Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 90's

• 10-04-2010 9:32am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭liamwhite

I have to say, im 25 years of age and i dislike todays society. I come from a middle class backround and grew up with middle class people and lower class. The 90's to me were the days, i often look back at family photo's of the 70's and 80's and 90's and wish i was around then rather than now, Ireland today is dysfunctional. It has lost its way BIG TIME!

Listen tot he news, read the papers and if you dont believe them then open your eyes and see what once was a beautiful country with a beautiful nature in people has died out BIG TIME!

Just last night i was sat in my car waiting on somebody, i sat and observed these 3 youths sitting on a wall.. two ladys were out walking and walked past the youths and one of them let out a roar " the fat ars on that" these lads were about 15/16 if not younger.
    It goes to show that generations are getting worse, they have no respect for themselves or others.
    I have been noticing that youths today are much more hyper, much more aggressive and much more lippy, that is fuelled by two things.
    Technology is growing WAYWAY WAY WAY WAY too fast, a little kid in my housing estate no more than 5 or 6 years old has a real mobile phone! helooo!!!?????
    the second reason is, drugs. while people make excuses for youths turning to drugs ill accept most of them excuses BUT NEVER EVER TELL ME THAT THEY DO DRUGS BECAUSE THERE NOTHING TO DO!!!!! ill get physicaly sick!!

There is too much for them to do, in the 90's when i was growing up we didnt have 1/4 of what is on offer today! kids today have plenty of distractions so thats not an excuse!

All in all, i miss the 90's, i miss the saturday nights in watching cila black and gladiators, i miss listening to BOOM SHAKE SHAKE SHAKE THE ROOM and RYTHEM IS A DANCER, i miss the good original 90's movies : scream, con air, face off, bad boys ect ect ect i miss the people of the 90's.. i miss the MTV THAT ACTUALY PLAYED MUSIC!!! i miss there attitudes, the big boom.. I MISS THE OLD Ireland!!!

Now we have ****ty rap music in our ears all the time, every tv station is a reality show, mtv is dead!!! every movie that comes out is a part 5 or 6 or a remake of a remake that was a reeboot after the 6th film of the franchise was released! JESUS CHRIST!!! im after depressing mysefl now... :(:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

liamwhite wrote: »
    I have to say, im 25 years of age and i dislike todays society. I come from a middle class backround and grew up with middle class people and lower class. The 90's to me were the days, i often look back at family photo's of the 70's and 80's and 90's and wish i was around then rather than now, Ireland today is dysfunctional. It has lost its way BIG TIME!

Listen tot he news, read the papers and if you dont believe them then open your eyes and see what once was a beautiful country with a beautiful nature in people has died out BIG TIME!

Just last night i was sat in my car waiting on somebody, i sat and observed these 3 youths sitting on a wall.. two ladys were out walking and walked past the youths and one of them let out a roar " the fat ars on that" these lads were about 15/16 if not younger.
    It goes to show that generations are getting worse, they have no respect for themselves or others.
    I have been noticing that youths today are much more hyper, much more aggressive and much more lippy, that is fuelled by two things.
    Technology is growing WAYWAY WAY WAY WAY too fast, a little kid in my housing estate no more than 5 or 6 years old has a real mobile phone! helooo!!!?????
    the second reason is, drugs. while people make excuses for youths turning to drugs ill accept most of them excuses BUT NEVER EVER TELL ME THAT THEY DO DRUGS BECAUSE THERE NOTHING TO DO!!!!! ill get physicaly sick!!

There is too much for them to do, in the 90's when i was growing up we didnt have 1/4 of what is on offer today! kids today have plenty of distractions so thats not an excuse!

All in all, i miss the 90's, i miss the saturday nights in watching cila black and gladiators, i miss listening to BOOM SHAKE SHAKE SHAKE THE ROOM and RYTHEM IS A DANCER, i miss the good original 90's movies : scream, con air, face off, bad boys ect ect ect i miss the people of the 90's.. i miss the MTV THAT ACTUALY PLAYED MUSIC!!! i miss there attitudes, the big boom.. I MISS THE OLD Ireland!!!

Now we have ****ty rap music in our ears all the time, every tv station is a reality show, mtv is dead!!! every movie that comes out is a part 5 or 6 or a remake of a remake that was a reeboot after the 6th film of the franchise was released! JESUS CHRIST!!! im after depressing mysefl now... :(:mad:

Right, I am the same age as you, but please don't tell me that youths of today were not as loutish as the 1990's? Drugs were around in the bigger towns and cities then too! (though not as easy accessible) The 1990's was the revival of the drug culture (well, E's and coke) all we had to do was open up the newspapers (the british ones, god that filth never happened here:D) as see how loutish,its cool to be stupid and violent behaviour was accepted and encouraged (Brit pop as an example) when lady's were starting to act like lads and drink people under the table (oh dear god). teenagers starting to wear clothing (ala spice girls) looking like slappers (not complaining) Acid house ruled for a year or so (eer arrrhhh )By the way, all that was great. loved the 1990's, this decade has been dull and bland.

People just have/had more money now and many of us became headless chickens (ala Harry Enfielfs Loadsa monwy character)

You say you are from middle class area, but know some "middle class people and lower class", how lovely for you. btw, aren't "lower class" people too? Come to think of it was type of person still uses those terms middle and lower class? self conscience prats me thinks?your background has nothing to do with it

Ireland was not all that rosy in the 1990's. It took till the mid to late 1990's for the country to get its backside into 21st century ie change in divorce laws, the awaking to years of political,administrative and clerical scandal, realisation that brining peace to the north meant talking to everyone.

The beauty of the country is still here. it has not gone away. it just needs to slightly deflated the big head it got over the past few years and ground itself.

the whole shouting at anyone for kicks has gone on for years! remember knock on random people's doors and running away or prank calling? sad, yes, but there has always been guerrier/rouge type of carry on, so i don't know where you get that illusion of middle ireland from, though maybe through an older and mature age, you realise what horrible little f*ckers do this kind of thing

the papers, hmm, one bone to pick with them. have you noticed how the standards have gone really south in certain tv and print sectors. surprisingly swearing seems accepted now (oh the irony considering the above paragraph) the papers have sensalised alot of things and seems to forget that its suppose to tell the news and facts, not attempt to give us an example to a chapter from some over the top and graphic crime triller.

the phone thing, eh, would not make an issue with it. at least parents can always keep in contact when he is on a mala date at the sandpit with Síle (bas*ards)

not all the lippy smart alex kids are on drugs! so your really saying the youths of today are more aggresive etc than before??

I accept what you say about nothing to do cant be excuse for drugs. but don't judge other people by your standards, as well meaning as they are. boredom or, jesus a right of passage, tends to be a reason. how many things can people really do without money??? can't play football in the park all the time (which ya probably be chased off by council) youth sports, with exception of gaa (i am sure athletics too) tends to end around the end of the school year. for some, unless you are legally allowed to work, the summer can often be long and dragged out (but no school so wayhay) its not like underrage drinking did not happen years ago (and fights at discos) ya still had to make sure you kept your gob shut and stay out of some hard men's way.

anyway, ya, 1990's were great. but the youth now will say the same about the noughties in 10 years time. people will say the 1980's was brilliant despite the dodgy clothing, economy, music, mé féin generation . but older people went mental about the 1990's as it made the punk scene and swinging sixties look tame by comparrison. remember that song sex on the beach, horny etc - remember the embarrasment when that came on the radio when your parents were driving? rember too, how the foggies whinged how OUR music and style was a carbon copy of the 60's and 70's?

aye, time to take the ignorance is bliss attitude to certain things before you turn out like ab simpson, for your own sake.

by the way, the following, assuming you a male were never cool:
    saturday nights in watching cila black,
    listening to BOOM SHAKE SHAKE SHAKE THE ROOM and RYTHEM IS A DANCER,

there is always youtube

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

What has this got to do with history or heritage? :confused: I'm going to have my breakfast now and if I don't see a really good reason for this thread being here when I log on again later I'm going to move it to AH. Mod.

ay brian, surely your good self knows that history and heritage is not confind to stuffy academic era prehistoric - 1970's?:) shure won't our great great children be talking about what went on in the 1990's (i shuddder to think)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

ay brian, surely your good self knows that history and heritage is not confind to stuffy academic era prehistoric - 1970's?:) shure won't our great great children be talking about what went on in the 1990's (i shuddder to think)

I remember the 1990s as if they only just happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭liamwhite

You say you are from middle class area, but know some "middle class people and lower class", how lovely for you. btw, aren't "lower class" people too? Come to think of it was type of person still uses those terms middle and lower class? self conscience prats me thinks?your background has nothing to do with it

Yes i said middle class and lower class, so what? and i hope you wernt calling me a self conscience prat, because judging my your last post you cant realy talk mate.

My post was a reflection on the 90's and how **** the naughties as you call them realy are! It wasnt a stab at people in general it was a stab at how most people are today!

and as for drugs in the 90's... i never in my life seen so many young back then aged as young as 11 strung on on gear.. open your eyes and see the state of this country! and if you cant then stay asleep.

Well if im not mistaken, the 90's is history! History dosent have to be 100 years to be history. I dont see anything in the rules saying you cant talk about recent history????????

It's very similar to discussing what happened five minutes ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 588 ✭✭✭R.Dub.Fusilier

Yes i said middle class and lower class, so what? and i hope you wernt calling me a self conscience prat

i guess by lower class you mean working class? and if the answer is yes you are a pratt. i'm working class and proud of it .

Yes i said middle class and lower class, so what? and i hope you wernt calling me a self conscience prat, because judging my your last post you cant realy talk mate.

My post was a reflection on the 90's and how **** the naughties as you call them realy are! It wasnt a stab at people in general it was a stab at how most people are today!

and as for drugs in the 90's... i never in my life seen so many young back then aged as young as 11 strung on on gear.. open your eyes and see the state of this country! and if you cant then stay asleep.

well , i had started that post, intially tongue in check, but after reading yours again, yes i was referring to you. what type of person in this day and age defines/brands himself to a particular class? its not a badge of honour you know. what were you setting out to point out? you came across as condensending, as if, your opinion provides more validity (it was a decent discussion if on another section in boards and you left that bit out)

Don't know what you are getting defensive because I was not asking about what background your from. i do not care. your the one that started it.

I just think its silly to compare and contrast today and the 1990's because you talk as if everything was honky dory everwhere or that people from other decades did not think the same about us in the 1990's as you think of society now.(this is kind of the type of section in boards that does that) each to their own only an idiot would think otherwise. there is nothing self conscience about that. this is a history and hertiage thread, what relevance does this topic have here? it comes across as a bit of a moan and urning for the old days, there plenty of other sections to post, like humanities or after hours or better still talk to joe or a politican or do something about it.

as for the drugs thing, jesus, arrogance here. what 11 year olds now are strung out?? so your saying you are certain alot of 11 year olds now are on drugs? what kind of drugs? have you drug tested them? before you say anything, ye i have heard about 11-12 year olds on booze getting pregnant (one girl from our school was pregnant by 13, but don't go getting judgemental about it, it has happened in any other decade) ye its obvious the younger people are taking the drugs now, cause its accessible and there's more money. where did you get the idea that i was disagreeing with you? all i am saying is, these problems are not new or unique to 2000's, maybe not as bad as they are now, but they are there, so maybe its you that needs to open the eyes

i was not referring to 11 year olds at all either from the 1990's like you or me.i was referring to older teenagers, and btw my eyes were wide open, i knew and sadly witnessed the older crowd, the 14-18 year old (from the 1990's)when in school (obviously not in the building) who were dabbling in hash, skunk, speed and sadly e's, my eyes were wide open!

this is beginning to sound like one of "think of the children" cries

anyway, ye, things have being crap for a while. music tv etc is crap, boring etc. people are rudder etc. but, sure, people of an older generation might have thought the same iabout the children of the 1990's

i guess by lower class you mean working class? and if the answer is yes you are a pratt. i'm working class and proud of it .

how about we are human beings and not be determined on where we are in the food chain/rat race, thats what i was really getting at

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I remember the 1990s as if they only just happened.

i was being sarcastic there:p

There's nothing historical in your discussion.

Dear AH mods,

I haz present for you. Enjoy.

Love and Kisses,
    B.

I've said it a few times recently.. I wish I turned 18 in 1993.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

I miss decent spelling and grammar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Nostaliga .... it isn't what it used to be.

I remember in my day young lads would always help little old ladies across the road and doff their caps at the parish priest.

/lie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I have to say, im 25 years of age and i dislike todays society. I come from a middle class backround and grew up with middle class people and lower class.
    I got as far as here before I lost interest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Ah shure twas all good, some even did more than doff their cap to the PP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

I've said it a few times recently.. I wish I turned 18 in 1993.

Why?

Fago! wrote: »
    Why?

Could have taken advantage of the boom.. Coming out of college at the exact time everything collapsed was unfortunate.

i was being sarcastic there:p

I know, and so was I:P

Could have taken advantage of the boom.. Coming out of college at the exact time everything collapsed was unfortunate.

Yeah I'm the same. As soon as I got out of college everything fell apart. Bad timing.

This is irrelevant, but what does it mean when a slash is before words?

/word here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

Yeah I'm the same. As soon as I got out of college everything fell apart. Bad timing.

/word here

it means that the former guns and roses guitarist approves of the word/phrase

/word here

Just think "doing".

/responds to Fago.

Just think "doing".

/responds to Fago.

Ah, nice one ABG.

/laughs at bazmaidens joke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

“The children now love luxury; they have bad manners, contempt for authority; they show disrespect for elders and love chatter in place of exercise. Children are now tyrants, not the servants of their households. They no longer rise when elders enter the room. They contradict their parents, chatter before company and, gobble up dainties at the table, cross their legs, and tyrannise their teachers.”
    “I see no hope for the future of our people if they are dependent on
    frivolous youth of today, for certainly all youth are reckless beyond
    words… When I was young, we were taught to be discreet and
    respectful of elders, but the present youth are exceedingly wise
    [disrespectful] and impatient of restraint”

So you see, OP, people have been coming out with the same ****e as you for over 2000 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I have been noticing that youths today are much more hyper, much more aggressive and much more lippy
    Wtf?! This is from a 25-year-old?!

I miss the days of when young people didn't act about 70...

Here's a strange thing: when I was 16 (1994) teenagers could be just as aggressive and lippy as they are now.
    the second reason is, drugs.
    What drugs? I know alcohol makes people aggressive...

Everyone who had a good childhood looks back with rose-tinted specs at those years and airbrushes the bad bits - doesn't mean times were better than they are now though. My childhood was the 80s/early 90s, and looking back I see nothing but awesomeness - for a kid; however the 80s/early 90s in Ireland for an adult? No thanks.

Since the dawn of time, people have despaired at younger generations - thought it was only something old people did though.
    I'm turning 32 soon - not exactly overjoyed about it, but by god do the Boards wannabe curmudgeons (aged 19 to 25) make me feel fine and young. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,785 ✭✭✭dasdog

I left college in 1995 and after doing a bit of travelling and dossing had work put on a plate in front of me. Couldn't have timed it better. I do feel sorry for recent graduates but things will improve. As for drugs in the 90's...if you weren't coming up on something or coming down you weren't really there ;)

Dudess wrote: »
    Wtf?! This is from a 25-year-old?!

I miss the days of when young people didn't act about 70...

Here's a strange thing: when I was 16 (1994) teenagers could be just as aggressive and lippy as they are now.

What drugs? I know alcohol makes people aggressive...

Everyone who had a good childhood looks back with rose-tinted specs at those years and airbrushes the bad bits - doesn't mean times were better than they are now though. My childhood was the 80s/early 90s, and looking back I see nothing but awesomeness - for a kid; however the 80s/early 90s in Ireland for an adult? No thanks.

Since the dawn of time, people have despaired at younger generations - thought it was only something old people did though.
    I'm turning 32 soon - not exactly overjoyed about it, but by god do the Boards wannabe curmudgeons (aged 19 to 25) make me feel fine and young. :)

You whippersnapper you!

/goes to watch matlock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭DingChavez

I think this applies:
    ITazU.gif

I think there's a bit of "looking back with rose tinted glasses" here. I'm 25 too but I lived in Ballyfermot up to 1996. It wasn't pretty, I remember being followed and chased by some scumbag just because I brushed off him when walking past him. Had I not have bumped into my friend's mother further down the street I've no idea what might have happened to me.

There was plenty of rap back then too. Dr Dre, Snoop Doggy Dogg, NWA and Wu Tang Clan among others. It just wasn't as mainstream but my oldest brother listened to it all.

I'm just as guilty of looking back at how things "used to be" but the more I think about it, the 90s weren't the utopia I made them out to be. Probably more to do with the fact that I was a child. I still listen to the music though.

DingChavez wrote: »
    I think this applies:
    ITazU.gif

I was 12 in 1999.. Binary Finary ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

DingChavez wrote: »
    I think this applies:
    ITazU.gif

That's amazing. Things WERE best during the year I was twelve! How did they guess my age correctly? :confused: :pac:

shut up you idiot! Im a working class person, when i say lower class i mean people who dont have anything, not even a job you muppet! so get down off your high horse there.

The youth of today... so aggressive and lippy... :(

Also you said originally you're from a middle-class background but above you said you're from a working class one - which is it?

Oh you said you're from a middle-class background.

If he was really middle class, his parents would have sent him to charm school, but he obviously isn't because they didn't.

Oh you said you're from a middle-class background.

I just love the way people nit pick on every word thats written, my post was not to make little of people, i ment middle class as in working people, and lower class that have nothing. I think the term i ment to use was working class backround.... which i am not now, i live in a counsil estate and claim my dole... so i am a lower class person myself as i put it.. i wasnt making little of anybody nor was i trying make myself look the big shot! i just worded it wrong, then you get some a$$holes that nitpick and think there great bevcause they can throw a few clever words together.

My post was as i said before a reflection of the 90's and to compare it with the way things are today. Yes im 25, and ive smoked the spliff and ditch drank like every teen, but it goes to show you people have your heads in your computers too much.

Ireland is a far more dangerous place than it was, i suppose ill get some smart asred comments from some of you. Fire away, say what you please, i made a simple mistake of wording my post wrong, but i stand by the rest of it.

@brian the smart arsed mod that thinks that this topic is not about history, let me tell you that 1990-2009 is actualy past tence. which is actual history, the punt is history and so is most of anything that was around in that era, i think im perfectly entitled to talk about that history in a history forum. Show me otherwise on the rules.

For those who would rather talk about michael collins then trot on to the next thread.
    I have to say i wrote my first post with not an ounce of bitterness in me, then as i made one mistake in wording it, there is 3 pages of people crying over it! get over yourselves!

If he was really middle class, his parents would have sent him to charm school, but he obviously isn't because they didn't.

What a twat!

Ive bought something off you not too long ago on adverts.ie

maybe im thinking of somebody else....

shut up you idiot! Im a working class person, when i say lower class i mean people who dont have anything, not even a job you muppet! so get down off your high horse there.

you just proved what i said was true . hand bags at dawn is it ?

I just love the way people nit pick on every word thats written
    Hardly nitpicking when you say you're middle-class first, then, complete with personal abuse, that you're working-class (not that I remotely care what anyone's background is). See my edit above - sorry, I phrased it arseways initially.
    ive smoked the spliff and ditch drank like every teen, but it goes to show you people have your heads in your computers too much.
    Can't see what one has to do with the other, but basically you're saying that you, way back through the mists of time in 2001, were no different to the teens of today you're complaining about?
    I have to say i wrote my first post with not an ounce of bitterness in me, then as i made one mistake in wording it, there is 3 pages of people crying over it! get over yourselves!
    You're the one "crying" over people disagreeing with you - get over YOURself.

please take our hand because you are digging yourself into a bigger hole and clearly are sounding like a complete and utter gob*hite ( I am sure your sound normally, but there might not be too many people here who would not think twice about considering yourself to be a bit of a tool)

one minute you say your middle class and a bit of lower and now working class. How the f*ck do you think you are consider anyone from the lower class. there is no such thing, you are not an aristrocrat, are you. one thing to consider someone to be a lowlife scum bag, its certaintly another to think someone is from a "lower class" because they "don't have anything, not even a job"? What bol(ox is this?

Listen ye, your 25, you would be nothing without your parents hard graft and dedication to get where they are today. You have not achieved anything yet yourself, you are still hanging onto the coat tails of your parents

(now listen carefully, do not waste your energy harping on about brilliant degrees, excellent job , independence etc - i am not slagging you off, but you, like me btw, are only starting out in life)

nearly every single person here you have made the genuine mistake as to your interpretation of lower class, don't get sore that your decent thread is taking a tanking.

face it your arguments on drugs etc are going nowhere, at least clarify or counter argue in a better manner.

@brian the smart arsed mod that thinks that this topic is not about history, let me tell you that 1990-2009 is actualy past tence. which is actual history, the punt is history and so is most of anything that was around in that era, i think im perfectly entitled to talk about that history in a history forum. Show me otherwise on the rules.

lol. Something being in the past tense does not make it history, nor does it automatically make a discussion on the issue or event historical. The breakfast I referred to on the first page is past tense but if I began talking about how great it was that would not make for a historical discussion.

you just proved what i said was true . hand bags at dawn is it ?

WELL omg.ie R.dub... your such a swell guy you know that!! swell swell swell!!! :D If it wernt for the super deeee dooper mods on this site id tiddle your hiney... But im a kind swell kinda huy R. oh lorrrrrrrd no!! am a peacefull lovin guy... all i can say to you now Mr R.. if that is your real name.. toodles.. and be safe out there ye hear.... even when ye by and sell stuff on adverts.ie, its a dangerous world out there and you just gotta keep safe.. thats all my post was tryna say.. it aint the 60's 70's 80's or 90's oh hell no its not! its the naughties!!! :) so you gotta watch your ass in the naughties... :D peace out my fun loving bubbley tiddley doodley boards.ie buddy ;)

please take our hand because you are digging yourself into a bigger hole and clearly are sounding like a complete and utter gob*hite ( I am sure your sound normally, but there might not be too many people here who would not think twice about considering yourself to be a bit of a tool)

one minute you say your middle class and a bit of lower and now working class. How the f*ck do you think you are consider anyone from the lower class. there is no such thing, you are not an aristrocrat, are you. one thing to consider someone to be a lowlife scum bag, its certaintly another to think someone is from a "lower class" because they "don't have anything, not even a job"? What bol(ox is this?

Listen ye, your 25, you would be nothing without your parents hard graft and dedication to get where they are today. You have not achieved anything yet yourself, you are still hanging onto the coat tails of your parents

(now listen carefully, do not waste your energy harping on about brilliant degrees, excellent job , independence etc - i am not slagging you off, but you, like me btw, are only starting out in life)

nearly every single person here you have made the genuine mistake as to your interpretation of lower class, don't get sore that your decent thread is taking a tanking.

face it your arguments on drugs etc are going nowhere, at least clarify or counter argue in a better manner.

I think your a bit gay.. your very angry :D

lol. Something being in the past tense does not make it history, nor does it automatically make a discussion on the issue or event historical. The breakfast I referred to on the first page is past tense but if I began talking about how great it was that would not make for a historical discussion.

what was suppose to be a harmless post turned into the biggest joke on boards.ie so im goint to treat it like a joke! I misunderstood your point, and i grant its valid. Anyways the new forum its in is more fun! :D

people need to lighten the **** up!

I just love the way people nit pick on every word thats written, my post was not to make little of people, i ment middle class as in working people, and lower class that have nothing. I think the term i ment to use was working class backround.... which i am not now, i live in a counsil estate and claim my dole... so i am a lower class person myself as i put it.. i wasnt making little of anybody nor was i trying make myself look the big shot! i just worded it wrong, then you get some a$$holes that nitpick and think there great bevcause they can throw a few clever words together.

My post was as i said before a reflection of the 90's and to compare it with the way things are today. Yes im 25, and ive smoked the spliff and ditch drank like every teen, but it goes to show you people have your heads in your computers too much.

Ireland is a far more dangerous place than it was, i suppose ill get some smart asred comments from some of you. Fire away, say what you please, i made a simple mistake of wording my post wrong, but i stand by the rest of it.

For those who would rather talk about michael collins then trot on to the next thread.

brian is the moderator of history and heritage, moderators are suspose to del with these things. he gave you an opportunity to explain why the topic should remain there (doing you a favour so that you would get a better response from others) you never bothered to respond. that is what the section s about, discussion, analyst and debate (nothing fancy or advance btw). there are some videos there too, you may enjoy it. a wide range of historical topics are discussed there depending on the time of the year

what you were discussing was not really of historic matters, people ain't going to be reading as part of the social history of ireland what kids were up to and how much crime their is now (maybe they will actually) you told us you were in dispare about the current situation. from anyone's point of view, it sounded more of a moan or something to talk to joe duffy about (please do not take any offence here) mtv and the link will only be a footnote in the history books of the future (even social history)

the wording you used, unfortunately made anyone reading it (i am sure if you where in our shoes you would react to) believe you were someone else. if you were in a pub or wherever and someone made a general comment/observation by starting with outdated words like class, you will have people switched off immediately. why are you only now explaining yourself?

You will see from myself, i try to keep to simple words, I try and avoid using words or phrase that i do not understand their meaning. pitty you did not try to do it (again, put yourself in our shows, we can't read your mind)

WELL omg.ie R.dub... your such a swell guy you know that!! swell swell swell!!! :D If it wernt for the super deeee dooper mods on this site id tiddle your hiney... But im a kind swell kinda huy R. oh lorrrrrrrd no!! am a peacefull lovin guy... all i can say to you now Mr R.. if that is your real name.. toodles.. and be safe out there ye hear.... even when ye by and sell stuff on adverts.ie, its a dangerous world out there and you just gotta keep safe.. thats all my post was tryna say.. it aint the 60's 70's 80's or 90's oh hell no its not! its the naughties!!! :) so you gotta watch your ass in the naughties... :D peace out my fun loving bubbley tiddley doodley boards.ie buddy ;)

haven't got a clue what the above is supposed to mean , but its nice to know that you care about people , like lower class or is it middle class or working class ? sorry i'm confused now .

you should go and pick up the toys you threw out of your pram .

I think your a bit gay.. your very angry :D

well at least i ain't the one looking like a gobs*ite. Admit it you are only coming out with this as many people have caught you out on a number of things. You told me earlier that i should open my eyes to an number of matters. I replied, rebutted your argument and many others have given similar views. At we had the deceny to point out our views and deal with the matters you raised. its a shame, that would have been a good topic in any thread

As for the ghay thing. No, sorry darling, but thanks for asking;). But, however, if I was, what you that got to do with it? Problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Ah,I remember the 90's. Back then people used to argue in the street and such, none of this anonymous web bitching. Those were the days. Back then we used to have free concerts in college green too,Mary Black,Christy Moore were two performers I remember. There were also hundreds of cider drinking yobos, a look in the wrong direction could get you a bottle in the face,fun times indeed.