Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

Archimedes wrote: »
    Im 22 years old. How the fúck am I supposed to remember the 80's?

We had the league in our own hands and the most generous possible route to the CL final we could have asked for given the teams remaining - in the space of 4 games, we've lost all that after 3 defeats (the 3-2 win was still a defeat) and a draw. Of course the players will be criticised. Shut up..

Well read up on your ****ing history and understand what the club is about. Its not a football manager game where you buy all the best players and win ever game 10-0. Win lose or draw i support united and hope we improve. Today they drew at ewood park same as chelsea and liverpool this season so where's the disgrace in that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,273 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Some of the supporters on here need to cop on. United have no devine right to win the titles. To be in with a shout this year with all the injuries has been a great attempt. Calling players on your team a disgrace is a sickening act. Supporters are supposed to support. Its a bloody good job ye didn't end up supporting teams that aren't in the running every year. I'd nearly say most of ye didn't remember what supporting united was like in the 80's when winning a cup was a big deal:mad:

So, the crux of your argument is that we should just accept it when the players don't perform to standard, when the squad isn't good enough.

You go do that.

I will hope the squad is improved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Well read up on your ****ing history and understand what the club is about. Its not a football manager game where you buy all the best players and win ever game 10-0. Win lose or draw i support united and hope we improve. Today they drew at ewood park same as chelsea and liverpool this season so where's the disgrace in that

So you're not allowed to criticise your team's players?

So Ferguson is gonna go into the changing rooms and tell them 'they tried' and 'it was a good effort' is he?

Stop talking out of your hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,782 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

"a great effort "

saf utd didnt even turn up, some of are players couldnt be even arsed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Wow, Utd not winning the League a 4th time in succession and you're lecturing each other on your club and its history.....gotta laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Get off your high horse, I know my history of the club as well as the next fan. Just because your old as balls doesn't make you a better fan. We've thrown away the league and whatever chance we had in the CL - that's the disgrace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Headshot wrote: »
    "a great effort "

saf utd didnt even turn up, some of are players couldnt be even arsed

I'd say half the players were black and blue in that dressing room.

There was no effort today.

mike65 wrote: »
    Wow, Utd not winning the League a 4th time in succession and you're lecturing each other on your club and its history.....gotta laugh.

Sky News Breaking News: Mike65 in useless post shocker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭limpdd

Calling players on your team a disgrace is a sickening act. Supporters are supposed to support.
    If the players are not trying then anyone can call them on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Get off your high horse, I know my history of the club as well as the next fan. Just because your old as balls doesn't make you a better fan. We've thrown away the league and whatever chance we had in the CL - that's the disgrace.

"old as balls"?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

I don't know where the lack of effort is coming from we controlled that game today. It was a lack of quality that was the difference. Wingers, and Central midfielders created nothing.

Sky News Breaking News: Mike65 in useless post shocker.

I thought you'd understand the context - Liverpool not won the league in 20 years and we lecture each other on the club and its history. But never mind eh? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭goddevil

I am almost happy the season ended today... The title wasn't in our hands anyway and we'd have needed pool or spurs to do us a favour.. But thats not how UTD win titles...That is not the United way...

Hopefully this opens Fergie's eyes about the quality or the lack of it in our midfield... Lets hope for some quality arrivals in the summer...

I thought you'd understand the context - Liverpool not won the league in 20 years and we lecture each other on the club and its history. But never mind eh? :rolleyes:

Nah mike, it was one of your typical little personality-deprived shít stirs - something we're all quite used to. Dont try worm your way out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Headshot wrote: »
    Nani was shocking today absolute shocking, the amount of times he gave away the ball I lost count and his crossing was just plain ****e
    I agree about Nani, that was the point John Giles made on Wednesday and got crucified for making. He has some nice finishing at times, but is still very hit and miss in general play. Personally I would much prefer if somebody else was brought in to play on the left.

Next summer, ideally a new central midfielder, new goalie and replacement for Berbatov(or Monty Burns as I always call him!) would be bought. Whether that will happen is very debatable. Joe Cole on a free would not be the worst place to start.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

When ye sold Ronaldo and could't afford to keep Tevez there was always the possibility of this happening.

Sure now ye know whats its like not to be able to buy the best players around. Most clubs are used to this situation and it won't do ye any harm to see what its like for the vast majority of clubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Seemed a pretty benign comment from mike tbh... Just my opinion...

Archimedes, suit yourself. If you feel bitter now just wait a few years, no room for being a fan boy when years start to tick by - ask the older Utd supporters who went a generation with nothing but FA Cups to show for all the money.

Im not even getting into that argument, because generating a discussion wasn't your intention. You wanted to get a rise, and you did. Im the bigger fool for falling for it.

blinding wrote: »
    When ye sold Ronaldo and could't afford to keep Tevez there was always the possibility of this happening.

Sure now ye know whats its like not to be able to buy the best players around. Most clubs are used to this situation and it won't do ye any harm to see what its like for the vast majority of clubs.

Even if we had kept Ronaldo and Tevez there was a possibility of this happening. Its not easy to win 4 league titles in a row in England, thats why it hasn't been done.

There is still games to play, the time to asses and look back is in the summer when people have calmer heads. Yes there is work to be done, and nobody will know that better than SAF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭timetogetfit

Leaving Teves go has proven to be the biggest disaster ever, he would have been perfect in a game like this, when we had ron and teves playing with rooney we were one of the best teams in europe but still needed to strengthen the midfield, now we are rightly fuked, even valencia who gives his all and has been decent is not good enough for the level thats needed but because there is much worse than him nobody mentions him

United need 7 first team players of world class ability

1.To replace VDS who is too old and wont last long more
    2.A world class right back,neville too old,oshea tries his best but not good enough,rafael too eratic
    3.A world class centre back-Rio is not the paler he was and his back problems are only going to get worse
    4.creative midfielder to replace scholes
    5.Right winger-as much as valencia tries he is very one dimensional and ultimatley not good enough
    6.left winger,giggs is too old and gone past it,nani is not good enough
    7.world class striker to replace berba who is a waste of space and to support rooney

So next season united should line up like this

loris

Maicon Vidic someone class Evra

Krasic Flecher banega or Gourcoff Di-Maria or ribery

Rooney Benzema or dzeko or villa

Of course thats dreamland stuff but a left winger, a striker and a creative midfielder are musts

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Spud83 wrote: »
    Even if we had kept Ronaldo and Tevez there was a possibility of this happening. Its not easy to win 4 league titles in a row in England, thats why it hasn't been done.

There is still games to play, the time to asses and look back is in the summer when people have calmer heads. Yes there is work to be done, and nobody will know that better than SAF.
    I would say that if ye had Tevez for the last few weeks and the rest of the run in then the league would have been yours.

The team does need some new blood for next year now though.

Neville and Scholes have probably come to the end of the road.

Are Berbatov and Carrick good enough for Utds first team.

Nani is Nani and the way he was still looking up to the gods minutes after scoring that goal against Bayern would drive me loopy if i were a Utd fan.

He is probably brain dead or something (did he think the game was over ?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,141 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

By the by, since its hard to get stats to find to show jut how efficent berbatov at playing the liknup man, I found these stats that might just prove some people wrong.

Of course stats dont say everything, but it does, clearly show, how Berbatov has performed since joining, and has been, in part, more productive for united then Carlos Tevez

This stats cover goals scored, assists, and a few more

Carlos Tevez – 07/08 – First season
    2685 minutes
    14 goals (9th highest in the league)
    1 goal per 192 minutes (2 hours 72 minutes)
    7 assists (18th highest in the league)
    1 goal scored/created per 128 minutes (2 hours 8 minutes)

Dimitar Berbatov – 08/09 – First season
    2643 minutes
    9 goals (25th highest in the league)
    1 goal per 294 minutes (4 hours 54 minutes)
    10 assists (2nd highest in the league)
    1 goal scored/created per 139 minutes (2 hours 19 minutes)

Carlos Tevez – 08/09 – Second season
    1856 minutes
    5 goals (53rd highest in the league)
    1 goal per 371 minutes (6 hours 11 minutes)
    3 assists (74th highest in the league)
    1 goal scored/created per 232 minutes (3 hours 52 minutes)

Dimitar Berbatov – 09/10 – Second season (as of February 1st)
    1161 minutes
    7 goals (11th highest in the league)
    1 goal per 166 minutes (2 hours 46 minutes)
    4 assists (23rd highest in the league)
    1 goal scored/created per 106 minutes (1 hour 46 minutes)

Conclusion
    - Berbatov’s contribution this season, in terms of goals and assists is better than last, and better than both Tevez’s seasons at United.
    - Berbatov’s contribution this season, in terms of goals alone, is better than last, and better than both Tevez’s seasons at United.
    - Tevez’s first season at United, in terms of goals alone, was far better than Berbatov’s first season at United.
    - Tevez’s first season at United, in terms of goals and assists, was marginally better than Berbatov’s first season at United.
    - Tevez’s second season at United, in terms of goals alone, was worse than both Berbatov’s seasons at United.
    - Tevez’s second second at United, in terms of goals and assists, was worse than both Berbatov’s seasons at United.

Just fruit for thought lads, fruit for thought

Also, interestingly, Sky sports databases have Dimitar Berbatov in the top 5 United players to "over most ground" on occasions were he played over 60 minutes.

In games he played over 70 minutes, 95% of the time he appeared in the top 2 for most ground covered.

Only Darren Fletcher and Ji sung park cover more ground. I know it doesnt say much for his hustle and bustle, but it does say, the lad gets around the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Leaving Teves go has proven to be the biggest disaster ever, he would have been perfect in a game like this, when we had ron and teves playing with rooney we were one of the best teams in europe but still needed to strengthen the midfield, now we are rightly fuked, even valencia who gives his all and has been decent is not good enough for the level thats needed but because there is much worse than him nobody mentions him

2.A world class right back,neville too old,oshea tries his best but not good enough,rafael too eratic
    3.A world class centre back-Rio is not the paler he was and his back problems are only going to get worse
    5.Right winger-as much as valencia tries he is very one dimensional and ultimatley not good enough
    7.world class striker to replace berba who is a waste of space and to support rooney

loris

Of course thats dreamland stuff but a left winger, a striker and a creative midfielder are musts

Did some Russian oligarch just buy the club ?

loris

VDS is fine for another year - we can put off a keeper signing til next summer imo.

Raf is eratic - what are you expecting from a 19 year old full back? I still reckon he will be class, wouldn't go about replacing him. We have O'Shea and Brown to back him up too.

Not too happy with Rio's injury record, but as long as Vidic doesn't leave (or Evans) I'm ok with the centre backs.

Valencia is fine - if Raf improves and takes the RB spot his overlapping with Valencia should prove very useful.

Creative midfielder - agreed.

I think we need a defensive one too - don't trust Hargreaves.

I would like a left winger too - but i have less of a problem with Nani than I did a few months ago.

As I said previously, not sure about the need for a striker. We certainly won't be going for one if Berbatov does not leave. Even if we do buy one, we don't have the midfield to support two strikers imo. Fletcher and a creative midfielder would leave too many gaps. Maybe Fletcher and Banega (who can create but plays that bit deeper) would be ok, but Fletcher and Gourcuff is a no no imo.

Signing a striker, a top one, means we have to buy a massive talent in midfield.

I would say that if ye had Tevez for the last few weeks and the rest of the run in then the league would have been yours.

I doubt that, he may have made a difference today, but I don't think so against Chelsea.
    The team does need some new blood for next year now though.

I agree with this, but then I think the same every year. You can always improve.
    Neville and Scholes have probably come to the end of the road.

Neville due to injury has had to play a lot more this year then expected. O'Shea and Brown missing large chunks of the season, as well as Rafeal being injured early on, makes that position look a lot weaker than it is.

Scholes is still good enough for the squad but CM does need to be addressed.
    Are Berbatov and Carrick good enough for Utds first team.

Berbatov is yes. Carrick has had a poor season and may be at the end of his road.
    Nani is Nani and the way he was still looking up to the gods minutes after scoring that goal against Bayern would drive me loopy if i were a Utd fan.

I didn't see that, but Nani has had a good six months. Again he isn't a left winger, so yes I would be bringing in a left sided player as well.

The squad doesn't need an overhaul it needs a bit of tweaking. One or two in central midfield, and one on the left, a new goalkeeper would be nice but not a necessitate yet as VDS has performed well this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,634 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

this thread makes depressing reading the last few days.I think alot of people are jumping the gun here,we dont need a complete overhaul of the squad just a few changes.a CM is a must maybe even 2 .the backline is ok and VDS has another yera left in him so no need for a keeper yet.(i would love to buy in a keeper this summer but that aint gonna happen).I cant see berbs been sold unless someone offers us decent money .so rooney .berbs,owen and 2 more from the remaining strikers and let a few go out on loan to get experience.if all our middfielders were fit .i think one top class CM/LW and a good versitile CM would see us thru.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

Im sick of people coming on saying "we let Tevez go" Despite his denials his agent clearly said he was pissed of being on the bench and with Rooney one his own upfront Tevez wouldnt have started this season either. He would have been great to have when Rooney is out as per most peoples comments but he wanted to be first choice.How long would Benzema settle for the same situation? Berbatovs attitude was shocking today offering no support for Kiko who looked out of his depth. We really need a quality back up for Rooney next year and loan out Kiko and Diouf to Premiership side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Realistically (or not depending on your opinion) I would like and be happy enough with the following first team for next season:

..............VDS

Raf
    Rio
    Vidic----Evra

----Fletcher--Hargreaves
    Valencia----Gourcuff----Nani
    Rooney

Changes I would like.... Banega in Hargreaves position, Rodwell would be another player I would like there. Di Maria in Nani's (or swapping about with Nani with Nani swapping with Valencia).

Milner is also another player I would like us to be looking at - with the versatility to play both wings, through the centre and at full back - a better version of Park.

EDIT: The important thing for the above team I have put out, is the bench/squad that supports it. The problems this season have been having no replacement for Fletcher in midfield, no replacement for Rooney up front and no real creative player in midfield when Scholes/Giggs are either not playing or off form. I think Scholes could be a very good player for us next season as a sub/impact player. Playing in that position I have Gourcuff - remove the need for him to track back much and just free him to roam and look for passes. I reckon it would be good use of him. Same regarding Giggs in that position. A left footed option on the wing to sub in/compete with Nani would be needed too.