Catweazles Half-Ironman or Chicken challenge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Nice save macanri....were you out today yourself, how did you get on??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Yea, I did the first of my tri's today in PortrLaoise, I have to update my log and do a race report but too busy reading at the minute. It was tough (especially the swim), but I got through the whole lot in 01:22:xx (provisional). Not overly impressed at all, but I know now (as I already did) where I need to focus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

With hindsight, an insane choice for your first marathon...

How did it go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

Izoard wrote: »
    With hindsight, an insane choice for your first marathon...

How did it go?

A bloody nightmare, hit 20 miles in 3.04 minutes but i knew any hope of a sub 4 was long gone, i was fit to drop, walked and ran (mainly walked) the last 6 miles. Chip time gave me 4.20 which i am questioning in my own head as my watch gave me 4.23 however i was so disorientated i had forgotten to switch my watch off. I definetly thought i had well broken under 4.20 as i had busted my balls for the last mile. The clock was broken i think on the finishing line as an ambulance had hit it going under it to help someone (that type of day)

Will write a report up after breakfast as I have the day off thank christ

Gun Time 4.20.05 (hoping chip time is under 4.20)

The day was a cracker sun splitting the rocks, I was feeling good slept well the previous night and was enjoying the view in Lough Inagh. Said hello to Slogger Jogger at the start noting what shoes he was wearing today.

I had decided to go out in under 9 minutes miles and hold this for as long as I can. This I did fairly ok and arrived at half-way at around 1.56 from memory.

Nothing much to report in first half, was running well and enjoying the scenery. Shouted out hello to Krusty who went by me looking like it was a sunday stroll and saw PGibbo at the half way point marshaling.

There was a hill just after Leenane where i saw the first strugglers from the full got up this ok with a very fit looking older woman beside me and settled down again. It was the hill at around 18.5 miles that started to do the damage, I could feel the legs stiffening and the energy drain from them. I hit 20 in 3.04 but I knew that 6 9 minute miles were beyond me at this stage, the legs had gone. Overdosed on gels and Lucozade Sport in an effort to get some energy back into my legs.

The last 6 were a mixture of walking and running, even when I finally got over the big hill I started to run again but couldnt stretch the legs due to vicious cramps in both legs. There were some seriously jaded people at this stage, guy i was running with earlier was about to collapse, I asked him was he ok and I dont think he could hear me, luckily ambulance crew were walking over to him.

Saw if I could pull out a 12 minute last mile I would beat 4.20 so shuffled along over the line nodding to Pgibbo again and to a big hug from Mrs C. Was very disorientated at this stage, I was nausious from all the gels I downed and had to sit down for about ten minutes.

I am not overly disappointed with the time, I tried my best out there and at one stage it was a battle to just finish let alone worry about what time I was going to do it in. Probably the best thing that came out of it was that it hadnt put me off trying another one. I will give it another go in the Autumn.

Legs are like bricks now, I wish i lived in a bungalow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

Well done, catweazle, you would have been easily sub four if it wasn't for the fact that you picked an absolute monster for your first marathon! On the plus side, any other marathon you will ever do will seem easy after yesterday!

Dublin in autumn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,100 ✭✭✭griffin100

Well done. The heat must have been brutal. I did the half last year and the big hill at the end was hard enough after 10 miles, so god only knows what it was like after 23 or so miles in the heat. I'd be chuffed with a 4.20 in Connemara.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Tough day at the office alright. Fair play on getting through a hellish day. The heat was unreal. Glad to hear you'll be doing the distance again. General consenous was that Dublin or any other marathon will be a piece of p*ss in comparision. Congrats on getting through yesterday. Serious Kudos given the course and conditions.

Mrs C looked very comfortable finishing the half. Fair play to her - given she had little to know training in the lead up to it.

Personally I had a great day. My first marathon experience. Loved every minute of it. Mind you, I was only marshalling. The ultra runners are incredible. Very inspiring I have to say. :cool:

catweazle wrote: »
    Gun Time 4.20.05 (hoping chip time is under 4.20)

The day was a cracker sun splitting the rocks, I was feeling good slept well the previous night and was enjoying the view in Lough Inagh. Said hello to Slogger Jogger at the start noting what shoes he was wearing today.

I had decided to go out in under 9 minutes miles and hold this for as long as I can. This I did fairly ok and arrived at half-way at around 1.56 from memory.

Nothing much to report in first half, was running well and enjoying the scenery. Shouted out hello to Krusty who went by me looking like it was a sunday stroll and saw PGibbo at the half way point marshaling.

There was a hill just after Leenane where i saw the first strugglers from the full got up this ok with a very fit looking older woman beside me and settled down again. It was the hill at around 18.5 miles that started to do the damage, I could feel the legs stiffening and the energy drain from them. I hit 20 in 3.04 but I knew that 6 9 minute miles were beyond me at this stage, the legs had gone. Overdosed on gels and Lucozade Sport in an effort to get some energy back into my legs.

The last 6 were a mixture of walking and running, even when I finally got over the big hill I started to run again but couldnt stretch the legs due to vicious cramps in both legs. There were some seriously jaded people at this stage, guy i was running with earlier was about to collapse, I asked him was he ok and I dont think he could hear me, luckily ambulance crew were walking over to him.

Saw if I could pull out a 12 minute last mile I would beat 4.20 so shuffled along over the line nodding to Pgibbo again and to a big hug from Mrs C. Was very disorientated at this stage, I was nausious from all the gels I downed and had to sit down for about ten minutes.

I am not overly disappointed with the time, I tried my best out there and at one stage it was a battle to just finish let alone worry about what time I was going to do it in. Probably the best thing that came out of it was that it hadnt put me off trying another one. I will give it another go in the Autumn.

Legs are like bricks now, I wish i lived in a bungalow

Good man...Dublin or similar will be a doddle compared to that suffer-fest.

Well done Catweazle - that was a monster of a task in such heat and I don't know how anyone did the Full or Ultra. It was awesome getting that time on that course in that weather as a first marathon. Fair play to you.

pgibbo wrote: »
    The ultra runners are incredible. Very inspiring I have to say. :cool:

Yes in what I thought anyways must have been a nice moment for them was the leaders came by us before we started our race. It must have been uplifting for them to race across a huge line of people applauding and cheering on their efforts after a quite first third....Mick Rice got a great cheer.

Mrs C is only a drama queen, due to family illness she hasnt trained in weeks and I then had to listen on friday and saturday about whether she would race or not. No sooner when she started then she fecked off on her friends as they werent going fast enough for her.

She did 2.06 gun time but she has herself convinced she just broke 2 hours. How did Mrs Gibbo do?

At the moment it is looking like Dublin Ronanmac, I was going to have a go at Berlin but with the September start the taper eats into the triathon races. So hopefully Dublin after a good season of tri's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

Fair play catweazle on such a good result
    Must have taken unreal guts to finish it out when you were suffering that bad
    Delighted for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Well Done CW, It sounds like a tough one, nevermind the heat! I know exactly what you mean about not being able to stretch the legs and lengthen the stride, the exact same thing happened me in DCM09 - feeling like an old man trying to keep shuffling on!
    Again congrats on the first marathon, DCM10 will be a walk in the park after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

Well done catweazle. The heat was a killer.... everyone seemed to be slower than their norm. No one seems to mention that "middle" hill much as the other two are bigger but it's not insignificant and it comes at a really bad time in the marathon. You must have been finishing at about the same time as me then.... there were lots of suffering marathoners around me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Nice to meet you Catweazle. Sounds like you suffered similar to me. I've run in hotter conditions but the heat hasn't gotten to me before like it did yesterday. Lots of positives to take from yesterday. If you can finish a tough marathon like that your objectives will be more easily met on another route.

Back in the saddle again.

Took yesterday off and had a few beers on the decking, it was great to have a beer in my hand at 1 o clock in the day. We only got the decking in late last year so it was my first time out there.

I tend to sweat a lot when I run and I had a momentary panic attack on the saturday that I would spend the day wiping my stinging eyes so into Elverys I rushed after registration and the only sweat band they had was a big tennis one. Looked pretty Byorn Borg and I tossed it away on mile 21 thinking it might cool my aching head. Anyways needless to say I had a big white stripe on my head from the sunburn so I worked on getting rid of that.

Was looking forward to a swim today so did 1500m at lunch nice and relaxed with no watch, mrs c didnt answer her phone at 5.30 so that means a cheery message from me saying I am going for a quick dip after work so did another 1000m and then relaxed the legs in the jacussi for a while. Pull bouy used again today as I am now trying to recover my legs instead of saving them, i really need to start kicking again.

Legs are nearly there, only the thigh muscles hurting now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

Back in the saddle again.

Took yesterday off and had a few beers on the decking, it was great to have a beer in my hand at 1 o clock in the day.

Sounds like paradise! I was three quarters way up the Hell of the West on Sunday when a woman shouted out, "well done, you deserve a beer at the finish." What a thing to say to someone who's given up the booze for a year :eek::eek::eek:. All I could think of was of having a lovely cold pint once I got to Peacock's!

ronanmac wrote: »
    Sounds like paradise! I was three quarters way up the Hell of the West on Sunday when a woman shouted out, "well done, you deserve a beer at the finish." What a thing to say to someone who's given up the booze for a year :eek::eek::eek:. All I could think of was of having a lovely cold pint once I got to Peacock's!

Not to worry - I had one on your behalf and it wasn't nice at all......;).

Let us know when you're racing again and maybe Catweazle will take a turn at having one for you!

You'd a cracking time btw ronanmac - well done.

Lunch another straight 1500m in the pool, no watch again just trying to get used to swimming those distances again for Joey Hannon. Legs nearly back to 100% so after 1000m I decided its time to get rid of the pull bouy and do 500m with kicking as well. Legs seemed a bit all over the place but not too bad. I seem to be pulling harder than I used to be, I can definetly feel my "triceps" working more than it used to. I dont know if that is a good thing or not.

A momentous occasion in the evening, finally decided to go for my first outside cycle of the year. 18k in 38 minutes. I could feel some benefit from the turbo sessions. I wasnt as shaky standing up the bike pedaling as I used to be. However I was all over the place when I tried to go down on the new tri bars, I am getting a proper bike fitting next week so I might lay off the tri bars till then as I know they arent set up right.

I am sure it wont work out like that if I go out there but my mind was wandering in Connemara (in the first half anyways) to the cyclists on the route.......it looked heavenly. So needless to say I am now going on to ebay to look for a hydration bag and will go try and go for a decent cycle on the weekends from now on. I was going to have a go at a PB in the Kildare Half marathon as its one of Mrs C's hen weekends. But I think with Swinford on the horizon I need to focus on the bike. I remember seeing signs for a charity cycle around Lough Mask on the 8th so I will go for that all going well.

One other thing does anyone have a decent training plan for a 1/2 Ironman, I cant find anything on the net that I can follow??

These guys have a free 1/2 IM program.
    http://beginnertriathlete.com

It is beginners and a little basic, but you if you feel like it, a fee of $25 will get you a good bit more...

Thanks Izoard, thats looks a bit easier to follow than some of the ones I found. Some of them would need to be decoded before you can read them

Lunch 1700m swim - Beginning to find my sea legs again. Deliberetly left the pull bouy at home. Was hoping to do 2000m but got caught gossiping again to the fella in the lane beside me for a few minutes.

1000m warm up and drills
    5*100 off 2.15 1.46/1.48/1.48/1.50/1.50
    200m warm down

Special note: Just scored Jean Michel Jarre tickets off O2 priority list, was thrilled till I decided to check the dates after buying them....a monday :mad:

Lunch 1600m swim again, decided to have a 500m TT after 1000m to see how I am going, busted my balls but when I checked the time the cheap lidl stopwatch i use for the swimming had started a countdown clock half way through it. Not the first time thats happened very frustrating.

Skillfully negotiated a pass for a long cycle tomorrow from Mrs C, at the expense of going out tomorrow night though. I was going to rid my demons and conquer the Hell of the West in Leenane albeit on the bike. But instead I am going to do a bastardised version of the Swinford 1/2 ironman route. So a 35 mile cycle around passing through Pontoon followed by a light lunch (maybe a cider too if its as hot as I hope it is) leading into a full scale assault on the Windy Gap.

Writing all the names of the villages down on the route so I dont get lost, Terrybaun, Levally, Bofeenaun, Cuilmullagh, Sheeaune..........lived and worked in Castlebar for ten years and have never heard of any of them :confused:

Longest I have ever cycled on the road is the 20ks of a sprint so unknown terrority for my arse!

Well the day went great, I managed to talk one of my friends based in Mayo to come out with me on the way up this morning. Told me though I would have to wait for 30 minutes for him to get there, this was perfect as I had my togs with me so into the pool for an easy 800m and stretches while I was waiting.

Off we went, a cracking day for it. We were doing more or less 50k of the 1/2 Ironman route. First stage was Castlebar to Pontoon, took it handy enough as we were both gossiping away. Pints were required when we arrived at Pontoon so a nice cider each as we admired the view of the lakes from Healys Pub.

So after a flat 20k this is where it started to stiffen up a bit, but all in all nothing too bad so far, roads were quiet at this stage and the scenery is great around there, there is still snow at the top of Nephin.

After a while we got to the main hills of the Windy Gap, the friend is a good cyclist so I couldnt stay with the pace, eventually at a lay by I was wasted and had to stop. Took off the outer shirt, had a few drinks of water. After a minute or two I was off again, literally just went around the corner and there was the friend at the top of the hill waiting. Away we went again, some very fast long stretches back down to Castlebar and then out the Breaffy Road to the gym. 50k finished in 2.08 so no great shakes pace wise, jumped into the pool for a lazy 200m to bring me up to a thousand for the day and then a long jacussi session to relax my weary arse.

Initial impressions of the route is that it is doable, the Windy Gap is tough but it comes near the start of the race, I hope to get up without stopping the next time seeing as I was so close this time. The road conditions are generally good, a few bumpy stretches just before the Windy Gap but nothing too bad, its not too technical a course, not too many corners. The 30k I missed most of that will be flat and fast back out the N5. The Pontoon road will have a bit of traffic but once past there we hardly saw another car till we hit Castlebar. Scenery is great as expected, very barren and windswept, reminded me a lot of the the Connemarathon route

I was happy enough with the cycle, the longest I have ever cycled outdoors is the 20k of a sprint triathon, my arse started to really get at me around 45k but I am hoping a few more long rides will toughen it up. I am beginning to be able to work the gears better although I had to fix the chain at one stage after it came off switching. I certainly saw the benefit of having a road bike as opposed to the friends Hybrid, the friend was pedalling away down the downhill straights and I was going by him without pedalling

Nothing done sunday, went into town with Mrs C and met up with a few friends so was dying with a hangover all sunday. Very bad hangover its not usually so bad.......I am not able for it anymore.

Pool today 500m warm up and drills and an impromtu 1500m time trial. Going out too fast in the swim has been a big problem for me in all my triathlons last year so the plan was to start slowly and gradually pick up the pace.

Took it very easy the first 500m, slightly picked up the pace for the 2nd 500m and then went full pace for the last 500m. Was feeling good so for the last 10 lenghts i went flat out and as usual while I am sure the pace was quicker the technique went on me.

Finished in 31.50 and was feeling pretty comfortable after it, I will try another one later in the week and will start out a bit quicker than I did today.

Happy enough with this, I put down 35 minutes when i signed up for Joey Hannon a few months back so unless some kind of disaster happens I should be comfortably under this. I am a little bit non-plussed about the pool swim anyways, I dont really like the crowded lanes, counting the laps, tapping ankles etc etc so I wont be too worried what time I come out with on the day

Pints were required when we arrived at Pontoon so a nice cider each as we admired the view of the lakes from Healys Pub.

I can see this new approach to training really taking off. Will Mrs C have the cider ready for you on race day too? ;)

Did you get sored with a training plan for the HIM?

I did, I was rubbing your stags and wedding days out and ended up putting them back in again as my own wedding and stag weekends.

If only people got married in the winter.

We go past that pub on the race route so I might have her fill a waterbottle of the stuff.

How did WAR go seems like it was a great day from the reports, you did a good time, you were well ahead of some of the best guys in our club, your cousin needs to man up and enter the elites judging from his high placing in the sports section. Looks like he is a bit of a natural.

WAR was class. I would highly recommend it. I made a sh*te of my 2 big toes on the first run. My toenails are in bits. Lots of blood on the new runners! :D Hence the 2nd run was a very painful experience. Looking at the results, my biking is still way off the mark. Need to get more miles and speed in the legs. We had a great day up there though. All 6 of us, cousin (too right he needs to step up - did very well, natural family talent???? :p) included, really enjoyed it.

We'll probably be going for a long cycle Saturday morning if you're interested

1500m in the pool lunchtime, 1000m drills and an easy 500m straight swim

Bike fitting in the evening, this turned into a bit of a humiliating experience for my bike maintenance skills. I knew I was in trouble straight away when he looked at me incredulously and said how can I cycle with the cleats back to front.......ammmmm I just take my feet out of them and leave them on the pedals I replied sheepishly.

So cleats turned around the right way, screws that were too long for the cleats replaced, saddle raised about a foot and leaned forward, brakes that were pressing against the wheels fixed, handlebar stem that was too long for me replaced, quick release levers postioned in the right way, tri bars realigned, pedals tightened and chain checked and away I went.

I was delighted with the guys attention to detail, spirit levels and measuring weights and all, he was working on it for well over an hour,felt like a new bike at the end of it, I would certainly recommend a bike fitting after getting that.