Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Anti-Rape device - RapeAxe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

NO it's too harsh a punishment.
    OutlawPete wrote: »
    I am talking about THERE and THEN, the worst thing can happen, not long term.

We are talking about Murder here.

Killing another human being.

Rape does not justify a person to kill another human being unless they fear for the safety of their lives.

I see the point you're trying to make, i just think it's nonsense. For example, what person, man or woman, whilst being raped, would possible not fear for their life, and what person would not take the opportunity to end their ordeal if say a knife or gun or weapon of some sort came to hand?

Or say someone you knew came to you in a distressed state and told you they had just killed someone who was raping or trying to rape them. Would you say, "you f'ucking killed them? Why? Jesus they were only trying to rape you!" or would you say, "f'uck them, they got what they deserved!"

I know which one i'd say, and frankly anyone who disagrees with me is wrong, it is not a matter of opinion as far as i'm concerned, it is a set in stone natural law!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Undergod wrote: »

And it is clearly totally open to abuse. Zillah argued that it was no more open to abuse than countless other objects we have, but I think we live in a society where it's very easy to falsely accuse a man of rape- to assault a man by using this implement is to immediately make him look like the aggressor.

So I'm kind of in two minds about it.

Yes, and I would say there are far more rapists than there are women willing to falsly accuse a guy of raping them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Zillah wrote: »
    By this logic, if I were to slip a pill into your drink that would cause total paralysis and agony a week after you consumed it, no one should be allowed to us force to stop me, because after all we're only talking about the THERE and THEN.

That's not the "same" logic :p

The only logic there is the one in the middle of the word that desribed that paragraph -- illogical.

I am saying that what justifies murder is a THERE and THEN fear for your life and you reply with that waffle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

WindSock wrote: »
    Yes, and I would say there are far more rapists than there are women willing to falsly accuse a guy of raping them.

Based on what though? That's come up a few times in this thread with nothing to support it. Personally, I feel it's reasonably likely, but as an assertion, it's something I'm very uncomfortable with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Undergod

WindSock wrote: »

I can't say that I have any opinion on this really, I have no notion what the figures might be.

But my point was it does happen- and it's very difficult for a man who's been falsely accused to get away from the accusation. Even if it goes nowhere legally, it's a massively damaging thing to have associated with you. This device adds a potentially vicious layer of physical assault on top.

That's not to say that I think it should be banned or anything, just thought it was worth considering.

The only logic there is the one in the middle of the word that desribed that paragraph -- illogical.

I am saying that what justifies murder is a THERE and THEN fear for your life and you reply with that waffle?

but any serious fight or assault, which a rape definitely constitutes, carries a strong fear for your safety. Hell, having a couple of lads picking a fight in the street is a threat to my safety, and has historically made me fear for it, but that doesn't immediately justify killing either. You're quite confused about what actually constitutes a justification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Censorsh!t

If I was being raped, I'd sure as hell try kill the person, or at very least cause some serious damage to them.

I don't think a rapist should be sentenced to death (they should however be stuck in prison for many many years to come).
    BUT, I do feel that if a woman or man killed the person who was raping them, then it is somewhat acceptable. It's self defence, and who's to know if the rapist isn't going to kill you after they've raped you. I wouldnt be taking the chance anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

It's the exact same logic. I'm pointing out that your ridiculous assertion that the long term consequences of an act do not matter is just that, ridiculous. Hence why you apparently don't have a response beyond dodging.

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,717 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Based on what though? That's come up a few times in this thread with nothing to support it. Personally, I feel it's reasonably likely, but as an assertion, it's something I'm very uncomfortable with.

It's very difficult to get good data on that. Different studies have it ranging from 2% to 4X%. Nevertheless, I think it's a pretty sound assertion.

Haha, oh dear you're really not keeping up.

I told you I put that question to sbsquarepants, the "you" was directed at them.

I relaise that YOU answered that question which is why I then went on to say that I think you are wrong to think rape justifies muder.
    During the act to prevent or interrupt it, yes, absolutely. I fail to see why you think the sex of the attacker or victim is so important here.

I don't, I am just making sure that others also do not, I would have thought that was obvious.

You think killing a man while he is raping a woman is fine, I simply do not.

Your reasons are all based on what happens AFTER the rape.

So why don't you believe that all rapists should receive capital punishment?

Earthhorse wrote: »
    It's very difficult to get good data on that. Different studies have it ranging from 2% to 4X%. Nevertheless, I think it's a pretty sound assertion.

Have what? What is the assertion the percentages refer to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,717 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Percentage of rape claims that are false rape claims.

Your reasons are all based on what happens AFTER the rape.

So why don't you believe that all rapists should receive capital punishment?

You're really not listening to me.

Let's do it in big letters, because this has to be the third of fourth time I've said this:

Killing a rapist is justified if it prevents or interrupts the rape. Killing him after the fact is vindictive.

Should I bold it? Underscore?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Xluna

Personally I think once a person attempts to rape or assualt a person they forfeit their right to live,I'm not talking about capital punishment after the assualt. So as far as I'm concerned the most effective means of self defence is fine. Having said that I can see some concerns which people already voiced. And you just know there's going to be some psycho who'll abuse the **** out this.

What I'd like to see is more severe sentences for rapists and murders. I've seen people who commited fraud and robbery get more severe sentences then rapists and murders,only in Ireland where money is valued more than life.:rolleyes:

I told you I put that question to sbsquarepants, the "you" was directed at them.

Sorry Pete, i thought i'd answered.

I would alway feel sympathy with the victim and never, ever with the rapist, regardless of gender or anything else. I can't imagine any sane person would sit around the dinner table and say "that poor poor git, all they wanted was a quick rape and then off home and now they're dead, why is always the nice ones!"

Xluna wrote: »
    What I'd like to see is more severe sentences for rapists and murders. I've seen people who commited fraud and robbery get more severe sentences then rapists and murders,only in Ireland where money is valued more than life.:rolleyes:

Technically this isn't accurate. Mandatory minimums in the US have people in prison on huge sentences for certain drug crimes, while people in for violent crimes are getting less severe sentences.

It's the exact same logic.

It's not, cop on.

Someone putting something in a drink that effects someone in a week is a silly comparison no matter what way you have it twisted in your head. It is my belief that unless a woman is fear of life then murder is not justified, hence the HERE and NOW argument.

Your spiking a drink retort is a nonsense as it doesn't address the point.
    I'm pointing out that your ridiculous assertion that the long term consequences of an act do not matter

I said that during a rape they are not an excuse for murder. Stop twisting my words to try and imply they mean something else.

Not mattering in the act of Murder is not the same as not mattering at all.
    I've never seen anyone work so hard to try and play down the severity of rape before, frankly its quite creepy.

I have not tried to play down the severity of rape, you are cherry picking my comments.

I have acknowledged the long term effects and that I am not trivializing rape becaue I believe Murder is not an acceptable response:
    Look, just because I don't think MURDER should be the punishment for rape, does not mean I am "trivializing" it.
    I am FAR FAR from not understanding the long term psychological damage caused by rape.
    <snip>

Post reported.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Xluna

Technically this isn't accurate. Mandatory minimums in the US have people in prison on huge sentences for certain drug crimes, while people in for violent crimes are getting less severe sentences.

"More in common with Boston than Berlin" No surprise really,another Me Feiner nation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

if they are cheap we could fit them to sheeps in leitrim

It's not, cop on.

Someone putting something in a drink that effects someone in a week is a silly comparison no matter what way you have it twisted in your head. It is my belief that unless a woman is fear of life then murder is not justified, hence the HERE and NOW argument.

Your spiking a drink retort is a nonsense as it doesn't address the point.

Look, you quite clearly said "I am talking about THERE and THEN, the worst thing can happen, not long term."

Why does the long term damage, which could be prevented or lessened by preventing or interrupting the rape with violent opposition, not matter?
    I have not tried to play down the severity of rape, you are cherry picking my comments.

I have acknowledged the long term effects and that I am not trivializing rape becaue I believe Murder is not an acceptable response

You can claim you're not trivialising rape all you like, and yet you keep dismissing long term consequences and have described it as a simple act of shoving a penis in and out of her, and you constantly try to cloud the issue with nonsense about the sex of the attacker. You're also completely ignoring the fact that in any rape a woman has a reasonable fear for her life.
    Post reported.

<snip>

stupid sheeps are all lesbians anyway

It's not, cop on.

It is my belief that unless a woman is fear of life then murder is not justified, hence the HERE and NOW argument.

How is this even a point? She's being raped, the rapist hardly has her best interests at heart now does he! Of course she is in fear for her life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

You think killing a man while he is raping a woman is fine, I simply do not.

jesus pete :mad:

if i was being raped, i would do anything to escape, if i clobbered the rapist over the head to stop him and he died, i don't see that i intentionally killed him, i just wanted him to stop.

i don't believe that you would see me as unjustified for hitting him over the head with something to make him stop.

if i was being raped, and i managed to stop the rapist and he was fine, i would fcuking leg it. i'm not gonna hang around and try to kill the bastard.
    <snip>

<snip>

<snip>

No not really, I just find it strange that someone would fight so hard to make rape sound like its not all that big a deal.

Earthhorse wrote: »
    Percentage of rape claims that are false rape claims.

But the issue is hugely more complex. You've to take into account reported rapes versus unreported, in terms of those that definitely took place, then analyse the percentage of rapes that get reported, getting a statistical figure for the likelihood that a rape that takes place is reported, and then taking into account the fact that there's a hundred percent likelihood that a false rape claim is going to be reported. Then you've to look at the investigative path to discovering whether a rape took place. Since not all rapes are physically damaging, often the only evidence is the testimony of the victim, and since supporting evidence is difficult to come by, this will carry huge weight. I'm not saying rape isn't a huge problem. I'm saying that to accurately ascertain exactly how many rapes occur as against how many are claimed and as against how many occur and are not reported is just about impossible. That's why I'm not comfortable with assertions like that made, because I'm willing to bet there are a good few innocent men imprisoned for rape, just like I'm damn certain there are a lot of guilty rapists going free, and there are a lot of crazy and sick people out there, male and female, perfectly happy to ruin the lives of other people, male and female, in their own twisted little ways. Basically I have a problem that an accusation can carry so much weight with so little supporting evidence, and especially when the mere accusation can be so personally damaging. I acknowledge that it's a necessity in order to obtain convictions, but it's a power to be very wary of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

No not really, I just find it strange that someone would fight so hard to make rape sound like its not all that big a deal to be very strange.

i'm sure pete knows how severe rape is, he just doesn't believe in killing someone for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭wireless101

<snip>

But ya, if the guy gets killed by the woman freeing herself its fine by me, but if she escapes and then kills him then she should be prosecuted

argument lacks poll i shal provide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

I think rape should carry a mandatory life sentence, and I mean LIFE not this out-in-15-years Nanny State bull****.

So what about false claims of rape (where in actuality it was consensual but she says it was rape)? Obviously we can't have a situation where genuine rapes go unpunished, but at the same time we can't have a situation where a woman can say a few words and as a result a man gets locked up for life :eek:.

At least the way it is now men can reassure themselves that if they do fall victim of this most foul injustice that at least they'll eventually get out and begin to regain something of a life for themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Totoro_

My worry here is for the risk of Infection of AIDS especally because it's main area use is Africa.... Its very strange device