Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People banging on store doors after closing

• 28-04-2010 5:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭

Why do people do this? The hours are marked on the door, if you want something please come at opening hours, don't come 10 minutes after closing and start pounding on the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Used to drive me nuts when I worked in a store. Morons would arrive at 10.02pm looking to buy fags. I'd say 'we're closed' 'But sure it's only 2 minutes past'. I mean, wtf does it matter how minutes past it is?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

The worst was when I was working in tesco. You'd have people coming in 1 minutes before you closed and they'd head straight for the trolley bay. It was fecking heart-breaking stuff. After a long day at work you just wanted to head home or to the pub for a quiet pint or two and you'd have these feckers tying you up for another 15-20 minutes. Everyone should be forced to work retail for a couple of months, maybe then people would learn to be a tad more considerate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Knock knock

Who's there?

Fcuk off.

Fcuk off who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭Dublindude69

I used to let people in who whould "Just be a minute" no more. To many bad experiences of a minute turning into 20, missing bus and having to wait another 40 minutes for the next to arrive.
    My friend works at an off licence and says it's a nightmare because they can not do any sales after 10 at all or there is serious trouble, no matter if it's 10.01 or 10:30. Yet people wonder around at 9.59 for ages then yell when they can't be served.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Slightly off-topic but continuing the service/retail theme. The other night there was an old biddy giving off stink at a fast food joint to a worker behind the counter saying she didn't want one of the pieces of chicken that had been laying a while. About 5 minutes this went on. You'd feel like turning round and saying 'listen you're not at the Hilton, if you want fresh, well prepared food, fcuk off out of here'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Money has value 24 hours a day, we're in a recession here!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Trashbat

If a light is on in the shops and there is someone there, and all you want if a packet of fags (i.i nothing that involves browsing) then i dont see the harm in checking. If you dont ask you don't get. Can't imagine why someone workingthere would take offence to that tbh.

I do agree that coming in after closing, or indeed, at five minutes to close and insisting on browsing for 30 minutes is rediculous. What gives these people a sense of entitlement is beyond me. The shop operates to its own schedule, not yours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

Trashbat wrote: »
    If a light is on in the shops and there is someone there, and all you want if a packet of fags (i.i nothing that involves browsing) then i dont see the harm in checking. If you dont ask you don't get. Can't imagine why someone workingthere would take offence to that tbh.

I do agree that coming in after closing, or indeed, at five minutes to close and insisting on browsing for 30 minutes is rediculous. What gives these people a sense of entitlement is beyond me. The shop operates to its own schedule, not yours!

do you have schizophrenia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

They will say they only want fags, but rarely they just want one thing, they say a single item to get inside. But usually they want more and it takes 5-10 minutes.

I worked in a Spar for years, 3-11 five nights a week, last thing i wanted was to be waiting another 5 minutes to allow some lazy fecker pick something up, they had all night to get to the shop. Also tills will be counted, while to the customer one item doesn't seem like much but it could mean the till needs to be rebalanced which wasn't something i was going to do.

And a note to all the shopper who come just are you are locking the front door or pulling down the shutter, there is no way in hell the shop is going to get reopened for anything. Everything is locked up, floats are put away and the alarm is on, no-one is going to undo all that just for your nicotine addiction.

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I agree with that. I am guilty of going to a shop with its shutters half down and asking can I quickly get something. Most of the time they say yes.
    Really, it is up to the retail staff to assert themselves and say the tills have shut down for the evening/ yes if it's only fags/ no if you are doing your weekly shopping etc.

M5 wrote: »

Aww, why you change? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

or at the other side of this situation....people banging on the door ten minutes before opening time

"are ye open yet?"

well is the shutter up yet you fcuking d!ckhead?

Yes, as somebody said everybody should be in a job for a bit where joe public thinks you are no better than a piece of dog sh!t on their shoe. Teach em to be more considerate.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Ah quit fecking moaning. A bit of extra work won't do you any harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

WindSock wrote: »
    Aww, why you change? :P

almost got away with it..... feckn dyslexia

Well it was creative, I'll tell you that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

I've been on both ends - working in retail and being very annoyed by it and also one night desperately needing medicine for a sick child I beat the **** out of the shutters at the chemists and begged to be let in. Fair play to them they did and I came back the following day to collect my change as the tills had already been cashed up.

My childs medicine though I would value a lot more than a pack of fags. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

also one night desperately needing medicine for a sick child I beat the **** out of the shutters at the chemists and begged to be let in.

They are obliged to do that as far as I know if there's still a pharmacist in the chemist (i.e. he/she hadn't already left). Might be handy to know if you are in that situation again. Not that anyone would deny somebody medicine for a sick child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

My mother used to work in Argos years ago and she said they were shutting the shop one Christmas Eve and some tool started banging on the doors demanding to be let in. The manager went outside to talk to him and he was shouting 'You have to let me in, I have to buy (Santa) presents for my son'. Of course he was screaming blue murder and the usual 'I'll report you to your superiors' tripe. The manager wasn't having any of it, they had locked up for the night and she replied 'If you thought more of your son, you wouldn't have waited until 6pm Christmas Eve to buy his presents'.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Do you not have emergency 24-hour pharmacies in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

What grinds my gears is when shops lock the doors 15 minutes before closing time.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Do you not have emergency 24-hour pharmacies in Ireland?
    Yeah, all along the quays in Dublin.

What grinds my gears is when shops lock the doors 15 minutes before closing time.

I once closed the doors 5 minutes before. We hadn't seen a customer for over an hour and the manager had done the same the week before. So I made the call and closed up. 2 mins before 9pm a woman comes to the door and throws a wobbler saying she has every right to come in because we shouldn't close til nine. I would have let her in but there was cash all over the desk. She eventually went away but complained the next day saying she was looking to spend €500, my manager offered her 30% off whatever she wanted and she bought 1 cheap ass item. When my manager tried to reprimand me I just told him I was following his example. He was a sh1te manager anyway. Didn't last too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Knock knock

Who's there?

Fcuk off.

Fcuk off who?

So they knocked on the door to tell you fcuk off?
    At least you didn't have to open up for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

My mother used to work in Argos years ago and she said they were shutting the shop one Christmas Eve and some tool started banging on the doors demanding to be let in. The manager went outside to talk to him and he was shouting 'You have to let me in, I have to buy (Santa) presents for my son'. Of course he was screaming blue murder and the usual 'I'll report you to your superiors' tripe. The manager wasn't having any of it, they had locked up for the night and she replied 'If you thought more of your son, you wouldn't have waited until 6pm Christmas Eve to buy his presents'.

Nice response :) Something like that happened to me too, on Christmas Eve a few years ago. I was working in a supermarket, it was ten or fifteen minutes after closing time, the shutters were down, tills emptied, the lights on the shop floor were off (foyer, offices etc where people were still finishing up were still lit), and myself and a few other staff members were waiting outside for our lifts home. This guy comes up and pleads for five minutes to be let in to buy one thing he absolutely needs for the Christmas dinner. He wasn't drunk or anything, and could see the place was completely shut down, what did he really expect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭Jasonw

I was working away a couple of years ago. just moved into a flat and went to a large electrical retailers to buy a tv. Got home and realised I didn't have the correct cable. Rushed over to the shop at 1 min past closing and the same sales rep who 20 mins previously had me spend £500 on a new telly refused to let me change it. (the cable that is - not the telly)

Never spent a penny in there since. I do go in occasionally have the sales rep explain everything about some product I may have my eye on and then buy it elsewhere.

I'm a petty, petty man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Trashbat

Who, Me? or the other fella?

Seriously though, as i said in my post:

- asking for one specific item that doesnt even involve you entering the shop, like a packet of fags, is fine (Provided you accept things if they say no, going mental and whining that you only want one thing is not cool)

- Browsing after closing time is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

QUOTE]

its a bit more of a pain especially if the til has been done.. then theres not a hope in hell of serving latecomers imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

i work in a cafe and we close at 10. about half ten, myself and another waitress were closing up - that is the door had been locked half an hour, the floors had been hoovered, the til had been done, all the cleaning, stocking ect had been done and i was just mopping the floor. i had the front door opened to help the floor dry, and all the tables and chairs were pulled out into the middle of the floor. basically.. it was very very obvious we were closed. This group of 7 looked in the door and i shouted out "sorry were closed", but they ignored me, walked over my clean floor, squeesed in past the clutter of tables and asked the other waitress for menus. She explained that we were closed but we open at 10 the next morning.. their respose "but there's 7 of us". ...idiots!:rolleyes:
    i seriously felt like shouting at them that iv been on an all day shift, im wrecked and in a rush home as i've more to my life than work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I've worked in retail and have experienced the irritating customers demanding they "have a right to come in" - sorry, the only right you have is the right to f*ck off and stop annoying me.

So these days if I get to a shop's door and they're closed or a person in the shop tells me "sorry we're closed" I'm cool with it. This is the way things go.

However I remember once, many moons ago, walking into a small petrol station shop to get a litre of milk at about 5 to eleven. The young lad behind the counter watched me come in, let me walk to the fridge get the milk and go to the counter before telling me they were closed. The till wasn't even done yet but he wouldn't let me buy one item. Now that's irritating. I left the money on the counter, told him to get someone to ring it up in the morning and walked out with the milk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

A bit of common sense and customer service goes a long way. People make mistakes, they mess up times, they get delayed. I mean if you spent 500 on a TV and 20 minutes they won't help you out, then they are cnuts and I would never go back. That's what happens when you get baffoons working in these places.

I have often let people into the shop after closing time, once our tills were not completely done or they were not needed, changing goods, seeking advice etc etc, then it's all good. Do what you can to give good customer service but at the same time, there is only so much you can do.

Worste place for customers hounding you after hours is a pub. Especially a local pub where everyone knows the barman but couldn't care less if he is up in 6 hours for college/work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I worked in an Xtra Vision during college and that wrecked my head. Idiots coming banging on the door at about 11:15 looking to get in and saying they'll only be a few minutes. Even when i'd tell them the computers are powered down and there's no cash left they'd still persist. I was pissed off enough about having to clean shít up for 15 minutes after closing that i wasn't paid for without giving a fúck which sequel to Harry Potter some clown wanted to watch on a Tuesday night.

Tuesday night, it would have to be Chamber of Secrets, du'h.

In our store we have pretty much everything done by ten. Most cases we are out the door by 10:02. Sometimes we stay a little bit longer to clean up if it was busy.
    We count our till at 9:50 and leave enough change for any customers that come in between then and closing. This way we can do our final drop as soon as the doors are locked and shut down the computers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

People coming bangng ten minutes after?

What sort of shop is it?

I think the likelihood of a situation whereby a person has rushed from work to make it to a shop in town maybe, electrics say, then make it just after closing, I think they've a right to feel a little hard done by when they need something essetially.

Never see them banging like but have seen them genuinely try explain to a member of staff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

What was worse (not sure if this happens too often these days) is when you stop a taxi, tell him/her your going to x/y/z and the driver says "Sorry bud, not going in that direction" :mad:

Like your light is 'for hire' ya bastard.

What was worse (not sure if this happens too often these days) is when you stop a taxi, tell him/her your going to x/y/z and the driver says "Sorry bud, not going in that direction" :mad:

Like your light is 'for hire' ya bastard.

I just get in, put my belt on and say my destination. They can't refuse a fare based on where you're going. Saying that, I would rather not be driven by an a$$hole, so if there were other taxi's around i'd leave him to it. Has never happened to me though.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Ah quit fecking moaning. A bit of extra work won't do you any harm.

you'd work for your boss for free then, would you?

Bear in mind someone coming in a couple of minutes after closing is not just a couple of minutes to the shop. It's rebalancing the tills, possibly going back to the safe. Loads of little things.

Working in retail does not make a person someone else's personal slave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

Most annoying I've ever experienced, and it's happened on a few occassions, is when cashing up a till. There's coins all over the counter, I'm halfway through counting and next thing some bitch plants stuff down on the counter and remarks "Am I going to server her or what?" because she has "Places to be".

I've waited five minutes past closing for you to buy your crap, surely you can give me ten seconds to finish counting the coins?

yup, everyone has to work in retail at least once.

The manager wasn't having any of it, they had locked up for the night and she replied 'If you thought more of your son, you wouldn't have waited until 6pm Christmas Eve to buy his presents'.

That manager was some bo**ocks. Lazy sod wouldn't open for a few more minutes to make some young lads Christmas.

Most people in almost every other job have to work past when they should from time to time and by a lot more than the 5 mins it would take to let someone pick up something from a shop. Lazy feckers, and dont get me started on people closing up early. Some of us have to get to a shop in the last few minutes as we cant just feck off early from our own job.

/thread fail tbh!!

That manager was some bo**ocks. Lazy sod wouldn't open for a few more minutes to make some young lads Christmas.

/thread fail tbh!!

Maybe someone shouldn't of waited until the last minute on Christmas Eve to buy their kids stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 sham what

it is really annoying when people do that. but it is really funny when people run up to the doors that are clearly shut and bash into them haha..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

or the people who come into the shop 5mins before closing and in that 5mins manage to wreck everything youve spent the last hour tidying :(:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

That pisses me off too. My local Argos always do it. I went in one day for something at 4.45 and there was a guy on the door, i went in the door and he stopped me. He was letting all the people inside out, but not letting people in. I asked him what time they closed, he said 5.00. It was in big writing on the door too. I just looked at my watch, smirked at him and walked off.

Worste place for customers hounding you after hours is a pub. Especially a local pub where everyone knows the barman but couldn't care less if he is up in 6 hours for college/work.

Tell me about it, i often had to be up for college at 7.30 and people were still hounding me for more drink at 2am. Had to drive the cnuts home on top of it too!

Perhaps that b0llocks had kids of his own and wanted to get home to see him on Christmas Eve, one of the best days of the year for a parent, i'd imagine. It may seem bad, but who is worse, the manager or the guy who waited till xmas eve to buy his kid's presents. I know who the b0llocks is, i know who the lazy sod is, and i know who ruined a kids xmas, and it wasn't the manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I used to work in a toyshop, and every Christmas you'd get this. From plenty of junkies, yes, but plenty of it from my particular nemesis, The Spoiled Yummy Mummy, too. They'd leave their shopping until six o clock Christmas Eve and then scream the face off you for ruining their child's Christmas.

The shop is closed and our tills are closed. Opening them again would take half an hour, and closing them the same again. Furthermore, although the doors closed at 11am in the run up to Christmas, we'd actually be working until 1, 2 and 3am, to be in again the next morning at 8am.

It's not just "5 minutes" to us. We cannot open our tills again just for you without raising eyebrows in head office, either. People wilfully fail to understand any of this because it doesn't suit them. They'd rather stand outside the shop, screaming on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Most people in almost every other job have to work past when they should from time to time and by a lot more than the 5 mins it would take to let someone pick up something from a shop. Lazy feckers, and dont get me started on people closing up early. Some of us have to get to a shop in the last few minutes as we cant just feck off early from our own job.

/thread fail tbh!!

And perhaps that manager wanted to let her staff go home to their families on time on Christmas eve considering all the tills had been done and argos isn't like a regular shop, there's the whole picking stuff from a catalogue, paying at the till and getting someone to go and find it in the warehouse out the back, you can be sure that if she had let that guy in it would have been at least another hour before she got out because he would have decided to browse through the catalogue at his leisure. I think she was dead right, if he's only shopping for his kid's presents at 6pm on Christmas Eve when all the shops are shut, he doesn't think much of his kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

If that guy left buying his kids Santa presents til 6pm on Christmas eve, then he deserved not to be left into the shop!! Any normal parent would have them bought weeks (or at least days) before.

If he left buying a bag of brussels sprouts or something til the last minute, then fair enough, but the Santa presents are a lot more important then that. He should have been more organised.

It was the father of the child that ruined his own kid's Christmas, NOT the store manager's imo

Cousins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Degag wrote: »
    Cousins?