Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Squats the story - the Off Topic Thread...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

@ WHIP IT! I lol'd heartily and there was a little bit of a snort if I'm honest. Who knew super-bots could do that? drifter I'm impressed with your coding skillz
    I love the fact that this list most certainly exists!!
    Yes, yes it does :pac:
    Also go study.
    Aw :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

4505566122_89d867e870_o.jpg

Plus a litre of unpasteurised milk FÚCK YES :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

4505566122_89d867e870_o.jpg

Plus a litre of unpasteurised milk FÚCK YES :)

so you milked a cow then killed it.......

noice!

It's always a good sign of a steak when you have to fold it to get it into the frying pan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭optimistic_

I think it's gas how nerdy all the fitness and body building type can be.

It's cool. Lack of smileys giving a thumbs up.

4461861519_f554c75226_o.jpg

Strong nerds will rule the world yet....were slowly raising an army...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,618 ✭✭✭COH

One of the lads was on the leg press the night before last, I walked by and he asked me to hand him the bar. There was an olympic bar (110kg) on the floor behind him, I honestly thought he was taking the piss! Turns out he wasn't... Hoisted it up to him, he then proceeded to knock out a set of 12-15reps with ~300kg on the leg press while simultaneously incline pressing 110kg...

It was either the stupidest or most bad assed thing I've ever seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

4461861519_f554c75226_o.jpg

man I hope you have a fire extinguisher handy lol:p

g'em wrote: »
    I spend way too much time on this forum.

In this morning's Metro they had a review of the new Drew Barrymore movie "Whip It". My first thought was "ooh, we have a user called that, I wonder does he lol at that movie title..."

Waaaaaay too much time :o

I should really have been studying since lunch time:o:eek: ah well, maybe on Sunday.. Its warm outside, and almost the weekend, and I have every excuse known to man .. boards is the main one lol:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

COH wrote: »
    One of the lads was on the leg press the night before last, I walked by and he asked me to hand him the bar. There was an olympic bar (110kg) on the floor behind him, I honestly thought he was taking the piss! Turns out he wasn't... Hoisted it up to him, he then proceeded to knock out a set of 12-15reps with ~300kg on the leg press while simultaneously incline pressing 110kg...

leg drive ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭MrPain

COH wrote: »

633738545519634160-Badass.jpg

or right:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

i didnt call you names. i just said i hated you, and everyone else here. and may or may not have used the W word.

Wimmin?

Myself and Parsley discussing cardios predicament

Parsley

folly of youth
    01:00 L

dude we're still tools
    01:01 Parsley

oh fact
    01:01 L

but at least we get sex

01:02 Parsley

fact

LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Myself and Parsley discussing cardios predicament

Parsley

folly of youth
    01:00 L

dude we're still tools
    01:01 Parsley

oh fact
    01:01 L

but at least we get sex

01:02 Parsley

fact

LOL

why do you insist on posting unfunny fbook chatlogs all the time?! :pac:

Parsley wrote: »
    why do you insist on posting unfunny fbook chatlogs all the time?! :pac:

we've had this conversation, funny in my head and funny in everybody elses differs at times :pac:

MrPain wrote: »
    633738545519634160-Badass.jpg

or right:D

He's fcuking jacked.

Zomg, Connacht in the semi-finals!

does that mean all 4 are in the cup next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Is there a simple article about on how to start crossfit with some scalable workouts?

Crossfit.com say just start doing the WOD's but, for example, how would I scale todays WOD, 21 pullups or yesterdays "handstand walk 20 yards"? Suggestions like that make me wonder what I'm getting into here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Ciaran500 wrote: »
    Is there a simple article about on how to start crossfit with some scalable workouts?

Crossfit.com say just start doing the WOD's but, for example, how would I scale todays WOD, 21 pullups

Ya can scale the load (by doing jumping pullups, pullup negatives, band assisted pullups) or the reps. Just do it in such a way as you can keep moving throughout the whole thing. Band assisted ones would probably be best because 105 jumping pullups or negatives might well wreck you if you're not used to it. Brandx do scaling for most WODS too, see here http://www.crossfitbrandx.com/index.php/forums/viewforum/16/
    Ciaran500 wrote: »
    yesterdays "handstand walk 20 yards"? Suggestions like that make me wonder what I'm getting into here.
    You should scale that one by not doing it, it's silly! Seriously though, if you're not used to being upside down then try to work on handstands against a wall, so do your squats, hold a hs as long as it would take to walk 20ft on your hands and get back to your squats. careful with the .com workouts though, some of them can be a bit questionable. Reilly's stuff on crossfit.ie is generally better thought out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Dead Ed wrote: »
    Ya can scale the load (by doing jumping pullups, pullup negatives, band assisted pullups) or the reps. Just do it in such a way as you can keep moving throughout the whole thing. Band assisted ones would probably be best because 105 jumping pullups or negatives might well wreck you if you're not used to it. Brandx do scaling for most WODS too, see here http://www.crossfitbrandx.com/index.php/forums/viewforum/16/

You should scale that one by not doing it, it's silly! Seriously though, if you're not used to being upside down then try to work on handstands against a wall, so do your squats, hold a hs as long as it would take to walk 20ft on your hands and get back to your squats. careful with the .com workouts though, some of them can be a bit questionable. Reilly's stuff on crossfit.ie is generally better thought out.
    Thanks, will do some more reading. Looks like I just have to jump in when I'm ready.

does that mean all 4 are in the cup next year?

Not sure do Ulster have finish in a certain place yet? I haven't looked at the table or anything in ages.

im thinking bout starting a campaign to ban the sale of ice cream.. EVERY fecking shop ... just as well today was leg day:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

corkcomp wrote: »
    im thinking bout starting a campaign to ban the sale of ice cream.. EVERY fecking shop ... just as well today was leg day:D

Stop, Man... In work here and the dude who won the office Grand National sweep brought in 30 quid's worth of crisps n chocolate! Think I've made me way through a good tenner's worth meself :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

corkcomp wrote: »
    im thinking bout starting a campaign to ban the sale of ice cream
    :eek: just polished off a big bowl now, has whey in the ingredients so counts as a nutritional supplement :pac:

http://www.hbplaydates.ie/fun-food/money-off.html

I can smell BBQs in my window now, have to go get a slab of cow.

just had ice cream too!!!!

also ZOMG hammocks are great :P

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Stop, Man... In work here and the dude who won the office Grand National sweep brought in 30 quid's worth of crisps n chocolate! Think I've made me way through a good tenner's worth meself :rolleyes:

:eek: I cant talk tbh lol
    rubadub wrote: »
    :eek: just polished off a big bowl now, has whey in the ingredients so counts as a nutritional supplement :pac:

http://www.hbplaydates.ie/fun-food/money-off.html

I can smell BBQs in my window now, have to go get a slab of cow.

this is a fitness forum, dont be encouraging that:pac: .. mmmm must print that for next cheat day
    just had ice cream too!!!!

also ZOMG hammocks are great :P

as above, I cant talk :o:p

Are people seriously complaining about icecream??

Hanley wrote: »

im not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Hanley wrote: »

I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream...