Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Place for singles to chat...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I would be firmly against an off topic chat thread. Not on AH. It will help grow the AH clique (not anyone in partic. there has always been an AH clique. Sher we were all in one or five of them) and bleed into other threads. LOL injoke sort of stuff. It really will.
    Besides this is the off topic forum and the excessive flirting lately is making me sick. Or dizzy. Or maybe that's the drink, I don't know. Personally I haven't been receptive to it anyway but lately it's just really occuring all across Hafter Hours.

What needs to be done is the flirting stopped / crushed / taken to PM IRC, any of that. The flirtation going on creates an AH clique which is unpalatable to those of use who don't subscribe to it. Sher aren't there websites there for people to find lurve.... plenty of fish or whatever. But not in AH.
    Dammit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

I would be firmly against an off topic chat thread. Not on AH. It will help grow the AH clique (not anyone in partic. there has always been an AH clique. Sher we were all in one or five of them) and bleed into other threads. LOL injoke sort of stuff. It really will.
    Besides this is the off topic forum and the excessive flirting lately is making me sick. Or dizzy. Or maybe that's the drink, I don't know. Personally I haven't been receptive to it anyway but lately it's just really occuring all across Hafter Hours.

What needs to be done is the flirting stopped / crushed / taken to PM IRC, any of that. The flirtation going on creates an AH clique which is unpalatable to those of use who don't subscribe to it. Sher aren't there websites there for people to find lurve.... plenty of fish or whatever. But not in AH.
    Dammit.

Oh you Saucy little minx dr.b.... I love it when you get all ranty.
    [/flirt]

It's not a rant dammit. It's an impassioned plea.
    Dammit Wazdakka. I'm not just a ranty loon who moderates horrible insulty shouty forums.
    I'm complicated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

DR B ya sex bomb!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Hi sorry if posting in wrong forum,

Just wondering has anybody got together from meeting on Boards? new to this and just wondered is there like a single forum or somewhere to chat to other single people
    AH Beers - April 17th - Ron Blacks Dawson Street - 8pm
    I've never been but I hear it's good for hooking up with hot girls and guys in your local area, text 57322* for more info.

*don't text this number. I just made it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

On another note.

Why should you discriminate against non singles.....

There are plenty of married people out there too that would like to take advantage of young hawt singles... Eh I mean like to chat..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Quality wrote: »
    Why dont you just request a singles forum, to be honest it would take a lot of the smut out of all the other forums.

You can have a know your singles thread there and all. You can stick up all your provocative pictures up there. You bunch of horndogs...:p

Is there a reason we don't have a singles forum on here? Is there some weird boards rule that prevents it or is it just that it hasn't been requested through the proper channels yet?

They did some sort of personal ads thing. I don't think it ever took off.
    Never seen one requested before tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

We could have a general "Letchers Lounge" for generally sleaziness and flirting. Best disable pics there too, don't wanna be scaring people off with pasty, overweight, balding, internet sculpted bodies. And the men ain't much to look at neither. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

To the forum request board..

*Points dramatically*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'm opposed to chat forums as they are so easily abused by eejits, trolls and more eejits. In case someone was wondering loike...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I mean when you see so many people on here who are single and who are wishing they weren't, it's always surprised me that there hasn't been some sort of singles forum where they can post wee bits and pieces about themselves.

As someone else suggested, probably would need some mods though, don't want people posting nude pictures of themselves. Well, guys anyway :D

NothingMan wrote: »
    We could have a general "Letchers Lounge" for generally sleaziness and flirting. Best disable pics there too, don't wanna be scaring people off with pasty, overweight, balding, internet sculpted bodies. And the men ain't much to look at neither. :D

Isn't that the slightly unsavoury element that already exists in the ladies lounge and AH?
    Imagine having to moderate such a place.
    Oh the bannings. Oh the sexual favours for moderation...
    Hmmm.
    I've lost my train of thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Boards.ie is not a dating site it's a discussion site that is why there is not a dating/hook up forum. There are real life meet ups of many of the communities and yes there people who have meet, married and had kids but that is not a goal or function of the site but a by product.

There was a singles beers organized once, sod all people went to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I don't see the point of a singles forum...what would even be discussed? "on a scale of 1 to 10, how lonely are you?" "how many cats do you own?". There would be very little discussion and just a load of desperate sleazing with the odd troll popping in to say "smell of want in here!"

EDIT: Why can't you just chat to people on various forums, instead of specifically looking for singles? That way you'll have something in common other than being single and if you do go to a meetup there wont be as much of an endgame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

The whole site is a place for single people to chat, if you like the sound of someone by their posts send them a PM and see if you get on. Like you would in the real world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

Lux23 wrote: »
    The whole site is a place for single people to chat, if you like the sound of someone by their posts send them a PM and see if you get on. Like you would in the real world.

ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Dammit.

You are making me all hot here Dr B. And i dont even have the gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

bazmaiden wrote: »
    ha

Its what I do in the real world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I've been very much guilty of the flirting but I try to stamp it out nowadays. Still though, this is what I think: I hate flirting in AH. I hate the idea of posting in a thread and maybe returning it two hours later to find it five pages longer and full of irrelevant chatter between the same three people. Seriously, who the **** do you think you are? Polluting this public forum with your indulgent gossiping and lame flirting? Do you not realise that it's embarrassing to watch your limp-dicked attempts at getting your hole in front of everyone? The lads pretend to be all macho-lotharios and the girls pretend to be coy and clueless. Fantastic, I can't wait to subscribe to this thread and trudge through fifteen ****ing pages of that! This is the typical way they go too:
    I'd love to go to the beers but I wouldn't know anyone there. Tee hee *Flicks pigtails* :o
    Well, maybe you could get to know me. ;)
    Hee hee, what do you mean? ;);)
    Oh, I think we both know what I mean. ;););)
    No no, I don't. ;) Tell me. ;););)
    Well, maybe I could show you. ;);););)
    I haven't seen such pathetically stilted, forced attempts at sexy banter since I was 12.

I think you're all confused about what AH is. It's not a place to hang out with your friends and talk shite. It's the opposite of that. It's where you talk ****e with strangers comfortably. How the hell are n00bs gonna try to fit in here if they're immediately confronted with a fifty-page chat thread? I know it's only one thread but it still screams "clique" to the casual observer. Piss off to the private forums and take your sexual frustration with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I've been very much guilty of the flirting but I try to stamp it out nowadays. Still though, this is what I think: I hate flirting in AH. I hate the idea of posting in a thread and maybe returning it two hours later to find it five pages longer and full of irrelevant chatter between the same three people. Seriously, who the **** do you think you are? Polluting this public forum with your indulgent gossiping and lame flirting? Do you not realise that it's embarrassing to watch your limp-dicked attempts at getting your hole in front of everyone? The lads pretend to be all macho-lotharios and the girls pretend to be coy and clueless. Fantastic, I can't wait to subscribe to this thread and trudge through fifteen ****ing pages of that! This is the typical way they go too:

I haven't seen such pathetically stilted, forced attempts at sexy banter since I was 12.

I think you're all confused about what AH is. It's not a place to hang out with your friends and talk shite. It's the opposite of that. It's where you talk ****e with strangers comfortably. How the hell are n00bs gonna try to fit in here if they're immediately confronted with a fifty-page chat thread? I know it's only one thread but it still screams "clique" to the casual observer. Piss off to the private forums and take your sexual frustration with you.
    You're fúcking awesome *said in non flirty way* :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Welcome to a chat room in 1999. Please note there will be a slight sense of deja vu:
    :D.

Cybering on MSN was all the rage.

A: Hey can I ask you a personal question?
    B: Yeah sure!
    A: Do you spit or swallow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

sure here a sneak peak at me old_woman.jpg
    hope you like it :)

skin droop ftw unless ur epileptic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Quality wrote: »
    On another note.

Why should you discriminate against non singles.....

Precisely why a singles forum is a bad idea.

Why should those with a partner be left out in the cold.

Affairs ftw.

A subforum for dogging would also be the biscuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

The hypocrisy of some people in this thread! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

The hypocrisy of some people in this thread! :eek:

who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

Singles chat = Primarily non-single males. As single types would better spend their time out chasing real wimminz. Instead of chatting on t'interweb.

By chatting I mean:

Hey
    ASL?
    MSN?
    Cam?

*fapfapfapfapfap..grunt...fap......fap....................fap

**user is offline**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Hi sorry if posting in wrong forum,

Just wondering has anybody got together from meeting on Boards? new to this and just wondered is there like a single forum or somewhere to chat to other single people ;)

Cheers

Are you looking to bone a few posters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

Are you looking to bone a few posters?

You are top of his list,,, He is gonna give you a good cleaning out!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

It's a he is it? Off you go and lube up.

You have something going there honey