People banging on store doors after closing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

A bit of common sense and customer service goes a long way. People make mistakes, they mess up times, they get delayed. I mean if you spent 500 on a TV and 20 minutes they won't help you out, then they are cnuts and I would never go back. That's what happens when you get baffoons working in these places.

I have often let people into the shop after closing time, once our tills were not completely done or they were not needed, changing goods, seeking advice etc etc, then it's all good. Do what you can to give good customer service but at the same time, there is only so much you can do.

Worste place for customers hounding you after hours is a pub. Especially a local pub where everyone knows the barman but couldn't care less if he is up in 6 hours for college/work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I worked in an Xtra Vision during college and that wrecked my head. Idiots coming banging on the door at about 11:15 looking to get in and saying they'll only be a few minutes. Even when i'd tell them the computers are powered down and there's no cash left they'd still persist. I was pissed off enough about having to clean shít up for 15 minutes after closing that i wasn't paid for without giving a fúck which sequel to Harry Potter some clown wanted to watch on a Tuesday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I worked in an Xtra Vision during college and that wrecked my head. Idiots coming banging on the door at about 11:15 looking to get in and saying they'll only be a few minutes. Even when i'd tell them the computers are powered down and there's no cash left they'd still persist. I was pissed off enough about having to clean shít up for 15 minutes after closing that i wasn't paid for without giving a fúck which sequel to Harry Potter some clown wanted to watch on a Tuesday night.

Tuesday night, it would have to be Chamber of Secrets, du'h.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭Dublindude69

In our store we have pretty much everything done by ten. Most cases we are out the door by 10:02. Sometimes we stay a little bit longer to clean up if it was busy.
    We count our till at 9:50 and leave enough change for any customers that come in between then and closing. This way we can do our final drop as soon as the doors are locked and shut down the computers.

People coming bangng ten minutes after?

What sort of shop is it?

I think the likelihood of a situation whereby a person has rushed from work to make it to a shop in town maybe, electrics say, then make it just after closing, I think they've a right to feel a little hard done by when they need something essetially.

Never see them banging like but have seen them genuinely try explain to a member of staff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

What was worse (not sure if this happens too often these days) is when you stop a taxi, tell him/her your going to x/y/z and the driver says "Sorry bud, not going in that direction" :mad:

Like your light is 'for hire' ya bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

What was worse (not sure if this happens too often these days) is when you stop a taxi, tell him/her your going to x/y/z and the driver says "Sorry bud, not going in that direction" :mad:

Like your light is 'for hire' ya bastard.

I just get in, put my belt on and say my destination. They can't refuse a fare based on where you're going. Saying that, I would rather not be driven by an a$$hole, so if there were other taxi's around i'd leave him to it. Has never happened to me though.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Ah quit fecking moaning. A bit of extra work won't do you any harm.

you'd work for your boss for free then, would you?

Bear in mind someone coming in a couple of minutes after closing is not just a couple of minutes to the shop. It's rebalancing the tills, possibly going back to the safe. Loads of little things.

Working in retail does not make a person someone else's personal slave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

Most annoying I've ever experienced, and it's happened on a few occassions, is when cashing up a till. There's coins all over the counter, I'm halfway through counting and next thing some bitch plants stuff down on the counter and remarks "Am I going to server her or what?" because she has "Places to be".

I've waited five minutes past closing for you to buy your crap, surely you can give me ten seconds to finish counting the coins?

yup, everyone has to work in retail at least once.

The manager wasn't having any of it, they had locked up for the night and she replied 'If you thought more of your son, you wouldn't have waited until 6pm Christmas Eve to buy his presents'.

That manager was some bo**ocks. Lazy sod wouldn't open for a few more minutes to make some young lads Christmas.

Most people in almost every other job have to work past when they should from time to time and by a lot more than the 5 mins it would take to let someone pick up something from a shop. Lazy feckers, and dont get me started on people closing up early. Some of us have to get to a shop in the last few minutes as we cant just feck off early from our own job.

/thread fail tbh!!

That manager was some bo**ocks. Lazy sod wouldn't open for a few more minutes to make some young lads Christmas.

/thread fail tbh!!

Maybe someone shouldn't of waited until the last minute on Christmas Eve to buy their kids stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 sham what

it is really annoying when people do that. but it is really funny when people run up to the doors that are clearly shut and bash into them haha..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

or the people who come into the shop 5mins before closing and in that 5mins manage to wreck everything youve spent the last hour tidying :(:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,158 ✭✭✭✭Degag

What grinds my gears is when shops lock the doors 15 minutes before closing time.

That pisses me off too. My local Argos always do it. I went in one day for something at 4.45 and there was a guy on the door, i went in the door and he stopped me. He was letting all the people inside out, but not letting people in. I asked him what time they closed, he said 5.00. It was in big writing on the door too. I just looked at my watch, smirked at him and walked off.

Worste place for customers hounding you after hours is a pub. Especially a local pub where everyone knows the barman but couldn't care less if he is up in 6 hours for college/work.

Tell me about it, i often had to be up for college at 7.30 and people were still hounding me for more drink at 2am. Had to drive the cnuts home on top of it too!

Perhaps that b0llocks had kids of his own and wanted to get home to see him on Christmas Eve, one of the best days of the year for a parent, i'd imagine. It may seem bad, but who is worse, the manager or the guy who waited till xmas eve to buy his kid's presents. I know who the b0llocks is, i know who the lazy sod is, and i know who ruined a kids xmas, and it wasn't the manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I used to work in a toyshop, and every Christmas you'd get this. From plenty of junkies, yes, but plenty of it from my particular nemesis, The Spoiled Yummy Mummy, too. They'd leave their shopping until six o clock Christmas Eve and then scream the face off you for ruining their child's Christmas.

The shop is closed and our tills are closed. Opening them again would take half an hour, and closing them the same again. Furthermore, although the doors closed at 11am in the run up to Christmas, we'd actually be working until 1, 2 and 3am, to be in again the next morning at 8am.

It's not just "5 minutes" to us. We cannot open our tills again just for you without raising eyebrows in head office, either. People wilfully fail to understand any of this because it doesn't suit them. They'd rather stand outside the shop, screaming on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,535 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Most people in almost every other job have to work past when they should from time to time and by a lot more than the 5 mins it would take to let someone pick up something from a shop. Lazy feckers, and dont get me started on people closing up early. Some of us have to get to a shop in the last few minutes as we cant just feck off early from our own job.

/thread fail tbh!!

And perhaps that manager wanted to let her staff go home to their families on time on Christmas eve considering all the tills had been done and argos isn't like a regular shop, there's the whole picking stuff from a catalogue, paying at the till and getting someone to go and find it in the warehouse out the back, you can be sure that if she had let that guy in it would have been at least another hour before she got out because he would have decided to browse through the catalogue at his leisure. I think she was dead right, if he's only shopping for his kid's presents at 6pm on Christmas Eve when all the shops are shut, he doesn't think much of his kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

If that guy left buying his kids Santa presents til 6pm on Christmas eve, then he deserved not to be left into the shop!! Any normal parent would have them bought weeks (or at least days) before.

If he left buying a bag of brussels sprouts or something til the last minute, then fair enough, but the Santa presents are a lot more important then that. He should have been more organised.

It was the father of the child that ruined his own kid's Christmas, NOT the store manager's imo

Cousins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Degag wrote: »
    Cousins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭kingtut

Why do people do this? The hours are marked on the door, if you want something please come at opening hours, don't come 10 minutes after closing and start pounding on the door.

and don't shut the shop door 10 minutes before the closing time posted on the door! :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

I've noticed the opposite, sometimes I'll wander down to hmv or easons maybe 10 mintues before the closing time and there'll be some security goon on the door ushering everybody out and not letting you in even though the opening times are there beside him stuck up on the window, he'll blatantly disregard them so he and the staff can make it home 5 minutes earlier

donfers wrote: »
    I've noticed the opposite, sometimes I'll wander down to hmv or easons maybe 10 mintues before the closing time and there'll be some security goon on the door ushering everybody out and not letting you in even though the opening times are there beside him stuck up on the window, he'll blatantly disregard them so he and the staff can make it home 5 minutes earlier

wow would have said you copied what I just posted but it was at the same time! great minds think alike hey ;)

kingtut wrote: »
    and don't shut the shop door 10 minutes before the closing time posted on the door! :mad:
    I don't do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Oh yeah, soooo annoying when you work in retail!

"What do ya mean I can't come in? Sure it's just gone six now!"
    "Yes, and we close at six..."
    "But I need to buy a bag for tonight, to go with my outfit, I'll be two minutes."
    *pretends to think about it* "EHHHHHHHHHHHHH NO, BECAUSE WE ARE CLOSED, YOU IDIOT."
    :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

I've no problem with the doormen stopping people entering 5-10 minutes before the advertised closing times at all. It's common sense. Its the fault of twats that abused the system in the first place (came in at a minute to close and evaded staff and security for 15/20/25/30 minutes)

Anyone who is already in the shop can finish up and the staff can close the tills at the end of their shift. I've worked in retail and if the shop closes at 6 you get paid till 6. Then you spend 15 minutes counting the till ON YOUR OWN TIME. If you're lucky and the till balances then you can go. If not you're scrolling visually through a till roll 7 miles long and maybe having to check cctv and all that crap ALL ON YOUR OWN TIME.

Thats right UNPAID. So if some twat comes knocking on the shutter expecting you to let them in, reverse all your counting, open the till again and start allowing transactions then they are INSANE.

Why? Why would any staff member do this (Apart from the childs medication) People in shops work for money not charity and do not give a crap about some punters hard luck story.

Boo hoo all ye like. They don't care!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭poisonated

Ah sure people ya coud serve someone 2 minutes after 10.
    What annoys me the most is when places serving booze close the section before 10.

poisonated wrote: »
    Ah sure people ya coud serve someone 2 minutes after 10.
    What annoys me the most is when places serving booze close the section before 10.
    They probably do this due to it being illigal to sell after 10. If someone comes to the section at 9:57 and takes 5 minutes to get something they can not be served at all.

I don't do this.

Sorry wasn't trying to say you do :o (I just quoted your post as it was the start of this thread).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

niallon wrote: »

yup, everyone has to work in retail at least once.

That should be law,

To teach some of those annoying pricks who have no manners out there what it's like to work in a retail position.

When i have kids they will be taught to be nice to the shop staff and when old enough be made work in a shop to teach them that these are people too not slaves and to respect them as you would any one else.