Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nicknamed characters in your area

• 28-04-2010 1:25am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭

I presume everywhere has some

In mine there is (to name but a few) CatDog. He walks around aimlessly with a cat resting on his shoulders and a dog tied to his waist

Johnnygowalkabouts : you could see this dude anywhere in a 15 mile radius- he walks and when he's not walking he's waiting to walk some more. You could see him in 10 different locations throughout the day

Patfullofbull**** : Whatever you do, do not end up talking to this man. Seriously

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭KevinVonSpiel

Billy Bo//ocks: he's a pain in the.

Dirty Balls Dave: the hum off him is something else.

Dotty Dora: traces of acne from long ago.

I could go on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

no-knickers-elliott : she wears no knickers obv

the hairy backs - a whole family of these women

the mouth piece - self explanatory

the loop the loop - avoids the slightest obstacles (puddles, people) on the path

dead mother - :(

thankyooouuuah - works in the local shop

map of ireland - bad varicose veins on the legs

the stripper - he stripped and danced in the rain :)

spit on me dicky - shop owner said this to me.. (didn't know it was a reference to dicky rock at the time)

these are a collection of people all over the place, we moved n stuff.

brilliant thread mcgurk :D i'll be back with more hopefully

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

When I was growing up, there was a few in my area;

Hag Bag / Hango - an old woman who, in hindsight, we must've driven mental as we had drawn a goalpost in chalk on the side of her house & constantly played 'penos' against it. She only got the nickname coz she never gave back any of the footballs that went over her side wall.

Mr. Wheelie Dog - an old dude whose dog had his hind legs missing, which he replaced with the two wheels & axle off the back of a shopping trolley (the ones that oul grannies used to use) & a bit of twine. The dog was happy out, but the old boy had to lift the dogs wheels up every time he came to a kerb (much to our amusement).

Psycho Billy - one of the local Gardai who used to threaten us with jail if he walked by & heard anyone swearing, to which everyone replied, "F*ck off Psycho Billy, ye mad c*nt", before legging it.

Thems were the days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭gamgsam

Remember that fella in Kilkenny who had a fox trained to sit on his head? I hadn't heard of him and was driving through Thomastown when I first saw him, nearly died laughing...

I'd love to know what names the cats came up with for him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

gamgsam wrote: »
    Remember that fella in Kilkenny who had a fox trained to sit on his head? I hadn't heard of him and was driving through Thomastown when I first saw him, nearly died laughing...

I'd love to know what names the cats came up with for him!

Ahw!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Smelly Nelly - Her name is Nelly and she smells really bad, fairly self-explanatory really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

There is a hippy looking bloke who is always either wearing sandals or no footwear at all. He's called Mr Softley and as a child, I could never work out why he was called that. As it turned out, his name actually is Mick Softley. :o

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mick_Softley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Flipz4Rollz

Billy Bo//ocks: he's a pain in the.

Dirty Balls Dave: the hum off him is something else.

Dotty Dora: traces of acne from long ago.

I could go on.

Please don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

Pockets - Obvious, he never took those hand out of his pockets

The Scabs - A whole family lol a little like the burbs:D

Fatman with a golf club - Obvious, he once chased us with a golf club for stealing crab apples from a tree in a neighbours front garden, oh and he had a good beer gut on him.

No Cliams Bonus - a local police man who once nearly hit a frind of mine with his car and jumped out ranting about his "no claims bonus"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Gonzo - poor young fella had a horrible beak on him and looked like the character from The Muppets.

The Russian Spy - This lad was literally everywhere. Go to he football and he'd be there. Go to Spar and he'd be in the queue in front of you. And he actually was Russian.

The Washer Woman - Lived on a corner house right beside a main road yet had the highest washing line ever. Think tight rope in a circus height. Must've been about twelve foot high.

Slasher - Principal came over the school intercom one day to brief everyone on a wave of bike tyre slashings that had been going on. After the speech he then read outthe name of the quietest young fella in the class and asked him to come to the office. It was meant to be completely unrelated but the prinipal never broke stride so everyone assumed he was involved. We knew he wasn't but still gave him the nickname :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Xavi6 wrote: »

Slasher - Principal came over the school intercom one day to brief everyone on a wave of bike tyre slashings that had been going on. After the speech he then read outthe name of the quietest young fella in the class and asked him to come to the office. It was meant to be completely unrelated but the prinipal never broke stride so everyone assumed he was involved. We knew he wasn't but still gave him the nickname :D

Hey buddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Hey buddy

Pfft, you're just a cheap imitation.

Like Diet Coke you are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Crazy Pat.

Its origional.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Back in second year of college I lived with this Spanish guy. He had this Spanish friend that would call over sometimes and she was on a crutch. We could never remember her name (I think it was some incomprehensible spanish name) so we just called her crutchy.

In third year of college we lived with two dickheads. We nicknamed them dickhead 1 and dickhead 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

We had a dyslexic mate called Conor in college.
    We called him Ronoc.
    The knacker dwarf needs no elaboration...

We had a girl at scholl nicknamed Chucky and the return of the finger, whcih you could also figure out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Eldel

There's a mechanic I've heard of down the country who specialises in spray painting. They call him Midnight Mickey cos he returns your car when it's dark and makes off with the cash b4 u see the dodgy job in the morning.

Also in a pub in Dublin there's barmen in there, all brothers called Stress, Tension, and I believe that Pressure is coming up the ranks. Their actual names are lost in the mists of time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭BollickyBill

How's about D---- Twomey's nickname? Socket. Socket Twomey - geddit?
    Then there was Chew Tobacco, Rasher Donnelly, Bottles McKitterick, The Hedger, Huckleberry Flynn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

Oh I forgot Pinhead, an other local police man whos about 7' with a small head, hes still known as this to everyone I know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Warty Nora
    KD
    Radio John
    Anti Santa
    Flash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Hot Newsagents Girl
    Hot Off Licence Girl
    Hot Polish Girl from Tesco

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Funniest one I know from my area is a guy called Fringe. He has no fringe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭fikay

Shitty-hole Liz: she has a dirty bottom.
    Ten to Two: Poor chap is slightly gimpish and that's the time his feet tell.
    Mr. Popularity: What the local sergeant is known as as he's such an unbearable cunt who everybody hates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Funniest one I know from my area is a guy called Fringe. He has no fringe.

Jimmy the Hat (Any Karl Pilkington fans will know what I'm talkin about!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

One of my sisters knew a guy in Ballybrack whose brother was called "Hoover".

His family came home one afternoon to find him with his knob in the hoover, didn't know that's what one of those attachments was for.
    Anyways, it's a nickname that will follow him to his grave.
    And his brother couldn't wait to tell everyone he knew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

Side salad: Drug dealers sidekick.
    Jimmy Two Scoops: Always has 2 scoops.
    Steal-a-shirt: Stole a shirt one time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭hacx

At school, we have:

Horse - He looks like a horse
    Mouse - a very mousy carachter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

We had a local alco named Marcus who used to wander about the place, ranting. Me and a mate were once passing the church on the way home from school and we heard all this shouting. We walked in to see Marcus standing on the altar, yelling at the statue of Jesus. It was kinda surreal.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Three Colours Beard - one of the most popular hobos in Marseille, who has a magnificent beard in gold, silver and bronze shades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭AssaultedPeanut

Fathead....he has a fat head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Mikey the Pikey; I was at home last weekend and saw this guy driving down the street with a passenger holding a bit of rope out the side window. The rope was attached to a horse he was bringing for a walk.

Frankie the Bum; Just think of the spare change episode of South-Park, just with more shakes. Rumours abound of his supposed wealth from years of hoarding social welfare juxtaposed with his great desire for spare change. Has been known to chase a 10c coin down a hill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Pauleta wrote: »
    Hot Newsagents Girl
    Hot Off Licence Girl
    Hot Polish Girl from Tesco

Same person ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

Holy Joe - He's one of those people who is always involved with the church. He has a load of kids, some are adopted or fostered. He also looks like Jesus.

One of our teachers was nicknamed Splinter because she looked like Splinter from Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Camp - I think it started over him wearing a blue hoody once. Was a joke at the time but it's stuck now and his family probably call him it too.

RoboDrunk - totters around town at about .5mph carrying a 2l bottle of cider cradled in his arms like a baby.

Mental Denise - she's mental.

Skeletor - skinny lad.

Beardy twat - lad with a beard. He shaved it off and got renamed 'beardless twat'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Bucklesman

Two litre Peter -- has at least two litres of booze on his person at all times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Best one I ever heard was told by Stephen Fry on QI. He once met a guy called Heinz.... or so he thought. For years he thought the guys name was Heinz and he must be related to "the" Heinz family but it turned out he was once caught **** with a can of beans over his knob. Nobody knew his real name....

We've a surpluss of Johns down here (doesn't everybody), so everybody has to have a title :

The Bishop
    The Pope
    The Liar
    The Tool
    The Taxi
    The Mental
    The Business
    etc.

Unsurprisingly Johhny the Pope and Jonny the Mental is the same person...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

The Sniper - Some lad that joined the army for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Jimmy Two Times.
    Nickey Eyes.
    Frankie the Wop.
    Freddie No Nose.
    and Pete the Killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭LandoCalrissian

Munchy Bum

Always looks like his arse is trying to eat his trousers!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

lonad wrote: »
    Same person ?

Triplets ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Terry the Turnip- Likes He's Turnips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

biko wrote: »
    Warty Nora
    KD
    Radio John
    Anti Santa
    Flash

You're from my neck of the woods. I call him Black Santa though. :D

Also, honourable mention to Séamus, the knacker dwarf. (yes, that's his full title).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Jimmy 'Give Him A Ball And A Yard of Grass' McCarthy.

Huge Sultans of Ping fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭djdeclan

A few teachers from my old secondary school:

Pat the rat
    The weasel
    The badger
    Sherlock (for years I thought this was her actual second name)
    Tiny tears
    The hoke

And some other random ones:

Paddy the hoover (gave a girl an awful lovebite)
    Jetblack Joe (reference to hair dying)
    Farmboy (He comes from Tipp - but is not a farmer)
    The beast (has a hairy back)
    The wee beast (the beasts younger bro)
    The colgate kid (smiles a lot)
    Big Mac (overweight)
    Burgers (she likes burgers)
    The fifties (used to have a hair style that looked like something from the 1950s)
    Hawkeye (had a lazy eye)
    The beast (girl I lived with in college - complete lack of personal hygeine, no relation to the other beast)
    TJ (looked like his brother Tommy -> Tommy Junior -> TJ)
    Casper (was very pale)
    The Fish (his mouth moved like a fish when he talked)
    The leg (broke his leg when he was younger)
    Quincy (no idea why)
    Pat post (no idea)
    Jaw (self-explanatory!)
    Elbow (no idea)
    Willie white hole (again, no idea why)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

* all in a cork accent *

you know him alright, The Phantom
    you know him alright, The Professor
    you know him alright, Mr Wonderful
    you know him alright, Brown Bread
    you know him alright, The Doctor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭thalia_13

Jimmy the Nig

Dirty Melissa/The Toxic Avenger

Smelly Dingle

Titsy Quinn

the fairy man

My mind gone a bit blank will think of more later I am sure....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Domestos - He's twice as thick.

Thrush - He's an irritating cnut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Jimmy the pink and his arch enemy, Jimmy the red.

Also, the Onion,he dropped his pants once in front of a girl and she burst into tears.

Oh.. a guy in school who somehow managed to get a snooker cue lodged in his arse, from that day he was known as Chalkie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Jimmy the paedo - His name was James and he is a convicted child sex offender.

Hugely original

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

orourkeda wrote: »
    Jimmy the paedo - His name was James and he is a convicted child sex offender.

Hugely original

Reminds me of the time I had some German housemates and they nicknamed one of their friends "Jan the alcoholic". His name was Jan...

I know a chap called "The situation" :D