Nicknamed characters in your area

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Walking down the mainstreet of the girlfriends home town....

An old man says hello to her, she reciprocates

I ask..."who's that?"

She replies..."that's Jonny Apple"

So as you do I ask..."why is he called jonny apple?"

She answers..."cuz he owns the fruit shop...duh! " :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Kormeera X

Eyebrows- this fella that i know has mad eyebrows they are very long and
    bushy blonde yokes.

Hurricaine Bridie- Dont get me started on this yoke! Seriousely!

Darren- A fella in my year, his name is Aaron, we just call him that cause we know it will drive him crazy!

Chucky- an engineering teacher, he is hiierous, we call him chucky after the doll cause he has carrott red hair!!!

Criminal Jay Jay- his court has been ajourned again-until tomorrow morning!

Batch- a head like a loaf of batch bread!

brittle bones- breaks everything, usually every one-two months!

Foxy boii- Last name is Fox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Twinkle-Toes: woman who walks in a very funny, pronounced fashion

The Exorcist: bloke who sits in the pub and drinks whiskey all day (there's not a man alive can move spirits like him)

Rusty: Red-headed bloke who lives near the town I live; absolute legend too. Insults everyone and their families... but gets away with it.

Robo-cop/Psycho-cop/Sonny Crockett: any of the local members of the Gardaí

Tricky: another local legend.

Bosco: no idea how this chap got this nickname, cos he looks nothing like the puppet of the same name.

Peg/Donkey: local pain in the hole who I despise the sight/sound/smell of. Annoys the living hell out of everyone and is a mouthy git to boot.

Nobby: again, no idea where this nickname originated from, and I'm not sure I want to know

Eircom John (formerly 'Telecom John'): called John and he works for Eircom (worked for Telecom Eireann for years before that)

The Babby: again, unsure where this one originated from.

Froggy: not sure again.

Tuppence: so-called because when he was younger he was very small (as small as tuppence!); often shortened now to "Tupp"

The Vicar: a real gentleman, like a vicar, and also his surname is Vickers, so kinda sounds like vicar too

The N***er: so called because of his incredibly dark skin

Oxo: Was nicknamed the Ox at one time; since morphed into the name of a brand of gravy

Indiana Joneses: collective nickname for the chaps who own the Indian takeaway

The Turbanator: local chap who is incredibly intense and also wears a turban around the place (stolen from 'Only Fools and Horses')

The Boss: my late grandfather was gifted this monicker... So cool...

Young Boss: for some reason, I, not my father, have been given this monicker... I like it!:D

then of course the kinda generic nicknames: Lynchie, Colo, Doyler, Duffer, Clarkey, Heffo, Neilly, Philly, Owensy, Pony, Baz, Gav, Daz, Jimbo, Bladeser etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

We don't have many round here, the only ones I can think of are:

Crazy Running Man (is never seen not running, and always wearing the same hat and sunglasses....known throughout Birmingham; there's even a facebook group for him)

and

Santa Tramp (a fat old grey-haired/bearded homeless man who used to sleep outside Iceland)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭seedubya

bok-bok - he was always scared
    Tailor - cos he said "So?" all the time
    Click-a-Chick - something to do with women but can't remember what
    Mail Hairy - beardy postman
    Shooter - local flasher
    Son - his father was never heard to refer to him by his first name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭merengueca

The Wheelchair Athlete - Guy at work with the torso/biceps of a body builder and the legs of an 11 year old.

Baby Powers - Guy's Uncle was known as Whiskey so he became 'Baby Powers'.

Hollywood - Extremly vain guy.

The Tumor - So far up his boss' bum he's like a tumor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

brummytom wrote: »

Crazy Running Man (is never seen not running, and always wearing the same hat and sunglasses....known throughout Birmingham; there's even a facebook group for him)

and

Santa Tramp (a fat old grey-haired/bearded homeless man who used to sleep outside Iceland)

Does the old man with the long hair who used to sit on New Street playing the guitar and singing have a nickname? Actually come to think of it I havent seem him there on my last few visits to Birmingham. Perhaps he's kicked the bucket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭hacx

"n****r" - A guy who spent a bit too long in the tanning bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

When we were kids there was lot of new houses being built in our area.

There was a foreman on one of the building sites called " the gotchy ". He used to chase all the kids off the site and shout " I've gotchy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Bagmagnet

Master Of Smells - A man who smells so bad that he is considered to be the source and controller of all the worlds smells.

The Furpoos - A family of hideous beasts that used to own a small shop. They are all obese, hairy and highly uneducated. They used to handle all the sweets with bare, furry, ****ty hands.

Celebrity Stalker 2.0 - A silent, mysterious man who walks around the town and sits in the same corner of the pub every night of the week. He looks like he stalks celebrities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Back home:

Breadman - Friend of mine who's father used to deliver Bread :pac:

Tom The Hat - Regular in the local who always wears an assortment of hats

Joe Bike - Odd guy who just cycles everywhere at all hours of the night

Suzi Suds - A rough-around-the edges woman.

Bones - Mate of mine, though I've no idea why he's called that! :confused:

Nig-Nog - Another mate who we always rip on for being insanely hairy and dark-skinned (He's not black and he does lap it up. On the web he calls himself that :pac:)

Robocop - One particular, relentless Garda.

Poison Dwarf - A tiny mate of mine who's as rough as a bear's arse. Name suits him to the ground!

Kojack - Another regular friend in the local, he rips on me for my hair and I rip on him for going bald :pac:

Ginga' - One of the lads we class as a ginger though it's probably more strawberry blonde.

Fatboy - Skinny mate who looks japanese despite not having a grain of oriental in his family.

Clit - A mate who once complained how everyone had a nickname except him, so right there on the spot somebody just said "clit", we laughed and made it stick cuz he didn't like it :pac:

Pleb - Dopey but legendary mate, you could write a book on the quotes and ideas that come out of this guy's mouth. He once came up for an idea for a console game - It would be like Modern Warfare 2 where you have to save Rooney in Russia, bring him back to England and then win the Premiership with him :P He was also flummuxed at how nobody ever "invented a jump-through proof window!"

Casper - Mate who has incredibly pasty white skin, we got a better name for him in the end and just called him Muzzla.

Mario - The Italian who runs the chip-shop, that is his actual name but we can't dismiss the obvious Mario Bros. references.

Mad Dog - Absolutley harmless guy, we call him that as he seems to believe he's some sort of wild guy.

Thomas The Tank Engine - Mate who's name is Thomas and is a bottomless pit when it comes to drink. Insanely strong and has hands like shovels!

Citizen Keane - Cuz his last name is Keane :pac:

FondaCock - A local girl who liked her man meat.

Toe-neeee! - A pub regular named Tony who's from Dublin, so we say his name in that accent!

There's tons more, but I'm hungover! The lads once tried to change my name from Duggy to Gigabyte at one stage. Nearly fùcking worked, too! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

brummytom wrote: »

and

There's a guy who can be seen anywhere between Dalkey and Ballsbridge (in Dublin) who's kind of a combination of those two. He cycles non stop, never seen off the bike and looks like santa, has the big white beard.

I call him cycling santa. Not sure anyone else does mind. He has a dog too, which limps along behind him. Kinda sad really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Kormeera X wrote: »
    One person you forgot-BIGFOOT!!!! ha ha ha :D :pac: :pac: :D

oh yeah, him. thanks hun.

bigfoot - well the writing is on the tin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Head N' Shoulders - looks like he has no neck
    Brunch - very tall dude with red hair, pink skin and yellow acne
    The Melter - because he's an absolute head-wrecker
    Buckets - walks like he's carrying two pails of water
    Churns - girl with large mammaries
    Stretch - tall bloke
    The Dude - long haired chap that looks nothing like Jeffrey Lebowski
    Google - because he's a bloody know-all
    Timber-Prick - his surname is Woodcock
    Wally - coz he looks like 'Where's Wally'

There's loads more but that's all I can think of for now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭GirlatdRockShow

Johnny-forty-coats/Wellies - homeless lad. Got the name because he wears what looks to be 40 items of clothing on his upper body and always wears wellies. Allegedly he used be a dentist and his family were burned in a house fire. That's why he sleeps on the streets
    yep,
    theres also lads called:
    Bubbles-not sure why,could be something to do with hurling
    Pidgeon-because he used to be overweight and when he tried to take off his jacket,he looked like a pigeon flapping his wings, trying to get out of it.
    Glandular Fever-because he was known to give it to anyone who scored him...............not that i would know:(
    in college we have;
    evil moustache guy-because he has a really long mustache,half of it is bleached blonde and he looks evil.
    Smig the giant-big tall lad,has a goatee
    Indie guy-wears beanie hats,looks like he should be in a band.
    Girl with great skin and hair-self explanatory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

An honourary mention for Pighead as he's our local AH character.