17 year old stabs 7 people in Drogheda! (Mod warning post #68)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,738 ✭✭✭BigEejit

Exon wrote: »
    This youth should serve life without.

I'd love to see him try to stab me, he'd get a hollow point slug right between the eyes.
    I'd love to see him try to stab me, he'd get a nuclear missle right ... er .. all over his body

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Whats it going to be like when they graduate to guns up there. Jesus wept this country is fcuking in serious need of a police force with balls and prisons that aren't training courses for scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭therewillbe

Thankfully I dont Live in Drogheda. I have gone there for the past 25 years or so and its only the last 5/6 years that I have noticed a difference.Some Good points and some Bad ones.Too many Houses and feck all for the Youth to do.You see all the Sorts,Now before you question Me,I was no Saint gowing up but WE knew who to respect and IF we didnt well you got a slap and didnt do it again.Drogheda is a Nice Town with a lot of Great places to see and things to do but lately I dont feel comfortable . It is not just Drogheda it is all over Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

Elessar wrote: »
    Computer games caused this!! :mad:
    Too right Elessar. All them GTE 4's, Mass Affects and Splinter Sells.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

kittenz wrote: »
    It was almost a month ago the woman was stabbed, and she wasn't stabbed in the face!

Does it make a difference where she was stabbed, or when it happened?

Unbelievable sequence of events, I hope that 16-year-old boy in the Mater will be OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭kittenz

kelle wrote: »
    Does it make a difference where she was stabbed, or when it happened?

No your right, it doesn't make a difference, just stating a fact! Thank god she is physically OK now, mentally i am sure it will take a long while to get over something like this.

I too hope that he 16 year old in the Mater pulls through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

The Herald have a story on this but it's not on their website yet.
    Seven People were injured, one seriously, after a crazed knifeman went on a stabbing frenzy.

A 16 year old boy is fighting for his life in hospital this evening after the waves of attacks.

It is believed the attacker, aged 17, went on a voilent rampage after being asked to leave a pub.

He initially stabbed a barman who refused to serve him, then stabbed two doorman before lashing out at innocent members of the public.

Locals in Drogheda, Co Louth reported that a hero taxi driver then grappled with the teenage attacker and managed to wrestle him to the ground and take the knife.

Gardaí arrived on the scene and arrested the teen who is still being held this afternoon.

One of the Victims remains in critical condition and has been transfered from Our Ladys Of Lourdes in Drogheda to the mater hospital in Dublin.

Another man is in a stable condition at Our Lady of Lourdes having been critical overnight.

Five other injured in the inncent were discharged this morning after treatment.

Serious replies from now on please.

Hair Ball wrote: »
    O no nutter's with knives is one thing, but fruit cakes with guns, it won't be worth going for a pint any more, bit like Limerick :rolleyes:
    rovert wrote: »
    BAN DA HEAD SHOPZ
    Who was wishing harder that is was going to be a boon for their side the anti-head shop people or the racists?

Stop trolling and stay on topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Who was wishing harder that is was going to be a boon for their side the anti-head shop people or the racists?
    Apparently you missed this:
    OutlawPete wrote: »
    Is any of them black?

If not, I doubt anyone other than their families will care tbh.

What exactly does this comment mean ? Why are you trying to turn this into a race issue with the first response. There is no mention of race in the article. Some nutter stabbed a bunch of innocent bystanders. What does colour have to do with ? (Incidentally i'm quite shocked so many people have thanked that comment. Christ people)

I hope they are all ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Crazed knifeman? Not an American? /shock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭dave 27

major bill wrote: »
    pub should be heavyly fined for serving him drink in the first place and yea i think body searchers should be introduced they have them in certain places in dublin and galway so why not elsewhere.

they do that in Limerick too but not for the pubs..only some clubs. most pubs dont even have bouncers so hiring ppl to search would be a waste of time in the barmans eyes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

What exactly does this comment mean?

Well, if you have to ask, I doubt you any explanation would be good enough.
    Why are you trying to turn this into a race issue with the first response.

I'm not, how exactly am I doing that?
    There is no mention of race in the article.

Exactly.
    Some nutter stabbed a bunch of innocent bystanders. What does colour have to do with ?

Colour has NOTHING to do with it.
    Incidentally i'm quite shocked so many people have thanked that comment.

I guess they see my point, which you obviously don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Maggie Fuing

pub should be heavyly fined for serving him drink in the first place and yea i think body searchers should be introduced they have them in certain places in dublin and galway so why not elsewhere.

Who said he was drinking? Maybe he was taking something else??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

My brother knows the guy in critical condition quite well. Hope he makes a recovery.

I'd think twice before walking up West St at night from now on.

Who said he was drinking? Maybe he was taking something else??

Another part of the article from The Herald:
    Initial reports indicate that the teenager walked out of one pub in the town center with a pint glass in his hand and went into another.

He was asked to leave by a member of staff, who was then stabbed.
    When the doorman confronted him they were slashed, as were others who tried to reason with him and take the knife from him.

Sorry, didn't get around to putting that in my previous post.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

flyswatter wrote: »
    My brother knows the guy in critical condition quite well. Hope he makes a recovery.

I'd think twice before walking up West St at night from now on.

I hope he does well too.

In fairness, it could have been any street.
    It just boiled down to the direction the teen turned in his mad fit of rage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

I guess they see my point, which you obviously don't.

No I do see your point. Its extremely facetious. That's why I asked you to spell out your meaning but I see you are unwilling to speak plainly. But actually good, please don't as then it will become a race debate, and really this isn't the thread for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

No I do see your point. Its extremely facetious.

Oh, so your saying now that you did see my point, then why post this:
    What exactly does this comment mean ? Why are you trying to turn this into a race issue with the first response.

Accusations that you knew weren't true, based on what you're saying now.
    please don't as then it will become a race debate, and really this isn't the thread for that.

Your pleading with me not to answer a question, that YOU asked and that I refused to answer?

Good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Bonkers_xOx

This is scary since I was out in Drogheda last night.

Hope those injured make a good recovery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

Any idea on what'll happen to the scumbag?

Hope all those who were attacked recover well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Carl Sagan wrote: »
    Any idea on what'll happen to the scumbag?

Hope all those who were attacked recover well.

I imagine he will be locked up in a prison slash mental home for a very long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭MightyMighty737

Bodhisopha wrote: »
    I imagine he will be locked up in a prison slash mental home for a very long time.

With any luck.

Apparently he's to turn 18 in the next few weeks. I wonder will he be tried as a juvenile or an adult?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Overheal wrote: »
    Crazed knifeman? Not an American? /shock

America = Crazed gunman, not crazed knifeman.
    Everybody knows that.

Is any of them black?

If not, I doubt anyone other than their families will care tbh.

What exactly does this comment mean ? Why are you trying to turn this into a race issue with the first response. There is no mention of race in the article. Some nutter stabbed a bunch of innocent bystanders. What does colour have to do with ? (Incidentally i'm quite shocked so many people have thanked that comment. Christ people)

I hope they are all ok.
    Well, if you have to ask, I doubt you any explanation would be good enough.

Pete, maybe if you explain which is all that was asked of you by opinion guy, we can stop this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Bigdeadlydave

Im pretty sure he means that this will go relatively under the radar when compared to what happened in tyrelstown(sp?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

BigEejit wrote: »
    Are you serious?

Maybe somewhere rural, but Cork town* itself has a higher than average quantity of scumbags that Galway or other places if anything.

Rural Cork.

Talking to a few lads here today everyone is like WTF ?? I dont know what to say really none of us do ! Thank **** no one died (yet that is) but come Monday morning it will be old news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

you honestly think a bouncer is gonna give the knife back to him:rolleyes:

Depends, one meth clinic in the clinic, has a metal detector in operation. I have been in it in years, but any found is given back. It not our property, and we can't keep it.

However, different story in bars, yet in the above case anything viewed as a weapon has to be given back. The are legit reasons for being in possession of a knife; I ride a bike alway have a leatherman on me.

Though I have to say, the amount of people I encounter with in work who carry knives is scary, and there is no legit reason either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭jdooley28

where in galway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Im pretty sure he means that this will go relatively under the radar when compared to what happened in tyrelstown(sp?)

That's bollox... If anything the Tyrellstown murder wasn't covered as much as other murders where the victim was just an innocent person not involved in 'gangland'

Anthony Campbell? Brian Murphy? You saying these guys got less media coverage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭wobzilla1

Bodhisopha wrote: »

Or he'll be sent to Trinity House, where he'll get a ps3, Xbox 360, Nintendo DS, PSP, Flatscreen TV and all the designer clothes he wants.