Goverment inraged about speech that was not delivered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

So the OP spelt something wrong, get over it...

Thanks, I am not too good at spelling. Never said I was either too the people taking the piss, and the cought medicine got to my head too.

Just wanted to say that little piece. Yiz, Grammer nazi bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Stupid bogger Garda, paid spectacuarly well by the state to catch criminals not pontificate about Fianna Fail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Fianna Fáil = Criminals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

mike65 wrote: »
    Stupid bogger Garda, paid spectacuarly well by the state to catch criminals not pontificate about Fianna Fail

- So we are not allowed to strike,
    - we are not allowed to go about our personal lives without fear of investigation from GSOC,
    - we are not allowed to have bad debts

and now

- we are not allowed to have an opinion

we do live in a democracy dont we?

is there anything in that statement which you consider untrue?

No! Why do the cops think they have some special place to sound off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

TheNog wrote: »
    - So we are not allowed to strike,
    - we are not allowed to go about our personal lives without fear of investigation from GSOC,
    - we are not allowed to have bad debts

and now

- we are not allowed to have an opinion

we do live in a democracy dont we?

is there anything in that statement which you consider untrue?

You were allowed to tell the govt what was and wasn't going to be allowed in the GFA.

You were allowed to go on pseudo strike.

We live in a democracy alright but we live in one where thing's like the right of assembly and the right to silence among others civil liberties have been taken away from people for the benefit of the gardai. If you want to start bleating about democracy it's a bit bleedin' late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

"THEY CAME FIRST for the Communists,
    and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a Communist.

THEN THEY CAME for the Jews,
    and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a Jew.

THEN THEY CAME for the trade unionists,
    and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a trade unionist.

THEN THEY CAME for me
    and by that time no one was left to speak up."

mikom, if you think we live in Nazi Germany then you should get out more! (Godwins Law rule to be invoked, anyone?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

Shouldn't everybody have a place to air their concerns, regardless of who they are employed by?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

So the OP spelt something wrong, get over it...

I'm still waiting for the day where I see someone point out the error and then actually contribute to the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,658 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

mikom, if you think we live in Nazi Germany then you should get out more! (Godwins Law rule to be invoked, anyone?)

no.

mikon made an appropriate analogy. deal with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

mikom, if you think we live in Nazi Germany then you should get out more!

mike65

?

No special place here, just the right to speak ones mind. If no one had that then boards.ie wouldnt exist.

Also you havent answered my other question. Is there anything in that speech which is untrue?
    Bambi wrote: »
    You were allowed to tell the govt what was and wasn't going to be allowed in the GFA.

Isnt every other union or representative body?

Why is it that people say "why do Gardai think they are special?" when at the same time we are told pretty much "to put up or shut up".

Are Gardai considered special in that we cannot have our rep body recognised as a union? Why cant we have a our say?

Smacks of censorship to me tbh.
    You were allowed to go on pseudo strike.

We didnt go on any pseudo strike. A withdrawal of goodwill by not using our own mobile phones alright during work or when off duty.
    We live in a democracy alright but we live in one where thing's like the right of assembly and the right to silence among others civil liberties have been taken away from people for the benefit of the gardai. If you want to start bleating about democracy it's a bit bleedin' late.

If you can show me one instance of the right to assembly or to right to silence being taken away for the benefit of Gardai then I will actually eat my cap when Im back in work. Trust me its quite dirty and needs washing :D

No special place here, just the right to speak ones mind. If no one had that then boards.ie wouldnt exist.

Also you havent answered my other question. Is there anything in that speech which is untrue?

The truth or otherwise is irrelevant, when you sign up to serve the state you serve the state. Keep the political rhetoric until after you've retired (I doubt the incoming GRA president is thinking too highly of Michael O’Boyce right now).

In countries where the police start getting political its usually a good idea to buy a crash hat.

The truth or otherwise is irrelevant, when you sign up to serve the state you serve the state. Keep the political rhetoric until after you've retired (I doubt the incoming GRA president is thinking too highly of Michael O’Boyce right now).

In countries where the police start getting political its usually a good idea to buy a crash hat.

as another poster said, you serve the state, not whatever party is in charge for the time being! there's nothing wrong with voicing concerns about inept politicians as long as there's no garda strike or anything... and since when is the truth irrelevant!? :eek:

In other EU countries none of them have cut the pay of any of their ES. During the UK recession in the Thatcher era she actually had the foresight to increase the wage of the Police Forces there before any of the riots took place.

You said:
    when you sign up to serve the state you serve the state

at what cost? If the government told me they are going to pay me in partial with food stamps. Am I supposed to put up or shut up?

Its a ridiculous arguement you are making.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

msg11 wrote: »
    Thanks, I am not too good at spelling. Never said I was either too the people taking the piss, and the cought medicine got to my head too.

Just wanted to say that little piece. Yiz, Grammer nazi bastards.

Sweet jeebus!!

What the fcuck have we got here?

Lad makes a show of himself and then puts the boot in?

Tsk tsk tsk tsk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

biko wrote: »
    Wow, I like the Garda a bit more now.
    Agree, they should arrest the government for robbing us blind with pensions while still working and expensive expenses and god know what else is lurking under the covers that we cannot see.

at what cost? If the government told me they are going to pay me in partial with food stamps. Am I supposed to put up or shut up?

Its a ridiculous arguement you are making.

If I play along with your foolish notion of paying with food stamps, you quit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Maybe the guards will do the decent thing now and stop driving these c**ts around everywhere.
    More precisely, go on a go slow drive, so the politicians will not legally robs us as bad as they are now with extravagant expenses without receipts and justification for their trips (not a holiday binge on tax payers money).

Hey just playing foolish notion against another one.

If you are a cop I'd be worried

do you understand what an analogy is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Mike65,

I am going to assume you are employed. (although your post count would infer otherwise)

You have the right to join a union.
    You have the right to strike.
    You have the right to work a second job.
    You have the right to join a political party.
    You have the right to protest against the government.
    You have the right to fall in to debt.

Gardai do not have these rights and yet they are being targeted for numerous cutbacks against which they cannot defend in the same way as you or I. Do you really and truly believe this to be fair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

We didnt go on any pseudo strike. A withdrawal of goodwill by not using our own mobile phones alright during work or when off duty.

If you can show me one instance of the right to assembly or to right to silence being taken away for the benefit of Gardai then I will actually eat my cap when Im back in work. Trust me its quite dirty and needs washing :D

Oh but you did go on pseudo strike on the day of the blue flu and the death by a thousand cuts inflicted on civil liberties in this country is because we were told the gardai couldnt do their job's without it. Are you saying it doesnt benefit you lot to have a senior copper show up in a court and convict someone on his word alone? Did'nt hear any gardai piping up about democracy or being allowed to have opinions back then.

Your top brass have been in an incestuous relationship with our glorious leaders for a long time..to your benefit and everyone else's detriment. Don't come moaning to us now because yis were finally shafted by your old cronies.

Mike65,

I am going to assume you are employed. (although your post count would infer otherwise)

You have the right to join a union.
    You have the right to strike.
    You have the right to work a second job.
    You have the right to join a political party.
    You have the right to protest against the government.
    You have the right to fall in to debt.

Gardai do not have these rights and yet they are being targeted for numerous cutbacks against which they cannot defend in the same way as you or I. Do you really and truly believe this to be fair?

Sure I do

They know all that before they join.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Sweet jeebus!!

What the fcuck have we got here?

Lad makes a show of himself and then puts the boot in?

Tsk tsk tsk tsk.

Sure I might aswell, I am hardly going to shut up because I can't spell. It's just pure rude to take the piss about spelling, it has been said to me a million times before and I am not ashamed about it either and don't deny it.

I would be sure there are plenty of things you can't do that I can, except I keep myself to myself and say nothing. If you get my point or can understand my point.

I would also regard it as more than 5 times in one topic as abusive and I actully finds it turns me away from posting or starting threads in the past. I couldnt give two ****es what anybody thinks about my spelling. I come on here for the crack and enjoyment, not as a bloody English lesson or test.

So the next time you go to take the piss out of someone who can't spell think about maybe the person I am taking the piss might have started 1000's of good threads. Sadly because of a minorty of posters that take the piss alot of threads never make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

I actully finds it turns me away from posting or starting threads in the past.

Try Google Chrome, built in spell check.

Sure I might aswell, I am hardly going to shut up because I can't spell. It's just pure rude to take the piss about spelling, it has been said to me a million times before and I am not ashamed about it either and don't deny it.

I would be sure there are plenty of things you can't do that I can, except I keep myself to myself and say nothing. If you get my point or can understand my point.

I would also regard it as more than 5 times in one topic as abusive and I actully finds it turns me away from posting or starting threads in the past. I couldnt give two ****es what anybody thinks about my spelling. I come on here for the crack and enjoyment, not as a bloody English lesson or test.

So the next time you go to take the piss out of someone who can't spell think about maybe the person I am taking the piss might have started 1000's of good threads. Sadly because of a minorty of posters that take the piss alot of threads never make it.

For a guy who doesn't care you are making a fairly big deal about it.

My problem, apart from trying not to drag this thread off topic, is your abuse of people who pull you up on it.

No need for that 'grammar nazi bastrds' comment pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

Why is it that people say "why do Gardai think they are special?" when at the same time we are told pretty much "to put up or shut up".

Are Gardai considered special in that we cannot have our rep body recognised as a union? Why cant we have a our say?

I tend to agree with you. I don't know where I stand on this one really. The country's screwed, as you'll hear every caller on Joe Duffy say every day in a different way. Private sector workers, including my family, are loosing their jobs and getting compulsory pay cuts. Public sector workers are on a work to rule because they are heavily unionised and they refuse to accept pay cuts. (Let's not get into that argument here). Whether you blame the unions or not, the blame for all of this recession in the end goes back to bad governance. People are angry. Should the Garda silence their anger in this situation? No. Should they be able to be disgruntled in an official capacity? I'm not sure.

And as for the OP saying the govt. is enraged about this non-speech, it was one TD who expressed annoyance. Just as one swallow doesn't make a summer, one TD doesn't make a government.