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

tell him he is a nightmare to live with and give him a chance to change

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

PeakOutput wrote: »
    tell him he is a nightmare to live with and give him a chance to change

A chance to change would mean an extra year living with him...

Any more ideas? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

PHEW!!!!

Thought it was me there for a few minutes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

Tell him you're moving to Yemen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 PuccaPad

Personally I've been at the rough end of this sort of treatment back when I was in second year in college. We lived in college residence and were put together at random. I all thought we got along well enough, even if there was the odd incident, I thought that was part and parcel of living with new people. To be honest I'm not that bad to live with but like the OPs housemate, sometimes I can be perceived as a "Buzzkillington", which I never thought was fair but anyway.

Heres how I was dealt with. Summer came and on the last day we met up and said our goodbyes wishing everyone well with their results and their respective J1s. I mentioned that we might look for a house for the four of us come summertime, and that it was one of the lads 21sts at the end of the summer so I would be talking to them come end of August/september about the party and living together. The remark wasn't noticed or rather ignored and the conversation quickly changed to something else.

Come the end of summer I had heard nothing from them, so I sent around a few emails wondering if they were having any luck with housing. At this stage I knew the real picture. The party they had planned had come and gone and I hadn't been invited. Email came back saying they had found somewhere and there was no room for poor Pucca. Through various ways and means I knew this not to be true, however I played along. That summer there was a real shortage of accommodation and they were having great difficulty finding a place to live before the start of the semester. They only found a flat two days before the first class I believe. They were rather relieved that they wouldn't have to tell me the true story I believe. I knew the true story anyway.

I stopped counting them among my friends from that day they first lied to me. All the best anyway because two of them, did the exact same thing to the third flatmate the following year.

I would have been disappointed had they been truthful and said they didn't want me to live with them, I would have accepted it though, however I consider it cuntish behaviour to cut someone out like that. The best option is honesty even though I doubt your housemate will consider you much of a friend afterwards, if his only "flaw" is being a buzzkillington as you say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Tell him that yourself and the other room-mate(s) have strong feelings for each other and would like to move into a house kitted out with chains, manacles and a rack. Invite him too. The beauty of this simple plan is that it will be himself who refuses. Of course, it could backfire....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

How very bitchy of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Jeez Pucca, that's harsh.

OP do you want to even keep this guy as your friend? Sounds like you don't like him at all so why not just be honest with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭Doop

Play out the scenairo from this thread & id say he'll move of his own accord

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055359719

Sorry I know this was quoted in an earlier thread today... (first time I read it) but its fookin brilliant!!