Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,813 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Dave! wrote: »
    Any of you lads watchin the match?

Yup, it's pretty damn boring stuff though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

keane2097 wrote: »
    I'm finding it hard to motivate myself tbh. "clueless" and "gutless" are two words you've come out with in the last couple of posts - it's a bit ridiculous tbh, it's just a difference of opinion, there's no need to get all weepy about it. "Gutless" like - god help us :rolleyes:

The fact is, you're after claiming Kiko would be shipped out at 20 if he wasn't in the first team by then and tried to claim Rossi's transfer was proof that Fergie won't wait any longer than that for A striker to prove himself.

The reality is that most people know Fergie wanted to keep Rossi to allow him to develop for another couple of seasons and allow him to develop further but Rossi made up his mind to move on.

This is the exact opposite of what you claimed happened, and it shows it's unlikely to happen with Kiko either.

Rossi has done well for himself at Villarreal. But he is not a Manchester United player. Macheda could easily find himself, at 20, in the same situation as Rossi. If SAF really thought Rossi was going to be important player for MAnchester United he would of kept him. I don't think Fergie seen enough of him to justify keeping Rossi here. So he moved on.

TBF SAF is hardly going to come out and say he wasn't good enough for United to the press.

He'll have two years. I'm telling you that, as that is my opinion and the opinion of most people, I'd imagine.

Two years to prove he is on the right road to being a Manchester United player, unlike Rossi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Watchin today Id love to see our 451 with Hargo and Fletch and Berbs in the middle...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,813 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Osu wrote: »
    Rossi has done well for himself at Villarreal. But he is not a Manchester United player. Macheda could easily find himself, at 20, in the same situation as Rossi. If SAF really thought Rossi was going to be important player for MAnchester United he would of kept him. I don't think Fergie seen enough of him to justify keeping Rossi here. So he moved on

The Gerard Pique transfer pretty much debunks that argument by itself tbh.

The circumstances and comments by Ferguson about the Rossi transfer pretty much debunks the previous argument.

I think it's pretty obvious you're wrong about this one tbh, I'm not gonna bother continuing the discussion.

keane2097 wrote: »
    The Gerard Pique transfer pretty much debunks that argument by itself tbh.

The circumstances and comments by Ferguson about the Rossi transfer pretty much debunks the previous argument.

I think it's pretty obvious you're wrong about this one tbh, I'm not gonna bother continuing the discussion.

Oh God... :rolleyes:

I wonder where Gerrard Pique was born. :rolleyes:

Rossi? I don't care. Your wrong on Macheda.

Your right, don't continue lying to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,790 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

it was good while it lasted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Is that United playing today or a gang of imposters ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,291 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

United need a complete overhaul. Too many players are simply not near good enough. Absolutely disgraceful.

Unfortunately so, but do we have the money for that?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Osu wrote: »
    Unfortunately so, but do we have the money for that?
    Take that shít to the other thread for starters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

2 weeks ago: Top of the league, in our own hands, a handy route through to the CL final.

Fúcking horrible capitulation. Aston Villa would be so proud.

Thanks Mod...

Simple question, I don't know. And that other thread is a pile of SH1TE

fcuk sake. If we are going to talk transfers, the money is going to be discussed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Well that was atrocious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Well earned draw

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

fcuk sake. If we are going to talk transfers, the money is going to be discussed.
    The only questions relating to money here should be ''how much do you reckon he's worth'' or ''how much could we sell him for'' or some other variation.

''but do we have the money for that'' belongs in the other thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

Some of the supporters on here need to cop on. United have no devine right to win the titles. To be in with a shout this year with all the injuries has been a great attempt. Calling players on your team a disgrace is a sickening act. Supporters are supposed to support. Its a bloody good job ye didn't end up supporting teams that aren't in the running every year. I'd nearly say most of ye didn't remember what supporting united was like in the 80's when winning a cup was a big deal:mad:

Personally I think, the way the team is now. We need two CM's, a winger and a striker. I think the backs are fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Some of the supporters on here need to cop on. United have no devine right to win the titles. To be in with a shout this year with all the injuries has been a great attempt. Calling players on your team a disgrace is a sickening act. Supporters are supposed to support. Its a bloody good job ye didn't end up supporting teams that aren't in the running every year. I'd nearly say most of ye didn't remember what supporting united was like in the 80's when winning a cup was a big deal:mad:

Man City are just down the road..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

Tbh I think the last few games United have really felt the loss of players like Tevez, Ronaldo and Rooney. Matchwinners who'll get you a goal even when the team overall is playing rubbish.

The only questions relating to money here should be ''how much do you reckon he's worth'' or ''how much could we sell him for'' or some other variation.

This is the Manchetser United thread. I don't want to talk about financial statements etc. I want to know to people think what calibre of player we can afford.

YOU DON'T DECIDE WHAT IS TALKED ABOUT IN THIS THREAD.

I thought maybe you needed that pointed out for you.

i know some posters wont like this but the golden generation need to go, they are such a liability, I dont know what saf was thinking of a CM of Giggs and Scholes, wheres the industry, wheres the get in their faces attitude. NO ****ING ENERGY

Nani was shocking today absolute shocking, the amount of times he gave away the ball I lost count and his crossing was just plain ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Eh, no. Any discussion of the summers transfers window will be deeply informed by the amount of money we have to spend, whether it be zero, 30 million, or 100 million.

Nonetheless, the majority of the people who would be in the LUHG camp would accept and expect that United have a decent sized kitty to spend, circa 30 million, so we can inform our discussions based on that. But lets not live in airy fairy world where we can pretend that we have 80 million to spend and utterly rijig the team.

You can seperate out some of the financial issues, but since the next 4 months of this thread will be about transfers, expect a conversation about transfer budgets.

United need to focus on midfield, desperately. Midfield midfield midfield is all I care about. That said, I'd love to see some players cleared out. Neville, Scholes and Giggs all need to be seriously considered. Most importantly, and this has been the case for about a season now, Giggs and Scholes absolutely cannot play together, one or the other, never both.

Carrick I think should be sold, with his money re-invested. Berbatov is going to be up for debate, but theres no way Fergie will sell him, unless close to a match bid of 30 million comes in, would lose too much face. We could shift Owen too.

Carrick - 10-15 million
    Owen - 5 million
    Foster/ThePole - 5 million

Combined with a possible fund of about 30 million would result in a potential fund of circa 50-55 million. Probably plus another couple from youngsters being sold.

Since we've already spent around 7-8 on that Mexican lad, and another 9 on Smalling, I'd expect us to spend maybe 40 million more should those sales happen. For that, I think two players are essential, a new central midfielder and potentially another attacking midfield who can play across the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

On the flipside, United usually drop points after midweek European excursions! :pac:

well no.

I think we could do with signing Gourcuff, Rodwell, Milner, Banega and David Villa.

so, i think they are worth 20m, 15m, 15m, 20m, 40m. Do I think they are worth those values... Yes.

Is it then not clever to ask if United could afford to spend 110million?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Im 22 years old. How the fúck am I supposed to remember the 80's?

We had the league in our own hands and the most generous possible route to the CL final we could have asked for given the teams remaining - in the space of 4 games, we've lost all that after 3 defeats (the 3-2 win was still a defeat) and a draw. Of course the players will be criticised. Shut up..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

That was the 8th ocassion we have failed to score this season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭timetogetfit

United have definitely become a one man team, we were worried all season what would happen if Rooney got injured , well it happned as it does for some period every season, rooney got injured and in the space of 10 days our season is over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

PHB wrote: »
    Carrick - 10-15 million
    Owen - 5 million
    Foster/ThePole - 5 million

epic valuations. £15m for Carrick? No chance, he's hardly improved his repuatation at united and city, pool, arsenal or chelsea wouldn't touch him and the only team who could afford to spend £15m on him would be spurs and I doubt even they would want him. £5m for Owen? £1m per game he starts in a season?

I cant get over a player laying on the ground and his team need a goal urgently

this was berba's time to shine but yet he failed so miserably.