The 90's

I think there's a bit of "looking back with rose tinted glasses" here. I'm 25 too but I lived in Ballyfermot up to 1996. It wasn't pretty, I remember being followed and chased by some scumbag just because I brushed off him when walking past him. Had I not have bumped into my friend's mother further down the street I've no idea what might have happened to me.

There was plenty of rap back then too. Dr Dre, Snoop Doggy Dogg, NWA and Wu Tang Clan among others. It just wasn't as mainstream but my oldest brother listened to it all.

I'm just as guilty of looking back at how things "used to be" but the more I think about it, the 90s weren't the utopia I made them out to be. Probably more to do with the fact that I was a child. I still listen to the music though.

DingChavez wrote: »
    I think this applies:
    ITazU.gif

I was 12 in 1999.. Binary Finary ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

DingChavez wrote: »
    I think this applies:
    ITazU.gif

That's amazing. Things WERE best during the year I was twelve! How did they guess my age correctly? :confused: :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭liamwhite

i guess by lower class you mean working class? and if the answer is yes you are a pratt. i'm working class and proud of it .

shut up you idiot! Im a working class person, when i say lower class i mean people who dont have anything, not even a job you muppet! so get down off your high horse there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The youth of today... so aggressive and lippy... :(

Also you said originally you're from a middle-class background but above you said you're from a working class one - which is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Dudess wrote: »

Oh you said you're from a middle-class background.

If he was really middle class, his parents would have sent him to charm school, but he obviously isn't because they didn't.

Oh you said you're from a middle-class background.

I just love the way people nit pick on every word thats written, my post was not to make little of people, i ment middle class as in working people, and lower class that have nothing. I think the term i ment to use was working class backround.... which i am not now, i live in a counsil estate and claim my dole... so i am a lower class person myself as i put it.. i wasnt making little of anybody nor was i trying make myself look the big shot! i just worded it wrong, then you get some a$$holes that nitpick and think there great bevcause they can throw a few clever words together.

My post was as i said before a reflection of the 90's and to compare it with the way things are today. Yes im 25, and ive smoked the spliff and ditch drank like every teen, but it goes to show you people have your heads in your computers too much.

Ireland is a far more dangerous place than it was, i suppose ill get some smart asred comments from some of you. Fire away, say what you please, i made a simple mistake of wording my post wrong, but i stand by the rest of it.

@brian the smart arsed mod that thinks that this topic is not about history, let me tell you that 1990-2009 is actualy past tence. which is actual history, the punt is history and so is most of anything that was around in that era, i think im perfectly entitled to talk about that history in a history forum. Show me otherwise on the rules.

For those who would rather talk about michael collins then trot on to the next thread.
    I have to say i wrote my first post with not an ounce of bitterness in me, then as i made one mistake in wording it, there is 3 pages of people crying over it! get over yourselves!

ejmaztec wrote: »
    If he was really middle class, his parents would have sent him to charm school, but he obviously isn't because they didn't.

What a twat!

ejmaztec wrote: »

Ive bought something off you not too long ago on adverts.ie

maybe im thinking of somebody else....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 588 ✭✭✭R.Dub.Fusilier

liamwhite wrote: »
    shut up you idiot! Im a working class person, when i say lower class i mean people who dont have anything, not even a job you muppet! so get down off your high horse there.

you just proved what i said was true . hand bags at dawn is it ?

I just love the way people nit pick on every word thats written
    Hardly nitpicking when you say you're middle-class first, then, complete with personal abuse, that you're working-class (not that I remotely care what anyone's background is). See my edit above - sorry, I phrased it arseways initially.
    ive smoked the spliff and ditch drank like every teen, but it goes to show you people have your heads in your computers too much.
    Can't see what one has to do with the other, but basically you're saying that you, way back through the mists of time in 2001, were no different to the teens of today you're complaining about?
    I have to say i wrote my first post with not an ounce of bitterness in me, then as i made one mistake in wording it, there is 3 pages of people crying over it! get over yourselves!
    You're the one "crying" over people disagreeing with you - get over YOURself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

please take our hand because you are digging yourself into a bigger hole and clearly are sounding like a complete and utter gob*hite ( I am sure your sound normally, but there might not be too many people here who would not think twice about considering yourself to be a bit of a tool)

one minute you say your middle class and a bit of lower and now working class. How the f*ck do you think you are consider anyone from the lower class. there is no such thing, you are not an aristrocrat, are you. one thing to consider someone to be a lowlife scum bag, its certaintly another to think someone is from a "lower class" because they "don't have anything, not even a job"? What bol(ox is this?

Listen ye, your 25, you would be nothing without your parents hard graft and dedication to get where they are today. You have not achieved anything yet yourself, you are still hanging onto the coat tails of your parents

(now listen carefully, do not waste your energy harping on about brilliant degrees, excellent job , independence etc - i am not slagging you off, but you, like me btw, are only starting out in life)

nearly every single person here you have made the genuine mistake as to your interpretation of lower class, don't get sore that your decent thread is taking a tanking.

face it your arguments on drugs etc are going nowhere, at least clarify or counter argue in a better manner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

@brian the smart arsed mod that thinks that this topic is not about history, let me tell you that 1990-2009 is actualy past tence. which is actual history, the punt is history and so is most of anything that was around in that era, i think im perfectly entitled to talk about that history in a history forum. Show me otherwise on the rules.

lol. Something being in the past tense does not make it history, nor does it automatically make a discussion on the issue or event historical. The breakfast I referred to on the first page is past tense but if I began talking about how great it was that would not make for a historical discussion.

you just proved what i said was true . hand bags at dawn is it ?

WELL omg.ie R.dub... your such a swell guy you know that!! swell swell swell!!! :D If it wernt for the super deeee dooper mods on this site id tiddle your hiney... But im a kind swell kinda huy R. oh lorrrrrrrd no!! am a peacefull lovin guy... all i can say to you now Mr R.. if that is your real name.. toodles.. and be safe out there ye hear.... even when ye by and sell stuff on adverts.ie, its a dangerous world out there and you just gotta keep safe.. thats all my post was tryna say.. it aint the 60's 70's 80's or 90's oh hell no its not! its the naughties!!! :) so you gotta watch your ass in the naughties... :D peace out my fun loving bubbley tiddley doodley boards.ie buddy ;)

please take our hand because you are digging yourself into a bigger hole and clearly are sounding like a complete and utter gob*hite ( I am sure your sound normally, but there might not be too many people here who would not think twice about considering yourself to be a bit of a tool)

one minute you say your middle class and a bit of lower and now working class. How the f*ck do you think you are consider anyone from the lower class. there is no such thing, you are not an aristrocrat, are you. one thing to consider someone to be a lowlife scum bag, its certaintly another to think someone is from a "lower class" because they "don't have anything, not even a job"? What bol(ox is this?

Listen ye, your 25, you would be nothing without your parents hard graft and dedication to get where they are today. You have not achieved anything yet yourself, you are still hanging onto the coat tails of your parents

(now listen carefully, do not waste your energy harping on about brilliant degrees, excellent job , independence etc - i am not slagging you off, but you, like me btw, are only starting out in life)

nearly every single person here you have made the genuine mistake as to your interpretation of lower class, don't get sore that your decent thread is taking a tanking.

face it your arguments on drugs etc are going nowhere, at least clarify or counter argue in a better manner.

I think your a bit gay.. your very angry :D

lol. Something being in the past tense does not make it history, nor does it automatically make a discussion on the issue or event historical. The breakfast I referred to on the first page is past tense but if I began talking about how great it was that would not make for a historical discussion.

what was suppose to be a harmless post turned into the biggest joke on boards.ie so im goint to treat it like a joke! I misunderstood your point, and i grant its valid. Anyways the new forum its in is more fun! :D

people need to lighten the **** up!

I just love the way people nit pick on every word thats written, my post was not to make little of people, i ment middle class as in working people, and lower class that have nothing. I think the term i ment to use was working class backround.... which i am not now, i live in a counsil estate and claim my dole... so i am a lower class person myself as i put it.. i wasnt making little of anybody nor was i trying make myself look the big shot! i just worded it wrong, then you get some a$$holes that nitpick and think there great bevcause they can throw a few clever words together.

My post was as i said before a reflection of the 90's and to compare it with the way things are today. Yes im 25, and ive smoked the spliff and ditch drank like every teen, but it goes to show you people have your heads in your computers too much.

Ireland is a far more dangerous place than it was, i suppose ill get some smart asred comments from some of you. Fire away, say what you please, i made a simple mistake of wording my post wrong, but i stand by the rest of it.

For those who would rather talk about michael collins then trot on to the next thread.

brian is the moderator of history and heritage, moderators are suspose to del with these things. he gave you an opportunity to explain why the topic should remain there (doing you a favour so that you would get a better response from others) you never bothered to respond. that is what the section s about, discussion, analyst and debate (nothing fancy or advance btw). there are some videos there too, you may enjoy it. a wide range of historical topics are discussed there depending on the time of the year

what you were discussing was not really of historic matters, people ain't going to be reading as part of the social history of ireland what kids were up to and how much crime their is now (maybe they will actually) you told us you were in dispare about the current situation. from anyone's point of view, it sounded more of a moan or something to talk to joe duffy about (please do not take any offence here) mtv and the link will only be a footnote in the history books of the future (even social history)

the wording you used, unfortunately made anyone reading it (i am sure if you where in our shoes you would react to) believe you were someone else. if you were in a pub or wherever and someone made a general comment/observation by starting with outdated words like class, you will have people switched off immediately. why are you only now explaining yourself?

You will see from myself, i try to keep to simple words, I try and avoid using words or phrase that i do not understand their meaning. pitty you did not try to do it (again, put yourself in our shows, we can't read your mind)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 588 ✭✭✭R.Dub.Fusilier

WELL omg.ie R.dub... your such a swell guy you know that!! swell swell swell!!! :D If it wernt for the super deeee dooper mods on this site id tiddle your hiney... But im a kind swell kinda huy R. oh lorrrrrrrd no!! am a peacefull lovin guy... all i can say to you now Mr R.. if that is your real name.. toodles.. and be safe out there ye hear.... even when ye by and sell stuff on adverts.ie, its a dangerous world out there and you just gotta keep safe.. thats all my post was tryna say.. it aint the 60's 70's 80's or 90's oh hell no its not! its the naughties!!! :) so you gotta watch your ass in the naughties... :D peace out my fun loving bubbley tiddley doodley boards.ie buddy ;)

haven't got a clue what the above is supposed to mean , but its nice to know that you care about people , like lower class or is it middle class or working class ? sorry i'm confused now .

you should go and pick up the toys you threw out of your pram .

I think your a bit gay.. your very angry :D

well at least i ain't the one looking like a gobs*ite. Admit it you are only coming out with this as many people have caught you out on a number of things. You told me earlier that i should open my eyes to an number of matters. I replied, rebutted your argument and many others have given similar views. At we had the deceny to point out our views and deal with the matters you raised. its a shame, that would have been a good topic in any thread

As for the ghay thing. No, sorry darling, but thanks for asking;). But, however, if I was, what you that got to do with it? Problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Ah,I remember the 90's. Back then people used to argue in the street and such, none of this anonymous web bitching. Those were the days. Back then we used to have free concerts in college green too,Mary Black,Christy Moore were two performers I remember. There were also hundreds of cider drinking yobos, a look in the wrong direction could get you a bottle in the face,fun times indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

25 year olds of today. They're such an angry bunch aren't they? They get overheated over the littlest things, and are illiterate while abusing people.
    Yup, that's modern 25 year olds for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭karlm37

Hmmm... The unemployed are "lower class", gays are "angry", and anyone who disagrees with the OP is a "twat" "idiot" or a "muppet"... :rolleyes:

haven't got a clue what the above is supposed to mean , but its nice to know that you care about people , like lower class or is it middle class or working class ? sorry i'm confused now .

you should go and pick up the toys you threw out of your pram .

I do care about people, i acre about my country. I just ahvent got a great way of expressing it. My last post was gibbirish, as in truning this thread into a joke because thats what its turned into! Im sorry if i offended people but jesus christ were not all great at putting words together!

So im not very educated the way people want me to be, but my intentions are good. I care about my country and i am sad by the turn it has taken that is what im trying to say.. lower class and middle class is for aeroplanes! i ment to say working class people. I have nothing against anybody, i am very angry thoughthat people can ask me to explain what i mean by lower class or middle class... then they would have given me an oppertunity to rectify what i said, by the time i logged back on i was swamped with abuse.

I treat everybody equal, i have freinds that are drug addicts now, i have family that are drug addicts, i have family and freinds that never worked a day in there life, i have family and freinds that work hard all there lives for what they have. i dont seperate any of them, i love them all for who they are not what they have and i treat people the same even if i dont know them.

people missed the whole point in my post, mtv, crime, music ect.. it was just a weigh between then and now and how things have changed, you cant bump into someone in a bar now, you cant look at someone for more than 5 seconds now because they might kick the ****e out of you!

On the front page of the paer last week was a 15 year old holding an axe, threatining to rape and toryure his enemies family's and kids!!!!!!!

Thatis the mentality of our countrys new generation and that is sick!!!

Two youths not too long ago pushed a rod through the back of a young lads head and took his eyes out and beat him to death because he hung around with someone they didnt like! what the **** kind of country has this turned too???? i remember years ago you would be suprised to see a murder.. it was actual news!!!! now its a daily basis!! it makes me sick that life now is about fear and power and the new thing is not football, its not music its WHO IS MORE DANGEROUS THAN THE NEXT! i love my country and it saddens me that its going this way!

Im not moaning im staing facts! and at the same thing looking back and wishing that i cila black was still on tv and gladiatorrs was aswell!!!!! :mad:

karlm37 wrote: »
    Hmmm... The unemployed are "lower class", gays are "angry", and anyone who disagrees with the OP is a "twat" "idiot" or a "muppet"... :rolleyes:

twat :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭Lillylilly

Liamwhite, I think you need to be more careful with the wording and abuse in your posts, you're riling people up for no reason. In a way, I do understand where you're coming from. Like other posters said, I think you're looking back on the 90's with rose tinted glasses. Being a grown up is rubbish, we had more fun as teens. We were more enthusiastic about family friendly tv and stuff cos we were kids!
    The news and papers sensationalises stories now, the more gruesome sells! We have access to world news at the click of a button with the internet. I often wonder myself about the world and it's downturn, but a lot of that could be the fact that I'm old enough now to process the news, I wasn't interested or able to fully understand it as a youngone!

Lillylilly wrote: »
    Liamwhite, I think you need to be more careful with the wording and abuse in your posts, you're riling people up for no reason. In a way, I do understand where you're coming from. Like other posters said, I think you're looking back on the 90's with rose tinted glasses. Being a grown up is rubbish, we had more fun as teens. We were more enthusiastic about family friendly tv and stuff cos we were kids!
    The news and papers sensationalises stories now, the more gruesome sells! We have access to world news at the click of a button with the internet. I often wonder myself about the world and it's downturn, but a lot of that could be the fact that I'm old enough now to process the news, I wasn't interested or able to fully understand it as a youngone!

I hope i am riling people up, thats my intention. Its ok for them to throw abuse at me but i cant at them? I like when i fired out random insults it was such a sin, but when i was insulted it was ok??? I dont think so!

I understand my firts post was off the wall a bit with confusuon, but what was stopping people postong " liam, could you explain what you mean by lower class and middle class please" and i would have explained and there wouldnt be a war with words.

Instead i was called a prat ect.. and as for the crime in this counrty its real you better believe its real, the media hype it up a bit but its all there and happening.. todays news

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/breaking-news/uk-ireland/teenager-held-after-seven-stabbed-14762770.html

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/0410/breaking10.html

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/0410/1224268048738.html

Thats todays news, its ****ing sick the way people treat people! Look at that mans face in the last article, he is lifeless!!! why???!!! because some little **** decided to take his son, for no reason! Look at that black kid last week... stabbed on the way home from football because he is black?????!!!!! This wasnt like this, i was looking at archive news papers a few months ago from 1970-2005 and fron 1970- 2000 the crime rate was not even 1/4 of what it is from 2000-2010!!!!

And with the police force we have today we might aswel have an uneducated fool like me out trying to do it!!!
    Thats a joke aswel, i dont know how many times i have seen young police on there phones while driving, i seen a garda about my age flying down a road in uniform with no helmet on a mophead, at christmas i seen a garda car cramped with gardai in it driving at an unmercyful speed!! then up the road a bit the they were in a petrol station having lunch.. this is our polioce force??????? They cant even protect themselves, only recently two gardai had a gun put to his head by a man outside a pub that was only last week... last year a gadai was shot in the stomach by a 24 year old young fella. They dont care.. this generation is ruthless and we have nothing to protect ourselves with, and if we try to protect ourselves we can end up in jail ourselves!!! this is what were up against!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Kaizer Sosa

You've gone from creating a post bemoaning societies apparent lack of respect for one another and the menacing nature of today's yoofs to making what appears to be a threat against another poster within a few pages. Well Done! :rolleyes:

I hope i am riling people up, thats my intention. Its ok for them to throw abuse at me but i cant at them? I like when i fired out random insults it was such a sin, but when i was insulted it was ok???
    Criticising posts is not personal abuse. If you don't like others criticising your posts, no point in you being on a discussion forum. But you're doing something about that because you get banned for personal abuse here.

This forum is smart-arse by nature anyway and it's not going to change for anyone.

I am sorry to those i offended, i regret it now. I was fuming by the way some people responded to my post. But i think about it now i was childish for doing the exact same thing. I apolagies to anybody i offended and i apolagies to anybody i insulted.

Criticising posts is not personal abuse. If you don't like others criticising your posts, no point in you being on a discussion forum. But you're doing something about that because you get banned for personal abuse here.

This forum is smart-arse by nature anyway and it's not going to change for anyone.

I didnt ask for it to be put on a smart arsed forum... and being called a prat is not critisising! let them ban me!