"Go way, ye wife-swappin' sodomites!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

And if ever there was an example of political suicide here is Pee Flynn covering himself in glory on the Late, Late Show in 1999:

Pádraig Flynn tells of his struggles as an MEP

All of the above is worth looking at but go to 2.37 for the start of his real glory.

Now on youtube, aDeener:

DeValera v Churchill, 8 May 1945

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭happyfriday

Some of the older ones are a little bit ahead of my time! The one about Charles Haughey telling the country to tighten their belts while he was buying Islands always struck me as rather funny though!!

Then there was himself, this was from the general election in 2007

We will not get into auction politics, just coming up with ideas put in by this one or that one and putting them all together and having a mish-mash and putting out totally uncosted policies.
    Bertie Ahern

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭francois

Joe Higgins on Bertie's conversion to "socialism"

"You can imagine, Cheann Comhairle, how perplexed I was when I returned to find my wardrobe almost empty. The Taoiseach had been busy robbing my clothes.

"Up to recently the Progressive Democrats did not have a stitch left due to the same Taoiseach, but we never expected him to take a walk on the left side of the road."

"I then thought: ’Good, Taoiseach. There are two of us in it, and we will go down together.’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Kaizer Sosa

This is a vague recollection but anyways I'll set the scene. Haughey is under investigation for something dodgey and ace reporter Charlie Bird is sent to ask him the questions that matter. Charlie B meets him in a supermarket and immediately starts the interrogation, Haughey lets him finish and without addressing any of the questions asked nonchalantly pipes up with "Ah Charlie, my feathered friend....."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

Or the story about the FF minister who was stopped for drunk driving in 1962 while driving the wrong way down a one-way system.
    The garda asked him "Did you not see the arrows?"
    To which he replied "What arrows - I didn't even see the bloody Indians"

I also remember after a particularly tough budget in the late 80's or early 90's when VAT was increased on children's clothes & shoes along with large hikes in alcohol & cigarettes, RTE asked Limerick TD Michael Noonan who was then opposition spokesman for Finance, what he thought of the budget.
    "It's a great budget for anyone who doesn't drink, smoke, or wear clothes"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

Sorry why don't you get over yourself. Someone doesn't agree with your ever sentiment. Deal with it
    Religious nut-jobs trying to influence democracy isn't funny. Your post seemed to admire this kind of thing. Oh and quite apart from that - it wasn't funny. Paul Gogarty saying "**** you" to emmett stag. Now that's comedy

Not allowing the religious nut-jobs a say isn't very democratic. The whole point of democracy is that even the craziest nut-job can have his way if he can get enough people to support him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

HAY THAT'S WHAT I SAID

*buzzes in*

is the answer, quote from a hungry horse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Dionysus wrote: »
    Dublin TD Frank Sherwin gives his views on the entry of women into An Garda Síochána in 1958.
    "While recruits should not be actually horse-faced, they should not be too good looking; they should be just plain women and not targets for marriage".
    Frank Sherwin TD, Dáil Éireann, 22 May 1958
    Hahah, that reminds of an early garda report from the 1930s I read a few years back, detailing a surprise inspection of a rustic garda barracks, the guards were all blitzed and vomiting into their hats and whatnot, and some tried to make good their escape on the boneshakers. Haven't a notion of finding the details now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

aDeener wrote: »
    This would bring a smile to any irishman's face. The long fellas greatest moment:

"I have here before me the pencilled notes from which I broadcast to you on 3 September 1939. I had so many other things to do on that day that I could not find time to piece them together into a connected statement. From these ...blah blah blah"

Short version: "FOCK YOU deputy Churchill fock you!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

one of my favorite recent ones.

"3.82 a share? that sounds great value to me, do you think those shares will be 3.82 in a few years time? if i was you i'd buy those shares, thats what i'd do !"

bertie ahearn on BOI shares circa 2007 :)

Speaking of people encouraging us to spend money in the boom, anytime I see that Brendan O'Connor guy I can't help but think of this:

'The smart, ballsy guys are buying up property right now.... Tell you what, I think I know what I'd be doing if I had money, and if I wasn't already massively over-exposed to the property market by virtue of owning a reasonable home. I'd be buying property.... So why would I be buying property right now if I could? Well, for starters, property is good value these days. It's certainly cheaper than it was six months ago.'

- Brendan O'Connor, The Sunday Independent, 29 July 2007.

From Quotes from the Property Bubble (excellent site for laughing/crying/despairing at all the people who got it wrong, by the way)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Dionysus wrote: »
    'The smart, ballsy guys are buying up property right now.... Tell you what, I think I know what I'd be doing if I had money, and if I wasn't already massively over-exposed to the property market by virtue of owning a reasonable home. I'd be buying property.... So why would I be buying property right now if I could? Well, for starters, property is good value these days. It's certainly cheaper than it was six months ago.'

- Brendan O'Connor, The Sunday Independent, 29 July 2007.

From Quotes from the Property Bubble (excellent site for laughing/crying/despairing at all the people who got it wrong, by the way)

Guy with a public voice says: I'm massively exposed to this potential crash so you should all buy houses now so I don't lose any money. You all have small penises if you don't!!!

Isn't this attempting the manipulate the market. Is that even legal ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

dilallio wrote: »
    Or the story about the FF minister who was stopped for drunk driving in 1962 while driving the wrong way down a one-way system.
    The garda asked him "Did you not see the arrows?"
    To which he replied "What arrows - I didn't even see the bloody Indians"

I also remember after a particularly tough budget in the late 80's or early 90's when VAT was increased on children's clothes & shoes along with large hikes in alcohol & cigarettes, RTE asked Limerick TD Michael Noonan who was then opposition spokesman for Finance, what he thought of the budget.
    "It's a great budget for anyone who doesn't drink, smoke, or wear clothes"

That was actually brought in by the FG/Lab coalition, well tried to, the Govt. fell.

Favourite was to the local Guard calling to the pub After Hours, "Pint or Tory Island, Guard?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

The guy was a Legend

He was a terrible person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭shoegirl

Alice Glenn's quip about women voting for divorce being like a turkey voting for Christmas was a gem.
    Then there was a mention in a book by Gemma Hussey accusing that creep Ned O Keefe of groping her in the Dáil bar.
    Numerous by David Norris - he's a good one for quotes - though often annoying rather than funny.

On a non political front, Evelyn Cusack using the word "f*ck" on a reality tv programme was amusing.