Vegetarian problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

yerayeah wrote: »
    Why, oh why would you not eat meat?:eek: Genuinely, any vegetarians here, why?

Once this year, I was getting dinner in the canteen and asked for vol-au-vonts thinking they were chicken and mushroom. They were only mushroom. I still regret not just getting the roast beef.

Well I wouldn't called myself a vegetarian strictly but I would only eat fish or fowl (chicken/turkey) and I wouldn't even buy fowl myself, I would only eat it out of lack of choice somewhere. I don't eat meat of other kinds not for sympathy of the animals but just for health reasons, I don't think there's any need to eat meat for protein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

OutlawPete wrote: »
    You'll that a lot of what people crave meat for is from the addiction of cooked meats.

Someone that craves meat will snap a breast of chicken out of your hands and suck the bones dry, finger licking good.

Would that same person the same sized portion of raw chicken and feel the same satisfaction?

Yet, if it was the protein that was satisfying, both ways should satisfy similarly as they contain the same level of Amino Acids.

I reckon you're on to something there.

It's weird...you'd think after 17 dang years the pull would loosen, but damn it's tempting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

m@cc@ wrote: »
    I believe ya
    Until tomorrow when im googling everythin you wrote to b'sure to b'sure!Im too tired now :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

How do you know what nature intended?

Are human beings anatomically more similar to natural carnivores or to natural herbivores? Let’s find out….

Intestinal tract length. Carnivorous animals have intestinal tracts that are 3-6x their body length, while herbivores have intestinal tracts 10-12x their body length. Human beings have the same intestinal tract ratio as herbivores.
    Stomach acidity. Carnivores’ stomachs are 20x more acidic than the stomachs of herbivores. Human stomach acidity matches that of herbivores.
    Saliva. The saliva of carnivores is acidic. The saliva of herbivores is alkaline, which helps pre-digest plant foods. Human saliva is alkaline.
    Shape of intestines. Carnivore bowels are smooth, shaped like a pipe, so meat passes through quickly — they don’t have bumps or pockets. Herbivore bowels are bumpy and pouch-like with lots of pockets, like a windy mountain road, so plant foods pass through slowly for optimal nutrient absorption. Human bowels have the same characteristics as those of herbivores.
    Fibre. Carnivores don’t require fiber to help move food through their short and smooth digestive tracts. Herbivores require dietary fiber to move food through their long and bumpy digestive tracts, to prevent the bowels from becoming clogged with rotting food. Humans have the same requirement as herbivores.
    Cholesterol. Cholesterol is not a problem for a carnivore’s digestive system. A carnivore such as a cat can handle a high-cholesterol diet without negative health consequences. A human cannot. Humans have zero dietary need for cholesterol because our bodies manufacture all we need. Cholesterol is only found in animal foods, never in plant foods. A plant-based diet is by definition cholesterol-free.
    Claws and teeth. Carnivores have claws, sharp front teeth capable of subduing prey, and no flat molars for chewing. Herbivores have no claws or sharp front teeth capable of subduing prey, but they have flat molars for chewing. Humans have the same characteristics as herbivores

Actually, human beings have the characteristics of both.
    This is because human beings eat both meat and veg and have evolved to cope with both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

This is because human beings eat both meat and veg and have evolved to cope with both.

does the fact that we usually cook our food have something to do with it as well?

Indeed it does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

--LOS-- wrote: »
    I don't think there's any need to eat meat for protein.

There isn't :)

A lot of people believed a lot of bull down through the years with regards to protein.

Amino Acids are plentiful in fruits and vegetables and B12 deficiency is far more common in meat eaters that vegetarians.

My favourite piece of nonsense that was and still is spouted by Dietitians and Nutritionists the world over is the "Complete Protein" bollox.

Only a few years ago a heard a Dietitian in Beaumont still spouting this crap.

The say: "Make sure and eat Rice and Lentils to make a complete protein.."

:p

Maybe they still teach that stuff too, sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

How do you know what nature intended?

Are human beings anatomically more similar to natural carnivores or to natural herbivores? Let’s find out….

Intestinal tract length. Carnivorous animals have intestinal tracts that are 3-6x their body length, while herbivores have intestinal tracts 10-12x their body length. Human beings have the same intestinal tract ratio as herbivores.
    Stomach acidity. Carnivores’ stomachs are 20x more acidic than the stomachs of herbivores. Human stomach acidity matches that of herbivores.
    Saliva. The saliva of carnivores is acidic. The saliva of herbivores is alkaline, which helps pre-digest plant foods. Human saliva is alkaline.
    Shape of intestines. Carnivore bowels are smooth, shaped like a pipe, so meat passes through quickly — they don’t have bumps or pockets. Herbivore bowels are bumpy and pouch-like with lots of pockets, like a windy mountain road, so plant foods pass through slowly for optimal nutrient absorption. Human bowels have the same characteristics as those of herbivores.
    Fibre. Carnivores don’t require fiber to help move food through their short and smooth digestive tracts. Herbivores require dietary fiber to move food through their long and bumpy digestive tracts, to prevent the bowels from becoming clogged with rotting food. Humans have the same requirement as herbivores.
    Cholesterol. Cholesterol is not a problem for a carnivore’s digestive system. A carnivore such as a cat can handle a high-cholesterol diet without negative health consequences. A human cannot. Humans have zero dietary need for cholesterol because our bodies manufacture all we need. Cholesterol is only found in animal foods, never in plant foods. A plant-based diet is by definition cholesterol-free.
    Claws and teeth. Carnivores have claws, sharp front teeth capable of subduing prey, and no flat molars for chewing. Herbivores have no claws or sharp front teeth capable of subduing prey, but they have flat molars for chewing. Humans have the same characteristics as herbivores
    Eh... Humans are omnivores so they will naturally share several characteristics between the two.

We're designed to eat both meat and plants, we're not designed to just eat plants. We've descended from hunter gatherers after all, not garden gatherers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

It was more in reference to the 'as nature intended' statement. If we lived 'as nature intended', we never have eaten meat.

Humans have eaten meat since there were humans.

I, personally, only eat meat to keep the farming industry going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I, personally, only eat meat to keep the farming industry going.

Get thee to the culchie forum, can't believe it hasn't been accepted yet. I'm actually gonna go over to forum requests for a rant now

Don't you have to have fathered a jackeen to be a true culchie?
    I may have rode their birds, but I always bagged up.

Humans were not created by God, primates evolved to cope with conditions.
    We're designed to eat both meat and plants, we're not designed to just eat plants. We've descended from hunter gatherers after all, not garden gatherers...

As above, we were never 'designed'. ;)

OutlawPete wrote: »
    There isn't :)

A lot of people believed a lot of bull down through the years with regards to protein.

Amino Acids are plentiful in fruits and vegetables and B12 deficiency is far more common in meat eaters that vegetarians.

My favourite piece of nonsense that was and still is spouted by Dietitians and Nutritionists the world over is the "Complete Protein" bollox.

Only a few years ago a heard a Dietitian in Beaumont still spouting this crap.

The say: "Make sure and eat Rice and Lentils to make a complete protein.."

:p

Maybe they still teach that stuff too, sad.
    Source? Just curious is all!!

It's vegans that are at risk of b12 deficiency anyway, and your liver stores enough b12 to last 4 years or so, so you'd want some resolve to eat your way into b12 deficiency! The way you have it worded it seems like eating meat is a risk factor for getting b12 deficiency compared to being a vegetarian which is possible I suppose but I doubt that it's really that significant if it is true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭gamgsam

kraggy wrote: »
    1. Yes, it is possible to raise a cat or dog on a vegetarian diet. Many people do so.

A dog yes, a cat no. Raising a dog on a vegetarian diet requires heavy and expensive supplement. The supplement needed to keep a cat alive on a vegetarian diet is so complex that you are in effect creating meat synthetically.

http://www.vegsoc.org/info/catfood.html

Anone who would force a veggie diet on a cat or dog is a complete nut.

It does seem weird to me to be feeding lamb/beef based food to dogs, if a dog hunted a cow or sheep they would be put down.

I'd like to see the dog that could hunt a cow. :eek:

Well I wouldn't called myself a vegetarian strictly but I would only eat fish or fowl (chicken/turkey) and I wouldn't even buy fowl myself, I would only eat it out of lack of choice somewhere. I don't eat meat of other kinds not for sympathy of the animals but just for health reasons, I don't think there's any need to eat meat for protein.

But would you not think that it's the nicest source of protein?

collies are used to get cows in at milking time all over the country.
    Not 'technically' hunting, but in the ballpark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

http://img.metro.co.uk/i/pix/2007/07/GiantDog_450x556.jpg

Dogs have attacked cows, admittedly it wouldnt be as common as sheep :p

His head must weigh fifty pounds on its own. Imagine the size of his balls. Imagine getting into a fight with the ****er

As above, we were never 'designed'. ;)

Haha you got me!:D But basically my point is that as humans, at this stage in our development, it is natural for us to eat both meat and plants.

Anyway, it's very late and I've to be up at half 7 so I'm out!

But would you not think that it's the nicest source of protein?

NOT AT ALL!!

they use all the meat from the animal, so's not to be wasteful. so they just use the crap thats left, that nobody will eat.

edit: that makes no sense to me..

basically i'm saying if the dogfood wasn't made from lamb/cow, the meat would go to waste.

there. that makes more sense :o

they use all the meat from the animal, so's not to be wasteful. so they just use the crap thats left, that nobody will eat.

and for that reason it wouldn't be any harm for dogs and cats to be more vegetarian, more cruel feeding them crap like that imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭gamgsam

Haha and what about meat eaters? If I went out and killed a cow in a field I'd be locked up. But sit down and have it served to me and it's grand. Just the way it works.

and for that reason it wouldn't be any harm for dogs and cats to be more vegetarian, more cruel feeding them crap like that imo.

how does it do more harm? genuinely? i think they're well able for it. in the wild they (cats) eat whole feckin rabbits/birds/mice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I suppose, meat being meat and all, that when one shuffles off their mortal coil, there's no reason why one can't eat another!

Basically, if I die, it's Slasher burgers all round

I suppose, meat being meat and all, that when one shuffles off their mortal coil, there's no reason why one can't eat another!

Basically, if I die, it's Slasher burgers all round

i know which bit i bagsy :pac: