Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to Tell Your Housemate You're Not Living Together Next Year

• 29-04-2010 11:17PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭

I'm sitting here after a chat with friends on our ideas to tell our housemate we don't want share a house next year. He's a nightmare to live with and we just can't stand it anymore. The thing is he's implying he wants to live with us next year so it's hard to think of ways to tell him or give him a hint.

Any creative ideas will be appreciated! Might as well have fun while we're at it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

change the locks on the doors and throw his stuff out the window? It sends a clear message

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Housemate Sounds like that Oscar guy from The Odd Couple .

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Simple, honesty hurts, but is incredibly effective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

You're evicted. We don't like you. We think you're a right cant.

Now fack off.

See ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

shite on his chest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Just tell him, he's impossible to live with and you are better off not living together. I cannot live with some of my mates and some of them cannot stand living with me, but we all know this and it's grand. We live seperately after years of living together and we get on great. If we were still living together I think we wouldn't be friends now. Best to be honest OP, but be nice ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

Hang on a sec, was he in the house before any of you lot? Just because you have a good thing going with your other housemates doesn't mean that he should be treated like a piece of dirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I'm sitting here after a chat with friends on our ideas to tell our housemate we don't want share a house next year. He's a nightmare to live with and we just can't stand it anymore. The thing is he's implying he wants to live with us next year so it's hard to think of ways to tell him or give him a hint.

Any creative ideas will be appreciated! Might as well have fun while we're at it!

Does he live with you now?
    Are you moving,or you just want him to move out?

If you're already living together, start acting the bollox, root around in his room while he's out, eat his food etc. Pretty soon,he'll decide to leave by himself!
    Or write a note telling him you want him out and stick it under his bedroom door.

EDIT: Oh sorry,i see you are living with him already

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

shite on his chest

That would probably encourage him.

oh, is he into ski-ba-bop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

shite on his chest

I was going to say take a shite in his bed every time he leaves the house. Either or, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭mojesius

A few of my friends who lived together have just been through this actually (well, some are no longer friends). The previous posters are right - you're just going to have to be as honest as possible - Keep in mind that it may cost your friendship (If it matters to you).

Or you could all start a blanket protest...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

Sorry, forgot to mention; We're in a house at the moment which lease is running out at the end of this month. We're only living together for the college year. We're going to be searching for houses for september over the summer.

He hasn't done anything blatantly prickish to us, he's just a general annoyance. Always complaining, a complete buzz killington, know it all, etc. - you know the type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Tell him you've just been to the doctor and have been diagnosed with some highly contagious, painful, and all round extremely nasty tropical condition, the effects of which may include, but are not limited to:

i. Moulting.
    ii Excessive shedding of skin.
    iii. Erectile dysfunction.
    iv. Development of man boobs.

Then start coughing violently (if you could generate some foam at your lips all the better), and tell him that you're glad you have such a good friend who you know will stick with you through it all, no matter the consequences for himself, and his dreams of ever having children.

If that doesn't work, and he fancies himself as something of a latter day Florence Nightingale, start leaving clumps of hair behing you in the shower (might help to befriend a barber temporarily), and leave little droplets of red food colouring on the toilet rim/bathroom mirror/sink/his conrflakes.

If he's still hanging around, then he's a saint and you're a ba*tard for ever wanting to be rid of him in the first place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Freyja

If he is a half decent guy that you would get on with and enjoy his company if ya didn't live together, then you have to find a tactful way to do it.

If he is a complete prick that you can't stand, then the answer is simple. Get the fluke out.

Maybe your posting here cause he is a friend ya would like to keep.

If you are all in 3rd level together and gonna spend a summer apart, then its simple really.

Just lose a bit of contact, and then you and the people you do wanna live with organise something early, or if there is an option to renew place your in at the minute, then you dont renew it. Let him commit to property first.

Then you find somewhere else, you need to make a decision for yourself, and not for the group of people you are talking to. Sometimes when you are torn between someone thats nice but hard to live with and your friends opinion, you need to decide yourself.

Maybe if you wanna keep all friends you should just go solo, and get some brand new housemates. Ya never know where it will take ya.

Best of luck with what you decide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭mojesius

Sorry, forgot to mention; We're in a house at the moment which lease is running out at the end of this month. We're only living together for the college year. We're going to be searching for houses for september over the summer.

He hasn't done anything blatantly prickish to us, he's just a general annoyance. Always complaining, a complete buzz killington, know it all, etc. - you know the type.

Oh, well than scrap what I said, just pretend you're going your separate ways and try avoiding him forever.

orourkeda wrote: »
    Rape him.

blast him with piss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭whiteboy

maybe it's you who's the problem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Originally Posted by admiralofthefleet viewpost.gif
    shite on his chest
    nkay1985 wrote: »
    I was going to say take a shite in his bed every time he leaves the house. Either or, really.

Best of both worlds. ****e on his chest while he's in bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Demeyes

If you're moving just get a place with less rooms and leave them out, if you plan on keeping that place then you'll have to tell them and they will not like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭whiteboy

just post all his personal information here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

tell him he is a nightmare to live with and give him a chance to change

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

PeakOutput wrote: »
    tell him he is a nightmare to live with and give him a chance to change

A chance to change would mean an extra year living with him...

Any more ideas? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

PHEW!!!!

Thought it was me there for a few minutes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

Tell him you're moving to Yemen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 PuccaPad

Personally I've been at the rough end of this sort of treatment back when I was in second year in college. We lived in college residence and were put together at random. I all thought we got along well enough, even if there was the odd incident, I thought that was part and parcel of living with new people. To be honest I'm not that bad to live with but like the OPs housemate, sometimes I can be perceived as a "Buzzkillington", which I never thought was fair but anyway.

Heres how I was dealt with. Summer came and on the last day we met up and said our goodbyes wishing everyone well with their results and their respective J1s. I mentioned that we might look for a house for the four of us come summertime, and that it was one of the lads 21sts at the end of the summer so I would be talking to them come end of August/september about the party and living together. The remark wasn't noticed or rather ignored and the conversation quickly changed to something else.

Come the end of summer I had heard nothing from them, so I sent around a few emails wondering if they were having any luck with housing. At this stage I knew the real picture. The party they had planned had come and gone and I hadn't been invited. Email came back saying they had found somewhere and there was no room for poor Pucca. Through various ways and means I knew this not to be true, however I played along. That summer there was a real shortage of accommodation and they were having great difficulty finding a place to live before the start of the semester. They only found a flat two days before the first class I believe. They were rather relieved that they wouldn't have to tell me the true story I believe. I knew the true story anyway.

I stopped counting them among my friends from that day they first lied to me. All the best anyway because two of them, did the exact same thing to the third flatmate the following year.

I would have been disappointed had they been truthful and said they didn't want me to live with them, I would have accepted it though, however I consider it cuntish behaviour to cut someone out like that. The best option is honesty even though I doubt your housemate will consider you much of a friend afterwards, if his only "flaw" is being a buzzkillington as you say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Tell him that yourself and the other room-mate(s) have strong feelings for each other and would like to move into a house kitted out with chains, manacles and a rack. Invite him too. The beauty of this simple plan is that it will be himself who refuses. Of course, it could backfire....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

How very bitchy of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Jeez Pucca, that's harsh.

OP do you want to even keep this guy as your friend? Sounds like you don't like him at all so why not just be honest with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Doop

Play out the scenairo from this thread & id say he'll move of his own accord

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055359719

Sorry I know this was quoted in an earlier thread today... (first time I read it) but its fookin brilliant!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭generalmiaow

PuccaPad wrote: »
    Personally I've been at the rough end of this sort of treatment back when I was in second year in college. We lived in college residence and were put together at random. I all thought we got along well enough, even if there was the odd incident, I thought that was part and parcel of living with new people. To be honest I'm not that bad to live with but like the OPs housemate, sometimes I can be perceived as a "Buzzkillington".

This thread was great until your post, Mr Killington.

Kidding; actually I know your sort of story and I've been or friends have been at either end of this treatment. Actually sometimes you just can't be friends with the people you live with or live with your friends, there's a whole extra set of pressures and they can make you do things like write passive agressive notes or talk behind people's backs even if you love the person. You probably just ended up with the wrong people and don't let an experience like that harsh your buzz.

OP it's not easy doing this either way so there's little point in looking for an easy or clean way to do it. Just tell them you want to try experiencing living with a different set of people which is both true and doesn't sound that bad. If you want to stay friends it will depend more on whether you actually stay in touch than on what terms you leave. I am great friends with some of my ex housemates where we left on dodgy terms and barely know some of my favourite ex housemates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Just tell him that you guys have found, or someone has told you about a (Insert number of bedrooms not including him here) place that’s available for next year and that the place is too good to pass up.

It would be even better if you actually have found one.

But don’t leave it to the last minute as the guy hasn’t done anything bad to you and it can be hard to find a place on your own.

There’s no real way of doing it with out him felling a bit ****ty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Sorry, forgot to mention; We're in a house at the moment which lease is running out at the end of this month.

IT IS the end of the month. Way to man up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

PuccaPad wrote: »
    To be honest I'm not that bad to live with but like the OPs housemate, sometimes I can be perceived as a "Buzzkillington", which I never thought was fair but anyway.

What is it you do that makes people perceive you that way anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭jjjade

hey there

i completely understand that you cant make someone like you or want to live with you. but to the OP just be honest with the person even if you have to bend the truth to save feelings being hurt or ego being broken. you are living out on your own so be grown up about this. if you lot dont want to live with the person just let him know and then every1 can go there seperate ways.

i was in a house share and unfortunatly the two house mates didnt like me. which is fair enough, but they were real cows about it. they were are sweet as cake to my face and behind my back really bitchy about me. i walked into the house a couple of times without being heard and heard them having a full conversation about me in a not so nice way. i was really hurt as i havent had problems with tenants before and now i have no problems with my current tenants. with my current house mates who are a couple, she is very direct with me and its good as i no at least i no where i stand and we get on really well for it.

im 24 and one of the girls were hitting their 30s (which i got on really well with and considered a really good friend to me) and i had lived with her for a year before the new girl came to the house. but i always new something was not right with me and them, OP your housemate probably knows something is up and is in denal over this which is why they might be proposing another year of house live to hint at maybe were he stands with you? i could be wrong just speaking from experience.

my housemates didnt like me which does happen in houseshares, but i would of liked to be told instead of feeling like an intruder in my own home and thing was i was there first lol. i was the one they came to to sort out things like maintenance with landlord, getting the new girl on the lease, changing names on bills on top of everything that was in the appartment was mine for them to us like plates, cups, clothes horse that sort of stuff. it was actually funny as i was going to the landlord to organise my deposit been given back before my months notice was up and one of them was asking me 'oh can you ask about us if we get no1 into your room' i was like really you cant be that stupid why would i ask about something that doesnt concern me lazy, thing was she shot me the look of death when i told her im only sorting out my ass as at the end of the month you ass doesnt concern me. Also i loved leaving and there wasnt anythin in the house for them to us and god love one girl (who personally i think hasnt bought anythin for herself in years) had to fork out for the stuff i took with me..... most of it went into a skip lol. i dont like being a bitch but people being overly mean about a situation really brings out the worst in people

my advise is to OP you seem like an decent person, just be really cool about the situation, your rejecting this guy his ego is going to be hurt but in the long run he will respect you lot for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

"Have some fun while your at it" i'd say your just a great friend aren't ya?...Answer here is simple no need to loose a mate or be a ****. Just tell him what your issues are and say it's best if you's looked for seperate places and stay mates. No need for dramatics I've had this with friends before and it's been fine no big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭jjjade

Irishcrx wrote: »
    "Have some fun while your at it" i'd say your just a great friend aren't ya?...Answer here is simple no need to loose a mate or be a ****. Just tell him what your issues are and say it's best if you's looked for seperate places and stay mates. No need for dramatics I've had this with friends before and it's been fine no big deal.

i completely agree with you :D were all adults in a house share... kinda ...... lol just be honest with him he will respect you more for it

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

shite on his chest

A lad I know got €2000 for laying there and taking that! Thats when you lose any remaining respect for that person! If that was me, I'd have a few pints and an Indian Curry first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 PuccaPad

--LOS-- wrote: »
    Jeez Pucca, that's harsh.

I'd be lying in saying I was happy about it at the time. Although I knew something wasn't quite right, I didn't think they would leave me out in the cold. However its their lives too and they're perfectly entitled to not want me to be part if it if they so choose. As I said a bit of honesty and more tact would have been nice. I never did anything bad to them I let them use my stuff and lent them small amounts of cash when they were stuck (always paid me back btw... except for the last time. I'll take that €20 on the chin and put it down to experience)
    This thread was great until your post, Mr Killington.

Kidding; actually I know your sort of story and I've been or friends have been at either end of this treatment. Actually sometimes you just can't be friends with the people you live with or live with your friends, there's a whole extra set of pressures and they can make you do things like write passive agressive notes or talk behind people's backs even if you love the person. You probably just ended up with the wrong people and don't let an experience like that harsh your buzz.

There was no note writing but I was aware of chatter going on behind my back. It was things like that that helped me discover my real friends. Our house had some friends over, but none of them were aware I was in at the time. Walls being paper thin and all the discussion in the kitchen turns on me. One of the lads living there has a good go about me while the friend that had called over (she was mates of everyone in the house) had my back and defended me and called him up and said he was being unfair. I will never forget it or her for doing it.
    Sisko wrote: »
    What is it you do that makes people perceive you that way anyway?
    Sometimes I can be quite shy, and this can manifest its self in me being "seen but not heard". I wasn't a big drinker and would always sit out of drinking games. I was also underage at the start of the year, so when they were going out and bonding I had to sit in, which left me somewhat alienated. Some people also just take a dislike to me, others have said I try too hard and few more have told me I am very condescending. I don't accept the latter though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

A couple of people don't want to share a house with him. He's not being diagnosed with cancer or something. Man up and just tell him it isn't working out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

just tell him he is a pain in the butt
    give him honest reasons

or get a house that will only have enough room for the rest of ye